We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Nearby Hotels
US$445
US$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$366
US$342
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$392
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$177
bedfinder
View Deal
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$718
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Ile Maurice(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$307
US$297
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villas Mon Plaisir(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Recif Attitude(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Port Chambly(Terre Rouge)
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,170)
Filter reviews
3,170 results
Traveller rating
1,667
903
331
129
140
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,667
903
331
129
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnoble housesenso restaurantharsh manichief conciergejacuzzi roomkevin ritoopresidential suiteindian foodheated poolthe resort managerjean pierreour honeymoonmain restaurantocean viewfamily roomspecial thanksguest relations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,961 - 1,966 of 3,170 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We were a family of four with 2 boys and i must say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay even with the stress of not getting a return flight back to UK due to Volcanic eruption. We enjoyed the very good quality food and cocktails (thanks Sam and team) in the hotel restuaurant(s) and bars. My family made full use of the amenities like tennis, water sports, excellent gym (with yoga and meditation classes - thanks Danny).
We continued stayiing in the same family room during our extended stay.
During the stay we hired a car and explored the island and it was very easy to get around to all the main sites and shopping.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
Thank fabhols58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We like the place where the hotel is situated. You will be able to see all the wonderfull views of mauritius. Seaview if there are no trees in between. Mountain view and you can also view Port Louis city from the Lobby. We were very tired when we came at the hotel. We lost our luggage. Thanks to Miss Vanessa working at the reception we finally found them. She was always here to help us. Even the guys working at the Sugar bar were great. Staffs in senso resto are rude. I was indeed a very nice stay. and we will surely come back again.
Thank you once again Vanessa.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danieleruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We are owners of a travel agency in Switzerland and have stayed at the intercontinental hotel and in general spent 2 nice weeks at this hotel. However, due to this 'vulcano' crisis, we are not able to fly home back to europe and wanted to stay in our family room. The very unproffessional front desk staff told us that we can not stay in our family room.. due to a full house (there is no flights coming in from europe) and we have to move into 2 rooms at the hotel .. and pay double the price !
They have not only done that to us .. also to all the other guests we know at the hotel. Taking advantage of the vulcano NO flight situation!!!
I would never recommend this hotel to any of my customers in our travel agency or other friends and poeple I know ! In a situation like this you dont treat guest like this !

In general the hotelstaff is very friendly but very slow (at least they smile). The hotel is new and they have problems with the winelist .. whatever you order .. they dont have. For a hotel that size, they have a very small pool and the hotel is about 1 1/2 hours to 2 hours away from the airport.

The food is ok but you can not compare it with any other intercontinental hotel.

Personaly, I would never go back to this hotel.

JP Wirz

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarnentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

the hotel is beautiful,the rooms and bathrooms are big and comfortable with sea view and balconies.
there are beautiful lagoons where u can just chill and be in the water.
every night there is a half hour dance and music programme which was quite entertaining.the breakfast spread and dinner buffet is huge with a lot of variety.but the service is really bad both for breakfast and dinner.i mean it takes them half hour just to get water on ur table.pls avoid veda the indian restaurant.it was bad.no fan and too many mosquitoes.the food was really bad.pls stay at this hotel with food included as otherwise its very expensive.
the front desk staff are hospitable.
overall a lovely beach experience if u stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suruchisethia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I've realised that one needs to be cautious when reading these reviews. What I've learn't is that we all have different expectations and standards. The bad reviews I read on here while deciding on a resort really scared me, but I'm glad to say that we didn't experience any of the negatives which people have reported. The hotel itself is very trendy and neat. The service is excellent and the staff are very friendly, food was good value for money. All the amenities are top class. The only disappoinment was the lack of activities at night. There was only a 30 minute show after dinner and nothing else to do.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for honeymooners and families as the kids would love it. I'm definitely going back there should I visit Mauritius again.

Thanks to all the staff, especially Deesant who was so helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenzCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews