We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Vadodara
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place to stay but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

ENTERTAINMENT
• Sega Dance’ performance on Saturday over dinner/drinks which was quite fascinating
• Every night they have a half an hour dance and music programme which was quite entertaining. They were also arranging seperate dance so in Indian Cuisine restaurant Veda. This were quite beautiful especially for kid who enjoy lot even after completion of show to play music at their own on African instruments!!
• The baracuda bar entertainment shows were sufficient with the indian dancers show and band. We attempted to dance on their dance floor with the music provided, despite being the only ones to do so


RELAXING AT BEACHES, BEACH ACTIVITIES
• We liked Sugar Cane Island for watching the amazing mauritian sunsets.
• Overall, it has evrything in this resort. Spa, Sauna, Jacuzee, Kids club, Gym, Boating, Lawn Tennis, clean and well maintained beach, lagoon as well. I belive if you don't want to go for sight seeing there is enough room at hotel to spend your time. They do have daily schedule for whole day to learn different activities, some of them free of cost.
• For the adventure lovers, the undersea walk at Bella Mare, the parasailing at Ile aux cerfs and the submarine ride (Blue safari) near Port Louis is recommended. For the extreme sport lovers you HAVE to do the Tandem skydive experience (www.skydivemauritius.com ) while in Mauritius.
• Ride on glass bottom boat is must do and the kayaking is an experience, both the activities are free for hotel guest, however the ride on glass bottom boat is to be booked in advance to avoid dis-appointment. We had one to one tuition to snorkel and jean Pierre went out of his way for my partner to help him be able to master it.
• We were taken out in a glass-bottomed boat to go snorkling, had a windsurfing lesson and went water-skiing.
• • We were on snorkelling 3 times during our stay with the glass bottom boat, it was a good fun and the ocean life under the water is marvellous.
• • other activities ie parasailing, speed boat ride etc are charged reasonably. They have about 3 swimming pools including a heated one. Main pool was a little cold for the little man so we used warmer pool at end of beach near boat house and dive place, very nice pool and just right temperature
• The only think that could get annoying is the sunbeds, towards the end of our holiday people were getting up very early and reserving with towels, then not turning up to use them until after midday, other quality hotels I have stayed at ban this behaviour by removing towels...There are plenty of beds I just hate people that do that
• Free water Skiing, Wind surfing, kayaking, glass bottom boat, table tennis, tennis. Beach Volleyball, petanque. Beach staff were fun and enthusiastic... Definitely try Bocce Ball!
• The catamaran trip is a must we chose the one to isle aux cerfs. There are alot to do in Mauritius, like the Catamaran trip to Gabriella Island (awesome), Isle Aux Cerfs trip (awesome as well) and the Mauritius Island trip (very nice)
• My family made full use of the amenities like tennis, water sports, excellent gym (with yoga and meditation classes -thanks Danny. We played football, petang, volleyboll, table-tennis together with other guest from the hotel
• We tried aqua aerobics and tropical dance lesson. It was a lot of fun. Not many guests took up on activities offer. We used the tennis courts and I went on one of the organised morning runs and did water-aerobics
• We played tennis or table tennis daily. We enjoyed a short game or two of table tennis and badminton with the well maintained sporting equipment provided by the hotel
• One thing to do if there's rain is to go to the fitness suite and spa. Both are free and of a high standard! We spent a whole afternoon using the sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and plunge pool.

Relaxing at the beach was very easy on the cushy sunloungers and the team of the Sugar Cane Bar took good care about everybody, serving drinks and snacks

EXCURSIONS AND TOURS
• The Triolet Shivala:The longest village on the island, Triolet offers an opportunity to visit the biggest Hindu temple, the Maheswarnath, first built in 1819 in honour of the Gods Shiva, Krishna, Vishnu, Muruga, Brahma and Ganesha
• Casela Park (definitely do the quad safari while you are there). Ile Aux Cerfs-the nicest beach on the island of Mauritius. Also check out Triolet City Hindu Temple and be sure to take off your shoes when you walk in.
• Grand Baie is nice for some souvenir shopping and night life. There are two supermarkets, Jumbo and Super U (no food mart in hotel so buy your snacks/goods in one of the two). The souvenir shop with a very good selection-Le

Room Tip: • (1112) was well appointed, contemporary in design (all of them are) and quite spacious, with the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank armehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear armehta,

Thank you so much for your very detailed and positive feedback regarding your family stay in Mauritius.
I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed all the facilities of the hotel and specially the heated swimming pool for the little one! I am glad you also enjoyed the boat house activities and our evening shows.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you and your family again.
Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    779
    292
    108
    125
See reviews for
711
1,357
42
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is wonderful and the staff go out of their way to help. Guest relations manager Mr.Aldo was especially very helpful. The breakfast spread is great, there is something for everyone. The family room has one master bedroom (with sitting area) plus one children's room (with twin beds), a huge bathroom and a balcony. The room size is very good and perfectly comfortable for four adults also. Our room was on the ground level and the beach was just a few steps away. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SavitaSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear SavitaSinha,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments about our colleagues and family rooms. I have taken the liberty to share your wonderful feedback with all our people and more specifically with Aldo, our Front Office Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Louis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed at the hotel on nov 2011 and the kids loved it. Thought I will give them same experience but this time it was real shock with the lack of maintenance, old bed sheets and the average dinner with part held in a parking along with birds invading the breakfast room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank V D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear V D,

Thank you for your loyalty to our Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Kindly be assured that your latest experience is not a true reflection of our Standards and the way we treat our esteemed guests.
I have shared your comments with all our Management team to make sure we tackle the issues you pointed out.
I would like to be a little bit more specific in terms of the White Evening Party on Saturday night. Being in the winter season, we hold this special weekly event in our Ballroom and we set up the buffet in the foyer area. As we are using BBQs we need to place them outside the building and they are placed in front of the Foyer which also has parking spaces. However the dinner and the show take place in the Ballroom itself. As soon as summer is back this party will be held again on the beach.
We have reinforced our Preventive Maintenance Management and are looking at solutions to prevent birds from entering the restaurant over breakfast.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you and your family again to restore your faith in our Resort.

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

we visited this resort for our honeymoon in December 2011. We arrived very early after 6 hours of travelling from Mumbai. We were seated in the reception and given fresh fruit drinks while we waited for for someone to take us to our room. The room was spacious, with a large bed and living space with a view of the Indian ocean. The bathroom was beautiful with both a bathtub and a stand alone bath. An added bonus was the outdoor jacuzzi and shower with sun loungers. However, one draw back of this area was that you could only view the ocean when you stood up. It would have been much more worthwhile had they chosen a glass wall / balcony rather than the concrete hich obstructed the view from the jacuzzi.

The buffet breakfast was good with a very wide selection of hot and cold food and fruit. In the evening, as part of our all inclusive package, we had a choice of set menus from each of the 5 restaurants. The food was mostly very good in each, with our particular favourites being the Mediterranean and Indian restaurants. However I would not consider any of them to be of the high standard required for a 5 star resort. 4 Star? Yes

The Resort is situated on a manmade beach . Resort has plenty of beach activities & water sports that u'll love to do. There is a small swimming pool with a swim up bar but it is quite shallow and not large enough for swimming in. But it is perfect for colling down and for some sundowner cocktails.

Over all we had a very pleasant experience but this area of Mauritius really isn't the idyllic Indian ocean paradise that we had hoped it to be.

Room Tip: Try to get the room on the first or second floor for a better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RrucheeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear RrucheeC,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental for this very special, once in a lifetime occasion, i.e. your honeymoon. It is with great pleasure that I have shared your comments with our entire team.
I have taken note of your suggestion regarding the outdoor jacuzzi and will make sure we include it whenever we look at refurbishing our property.
I am delighted to inform you that since you last came we did quite a few upgrades in our Food & Beverage offering. Segala is now a Mauritian restaurant, we have changed the menu of Noble House, our Asian Fusion restaurant and are about to launch the new menu for Veda, our Indian restaurant.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again for your 1st wedding anniversary to show you all the changes and more to come!

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We were here last summers and it was simply the best time we had in a long long time. The hotel is located along the best beach stretches...The hotel is amazingly expansive and offers host of activities for everyone...From snorkeling lessons to glass bottom boat rides..there is everything one would like to do...the cultural events during evenings were looked up to by all guests and enjoyed thoroughly. The food was excellent and the buffet spread was nice and inviting....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsrtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear gsrtravels,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us after such a long time.
Your amazing comments mean a lot to us and I had the pleasure to share it with all our team members.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you and your family again!

Best regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Just back from a short 5days stay at this beautiful, new, picturesque property. Frankly speaking, I was a bit concerned after reading some reviews here though I noted that the negative ones were in tiny minority. But let me tell you you will not be disappointed at all at this property considering all other factors most importantly the amount of money you spend here as compared to some other highly rated hotels on trip advisor.

First thing first, at check in, I hardly had to wait 30 minutes considering the fact that I knew in advance that I will reach at 11am and check in time is 2pm. We had two jacuzzi rooms and one family rooms. Was given all 3 at same time, in same block and what lovely rooms they were. Special thanks to Vandana for all the hard work considering it was a long walk from lobby to rooms. Some small hiccups at this juncture but all taken care of with a smile by Vandana and her team. Contrary to some reviews here staff was very courteous, smiling and willing to serve. Guys you have to show some love and affection to get more in return. We all are human.

Rooms were large, spacious, well done and good ambiance. Jacuzzi rooms are a treat for couples and kids. Our kids were using family rooms and they loved it. Room service, table cleaning was bit slow but bearable considering we were on a leisure trip. But food was good. I would suggest them to keep mini bar well stocked as if we want to use, we will pay!! House keeping was prompt and efficient..

Swimming pool was ok, would have loved to find a deeper one but still enjoyable. View from lobby and pool is breathtaking. Sugarcane bar at pool makes some nice cocktails though I had to miss my favourite beer brands. But those were not available even outside hotel too. Parvez at sugarcane was so nice. Boathouse was kids' delight. They pampered them with snorkelling lessons, kayaking etc. sorry don't remember names but thanks guys.

Coming to dining, first two nights went to Veda. Lovely food and excellent service. Staff here made some extra efforts for social needs of kids and ladies. Thanks to Nresh, Lobeen and Khushboo. Next two days tries Senso which had much wider choice but same good quality and taste. Special thanks to Kessen and Pam (hope am right). They even surprise me with a birthday cake and song!!

Breakfast at Senso was also delightful. Well spread and so many choices. But guys your tea was always not as hot as we like it....

Wanted to experience Yuj spa but couldn't. It was always full and I never bothered to book a day in advance as advised. My fault!

Special mention about Mr Asnaud EAM.. Ever smiling! Also Satyam at concierge for going that extra mile..

All in all, guys just compare what you pay at Oberoi et al and what you pay at Intercontinental.. Satisfaction per dollar or per Rupee will be certainly same or may be higher.. I would surely come back here.. And yes, there was a wedding during my stay too but I did not even realised until I was told about that by some staff member.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sanjaybansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Mr Sanjay Bansal,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding your family stay in our Resort.
It is with great pleasure that I have shared your feedback with our team members and specifically the one you mentioned.
It is our greatest satisfaction when we receive such fantastic message and I am very proud of our team.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This was a beautiful property, all-inclusive. It was amazingly picturesque. The presidential suite was unbelievable, huge and comfortable, spread over 2 floors with an unbeatable view. The food was good and service was good as well. Only a couple of criticisms:
1. The hotel does have a slight ant problem
2. They're a bit ridiculous about their dress code in the a la carte restaurants.
3. The a la carte restaurants don't have many vegetarian options.
4. WiFi was only available in the common hotel areas.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with small children or elderly people, request a room on the ground floor a...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank megagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear Megagarwal,

It is with great pleasure that I have shared your comments regarding your family vacation with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities of our Presidential Suite.
Being in a tropical environment, we have a comprehensive pest control system in place. However we take on board your comments and will reinforce our daily controls.
We do have a smart casual dress code that applies to all our specialty restaurants for dinner time.
We are in the process of changing our menus in 2 of our specialty restaurants, i.e. the Noble House, our Asian fusion restaurant, that has been launched on the 1st of August and the Veda, our Indian restaurant as of the 15th of August and both include more vegetarian options.
Wifi is available in our Executive rooms (20), in our Presidential Suites (10) and in all public areas. Otherwise we still have the internet in all other guest rooms via an ethernet cable.

We hope to see you again soon with your family.

Best regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
0.8 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelbag, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing