We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I've realised that one needs to be cautious when reading these reviews. What I've learn't is that we all have different expectations and standards. The bad reviews I read on here while deciding on a resort really scared me, but I'm glad to say that we didn't experience any of the negatives which people have reported. The hotel itself is very trendy and neat. The service is excellent and the staff are very friendly, food was good value for money. All the amenities are top class. The only disappoinment was the lack of activities at night. There was only a 30 minute show after dinner and nothing else to do.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for honeymooners and families as the kids would love it. I'm definitely going back there should I visit Mauritius again.

Thanks to all the staff, especially Deesant who was so helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenzCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,826)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,743 - 1,749 of 2,826 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2010

still at the resort but had read some mixed reviews prior to arrival which we felt were not juistified and want to wholly dispel

beautiful location, rooms, standards of cleanliness, food choice

service generally excellent, staff can't do enough to help

occasional slow service when busy but never a problem for us

we are on all inclusive which we utilise to the max but otherwise prices as per a 5 star
anywhere ie expensive (juices approx 200Rs, alcoholic cocktails approx 400)

half board set menus excellent and vary daily

kids club very flexible - no need to prebook, our 4 year old loves it and has made so many friends its the first things he asks about when he wakes up

very mixed nationalities here - europeans, indians, south africans

close to port louis and grand baie if you want to get out and about

the hotel website does not do it justice but they are updating it

beach more corally than very soft sand but noone finds it a problem. they have created a small lagoon so small kids can snorkel and swim safely and still see lots of fish etc close to the hotel

we have stayed at shandrani before but preferred this and it is thousands cheaper

kiddisuites seem to be well liked by those booked in them - we didnt need it

read a review about food poisoning but again have been here 10 days and noone i have met has been ill

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NottinghamAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We moved to Mauritius three months ago and decided to treat ourselves by staying in this hotel.The only good part was that the waiters were friendly but the general atmosphere was not happy.The facilitiies are not great and pool crowded but the final straw was when we got home we all had food poisoning.Don't spoil your holiday by staying here!

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank 1968shirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

I chose the intecontinental,mauritius for honeymoon. The property of the hotel is excellent.Rooms are also very nice and have a ocean view.

However, the service of the staff is not at all good. You have to call the the room service 2-3 times just to get a water bottle.

The biggest blunder happened when we lost our 100 pounds cash. Off course it was our mistake that we didnt lock the safe properly and hence we didnt complain or report.

In the main restaurant, we found several ants on our food table. The lighting was so dim that we couldnt recognize that. After a while when we complained to the waiter over there, he casually said these are just the ants and the tone was "why are you complaining for such a minor thing?"

We got a honeymoners package for the spa.However, the candle lit dinner arranged as a complimentary gift was very ordinary.They just served in a different restaurant than the normal package restaurant. But there was nothing great about it.

The beach is very rocky and you cant swim in there. However, the pool is excellent and can really enjoy in the pool.

So, all in all it was ok experience but not as you would expect from the five star hotel and the brand like intercontinental.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anirudha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We have spent 8 days and 7 nights at the hotel. The hotel located in the north-west part of the island, and it has a wonderfull ocean view. Before we went to this holiday, I had read the critics, and I have to say I can't write bad experiences.

It is sure, that you have to choose all inclusive facility, otherwise you must pay a lot for foods and drinks (one cocktail costs 8-10 euros). With all inclusive package you can eat and drink as much as you want without extra pay.

The hotel staff is really friendly, polite and extremely helpfull. Everybody is smiling, but it is a natural behaviour of mauritius people.

The Sugar Cane Bar is fantastic, it is located next to the main pool.
I'd like to say a very big thank you to Deesant, Naina, Arshad, Rouben, Vichen, Mehmet and not at least Vishal, who is the best manager I've ever seen.

The other part of the crew is also very friendly and helpfull.

Especially the boys, who are working in the Beach Towels Cabana: Christopher, Kevin, Dany, Fabrice are very great people.
We played football, petang, volleyboll, table-tennis together with other guest from the hotel.

We were on snorkelling 3 times during our stay with the glass bottom boat, it was a good fun and the ocean life under the water is marvellous.

The food is perfect and you can choose from the wide range.
For breakfast is a continental bufe food available, which is really nice at Senso Restaurant.
For lunch, you can eat at the Palm Restaurant or you can have snacks and sandwiches at the Sugar Cane Bar.
For dinner the Senso (main) Restaurant is available, but you can choose 3 other restaurants as well. ( Veda- indian cuisine, Noble- asian cuisine, Segala- grill and seafood cuisine).

If you choose the other 3 restaruants for dinner you can eat from the daily menu or you can choose food from the ala carte till 1200 rupie (in all inclusive package). If your choice is more than 1200 rupie, you only have to pay the above part.
We tried all of these 3 restaurant, and I have to say, all of them was delicious

At the main restaurant (Senso), you can eat and drink as much as you want with all inclusive. Every day is a different type food available. For example,
wednesday- seafood
thursday- mauritius food
friday- indian food

Altogether it is a really nice and great hotel, and the hotel crew is very friendly and helpfull.

I can suggest anyone this hotel, who wants to enjoy a great holiday.

One more advice for those like travelling, not just sunbathing on the beach.
Mauritius is a very nice country, the nature is fantastic, we made 3 excursions on the island, it is worth. (waterfalls, turtles, palm-trees, crocodiles, tea fields, sugar cane fields and so on)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

I wanted somewhere unique for our Honeymoon and this location met all our expectations. Upon arrival into Mauritius going through customs was a little slow which as we found later helped us miss the early morning traffic which canbe a problem when driving.
The Hotel is located in a remote section of Mauritius and security is prevalant around all the Hotels in the area.
First impressions were of the hotel were wow... as you walk through the foyer it faces the ocean and you feel like you have entered a completely different world. The staff of Intercontinental are very friendly and helpful. They speak English fairly well, and love to serve their local rums at the bar. The decor in the rooms are stylish, modern and comfortable and would be the best suites I have ever stayed in.
We went all inclusive and was definitely the best choice as you can drink as much as you like and get a full buffet at the main restaurant for all your meals. The meals are all top quality and for one evening we paid for a meal (cost over 75 euros) to treat ourselves where I enjoyed an awesome steak & dessert but a little overpriced.
The first night there was an event with the president of Mauritius attending which saw Limo's, BMW's, & Mercedes driving around everywhere. The Hotel hosts major functions frequently and we attended "Glamoria 2009" while we were there for around $80Au which was pretty cool.
Overall Intercontinental Mauritius is a quality resort perfect for a relaxing holiday or honeymoon and makes most resorts throughout the Whitsundays feel no better than 2 stars....mind you to stay in something like this in Australia would cost atleast $1500 per night if it existed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Fantastic Shore side Location for stay during honeymoon with breathtaking views, efficient staff service, great choice of restaurants and mouthwatering food. The beach is easily accessible for long romantic walks by the sea, although it has a lot of stones and pebbles which make it difficult to take a dip. The sea facing pool is nicely articulated and almost seems to merge with the blue waters of the ocean. The hotel provides exquisite SPA service, and we were lucky to avail one free session as part of the honeymoon package. Such was the experience, that we decided to have an extra session by even paying for it. The hotel architecture and interiors are designed with a finesse and mix of soothing colors, which in itself provides a fulfilling experience.
Eyes closed, I still remember every day and every hour spent at the hotel, overlooking the beautiful ocean, at dawn, dusk and twilight!!.
Both me & my wife had a memorable 6 Night Stay and would certainly love to stay at the hotel again if we visit Mauritius again.
...The stay is highly recommended for couples!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NitinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,069 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,478 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,801 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
0.3 mi away
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: £168 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, IHG, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing