We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Hotel for Leisure and Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Bhopal, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Hotel for Leisure and Relaxation”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Oh what a beautiful resort hotel, situated near the sea. I wished that I should have gone there for leisure/ relaxation rather than for business. The rooms were elegantly done with premium upholstery and furnishings. The resort was away from all the city bustle and quite serene. The Hotel service was of top quality and so was the food. But I am not able to shake off the sheer poise and elegance of this resort nested on the sea shore. Go ahead and have a wonderful holiday with your soulmate, a place of tranquility and peace. But do not miss the sunrise and sunset in this Hotel and so is the morning swim in the sea. Have a Gala time.

Room Tip: Choose a room far away from the main reception, which has direct access to the shoreline and sand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shankar142176871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Shankar,
we would like to thank you for choosing InterContinental resort Mauritius for your short stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your business trip and we do hope to have a chance to welcome you back in future for vacation.
Yours sincerely

Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing&Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,401
    819
    303
    114
    133
See reviews for
788
1,431
49
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A very modern hotel with all of the facilities you would expect. Nice seemingly man made beeches with decent services. The large restaurant was good and Senso very good with excellent service. However I echo other reviews on this site that guest service were poor. When I arrived receptions was empty and I had to walk around the hotel to find someone, when I checked out a guy in a track suit was at the desk and did not even ask about my stay. it took forever for my baggage to reach the room. Every time I call the concierge it took a number of attempts to get through, etc, etc. you really need to fix the entire reception service and you will score higher!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nprudhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear valued guest,
I would like to personally thank you for your time to share with us your experience during past stay.
We value your comments about front desk and concierge staff not meeting your expectations. We will take immediate on job trainings and one to one meetings with relevant staff to make sure that all understands client needs and expectations.

Yours sincerely

Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Intercontinental is a great place where to relax and have fun at once. There is a great atmosphere there. The beach is a peaceful place with a great terrasse on the ocean from where you can observe the best sunsets ever!!
A great thank to jean Pierre and his animation team (Oliver, LLyod, Ravi, Preethee) who made our stay even more pleasant. Animation is decent never too pushy and there is always an activity to take part to, if you want.

The food and the service in the restaurants (you can chose between different kind of food/environment within the hotel) is excellent .

The hotel is well situated and not far away from Grand Bay, a nice village with good restaurants, bars and shopping possibilities. Also Port Luis and other "touristic" places are easy to be reached from there.

We got a big, very clean room, which was cleaned every day with lots of love for details by Jay, who I kindly thank for his "animal figures" on the bed :-)

A very special thank to Mr Kevin Ritoo, who made possible the upgade to this wonderful room!!
He also helped us with the booking of the the catamaran and gave us all the time valuable advices. His nice manners and professionality made the stay even more valuable :-) :-)

The fitness center and the Spa are professionally organized and very well managed.

I can really advice you to book this hotel if you want to experience a memorable holiday!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giada M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Giada,
would like to thank you for sharing with us your great experience from InterContinental resort Mauritius. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us and you found some friends here :-)
Yours sincerely
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing&Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at the resort for 8 days (19th-26thApril 2014), Awesome experience. We were spoiled from the time of arrival till the last minute we departed. Wanted to change our room and this was done without a fuss,despite the hotel being so full because of a wedding. We loved the personnel. The staff and food was amazing. Too much to eat and drink. Entertainment every night was fabulous. The free water sports, helped us save alot. The Highlight of our stay was my 50th birthday when we were entertained on the Sunset Cruise, this was so special, and ended with the bon fire and Sega dance. All the retuarants were nice. But our favourite was the main Segala and Senso Bar. The smile on the waiters faces, melted our hearts. The beach is very rocky so not a good sport for swimming, but further North are good beaches. There is a clinic also, where I was treated fress of charge. We loved the resort. Will recommend anytime. Thank you for your warm hospitality and excellent service. The Naidoo and Naicker Family

Room Tip: Rather choose upper level instead of ground unit, because of the dampiness due to the monsoon. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynettenaicker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Naidoo and Naicker Family,
we would like to thank you for your time to post your great review on tripadvisor.

It was our pleasure to host you at InterContinental resort Balaclava and we do hope to see you back sometime in future.

Yours sincerely

Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing& Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I had been there for my honeymoon and my stay and experience couldn't have been better.
We just loved the location, rooms and the private beach of the resort. The DJ nites were good and had lot of fun and memorable time. The restaurants were very nice and served a variety of food to cater to all taste platters.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shubhi_rastogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear valued guest, we are delighted to hear that we made your honeymoon stay so successful and we do hope to welcome you in future for your wedding anniversary.

Yours sincerely
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing&Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

During our last visit to the Island of Mauritius, we had the opportunity to stay at the Intercontinental. Although it was only for one night, we were very impressed with the place. The staff were very friendly, the room was very spacious. It was quite surprising to see that they had three beds set in two rooms. Our kids had their own room which mean that we did not feel like sardines packed in one room. The room was very clean and well decorated and they even provided complimentary water bottles for the all family.

The hotel restaurant was exceellent and we had dinnner in the Mauritian style restaurant and the Chef was very accommodating in prepararing the plate we wanted to try and the food was very good. In all, it was a very nice evening and we would certainly stay in this hotel again as it was perfect for my family. Above all, the price was excellent considering the services and the hotel facilities. I would recommend to anyone that wants to spend a beautiful holiday with their family and still not have to take a loan to enjoy a vacation at the Intercontinental in Mauritius.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Patrick,
thank you for your time to share with us your experience at InterContinental Resort Mauritius. We really value your feedback and we are glad to hear that you liked our property.
Hope to see you soon back for longer time
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing&Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

While on holiday in Mauritius I went for a Birthday Dinner for my sister and the whole family we booked Fusion Restaurant the Food was amazing the atmosphere was great very friendly staff my family enjoyed that very much . Mr Nick the restaurant Manager what a Gentleman great sense of humour genuine hospitality he has . we have there he was very welcoming he made our night great my sister was very happy . we definitely coming there again when am on my holiday . Mr Nick is a gem for that hotel we will definitely recommend our friends from United Kingdom to go to that restaurant .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nheerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear valued guest, thank you for taking time to share with us your recent experience from one of our restaurants, Noble House. I am delighted to hear that we made all all of you happy and you enjoyed our great asian food, service and Nick accompany.
Hope to see you again
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,035 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,431 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,711 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travelbag, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, IHG, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing