We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grt Place Simply loved it....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Amazing Experience. Very very friendly staff and no way feels like we are in a different country. Room quality was good. I liked the food Multiple restaurants loads of options. No negatives. You dont feel liked going out. Good water sports activities. Try learning snorkeling from the day you arrived. Overall excellent experience as per its budget.

Room Tip: Ground Floor Rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yatinkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Yatinkumar, thank you very much for your review and as you said Excellent Experience.
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,825)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,131 - 1,137 of 2,826 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've never written a review on here before but we have just returned from such a fantastic holiday at the Intercontinental that I felt it would be unfair not to.
There were 11 of us staying at the hotel for my wedding and I have to say that from the moment we stepped into the hotel the staff couldn't be more helpful and attentive.
The reception was amazing, with fantastic views.

We were lucky enough to get upgraded twice, the Jacuzzi room was lovely, but the presidential suite - WOW! would highly recommend staying here if the budget allows.
The food was great, we ate in all of the restaurants during our stay and each one offered a wide range of foods that catered for all in our party, veggies and 18 month old included. Yes there were a few birds flying around but it didn't bother us in the slightest, you are in a tropical country after all so some element of nature/wildlife is to be expected!

The beach was lovely and quiet and there was never an issue getting sunbeds despite there being 11 of us.

The wedding day itself was utterly amazing, I would highly recommend this as a wedding venue - the staff were amazing and the setting couldn't have been more perfect.

I have to say that I read a lot of reviews on here before we came and was slightly worried - but don't be, I honestly don't know where these people holidayed but it certainly wasn't here.

Special thanks to Jean Pierre, Jonathan, Juan, Marie-Louise, Manoj, Yannick, and all of the staff that looked after us.

Needless to say we are looking at returning at some point in the future.

Room Tip: If you can get the presidential suite - do! its worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Stephanie, what a compliment :-)
We are glad to hear that we made your stay so amazing. I know how important was that week for all of you and we are proud to be a piece of puzzle which make it work and time to be remembered.
Hope to be able to see you again sometime in future.

Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having never visited Mauritius we were unsure of what to expect. This hotel was everything and more and would not hesitate in returning.

The hotel is vast but all the staff are hugely friendly and attentive. The service provided was the best we have experienced for sometime, and ranged from the bar staff to the receptionist, to even the water ski instructor...

The 4 restaurants help to add a fantastic variety and you will never become bored of the cuisine.

A hotel I would truly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Matthew, we are proud to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at InterContinental resort Mauritius. Very happy to hear your positive feedback mainly on our staff attentive service and our food & beverage product, which I am very proud off.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Fabulous holiday at the Intercontinental Hotel in Mauritius. Lovely room by the beach and great staff, particularly Olivier in the gym, the concierge and all the staff at the Segala restaurant for their delicious food and supply of drinks to the beach.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank 19Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear valued guest, we are proud to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at InterContinental resort Mauritius.
Looking forward to welcome you back soon
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed 5 days at the Intercontinental Balaclava. A special and great place. Everything was perfect - great rooms, fabulous staff, great resort. Only issue might be inability to swim in the oceanfront due to heavy surf. My experience was fantastic. Looking forward to a return

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Paul, we are proud to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at InterContinental resort Mauritius.
Looking forward to welcome you back soon
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our second visit to this lovely and well managed hotel. Last year our visit was marred by a medical problem, so we returned to complete the holiday we never had.

Again the staff at all levels were superb and welcomed us back as old friends. The food and accommodation was as splendid as ever and we can't but help in recommending the Intercontinental to all who visit Mauritius.

Room Tip: Older people may wish to choose a ground floor room if stairs are a problem
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morton J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear valued guest, thanks a lot for your time to share with us your recent experience.
Happy to hear that your second visit went so well and your are feeling well now.
Looking forward to welcome you back to InterContinental resort Mauritius or any of our sister hotels round the world.
Yours sincerely
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The resort caters for a specific type of clientele! So you'll either love it or find it far short of your expectations of a 5star.

During my stay, I met some indians who seemed to be fairly happy with their stay, so i guess some people wont mind the shortcomings.

What could be improved:
Premium service - staff are friendly but not knowledgeabe, efficient or even attentive to your needs, Dont even mention anticipate your needs, we have a long way to go! However the porter service was efficient. At one point we waited for almost 45mins for 1 cocktail at the main bar.

Quality Food - Senso Main restaurant: The buffet was varied but freshness and quality was absent. We were on AI and only credited 20usd to be used at the other 4 restaurants which was rather pointless considering that an average dinner would cost well above 50usd/pp. It is also surprising to charge for non-premium items such as icecream (which was not even nice!) at 5usd or fresh juice at 10usd when on All-inclusive. The extras and supplements should only be charged on premium items, so i hope some changes can be made there.

We found cats strolling about, some people may like it, some not but best to not have strolling cats in a 5 star establishment. Moreover the birds are a big nuisance in the main restaurant and can spread diseases as they enjoy leftovers from the buffet bays and dinner tables.

The spa has excellent balinese therapists. You'll get 30-50% off which brings down the price for a treatment to around 60usd for 1 hour. I had the deep tissue massage which was well worth it and I also enjoyed the ginger honey tea served after. The warmed-up jaccuzi, hamman, sauna, plunge pool, relaxation area are all up to standard! The gym is small but modernly equipped and has one of the best views on the ocean.

Difficult to complain about the rooms:
The rooms are comfortable and spacious- AC works fine, comforable pillows and mattress, modern and nice mood stimulating theme, bathroom has a bathtub and seperate shower. The family room has an attached smaller room with 2 beds which is very convenient. Tea & coffee making facilities, mini-bar (which surprisingly was empty!!) and an LCD TV were available. The remote control for TV didnt work and the channels had frequent interruptions/interferences which made it unviewable. I'm sure this can be fixed.

The location:
Private, spacious, long stretch of beach, small islet all make it perfect for chill-out and relaxation. There are 2 swimming pools, one warmed up for colder winters. Sports entertainment is organised by Kappa club and they do a great job- kudos to laura and her team.

In summary, if you are looking for premium service and quality, you'll be disappointed but if you can overlook that, then the hotel would be a good value-for-money option.

The food quality and drinks/cocktails has to be improved greatly for me to stay at the hotel again as neighbouring hotels maritim, meridien, victoria offer better quality food at the same value.

Room Tip: choose room close to reception for convenience as some rooms could be a long walk down. otherwise gr...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PavanGopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear PavanGopal, thanks a lot for your time to share with us your recent experience.
I would like to inform your that we are currently looking into our All inclusive package for any changes which maybe implemented.

Looking forward to welcome you back to InterContinental resort Mauritius or any of our sister hotels round the world.
Yours sincerely
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,069 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,478 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
0.8 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: £170 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, IHG, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing