We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Hotel is located at an amazing location with an outstanding beach. It has a lot of activities to do kayaking, glass bottom boat ride etc is free. other activities ie parasailing, speed boat ride etc are charged reasonably.They have about 3 swimming pools including a heated one. very helpful staff. The restaurant has a good spread for Breakfast and dinner. Though its abt 1.5 hrs drive from the airport its worth the travel.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrajaktaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,729 - 1,735 of 2,931 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2011

Me and my wife, we are both, cabin crew members and travel a lot. We stayed in many countries, many hotels. We chose intercontinental hotel mauritius for our honeymoon and we believe it was the best choice we could have make.
when we say mauritius is paradise, its really a paradise!
you have lovely people out there, their hospitality, their welcome are exceptional!
Outstanding staff that you really need to meet, the list is very long, all of them are good but there are some people we really want to thank are : Dora restaurant manager (always at your service), david in senso(the buzy man) my wife's preferred one, vishal at the bar (seems he is never tired) and last bt not the least Nashreen( the everlasting smile) at reception, she is my preferred one! and all the staff who made our honeymoon an unforgettable one.
The food at veda is so good!the indian buffet at the main restaurant and the indian show, things that you should not miss !
If you are looking for an exceptional holiday, then it is intercontinental hotel mauritius.

Room Tip: Better to pre book you room as check in is at 14h
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katekam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

really awesome hotel!
was there for my honeymoon and stayed there for 6 nights , amazing place and amazing hotel!
food for veggie indians is also great!
just check in and i bet in u will write the same

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vits19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Check in incredibly slow and confusing.
Rooms ok apart from mould growing up walls.
Drinking water not replaced in rooms. we paid extra for executive room but the service did not exist, ie turndown, replacement towels, water etc.
Why was the minibar empty?
The worst part of the stay was the attitude of the staff. The arrogance displayed was incredible and service very slow. We were made to feel as though we were interrupting their social life when asking for anything.
The staff are running a great scam by offering you food and drinks on the beach for half price if you pay cash.
Someone needs to get hold of the management and give them a good kick up the a...

Definitely not what i expect as a regular guest at Intercontinentals worldwide

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank edwardtheunready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHG Care at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Dear Vits19,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused you. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Sincerely,
Brenda Johnson
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Great spot, lovely rooms, big tv altho I had to keep getting out of bed to change channels.....very annoying.
Staff overall very poor.....not attentive, poor English, jobsworth attitude to room service served outside, closing the bar....won't be back in a hurry

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaskersonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

What a lovely place to be....! We checked in a terrace jacuzzi room...Its a lovely room very spacious..still cozy with a lovely sea view.Jacuzzi experiece was awesome....just that the jacuzzi was not overlooking the sea...rest everything was so perfect....We booked candle light dinner at the beach ..food and ambience were awesome.The staff was very pleasing and always greeted us with a smile..Breakfast was very lavish .A lot of activities take place in the hotel daily. SPA experience was icing on the cake.....All in all a lovely hotel in a wonderful city..looking fwd to visit there again

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anupam_Grover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

The start wasnt so good. An errant staff person who mixed up room keys and we had to wait for a long time to finally get a room.However post that mild irritation, Our holiday was very relaxing and restful. The hotel is quite nicely built with a pretty beachfront, food was good ( good varitey for veggies) and the staff was generally curteos. Its was too far from the airport but that I guess is the general trend in Mauritius. Most adjoining properties are also hotels only. For the amount we paid, was quite a satisfactory 4 star visit. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GLobetrotterMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,124 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,553 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
28.2 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,959 reviews
5.0 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: £225 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing