We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a great time.”
Reviewed 13 June 2009

We wanted to take off from the hustle & bustle of daily life and chill out. We couldn't have found a better place. It was a great place to go for a holiday where all of us enjoyed.
The hotel took our breadth away and the rooms were fantastic.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HeshyLal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    820
    303
    114
    133
See reviews for
790
1,432
49
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2009

We a family of three spend 4 nights at Intercontinental. The Hotel has opened only recently but the staff is trying their best to give excellent service. Our departure time was at 7.20 p.m and dinner only starts at 7.00 p.m. On our request Chef Victor and Anurag served us early dinner at 6.45 p.m with a special meal for our 5 year old daughter. The Hotel had earlier agreed to a late checkout. Only one drawback; the beach in Balaclava is rocky with broken corals and shells as the reef is close by with huge waves compared to other beaches in Mauritius. Some people may like it though.The Kids club is very good with a friendly staff. The rooms are fantastic with direct access to the beach

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurabh_2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

The hotel has gone for a "Soft opening" meaning that it won't be fully open until September. The up side of this is that you can get some good deals, the downside is that you have to be a little patient with some of the systems which aren't quite up to speed.

The welcome was adequate, although we were just left to fend for ourselves while we waited for our room to be made up. We were promised a guided tour but somehow this didn't materialise, but hardly a major crisis!

The room was fine but take care in the bath! It looks attractive but if you have any kind of mobility problems take care - you'll slide down in the bath and because the edges are high and very sharp you'll find coming up for air a challenge.

All 3 restaurants were open while we were there, Noble House, the Asian Fusion restaurant was very good, helped by the fact that we were the only ones there most nights. The Indian Restaurant is not a "Chicken Tikka Mossala and chips" place at all and did some really inventive dishes that were quite delicious. Segala is the seafood restaurant which I only went to once and was not quite as good as the other two. The buffet was pretty standard fare.

If you are on an All Inclusive package take note of the following. If you are not, get a mortgage. At 6 Euros for an orange juice or a small bottle of Evian you're going to need one. The billing system is quite idiosyncratic and we sat down with the manager Mr Victor Holla to try and help iron out some of the problems, Almost every meal was incorrectly totalled , usually resulting in us being significantly overcharged. You have a 35 Euro allowance toward all the a la carte meals - use iot because for a 10 euro supplement you'll get much better service and excellent food. But watchthey don't add service charges twice to the bill. The 35 Euros INCLUDES 20% service and VAT charges so don't allow then to take the 35 Euros off after they have tallied the bill and done the service charge addition or you'll be paying twice. Also check that you have had what they think you have had.

The All Inclusive drinks were a myestery. Drinks that are starred *** on the menu are included. Unfortunately some menus have stars, some don't, so depending on when or where you choose to drink you may or may not end up paying full whack. The bar staff haven't quite worked things out so I spent a happy afternoon drinking Manhattans having been told that they were on the AI package, only to discover they weren't and I was charged.

Finally take insect repellent. I don't usually get bitten but these things were vicious!

One word of warning. Don't do a Mauritours dolphin/snorkelling /BBQ trip. We did and got food poisoning and I'm still suffering 10 days after returning home. Not the hotel's fault but worth avoiding as it spoiled half of our holiday.

In summary, a good hotel, excellent service, great food and lovely weather. When they get their act together it should be a great hotel and holiday of it's type.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g12doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

My husband and I had gone to Mauritius for a relaxation and rejuvenation. This hotel provided both. Its very airy and open. Gives one a lot of their own space. Its very new hotel and still facing teething problems. Will take another 3-4 months before they can boast of a world class service levels. Rooms are good and all face the ocean. Only thing the hotel needs to immediately work on is their restuarants and in room dinning. Food is over priced as everything is priced in Euros. Staff too will take time to get into service culture. Overall a very good experience. Will definitely recommend for those looking for relaxation, if one is looking for exploring Mauritius then book before hand with travel operators and not the hotel. Hotel recommended after 4 months.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madee35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

This hotel is simply fantastic, and located on the side of the island where the beaches are usually full of volvanic rocks, but not this place. They have obviously gone through a lot of trouble to clear the beach which has a stunning lagoon, perfect for kids to play and Kayaking without the roughness of the sea.

Service is very friendly and make you feel at home. The rooms are spacious with lots of light as they all face the ocean and even sharing means you don't get under each other's feet! The variety of restaurants and bars means that you don't get bored of the cuisine and always able to try out something different each time.

What I liked best about the hotel is the openess of everything. The wind is flowing around the entire hotel and you can always see and feel the ocean regardless of where you are in the hotel.

Although all the facilities were not ready whilst I was there, you can see the potential and the little amount of work going on did not bother us at all.

A fantastic hotel that I will tell all my friends about and will return for sure!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielENairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2009

First time in Mauritius but not in Intercontinental hotels. This time for our honeymoon in a so nice deluxe terrace room with private whirlpool (yes!). People are so nice, very good service, big main swimming pool, beautiful beach, delicious food, wonderful spa, especially double room, so romantic!
As the hotel is close to Grand Baie and Port Louis, it was very easy to go out for shopping and enjoy Mauritian night life.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YpsiParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

the hotel is fabulous. it is very grand. the rooms are well furnished and clean. the food spread is good. the drinks are resonable. there are too many rocks on the beach which makes it impossible to swim in the ocean. the snorkelling site is 20 min walk from the hotel. the glass bottom boat and other rides have still not started. the hotel is fully not completed so there is construction noise. the water supply was not steady. once there was no water and once there was no hot water. the hotel is far away and there is nothing close by. the transportation from the hotel is very expensive.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shaileeshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,036 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,435 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,717 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing