We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay at the Intercontinental Mauritus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2009

By the time we arrived at the Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius we were already quite accustomed to this wonderful Island in the Indian Ocean. After a week staying in a friend’s villa in the South it was time to head to the North of the Island. We were ready for a little pampering!
Checking in at this hotel was our first pleasant experience. The check in itself was a lovely introduction to this up-market hotel. The reservation hall was simply..Wow! An enormous open balcony with views across the bay, wonderful high ceiling with modern yet character furniture. We didn’t even reach the check-in desk before being kindly led to a discreet high backed wicker chair where we were provided with an introductory cocktail. From there we simply enjoyed the ambiance of the wonderful and exciting architecture while our check in was completed by a very experienced member of staff. Check in completed we were escorted to our room and made to feel very special.
As advertised we had our Ocean View or rather a side Ocean view as most of the rooms appear to have been built at an angle to the sea. However, the view of the sea was across a lovely landscaped garden and we were still able to view the most wonderful sunsets. Our room was as comfortable as expected, modern facilities including a large flat screen TV, King Size bed, refrigerator, safe, comfortable sofa. A very trendy bathroom although in my opinion the large free standing bath was definitely a designer’s mistake. Whoever suggested this type of bath for a hotel room had not themselves tried to use it. Once full of water stepping into or should I say climbing in was not risk free … I can see the hotel facing claims for injuries to elderly or less agile people slipping and crashing against the rather sharp bath edges. The narrow sharp edge of the bath leaves absolutely nowhere to stand even the smallest bottle of shampoo or bar of soap so a rather long armed person is required to reach over the bath side to place any bathing accessories on the floor??? Getting out is another task that calls for a reasonable level of fitness. Very much a case of a good looking design for a bath but totally unpractical, where I suggest Intercontinental have failed to carry out any Risk Assessment in this area. But don’t be put off; this is a minor problem as the separate shower room is more than adequate.

The hotel covers a large outside area that has been most carefully thought out (unlike the bath) With 4 or 5 eating areas you can experience a range of eating experiences where all of the food is extremely well prepared, delivered by experienced and informative waiters or waitresses. Unfortunately the wine list is a let down but more of this later.

For those who just want to laze on the beach the comfortable loungers under thatched umbrellas were always available to us. The beach has been created around what you might consider natural looking lagoons which have been seascaped (can’t say landscaped can I ) The depth of water in these lagoons varies slightly with the tide but it is a very safe area to swim and suitable for all ages. The pools are adequate but in my opinion rather small for hotel of this size but then we hardly used the pool preferring to use the sea. Fresh Beach towels were available throughout the day from conveniently placed small kiosks and you are never to far from a bar or waiter ready to serve you.

Only staying for 4 nights we were not able to fully use all of the sporting facilities available to hotel guests. However, we did get good value and just coming up to my sixty fifth birthday I have water skied for the very first time; I’m still on a high! The water sport instructor gets my top vote for teaching me how to stand on water skies on my first and only trip. Although the tide level over the reef restricted our use of the sailing facility we did take a trip in a glass bottomed boat and did snorkel around part of the coral reef, again well supported by the hotel Instructors. For anyone interested in a casual approach to water sports then the Intercontinental is a very good choice.

It’s possible that many visitors to Mauritius sadly never leave their hotels. I can understand there are those who just wish to chill out and this is a fine hotel to do just that. For others, take my advice and use the hotel organisers who will book you a taxi or hire a car. Mauritius is an Island of contrast and interest, it’s an Island with lots to see and experience. Mountains, rivers, wonderful scenery with happy and hospitable people who are interested in you enjoying their Island. A rich culture where Creole an Hindu make up the bulk of the population and bring with them traditions unlikely seen outside of Mauritius. Take a side street through the Sugar cane fields and witness some cane still being cut by hand but make sure you avoid the aging Lorries transporting the cane. Take a hire car and venture off the beaten track to see the other side of life where many are still struggling to make ends meet. By using the local restaurants and shops you can support many of the local residents struggling to find work. For those unsure about driving in Mauritius remember, like us in the UK they drive on the left (mostly). It’s not unusual to see a bike or moped on the wrong side and at night often without lights. Out of the towns the roads are not too busy so driving is OK and most places are easy to reach. I even found driving into the capital Port Louis to be quite easy and they still have policemen controlling the traffic so everything is quite orderly.

Back to the Intercontinental and after a morning or afternoon out it is good to come home isn’t it. This is lovely welcoming hotel with everything you need for a relaxing stay in Mauritius.

Would we go back to Mauritius? Yes! Would we stay at the Intercontinental hotel? Yes! Would we recommend the Intercontinental? Yes! Anything wrong with the Intercontinental? Yes, the wine list!

With the cheapest bottle of white wine at 21 euros the next is nearly 40 euros and twice we requested the 21 euro bottle only to be told they had run out this was most disappointing. I see no reason why a hotel of this size can’t get their act together and produce a wine list that provides good wine at a fair price. Given the opportunity I could easily provide a list of good quality wine at reasonable prices that would sell. Wouldn’t it be better to have say, a few bottles at 16 euros where customers might buy two or three with a meal or have customers shy away from drinking wine when on average costing over 40 euros a bottle. I suggest it’s better to bring in your own wine from a local store and make use of the refrigerator in the room.

Great Hotel, great position pity about the wine list.

John & Jane Cootes August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EssexJohnjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,897 - 1,903 of 2,931 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2009

Stunning location, lovely rooms. Service not great. Food buffet good. Speciality restaurants pricey. Drinks VERY expensive. New hotel needs to sort out niggles but overall has excellent potential. Diving was not available at the hotel in spite of my specifically asking about it before we arrived. Spa is AMAZING. Facilities superb. Beach awesome. Went with my niece and we had the best time. Lovely bathrooms. Just a few small irritations but overall I would recommend this hotel. Has great facilities for children as well. Gym was fantastic as well.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoniJoubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Excellent location, very prety beach, nice comfortable rooms. The one thing which reqiures most attention is the "Service" which is very poor both interms of quantity and quality of staff, which is very courteous otherwise but either have communication problem or inexperienced.
Food layouts and peprations are very average and needs thorough overhaul.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sharma_MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

The facilities are pretty good it's a pity the service is so variable which is not acceptable for a 5 star resort.
Main buffet restaurant is ok and the meditterean ad the fusion one are excellent!
Also dissapointed on the beach hawkers ( not 5 star practice)
positive points:
- Very friendly staff at the kids club.
- excellent therapists at the spa

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

The hotel is set beautifully with all the necessary ammenities.
My recommenadation is that since there are a few restaurants in the hotel would be a good idea to give us the menus early in the evening in the rooms this will enable us to choose the hotel we would like to have dinner.

In my case I only had dinner in the main restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadiqdindar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

we arrived at this beautifull hotel 4 hours before our check in time and unlike many hotels this was not a problem. We were given a seat and a cocktail whilst our details were taken and when we were ready were taken to our room. The room was stunning exactly as it was on the website. We had a view across the gardens, pool and out to sea.
We stayed for 12 nights. Our room was cleaned and bed made up with fresh bed linnen every day, every evening our bed was turned down and fresh bottled water left by the bedside. Fresh fruit was left in the room every few days and tea and coffee kept topped up.
The staff in every area of the hotel were polite and friendly without being intrusive. Nothing was too much trouble and we fealt they genuinly wanted to make the stay special. For the first time in our many years of traveling we wrote a personal letter to the manager complementing him on his hotel and all the staff.
The four on site restuarants offered something for everyone. The themed buffett restuarant had live entertainment every evening ( live music and dancers good, singing not so good). For us the 3 other individual restuarants excelled themselves. We would put these on a par with some of the five star restaurants we have been to in the uk. Service, presentation and quality of food was superb. ( the fish restaurant being our favorite). We were on the all inclusive package and the problems with bills in the seperate restaurants(mentioned in an earlier review) seems to have been resolved. Our inclusive costs and non inclusive costs came seperatly for us to sign after each meal.
You can relax in the warm infinity pool watching the stars, looking out to sea. you can do arobics with the fitness team in the big pool. You can lay on the beach with waiters bringing you your drinks or complimentry fruit. You can work out in the gym looking out to sea or do yoga on the beach. Everything is just so relaxed, we loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pearlMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

My housband and me are here in this hotel now. we came here for our honeymoon and we are having a terrible experience!
Someone of the hotel staff entered into our room and stole our 1400 Euro in cash which were hidden in a pocket INSIDE ONE OF OUR BAGGAGES.
AT the moment we are waiting for police reply, they are investigating on 3 people of the hotel staff.
WE HOPE TO GET BACK OUR MONEY BUT IT WILL BE VERY DIFFICULT.
NOTE THAT ALSO THE SEA IN THIS HOTEL IS NOT NICE, THE SANDY IS TERRIBLE AND ARTIFICIAL.
We will come back to Italy before.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nadiamanganini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,124 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,553 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
28.2 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,959 reviews
5.0 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: £225 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing