We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay at Intercon Mauritius”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family stay at Intercon Mauritius”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We normally do not like to write reviews or recommend hotels easily unless we had a very enjoyable stay. Intercon Mauritius is a very good resort, mainly for families. We had a morning flight and arrived at the hotel quite tired. We were welcomed by a gentleman , followed by Vandana who did our check in and then greeted by the Duty Manager Ms. Nashreen. We waited for some 20 mins for our room. The hotel is very big and has many activities . Restaurant are always fully book , so we recommend for advance booking if you want to try the different restaurants .Our preferred one was the Noble House. Segala is good but the staffs do not pay attention sometimes, and the restaurant manager seems not to know his job well. Senso is good for breakfast and is buffet. Ved the restaurant manager is very good. Special activities in the evening. A special mention to thank Ms. Nashreen and Mr. Sunjay, the food and beverage manager for their kind attention and for making our stay a memorable one. We will definitely go back to intercon if we go back to Mauritius .

Room Tip: I would recommend you take 2 deluxe rooms next to each other if you are travelling with your grown u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Ruby A,

Greetings from the IC Mauritius. I wanted to thank you for your review and will make sure that Sunjay and Nashreen know that you enjoyed their service.

I apologise for the apparent 'vague' service you experienced in Segala, it's fairly isolated as we don't usually get these comments regarding this restaurant, however we take all feedback seriously and will look into this, so thank you for letting us know.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mauritius, and thanks for the amazing room tip you offered. We do try to accommodate where possible 'ajoining' rooms. Another option for families is also the 2 bedroom family room, which has the interconnecting door for privacy.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,370
    798
    298
    113
    132
See reviews for
760
1,412
49
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Mauritius is a good place to unwind...chill by the beach...enjoy the resorts hospitality..relax in the property's hot and cold pools..utilize the inhouse sporting facilities...and lastly savor the long buffets... its all about the resort in Mauritius as the sightseeing is very ordinary. On that count the intercon does not disappoint. The ocean facing rooms are great especially the ones on the ground floor which have direct beach access. The food is good, however continental options for vegetarians are very limited. You will not be disappointed with the indian vegetarian spread which is quite good. The property is sprawling and very scenic. This is an option you should strongly consider if you want to visit Mauritius. But with the dollar prices soaring and the overpriced country that Mauritius is you would be advised to strongly consider asian substitutes like Langkawi Phuket Krabi or Koh Samui which are cheaper more scenic and more happening than Mauritius.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudhanshu6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear sudhanshu6,

I just wanted to drop you a short note to thank you for your review.

Thank you for highlighting our vast variety of Indian Vegetarian items, and we've taken on board your comments for the Continental Vegetarian side.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mauritius in the near future.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Denis, Reunion Island
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The first contact with this superb hotel is awesome : the entry hall is huge and furnished elegantly, same comment regarding the rooms : we were really impressed with the size and comfort of the Family room : 2 bedrooms, 3 TVs, a very nice and user friendly bathroom : really impressive !
The staff is very professional and friendly, especially female employees, a special mention to Supryia (Senso restaurant), we really appreciated her dedication to make our time unique at the restaurant.
A few irritating things though : we arrived early in the morning and had to wait for our luggage for many hours, long after the 2pm check-in; it was only after successive calls to reception that someone eventually looked in a storage room far away from reception where obviously our bags had been forgotten and left unattended...not too good for a start...we also felt sometimes too much pressure from the staff to consume and spend money in tours or activities.
Dives were really disappointing (but, yes, that's not a zoo !) and the value for money is not very competitive : 50€ for a 35 min dive...
Our kids were not too enthusiastic about the kids club, too much time spent in front of TV, it probably lacks more dynamic activities ; but the staff is really unreproachable with kids they are in charge of.
During our stay, the clientele was mainly Indian and local, therefore food was adapted accordingly, which, for a European, is very interesting, for it offers a tasty and smelly range of unusual cuisine experiences ! That was really exquisite, especially the Indian restaurant which was definitely our reference ; the Mauritius Restaurant along the Beach is excellent too, unfortunately we had a bad experience with the Asian one : dark place, dirty seats (spotted with bird droppings), dull meals compared with other restaurants,...not to be recommended, but enough choice in the 3 other restaurants to keep you excited to go for lunch or diner !
The presence of many birds is not too much of a problem (except above), but we were surprised to see wandering cats around and inside the Senso restaurant, it is surprising in such a upper-range hotel to notice you can hardly see any insect or bug -due to continuous treatment I guess- , while these not so good looking cats seem to be left walking around the tables. It won't ruin your stay there, though, that is just an unpleasant detail.

We spent 5 days in winter time, therefore the presence of a heated swimming-pool was precious ! Not all hotels can provide this service, and we were glad to enjoy it !

The hotel could do better regarding sports activities, our feeling was it is not their priority, may be not that of the majority of their clients either. For instance, the beach volley pitch is located...below a tree ! And the net is everything but a volley ball net ! The beach soccer pitch is minuscule and is not an invitation to play soccer; that would be a good idea to have more adapted sports facilities, there is definitely enough space.

In a nutshell : Very high standards and a perfect destination for a luxurious farniente, delicious & exotic meals, Spa/Hammam/Gym, global atmosphere and the experience of a staff dedicated to you, but if you are looking for sports experiences, there are probably other 4**** hotels in the neighbourhood with better facilities

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delep974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear delep974,

Greetings from the IC Mauritius and thank you for your review of our resort.

Being based in Reunion, we hope to see you come more often.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the food at the hotel and were able to taste a varied range of cuisines.

Regarding the cats, it's a problem we're addressing, since the closure of the MSPCA in Mauritius, it's been difficult for us, but we're working on it.

We have taken your constructive feedback regarding the kids club.

thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mauritius soon.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Firstly I think that holidays are so subjective that I refrain from recommending places to stay, visit etc. because everyone is different. However from a review perspective one can draw the good elements & the not so good from a review or indeed a series of reviews where there is a common them reoccurring from a positive or a negative slant. We chose the Intercontinental because I’d stayed at two of their hotels previously & found them to be exceptional value as well as of a high standard. We looked at some of the reviews before booking and then thought that we would try the hotel out for ourselves.

First impressions is that the reception area is huge & looks phenomenal. This is a great feature for guests or visitors when they’ve travelled so far to get to Mauritius. We were welcomed by one of the courteous members of staff who (as it’s been mentioned before) provided a welcome drink, a refreshing towel & most importantly a friendly smile. We had to wait 20-30 minutes for our room to be ready, however this wasn’t a problem as we chose to admire the reception area. What was very pleasing was that Shane the Commercial Director introduced himself & sat with my family & I. He assured us of an excellent stay as well as expressed his delight that we came from one of his favourite cities “Newcastle-Upon-Tyne”.

The room was superb, a family room with two large LCD TV’s, a huge bathroom, living room & balcony as well as to the delight of my daughter, a separate bedroom. The room in general was clean & tidy, although there were small areas that could do with “freshening up” but not a big issue. The housekeeping staff were attentive as well as again very courteous. However the noise element from guests shouting whilst walking down the corridor was a little annoying – although this is down to the building construction rather than anything else.

Outside around the pool was always clean & tidy, the waiters could have been a little quicker (20 minutes for a drink on average is a little slow in my books) we did bring this to the attention of the management, however we saw little or no improvement at all, this was a popular complaint by many of the guests at the hotel. The two pools were slightly on the small side, however adequate for most people & fun at the same time – especially the heated pool.
Some of the activities that were advertised did not seem to take place, this was a little disappointing as around the hotel apart from the water activities which were excellent, the pool, tennis there was little else in the way of entertainment. This is certainly an area that could be improved & would perhaps bring guests together a little bit more? The cats that roam the hotel are not really welcomed by me or it would seem the majority of the guests. I’m not too sure if they serve a purpose or not, however they do appear to be clean they are a nuisance & in fact we did see them on the table eating food that was left over. As previous guests have commented, the birds eating the food is also a little off putting. Sure there are bird buffets, however as long as some guests continue to feed the birds I’m sure they will just return time and time again. As a result some of the cushions were ‘splattered’ with bird muck which was very off putting.

Food wise, the buffet breakfast is excellent – there’s something there for most folks & the lunch and dinner again are very good. The food is constantly replenished & always hot, however the buffet restaurant does have a ‘canteen’ feel about it. We preferred to eat to the right of the buffet restaurant (as you face the sea) this is a little more intermit and a nicer surrounding. I have to say hats off to Looben (apologise for the spelling) who is a restaurant manager there. My wife and daughter who did not always like some of the food on offer, he & his team prepared various dishes to cater for their pallets. We also received a special seafood meal courtesy of Shane for our wedding anniversary which was spectacular & well received. We did encounter some problems when a corporate function was on & we could not eat in our desired restaurant however this was compensated more than adequately by Shane & his staff.
The beach as previously discussed by other reviewers, was not great although the best part of the beach is next to the pancake/ice cream parlour. The hotel is basically isolated, this may be fine for some holiday makers however if you plan on getting out and about then you need to bring a lot of extra cash with you as a round trip to the nearest town (Arsenal) is 1000 R return. You can negotiate a cheaper rate with the taxi drivers outside the gate, however doing this everyday will cost you a small fortune depending on where you wish to visit. My recommendation is hire a car from Europcar, you can get a good deal on line & pay the representative at the Intercon. 250 R to deliver it.

All in all a really nice holiday, we enjoyed our stay & would like to thank Shane, Looben, and the girls in the kids club who were exceptional.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kagthemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear kagthemag,

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a very fair review of the resort.

I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your visit. We are working on the speed of service in the Coco Bar, and it can get a little busy there during peak periods.

For the night time entertainment, we do try to have as much going on as possible, with the Indian, Arabic, Latin and of course Sega shows that are on 4 nights a week, as well as different musicians which we discussed (although fine tuning this process).

I will make sure that the staff you have mentioned know that you enjoyed their service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mauritius in the near future.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley on thames
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just returned back from a fabulous 12 night stay and would highly recommend this hotel. We and our three girls couldn't have been looked after better. The service in the main restaurant was brilliant, pretty slow at the beach bar but staff so warm and friendly it didn't seem to matter. It was very safe for our girls to have the freedom to run up and down resort and they had lots of fun at kids club. They loved Chaya who was really lovely with them. The family suite was perfect for the five of us and beds amazingly comfy! In the Sagala restaurant Christophe couldn't have done enough for us and Wesley also in Noble house made our stay very special. Not forgetting Shane the sales and marketing director who went out of his way to make sure we were having a fabulous time. We definitely hope to return one day.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room request one around heated pool.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vics L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Vics L,

I'm glad that you and the family arrived back safely, it was a real pleasure to have you here.

I'll make sure that Chaya, Christophe and Wesley get the feedback, I'm super happy that they looked after you well.

I know that Segala was your preference for breakfast, we are very lucky to have two breakfast locations for guests here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mauritius and the resort in the near future.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel on half board and cannot fault it! We went as a family and had 4 rooms. All the rooms were splendid - the size of the room, the bed, the tub! The food at breakfast and dinner was absolutely amazing. The hotel has 2 pools of of which is heated (!!!) - ideal for the kids. The beach isn't the best but still of very good quality - the sunbathing opportunities are great though specially the way the loungers are laid out. The staff are also very warm, polite and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would happily go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shehzad013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear shehzad013

Thank you so much for your stellar review! I'm super happy that you enjoyed yourself.

Next time I hope you have the chance to extend your stay a few more nights and try more of the facilities.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental hotel for two nights. We also stayed at Long Beach during this stay and have previously stayed at La Residence and Ambre Hotel in the Belle Mare area. We were impressed by the quality of the rooms. We stayed in a family room (two rooms) and were very comfortable. Senior management staff were very helpful - especially Kevin who listened to a minor complaint and gave us a lovely lunch treat as compensation. Having also stayed at Long Beach we were also able to compare quality of staff training. I would say that the more junior catering staff were helpful but could be better trained. The swimming pools are small although the heated pool is very nice to swim in. When staying in Mauritius most people would like a pristine beach with nice views. Unfortunately, the view to the left in the distance is of Port Louis with its various ships docked. The beach is rocky and not too suitable for swimming. However there are very nice sunsets. Overall, our stay was good value for money as we got a good deal. However, for those in search of the 'Mauritian beach experience' I would suggest a stay at the hotels located on the East coast such as Long Beach, Belle Mare Plage or La Residence. But be aware also that in Winter (June, July, August) there can sometimes be a strong breeze on the east coast and it can be chilly!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyfromLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane J, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear FamilyfromLondonUK,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our resort.

I'll make sure Kevin is aware you enjoyed his service and service recovery, both of which are equally important in our eyes.

Regarding the beach itself, thank you for your constructive points. Depending on the tide, yes it can provide varied swimming experiences.

We are continuing to train and develop all our staff, and I'm glad you found them helpful.

kind regards

Shane J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,984 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,440 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,306 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
28.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing