We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We moved to Mauritius three months ago and decided to treat ourselves by staying in this hotel.The only good part was that the waiters were friendly but the general atmosphere was not happy.The facilitiies are not great and pool crowded but the final straw was when we got home we all had food poisoning.Don't spoil your holiday by staying here!

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank 1968shirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,912 - 1,918 of 3,077 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2010

I chose the intecontinental,mauritius for honeymoon. The property of the hotel is excellent.Rooms are also very nice and have a ocean view.

However, the service of the staff is not at all good. You have to call the the room service 2-3 times just to get a water bottle.

The biggest blunder happened when we lost our 100 pounds cash. Off course it was our mistake that we didnt lock the safe properly and hence we didnt complain or report.

In the main restaurant, we found several ants on our food table. The lighting was so dim that we couldnt recognize that. After a while when we complained to the waiter over there, he casually said these are just the ants and the tone was "why are you complaining for such a minor thing?"

We got a honeymoners package for the spa.However, the candle lit dinner arranged as a complimentary gift was very ordinary.They just served in a different restaurant than the normal package restaurant. But there was nothing great about it.

The beach is very rocky and you cant swim in there. However, the pool is excellent and can really enjoy in the pool.

So, all in all it was ok experience but not as you would expect from the five star hotel and the brand like intercontinental.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anirudha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We have spent 8 days and 7 nights at the hotel. The hotel located in the north-west part of the island, and it has a wonderfull ocean view. Before we went to this holiday, I had read the critics, and I have to say I can't write bad experiences.

It is sure, that you have to choose all inclusive facility, otherwise you must pay a lot for foods and drinks (one cocktail costs 8-10 euros). With all inclusive package you can eat and drink as much as you want without extra pay.

The hotel staff is really friendly, polite and extremely helpfull. Everybody is smiling, but it is a natural behaviour of mauritius people.

The Sugar Cane Bar is fantastic, it is located next to the main pool.
I'd like to say a very big thank you to Deesant, Naina, Arshad, Rouben, Vichen, Mehmet and not at least Vishal, who is the best manager I've ever seen.

The other part of the crew is also very friendly and helpfull.

Especially the boys, who are working in the Beach Towels Cabana: Christopher, Kevin, Dany, Fabrice are very great people.
We played football, petang, volleyboll, table-tennis together with other guest from the hotel.

We were on snorkelling 3 times during our stay with the glass bottom boat, it was a good fun and the ocean life under the water is marvellous.

The food is perfect and you can choose from the wide range.
For breakfast is a continental bufe food available, which is really nice at Senso Restaurant.
For lunch, you can eat at the Palm Restaurant or you can have snacks and sandwiches at the Sugar Cane Bar.
For dinner the Senso (main) Restaurant is available, but you can choose 3 other restaurants as well. ( Veda- indian cuisine, Noble- asian cuisine, Segala- grill and seafood cuisine).

If you choose the other 3 restaruants for dinner you can eat from the daily menu or you can choose food from the ala carte till 1200 rupie (in all inclusive package). If your choice is more than 1200 rupie, you only have to pay the above part.
We tried all of these 3 restaurant, and I have to say, all of them was delicious

At the main restaurant (Senso), you can eat and drink as much as you want with all inclusive. Every day is a different type food available. For example,
wednesday- seafood
thursday- mauritius food
friday- indian food

Altogether it is a really nice and great hotel, and the hotel crew is very friendly and helpfull.

I can suggest anyone this hotel, who wants to enjoy a great holiday.

One more advice for those like travelling, not just sunbathing on the beach.
Mauritius is a very nice country, the nature is fantastic, we made 3 excursions on the island, it is worth. (waterfalls, turtles, palm-trees, crocodiles, tea fields, sugar cane fields and so on)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

I wanted somewhere unique for our Honeymoon and this location met all our expectations. Upon arrival into Mauritius going through customs was a little slow which as we found later helped us miss the early morning traffic which canbe a problem when driving.
The Hotel is located in a remote section of Mauritius and security is prevalant around all the Hotels in the area.
First impressions were of the hotel were wow... as you walk through the foyer it faces the ocean and you feel like you have entered a completely different world. The staff of Intercontinental are very friendly and helpful. They speak English fairly well, and love to serve their local rums at the bar. The decor in the rooms are stylish, modern and comfortable and would be the best suites I have ever stayed in.
We went all inclusive and was definitely the best choice as you can drink as much as you like and get a full buffet at the main restaurant for all your meals. The meals are all top quality and for one evening we paid for a meal (cost over 75 euros) to treat ourselves where I enjoyed an awesome steak & dessert but a little overpriced.
The first night there was an event with the president of Mauritius attending which saw Limo's, BMW's, & Mercedes driving around everywhere. The Hotel hosts major functions frequently and we attended "Glamoria 2009" while we were there for around $80Au which was pretty cool.
Overall Intercontinental Mauritius is a quality resort perfect for a relaxing holiday or honeymoon and makes most resorts throughout the Whitsundays feel no better than 2 stars....mind you to stay in something like this in Australia would cost atleast $1500 per night if it existed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Fantastic Shore side Location for stay during honeymoon with breathtaking views, efficient staff service, great choice of restaurants and mouthwatering food. The beach is easily accessible for long romantic walks by the sea, although it has a lot of stones and pebbles which make it difficult to take a dip. The sea facing pool is nicely articulated and almost seems to merge with the blue waters of the ocean. The hotel provides exquisite SPA service, and we were lucky to avail one free session as part of the honeymoon package. Such was the experience, that we decided to have an extra session by even paying for it. The hotel architecture and interiors are designed with a finesse and mix of soothing colors, which in itself provides a fulfilling experience.
Eyes closed, I still remember every day and every hour spent at the hotel, overlooking the beautiful ocean, at dawn, dusk and twilight!!.
Both me & my wife had a memorable 6 Night Stay and would certainly love to stay at the hotel again if we visit Mauritius again.
...The stay is highly recommended for couples!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NitinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

My husband & I had a good and relaxing stay at the hotel! My kids specially enjoyed the mini club facilities where they used the mini tractors, loaders, ... Too bad that the beach is not that good as there are many rocks and that the 2 swimming pools are not big enough to accomodate all the tourists.

Our room was just perfect! Neatness, room amenities, room service (special thanks to Nitin & Anu from housekeeping! Nitin, Helpfulness & politeness are your main strength, Keep it up man!) 1st time that my kids were able to watch tv while being in the bathtub! 2 tvs in a room, that was just great! Never seen that in other hotels in the world before!

We were on an all inclusive package and my kids enjoyed the Sugarcane pool bar a lot! Milkshakes, virgin coladas, paninis, club sandwich, etc...Special thanks to Dessant, Arshad & Matthieu. We laughed a lot when a client asked for Alouda!!! They are quick & always a smile on their face! My kids compared them as Senior Speedy Gonzaless! Thanks guys!

Special thanks to Daniella from the Senso restaurant! On the 2nd night of our stay, we had dinner at the Segala restaurant! wow, the food was really delicious! Special thanks to the waiters & waitress who were really great! Cant remember the name of the lady who served us, but she did everything to please my kids who were too fussy on food. Thank u.

Last but not least, our holidays would not have been nice without Simi (from the Guess relations)! She is the perfect person who can tackle any of your problems, advise you, etc... She's got a really good sense of humour, polite, pretty (photo enclosed), smiling & helpful!

Simi, we would have elected or designed U as Miss Intercontinental or Miss Senior Guess relation officer or why not in the near future, be the G.M of the hotel! My kids kept asking for you! We'll definitely come back at the hotel in the near future and do hope, we'll meet the one & only diamond of the hotel (that is you,Simi!)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pllccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We had stayed here for 6 nights and it was a wonderful experience altogether.
The moment we reached the hotel, everything was all setup and the staff explained us about all the details of our stay and about the hotel and facilities available.
It has evrything in this resort. Spa, Sauna, Boating, Lawn Tennis, Clean and well maintained beach..
For the restaurant, we used to get food as per our demand and the staff was too co-operative to help us out.
We had a plan for a stay in Hotel itself for 2 days. But we never felt boring to be there. It has too many things for full day activities.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ripul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,667 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,988 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,585 reviews
5 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: £205 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travelbag, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing