We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
paris
1 review
“great stay !!!”
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Really nice hotel, modern and cosy... really relaxing place, nice room well furnished, nice spa, good sport equipment...unfortunatly, hotel is a bit far from everywhere ...

At Intercontinental, the staff seems to be new, not well trained but is very nice indeed...
A special mention to the staff at front desk reception who gave us a great service... Thx Kevin and Yaasir, you are very caring and professionnal ... !
I ll recommend that hotel to relatives

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,303
    788
    297
    111
    130
See reviews for
730
1,382
46
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at InterContinental, it is a beautiful resort with many great features. The service was great with friendly people greeting us at all times. We were lucky enough to be there for the grand opening with cocktails and canapes in the lobby. The food was excellent especially breakfast, although the restaurants were very expensive to dine in.

The only suggestion would be a better promotion of services throughout hotel such as the spa, restaurants and water sports. We did not have a spa menu nor a room service menu and had to request one. We were not aware that there were water sports activites as a part of the service until another guest had advised.

We would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raum Koblenz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Location: calm spot at the north western coast, not touristy at all; a little isolated but therefore also more exclusive; perfect place to escape from stress and work and take a rest; not far from the capital; taxis are always waiting at the hotel's main gate.

Other guests: during our stay there was a mixture of guests from many different countries among whom none was dominating (Italy, Germany, Russia, India, China, South Africa, UK......)

Beach: artificial but nice looking hotel beach; there are some rocks in the water and the waves are a little stronger than some steps north on the beautiful beaches of the adjacent hotels Grand Mauritian Resort and Maritim. This 2-minute walk is recommended for those who want to swim or snorkel. Otherwise the hotel beach itself offers everything for just relaxing and enjoying the view.

Room: very clean, modern design, even more spacious than we assumed after having seen some hotel pictures before our stay. Ample bathroom with stylish bathtub, separate shower and flat screen television (there's an additional bigger television in the main room). Our towels have been replaced daily and sometimes also again in in the afternoon if necessary. The room service is very professional and has been offered two times a day - which is rare in most other hotels. We have been served one bottle of water (0,5 l) per person every morning (+ the bottles were replaced in the afternoon in case they were empty). Every room has a spacious balcony with sea view. The rooms have electric iron + ironing board. The safe can be used free of charge. At the desktop there is a cable for connecting your laptop with broadband internet (ethernet). We didn't use this because it was pricey and there is free wireless LAN in the whole lobby area. Apart from the mentioned aspects the rooms offer all other conveniences you would expect for 5 star comfort.

Pools: nice warm water and cold water pool; the latter goes with a pool bar.

Sports: we used the fitness room several times which comes with big windows with sea view; it was just great to run on the treadmill whilst watching the sunset on the horizon. There is a tennis court on the hotel area which we didn't try. The hotel has its own diving school which wasn't completely on duty yet during our stay in september 2009 because the channel through the corals (for allowing the boats to cross the coral ring that surrounds the island) has not yet been built. They cooperated with Orca Diving School 15 minutes north in Pereybere and paid the taxi for those who went there for scuba diving. Some more sports are offered like table tennis, snorkeling, cayak ...

Restaurants: there are several a-la-carte restaurants with different atmosphere and food. They all seem to have a stylish and elegant design. We only tried out once the asian restaurant "The Noble House" which we liked a lot. All the other we were dining at the "Senso" restaurant which is the main restaurant. They offer a buffet with daily changing theme/motto (european, asian, african, mauritian or indian cuisine). There's a great variety; that's why there should always be something for everyones taste. If you booked half board or full board all drinks are charged extra. Prices are more like european level and thereby high above usual mauritian standards - 5-star-comfort claims its tribute.

Service: the service in this hotel is more than perfect. We are traveling a lot and have stayed in many 5-star-hotels so that we are able to estimate that the service in this hotel is special. This is true for the whole place including reception desk, restaurant, room service, etc. We would especially like to thank Shelly, Vanessa and Janeesh. The staff always has a smile for everybody. But here comes also a sad point: the staff tries its best to make everyones stay an unforgettable experience. Unfortunately we had to observe that in some guests psychology this activates a master/slave algorithm that causes rude behavior towards the remarkably kind staff that doesn't even dare to say a word (while in Europe such guests would be chased from the place).

Concerning the hotel itself we can't report no negative issues at all, that's why our overall conclusion is: we had a magnificent time in a brand new hotel with great service and a terrific atmosphere. We would book this hotel anytime again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Before i comment anything, I would like to say that i have been to over 30 countries have stayed in world-class hotels and that's why i am writing this review, hoping that it would be helpful to others..
Below are some of my experiences..
1) my wife and I are pure vegetarians, and we were served a non-veg club sandwich even after clearly explaining the waiter and he agreeing to provide us with the same
2) it took us over 45 minutes for our starter to come (not once, but all the 7 days in the hotel) and practically we were spending close to 2-2.5 hours everyday at the dinner table with more time being kept in waiting..
3) the service is extremely poor, the staff is also not very friendly which further pissed me off..
4) the hotel boasts to be a 5 star hotel, but which 5 star doesnt serve you with a morning newspaper, no feedback forms or turn down-service????
5) Even the reputed angsana spa had poor trained staff and did not provide us with the privacy we needed and even the massage was a disaster for which we paid a HUGE PRICE..
6) Finally to top it off, the bill at the checkout was incorrect and was inflated by over $300 ??????????????????

ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS.. Mauritius is a wonderful place, but this is not where you should stay.. i would definitely recommend Oberoi, Grand Mauritian or Le Touserrok..

Hope this helps..

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepranka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2009

The location is excellent, especially you can see the sun set from the lobby and watch the sun go down in the sea. The staff are all very helpful,even if you check out , they let you take shower in there spa before you board your flight. Beach though a bit rocky, for romance it is perfect especially the Island, to rekindle the spark!!!
Veda restaurent offers excellent vegetarian Indian menu.In short a good value for money. Rooms offer good view of the beach, are roomy with all the 5 star facilities, bathrooms are spacious and the shower and toilett are seperated in to 2 rooms in one bathroom. So in all an excellent value for money, and would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docsamant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We just returned from a holiday in Marutius. We were there for 7 days. We had a two bedroom suite at the hotel on the ground floor.
We were greeted and shown our room and around the hotel by the Staff in the lobby. She explained our package and clarified what was included and not included in our package.
The hotel and the amenities were very good. We had a good spread for breakfast every morning with a Fresh juice on a made to order basis. We also had Dinner in the Resturant that served Buffet food every night. They had some indian dishes and an international theme every night, Greek,Italian. There was always pasta. The kids enjoyed it a lot. but it does get boring after some time. We did not venture out to the Veda or other resturants as we were vegetarians and we found that the indian food had a very distinct taste that was not indian(Not to say it was not good) but we decided to try food from other places and stay away from the indian food.
The people at the water sport desk were very helpful. They were very willing to do anything to make kayaking, snorkeling fun. We did not try the Water ski's and Paddle boats which were also available.
A few things that could have been different. Although we had two bedrooms we had only one bathroom. If the shower doors were not tightly closed, the bathrooms used to get flooded. We had a not so nice conversation with a staff in the tennis court, but we had made it a point to discuss and clarify with her on how we were expected to be treated.
In summary, I think my family and I had a great time there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ferventTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOLKATAINDIA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed for a week .

We stayed in the family room i.e we had two bedrooms with a common bathroom and living . The room was spacious , well appointed & had a fantastic view of the ocean. The hotel has good faciliites like two swimming pools (one heated ) and good spa .

The dinner Buffet served in the main restaurant changed everyday having a theme like middle east, indian , chinese etc . VEG indian food was also available everday considering the indian traveller.

The hotel also boasts of their specialiity restaurants which are also good.

the hotel has a decent size of beach with its own small jetty to take care of water sports. The hotel provides equipment for kayaking , snorkelling and also a glass bottom boat ride.

i would recommend the property to families .

  • Liked — The extra bedroom we got for our daughter in the family room
  • Disliked — The room has only one bathroom . complimentary Water provided in too little.
  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GAUTAMKHANNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,334 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
0.8 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing