We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay, huge hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay, huge hotel, great location”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This is an amazing property, very large, has 2 beach areas, 4 restaurants and 2 pools along with a boathouse. You do not need to leave the hotel at all.
Rooms - very spacious and well designed internally. We have an ocean view room and the view is blocked by trees which takes away from the ocean view.
The food is alright. The breakfast spread is quite large. They have a Chinese, western and Indian restaurant for which you need to book each meal a day in advance if included with your package so those restaurants are quite empty. The food could be better though I wouldn't say it's bad.
Room service just walked into our room, I noticed there are no bells at the door. Also a little slow to get service.
Bring water with you, it is expensive in the hotel as it is all around Mauritius. A coke in the restaurant is about usd5, so is water.
Wifi is available free in the lobby and restaurants. The rooms only have paid Internet.
Pool- one regular pool and one heated pool. Very nice.
Location - it is an hour from the airport but well situated between Port Louis and Grand Baie which are the main hangouts.
Must have a dinner on the beach. Great experience.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday. For honeymooners, get the ocean view jacuzzi room.
The overall experience has been wonderful, have just listed some of the drawbacks so you are aware of them beforehand, they are minor and I hope the hotel would fix these little things.
We will surely go back someday.
BTW renting a car and going around the city is a good idea. It is about 1200MUR at the time of writing this from a private contractor outside the hotel for the day.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms all have tall tress in front of them. Couldnt really see much of the water. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrycopter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Harrycopter,

It is with great pleasure that I have read your constructive feedback and shared it with our colleagues so that we can make sure we correct those minor drawbacks by the time you come back to Mauritius!
Our rooms are ocean facing rooms and indeed we do have palm trees in our gardens. Therefore depending on where you room is situation you will have a better view on the ocean. Jacuzzi suite are definitely ideal for Honeymooners with their private terrace with an outdoor jacuzzi.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,304
    788
    297
    111
    130
See reviews for
730
1,382
47
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Mauritius is the best place for summer vacations on the beach. The weather is very good all year. The hotel is big but it is not easy to see - there was many guests but there was no "traffic" for example during breakfest hours. The meal is excellent, a few restaurant with different profile make only one problem: which to choose. The room was big, good planed, I have find here all things I expect in five stars hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DB1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear DB1099,

It was a great pleasure having you staying with us.
We are delighted to find out that you enjoyed your vacations in Mauritius and that we were able to match your expectations. Indeed we have a vast resort which means that even when we are running high occupancy, there is enough space for everyone to enjoy a little bit of privacy!
I hope you had the time to taste all our different restaurants.

If it is not the case, please come and visit us again!

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Awesome hotel with one of the best services ever found , sea facing room, Got everything for a perfect holidaying from water activities to ground activities, indoor activities,food. Hard to find a match for this property, Managers good and quick responses, Mr Neel if im right was good thanks for all the services.Perfect holidaying experience. Spa which was provided was not up to the mark.But rest was super awesome

Room Tip: Select the rooms on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexjissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear alexjissa,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us when travelling to Mauritius.
I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed every moment of it thanks to the friendliness of our people and specifically Neel from our Guest Relations Team. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with all our colleagues as it always great to share such wonderful feedback with them.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yavatmal, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

After being back from the resort on 5th aug 2012 which was memorable and life time experience. The staff was very much co operative and polite. Location and property is excellent. What I liked the best was the Indian buffet restaurant. The indian food specially veg was out of the world,and we felt its home away from home. We had tried other places at Mauritius but we didnt get proper food.
The resort is neat and clean but it could have been more clean specially the flooring.
Overall we were totally satisfied with the staff and their services and had no complaints. I would suggest everybody to visit the resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank govind1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear govind1811,

I would like to thank you for sharing your memorable experience with us.
We are delighted to read that the whole family had a great time and that you enjoyed our facilities and our Indian food.
InterContinental philosophy is about being In the Know and making people feeling at home. It is fantastic to find out that we brought it to life!
I have already shared your comments with all our colleagues and also addressed your comment on the cleanliness of our flooring with our Executive Housekeeper. We are currently conducting a spring cleaning program in all guest rooms.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you and your family again.

Best regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

ENTERTAINMENT
• Sega Dance’ performance on Saturday over dinner/drinks which was quite fascinating
• Every night they have a half an hour dance and music programme which was quite entertaining. They were also arranging seperate dance so in Indian Cuisine restaurant Veda. This were quite beautiful especially for kid who enjoy lot even after completion of show to play music at their own on African instruments!!
• The baracuda bar entertainment shows were sufficient with the indian dancers show and band. We attempted to dance on their dance floor with the music provided, despite being the only ones to do so


RELAXING AT BEACHES, BEACH ACTIVITIES
• We liked Sugar Cane Island for watching the amazing mauritian sunsets.
• Overall, it has evrything in this resort. Spa, Sauna, Jacuzee, Kids club, Gym, Boating, Lawn Tennis, clean and well maintained beach, lagoon as well. I belive if you don't want to go for sight seeing there is enough room at hotel to spend your time. They do have daily schedule for whole day to learn different activities, some of them free of cost.
• For the adventure lovers, the undersea walk at Bella Mare, the parasailing at Ile aux cerfs and the submarine ride (Blue safari) near Port Louis is recommended. For the extreme sport lovers you HAVE to do the Tandem skydive experience (www.skydivemauritius.com ) while in Mauritius.
• Ride on glass bottom boat is must do and the kayaking is an experience, both the activities are free for hotel guest, however the ride on glass bottom boat is to be booked in advance to avoid dis-appointment. We had one to one tuition to snorkel and jean Pierre went out of his way for my partner to help him be able to master it.
• We were taken out in a glass-bottomed boat to go snorkling, had a windsurfing lesson and went water-skiing.
• • We were on snorkelling 3 times during our stay with the glass bottom boat, it was a good fun and the ocean life under the water is marvellous.
• • other activities ie parasailing, speed boat ride etc are charged reasonably. They have about 3 swimming pools including a heated one. Main pool was a little cold for the little man so we used warmer pool at end of beach near boat house and dive place, very nice pool and just right temperature
• The only think that could get annoying is the sunbeds, towards the end of our holiday people were getting up very early and reserving with towels, then not turning up to use them until after midday, other quality hotels I have stayed at ban this behaviour by removing towels...There are plenty of beds I just hate people that do that
• Free water Skiing, Wind surfing, kayaking, glass bottom boat, table tennis, tennis. Beach Volleyball, petanque. Beach staff were fun and enthusiastic... Definitely try Bocce Ball!
• The catamaran trip is a must we chose the one to isle aux cerfs. There are alot to do in Mauritius, like the Catamaran trip to Gabriella Island (awesome), Isle Aux Cerfs trip (awesome as well) and the Mauritius Island trip (very nice)
• My family made full use of the amenities like tennis, water sports, excellent gym (with yoga and meditation classes -thanks Danny. We played football, petang, volleyboll, table-tennis together with other guest from the hotel
• We tried aqua aerobics and tropical dance lesson. It was a lot of fun. Not many guests took up on activities offer. We used the tennis courts and I went on one of the organised morning runs and did water-aerobics
• We played tennis or table tennis daily. We enjoyed a short game or two of table tennis and badminton with the well maintained sporting equipment provided by the hotel
• One thing to do if there's rain is to go to the fitness suite and spa. Both are free and of a high standard! We spent a whole afternoon using the sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and plunge pool.

Relaxing at the beach was very easy on the cushy sunloungers and the team of the Sugar Cane Bar took good care about everybody, serving drinks and snacks

EXCURSIONS AND TOURS
• The Triolet Shivala:The longest village on the island, Triolet offers an opportunity to visit the biggest Hindu temple, the Maheswarnath, first built in 1819 in honour of the Gods Shiva, Krishna, Vishnu, Muruga, Brahma and Ganesha
• Casela Park (definitely do the quad safari while you are there). Ile Aux Cerfs-the nicest beach on the island of Mauritius. Also check out Triolet City Hindu Temple and be sure to take off your shoes when you walk in.
• Grand Baie is nice for some souvenir shopping and night life. There are two supermarkets, Jumbo and Super U (no food mart in hotel so buy your snacks/goods in one of the two). The souvenir shop with a very good selection-Le

Room Tip: • (1112) was well appointed, contemporary in design (all of them are) and quite spacious, with the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank armehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear armehta,

Thank you so much for your very detailed and positive feedback regarding your family stay in Mauritius.
I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed all the facilities of the hotel and specially the heated swimming pool for the little one! I am glad you also enjoyed the boat house activities and our evening shows.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you and your family again.
Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is wonderful and the staff go out of their way to help. Guest relations manager Mr.Aldo was especially very helpful. The breakfast spread is great, there is something for everyone. The family room has one master bedroom (with sitting area) plus one children's room (with twin beds), a huge bathroom and a balcony. The room size is very good and perfectly comfortable for four adults also. Our room was on the ground level and the beach was just a few steps away. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SavitaSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear SavitaSinha,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments about our colleagues and family rooms. I have taken the liberty to share your wonderful feedback with all our people and more specifically with Aldo, our Front Office Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Louis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed at the hotel on nov 2011 and the kids loved it. Thought I will give them same experience but this time it was real shock with the lack of maintenance, old bed sheets and the average dinner with part held in a parking along with birds invading the breakfast room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank V D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud E, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear V D,

Thank you for your loyalty to our Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Kindly be assured that your latest experience is not a true reflection of our Standards and the way we treat our esteemed guests.
I have shared your comments with all our Management team to make sure we tackle the issues you pointed out.
I would like to be a little bit more specific in terms of the White Evening Party on Saturday night. Being in the winter season, we hold this special weekly event in our Ballroom and we set up the buffet in the foyer area. As we are using BBQs we need to place them outside the building and they are placed in front of the Foyer which also has parking spaces. However the dinner and the show take place in the Ballroom itself. As soon as summer is back this party will be held again on the beach.
We have reinforced our Preventive Maintenance Management and are looking at solutions to prevent birds from entering the restaurant over breakfast.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you and your family again to restore your faith in our Resort.

Warm regards,

Arnaud Esnault
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,334 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
0.8 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing