We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent visit once again! - Claudia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent visit once again! - Claudia”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Being a regular visitor to InterContinental Resort for 6 years I know the set up at the resort pretty well.

I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate Juan Losada and his team on the positive changes which have taken place at InterContinental since Juan have joined the team!

Being an IHG Gold Member I have seen the hotel in many phases of development due to regular visits to the hotel.

Since visiting the resort last year during the period of November/December and then again in January as well as recent as June 2014, there are huge and positive changes which have come about since Juan's arrival.

The staff seemed to have had a change in terms of positivity towards their jobs as well as the service which has vastly improved. There seems to be a sense of urgency amongst the staff members to get things done promptly.

The physical changes at the resort are positive as well and there seems to be some clever thought which went into the arrangement of the pool area as well as the lobby. It all just seems to make better sense in functionality.

The dining area is working much better due to the new arrangement of the food courses as well as the layout. The salads and cold starters are displayed in true 5* style and the desserts have improved which has always been a bit of a let-down for me.

Juan's friendly disposition is both welcoming and refreshing. There seems to be a friendly buzz when one enters the lobby and the presence of management is visible and assuring.

Juan you are truly an asset to the resort and your appointment has had a positive impact on the resort! Congratulations again!!

I would also like to take the opportunity to once again highlight the excellent job which your Chief Concierge Mr Kevin Ritoo does.

Having dealt with Kevin on a regular basis and for many years, he just seems to lift the bar over and over again in terms of service! Nothing is too big or small for him to handle and his friendly disposition is truly an asset to the resort.

All my travel arrangements are always handled by Kevin without any problems and it’s a pleasure to arrive at the resort and everything runs 100% smoothly.

His hands-on approach is both satisfying and welcomed.

I would like to also mention the great service I received from Anoop. I am pleased to see that he has climbed the ladder in the resort and this boy has great potential. He conducts himself in a very professional manner and takes care of all I need.

He treats me like a queen and his friendly manner is so welcomed!

Sam and Wesley are great assets to the resort as well and having known them for years as well, I have seen the growth in them. Well done!!

Congratulations again to you and your team and may the relevant beings in power be notified of this great experience which I once again had at InterContinental.

Looking forward to seeing you in the next few weeks again and then for a month in the period of November / December.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaudiaMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Claudia, I am very happy to read your feedback and recent experience.
Glad to hear that all of our efforts over last couple of months are paying off and are also visible to regular guests like you.
I can assure you that we dont stop here but looking deeply into further improvements and changes to become number ONE hotel choice on the paradise island.
Yours sincerely
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    820
    303
    114
    133
See reviews for
790
1,432
49
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a week at ICM resort during SA school holidays in July 2014 & were extremely satisfied & impressed with the facilities & activities at ICM. It has a great gym, Oliver is a friendly instructor. Vandana is a great CRM ambassador ensuring your comfort & peace of mind at all times. Evening shows were great & meals at the Senso buffet restaurant ensures that every person's tastes & preferences are catered for, compliments to Navin & his team for good food & a comfortable dining experience!

Hope to return over Christmas again & will only stay at ICM resort. Keep up the good work.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Keith, I am delighted to read your feedback from your recent stay with us.
We are proud to have some a colleagues like Oliver, Vandana and Navin, who are our true InterContinental Ambassadors in delivering authentic experience.
Looking forward to welcome you back before end of the year.
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in this property for 6 nights, the hotel is centrally located and is a five star property for sure. Food wise there is a nice Indian restrau and a buffet restrau which is nice with options for both veg and non veg . Reception of hotel is fabulous . First view as one enters is amazing! The only problem we faced was there was no hot water for bathing and as it's cold in Mauritius ie winters have started , hot water was a must but we kept on complaining but problem could not be solved! However Mr SHIVADEV the manager was very nice and humble he offered us to shift to a sweet room on our 4th night however as we had set our room and unpacked everything so we did not shift our room. Overall it was a nice experience which could have been better if our hot water problem was being solved . Would like to thank mr SHIVADEV for being humble

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arpitc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear arpitc2, thank you very much for you time to share with us your recent experience.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at InterContinental resort Mauritius, except hot water issue. We have been facing some troubles with temperature of hot water in certain rooms over last couple of days, let me assure you that the issue has been fixed and hot water is realy hot... :-)
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed there as a weekend gateway and came back for business...
The hotel has very nice rooms, impressive lobby, buffet food is so-so, but it is decently priced for what you get... Service was lacking a bit, it was courteous but not friendly.
What i did not like, is that the beach sand is artificial hence very thick, this is also not the best place for swimming in Mauritius.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Romain, thank you very much for taking time to share with us your feedback.
Its very important for us to here about areas where we can still do better and I am sure that we are doing better already right now.
Hope to see you back in near future.
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and myself are currently staying at InterContinental Mauritius since the last 4 days.

Property: Excellent property, very well designed and good layout in tune with the natural surroundings.

Lobby: Beautiful, open, spacious, airy, vibrant and high ceilinged lobby.

Location: Beach front property (like most of the premium resorts in Mauritius); hence not easily accessible. You can't walk out of the resort for a meal and/or shopping. The nearest village a 10 min drive.

Rooms: Awesome! Comfy and cosy seating area, large screen TV, desk, huge bathtub, separate shower stall, 2 wash basins and a neat balcony with a sit out area. The AC in our room was not working; but the resort promptly sent a maintainance staff to fix it. The hot water in the shower is a bit complicated and you have to wait a while for the water to get warm.

Amenities: Free wi-fi with pretty good speed. 2 pools (1 heated which is lush in the winters), a boat house which has a few water sport activites (glass bottom boat ride, kayaking, snorkeling.... to name a few), TT, lawn tennis....

Restaurants: 4 options. Vedas (Indian) which we didn't try (but we've not heard good reviews). Noble House (Asian) which we didn't try. Segala (Mauritian/Continental) which we tried twice; but was not too great. Senso (buffet meals) which also serves breakfast. Senso does a different theme each night. We had dinner at Senso twice; both meals were not good. Breakfast at Senso though vast (they cover Chineese, Indian & Continental cuisines); is not good. Eggs are the only saving grace in an otherwise dull menu and unappetising food.

Service & Staff: Room service and housekeeping is good and prompt. Staff at the property are either very warm and friendly or courteous but reserved and not very helpful.

Top3 likes: Rooms, heated pool & waterfront layout.

Top 3 areas to be improved: Food, hot water in showers and staff training.

The hotel should look at a shuttle service from the hotel to Port Louis/Grand Bay to provide options to guests.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna_Elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Donna, thank you very much for taking time to share with us your feedback.
I am glad to hear that you liked our property layout, rooms and public areas. I will have a talk to our F&B team to address your comments/suggestions.
Hope to see you back in near future.
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We've spent a week at the hotel with our two children and we left very satisfied. The Hotel, rooms a.s.o. are in good shape and the staff is friendly and attentive. The hotel grounds are huge, especially the beach front is beautiful. You need to decide want kind of board you are booking, full board is easy and convenient may be cheaper but counts only in one of the four restaurants. The other three restaurants are extremely good. We had fantastic and very tasty dinners. You need to pay them a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hauser44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear hayser44, thanks a lot for your time to share with us your feedback. Glad to hear that you liked staff attitude, rooms and our beach. In regards to your Food&beverage comment, let me assure you that all of our meal plans are open for all restaurants either with daily menu or credit for a la carte per person.
Hope will have a chance to welcome you back soon
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We always wanted to make my honeymoon special and memorable, and specifically wanted it to be in Mauritius. After thorough research, i zeroed upon Intercontinental, took a half board package for 6 nights. Reason behind choosing Inter Continental was its extremely positive reviews about food and stay.And after staying there i will second the positive feedback.

You don't have much options for vegetarian food in Mauritius if you belong to indian subcontinent, unless your hotel has good variety of delicacies. There were 5 restaurants - Chinese,Indian, Seafood, Continental(Buffet) and a fast food cum bar on the beach.

I loved the buffet one, you name it and you will have it, it serves almost everything and its unlimited, Indian Restaurant also deserves one time visit, apart from the buffet one you will have to book the rest a day advance.The Indian restaurant Vedas provided various indian delicacies in very Indianised decor and service is very quick and satisfying.

Hotel was in North of the City, and its tastefully designed, and is huge, private beach is beautiful and water sports are better than the one you need to pay for outside.

About the room, there is 24/7 menu available in your room, you have 42 inch LCD with internet enabled.nice and big bathroom with spotless clean bathtub and separate shower area.

Nice Swimming pool and Spa too.We went for head spa which was absolutely free of cost for honeymooners.Spa experience was a soothing and relaxing with good music playing in serene background.You have to book your spa one day in advance.

you have a shop for cosmetics and apparels, snooker table and a amphitheater, where there are dance events almost every day.You will get many gift options and variety of colourful swim costumes in these shops.

I had more fun in hotel than when we went out for sight seeing.Exotic beach area inside the hotel makes a perfect stay for honeymooners in intercontinental.You can also relax with a book on the beachside with a refreshing drink.Plenty of options for drinks available on beachside restaurant.

I would definitely recommend this one to all honeymooners especially.You will definitely enjoy the stay at intercontinental and will be surely satisfied with it services.Cooperative and friendly staff always at your service. In fact we had a late check in so we asked for late check out,staff readily obliged us without any fuss. My strong recommendation for intercontinental for a perfect romantic honeymoon.

PS: there is a special arrangements for honeymoon couples, they serve you sparkling wine bottle, pair of T Shirts, 1 Fruit basket and a special candle light dinner and an amazing SPA for a couple, all for free.
Very special and luxurious stay indeed.
Have Fun.

Room Tip: Room with jaccuzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaurav_sngl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiri B, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guarav,
happy to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us.
Will be glad to welcome you in future for one of your many anniversaries.
Jiri Benes, Director of Marketing&Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,037 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,435 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,717 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, IHG, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing