We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unforgettable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unforgettable”
Reviewed 13 May 2009

First time in Mauritius but not in Intercontinental hotels. This time for our honeymoon in a so nice deluxe terrace room with private whirlpool (yes!). People are so nice, very good service, big main swimming pool, beautiful beach, delicious food, wonderful spa, especially double room, so romantic!
As the hotel is close to Grand Baie and Port Louis, it was very easy to go out for shopping and enjoy Mauritian night life.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YpsiParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    820
    303
    114
    133
See reviews for
790
1,432
49
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

the hotel is fabulous. it is very grand. the rooms are well furnished and clean. the food spread is good. the drinks are resonable. there are too many rocks on the beach which makes it impossible to swim in the ocean. the snorkelling site is 20 min walk from the hotel. the glass bottom boat and other rides have still not started. the hotel is fully not completed so there is construction noise. the water supply was not steady. once there was no water and once there was no hot water. the hotel is far away and there is nothing close by. the transportation from the hotel is very expensive.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shaileeshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech Rep.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2009

The journey from the airport to the hotel was very pleasant. The representatives of the hotel didn't mention that you shouldn't tip these guys until you're on the return leg of the journey going home, so be aware. I know its only pennies but it does leave a bad taste in your mouth within the first few minutes of arriving in Mauritius. Hotel InterContinental is very comfortable and the waiting staff in all areas were very pleasant.
Disappointed that a trip that we booked at the hotel to visit the shopping town. It was messed up by either the rep or the travel company who the rep deals with. We were only there a week and booked a Saturday afternoon and evening trip to do some shopping which included a meal departing at 16.30 and returning late evening in order to get some bargains as the Port Louis market was very cheap and very adventurous when it comes to shopping, however the coach didn't come to collect us. After making calls to the hotel help line, at our expense, they said the driver wasn't aware and didn't have us on their list for pick up and was too far in to their destination to turn back VERY DISAPPOINTING especially as we had paid in advance and had our receipt as proof of purchase to hand. Rep was not available on Saturday or Sunday so no point in moaning at the time but something to be aware of. So cant recommend the hotel's tour and excursion agency because of this but must say that the hotel receptionist herself was very nice, as she was very enthusiastic about the country. Shame about the trip fiasco.

All inclusive package was really worth it, I am very pleased to say there was no rushing or queuing or overeating by anyone. Very pleasant. Well done Intercontinental .The tennis court at the hotel was enjoyable, it was very new.

About the tour, after talking with various people wherever we went in Mauritius, it appears to be cheaper to book in advance with a website called Mauritius Attractions (.com) which I only found after the terrible story which happened to me at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcouple123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Spent 8 day at the IC Mauritius (family of 5) that is in "very" soft opening mode (to say the least)! The Service (Food an Beverage+ Nautical Activities even though they had very little to offer at the time because of not being able to go past the reef - no pass opened yet) was second to none. Very attentionate and made us feel special throughout the stay. The hotel itself is nice but is more of 4+ category than a five star and is no where near ready to be fully operational (2 restaurants opened at the time - buffet and lunches by the pool but the specialty ones - Indian and Fusion Food - were unfortunaltely not openened). We were lucky enough to get great service and great food (I had said early on that Indian food was our favorite and we certainly got what we wished for with the Indian Chef preparing us "special" - excellent - dishes on request! The pool is disappointing in the sense that is way too shallow (for Children I guess this is OK). The rooms were nice but with a few glitches (shower drain not inclined enough so that water does not evacuate fast enough, toiletries for the bathroom were not up to notch and not enough in quantitity, the IP TV (nice flat screens though) works erratically. The grounds in front of our rooms were still being worked on so that view from the balcony was spoiled. Other than than the people there made our stay very enjoyable. Would we go back to the IC Mauritius? No but to be fair we never like to stay in the same place twice. Would I recommend it? Yes for its service but no if you are looking for a true five star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianOceanFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Advertised as a 5 star Hotel, but experienced something of a 3 star.
We arrived at the hotel at about 10pm, waited two hours to get checked in, we were told that the kitchens were closed and we fought for food to be delivered to our rooms, which we received another hour later. The hostess that lead us to our rooms got a bit lost and we ended up following her around up and down stairs turning this way and that trying to figure out the confusing room number signs.

Normally the host / hostess would sit with the new arrivals and explain about the hotel and were everything was situated, we had to figure things out for ourselves which made the stay irritating as we constantly had to make sure with the front desk were we could go and what we would be charged for.

The rooms I must say looked immaculate, we stayed in the 'Ocean View Rooms', plasma screen on a swivel facing the double bed, pillows on the bed were large but kept collapsing into themselves, had to keep propping them up and they smelled kinda funny? Large bath tub with another smaller plasma tv set in the bathroom.
The shower rocked!! Loved the shower, large and blasted out the water on full tap, like having a massage!
One of my friends I went with did not have hot water in his bathroom for two days though?

The hotel boasted water sport facilities but most of what they said was on offer didn't even exist, like the glass bottom boat and windsurfing.
The shopping arcade they said was available had not been completed save for one small shop selling towels and a few souveniers.

Wanted to rent a scooter which they said you could rent from the hotel also was not available??

We originally booked the half board option but were upgraded to full board, why I don't know, which meant we could now dine at their second restaurant for free. Which we did one night and were charged MUR 3000 for the three of us which once we complained we were credited for.

The plasma tv in the rooms has a hotel menu were you can select to view your current bill which is handy noting all the drinks you have spent your money on. A beer would set you back MUR164.00 which is insane if you ask me.
We resorted to buying drinks from various shops in Grand Bay and stocking up the hotels mini fridge in our rooms..much cheaper.

The food was good and the buffet offered a decent variety even for vegetarians.

Entertainment was bleak, a cocktail lounge above the reception area in the hotel have a resident band which were as lively as dead squid!
We saw one Sega show which lasted a whole 30 minutes.

The hotel's beach front has a small shallow man made lagoon which is good for leisurely water sports like pedalos and for swimming.
Beach sand was rough and covered in half broken coral shells so wear beach shoes.

The infinity swimming pool is shallow and only 800mm deep which leads onto pool bar stools on the one side.
Good selection of cocktails at about 9 euros for an average cocktail...ouch!

The hotel is still under construction, with vacant 'Ocean Rooms' still being worked on and construction containers visible on one side of the hotel.
Laundry storage rooms outside the rooms standing open with no doors on them yet, walkways with no awnings or covers that still have to be installed.

A bit of banging at night with a small detail of construction workers didn't bother me too much and electrical contractors still installing stair lights during the day and having to step over their cables wasn't too much of a nuisance.

Overall the InterContinental Mauritius has great potential, its decor is stunning and their furnishings are all 5 star excellence, but they should not be advertising their readiness for accepting guests and boasting the variety of offerings which they did not have.

They simply were not ready and it felt like we were their Guinna pigs for their training.
The trip was great though, thanks to the friendliness of the Mauritius people.

I love Mauritius and I will definitely visit there again, but will I stay at the InterContinental........hmmmmm....No.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skeenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,037 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,435 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,717 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travelbag, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing