We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and we'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“great hotel and we'll be back”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

at the beginning i was not supposed to go to Mauritius. I had planned a world trip tour but during my trip i decided to have some times with my dad and decided to go to Intercontinental in Mauritius. Wendy the guest relations officer done a quick but efficient check in. I had never been in a hotel where i had found someone like her always with a smile even if she is doing double, she had been a great help for us. We had enjoyed also the sugar cane bar where the service and the staff was exceptional. The room was nice and all the excursion that we had done. Thanks to all the hotel staff who do a great job everyday to make the stay of each guest memorable.....

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank younme54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,339
    792
    298
    113
    132
See reviews for
743
1,401
49
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Me and my husband went to Mauritius for our honeymoon. The hotel did make a whole lot of effort to make our experience the best.
The room was beautifully decorated, the champagne, flowers etc were really welcoming. The facility is very well maintained with the correct greenery and the rooms all overlooking the beach. There are many activities available from water sports to relaxation.
There are restaurants serving almost all cuisines. The hotel also helps arrange other out door activities in collaboration with other tours and travel vendors. In all we had a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrutigupta1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed at this property from June 14 to June 20, 2011 in room number 1801, which was an ocean view family room. It is a really well located property with value for money. My day of check in was really disappointing as there were wasp outside room, small lizard in the room and AC not working properly and to get all this in order, we struggeled hard till 11 pm and even after that AC was not proper. So a bad start. I objected strongly and after that management/ staff made every effort to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. The care and consideration I received from the staff after that night washed away my bad memories and now I can recommend this property to my friends also. The Hotel arranged a special lunch also for me and my family to compensate for the same. I really appreciate the efforts made by Ms. Fency to make me and my family enjoy my stay at the the resort .
Rooms are good . I will specially mention about VEDAS- the indian restaurent in which regional Indian food is served with love and care in Pure Silver Thalis, which make you feel royal. We cannot forget, Khushbu, MEM and Mohan ( Chef). The people serving food were also very polite and helpful( sorry I dont remember the names). The other restaurant Sanso was also very good. The house keeping staff specially Indira was very helpful. Sunil( club cart) became very friendly with my kids and my kids enjoyed travelling in his club cart. In all, the experience was really good after the disapoointing first day.

Room Tip: ground floor near the boat house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SanjayAgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2011

very very beautiful place feel like in paradise.

good food specially at noble house.

all professional people specially at the concierge always ready to help'kevin'

we want come back asap

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devina_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
198 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Stayed on family vacation for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom family suite. The resort is located in the Northern part of Mauritius on Balaclava beach, which is a protected marine reserve. The check in was fast. We arrived from our early morning flight from India and the hotel obliged us with an early check in. The suite was spacious with all amenities and the rooms directly opened into the lawns with the beach in front. The breakfast the Segala was elaborate but it lacked options for pure/ strict vegetarians. The Dinner at beach on friday was also an experience in itself. Hotel is having two pools out of which is temperature controlled. Ride on glass bottom boat is must do and the kayaking is an experience, both the activities are free for hotel guest, however the ride on glass bottom boat is to be booked in advance to avoid dis-appointment.
Only negative being the taxi counter at the hotel. return ride to Port Louis, which is about 10 Kms costs about MUR 2000 which is very expensive, hence, for going out from hotel either you are dependent on tour operators, who take you to lousy destinations for shopping with hefty/ unimaginable mark ups or totally on the mercy of hotel taxi cartel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit_Mittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Overall the hotel is of good value for money.It offers good interpersonal relationship with friendly and polite staff always willing to help.The services provided by the hotel is good except the service of getting your luggage into the room.You have to literally be after them to get your luggage!The rooms were spacious and well maintained.In the family room a different bedroom was there for the children with a huge plasma TV in every room including a small TV in the bathroom also!
The location is very beautiful as the hotel faces the sea. All amenities in the hotel were excellent with good food too!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardeshir46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We were there for our honeymoon!! Eight wonderful days.
The place is just perfect..Awesome beach, spacious yet cosy room, breath taking view of the sea..Exactly or even better than what we had seen in the pictures online.
Food is nothing great…its just about ok. If you like pasta, pizza, noodles then you should be fine. Breakfast has good variety but the birds eating out of the serving counters were a major problem. A lot of very great activities happen around the dinner time in the hotel. As part of our honeymoon package we were to dine on the beach..ohhhh the view was amazing and romantic but the food was disgusting..!!
The hotel has good water sports facilities. But yes you need to book every activity in advance.
Tip one: u want a local mobile sim card then do not take it from the hotel people…go get one from the market on your own…it will be half the price.
Tip two: booking our personal cab for all the transfers and the sight seeing made everything so so much better…May be a little expensive but absolutely worth every penny.
Tip three: do not miss quad biking when in Mauritius:))
We would recommend the hotel for the beach and amazing view and wonderful rooms and a perfect honeymoon !!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samsanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,954 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,430 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
1,254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
28.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing