We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel.. scenic and located in serene place...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel.. scenic and located in serene place...”
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon stay in Mauritius based on its rating on TripAdvisor. It’s a fantastic hotel.

It’s a little far from the main city, however taxis are available just outside the hotel. There is also a possibility to rent a motor bike and ride to the city. We were on our honeymoon so did not explore the public transport option.

The hotel room was very comfortable and rooms have huge & lovely décor …we especially liked the colors used in room and lamp shades. The view from our window was also very beautiful a never ending ocean right across the balcony. The bathrooms are spacious and the toiletries used are good and the sauna room provided separately under the sky is also quite exotic.

The service was good and there was once when we saw a big lizard in the room and the room service staff caught it and threw it outside.

We were promised to get fruit basket and drinks on arrival, however due to lot of guests in hotel, they forgot about it and we had to ask for it multiple times. They did give us these pleasantries finally but it was on last day when we were about to leave.

The food was really good as there were lot of options, even for vegetarians.

I will definitely visit the hotel again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachna_shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,301
    787
    297
    111
    129
See reviews for
729
1,379
46
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2010

First of all we would like to thank the whole management staff for the warm welcome received at the hotel, it was a wonderful experience which will be memorable throughout our life..

We have been around the world and visited most renowned hotels / resorts but the enjoyment we had over here is much more.
The hotel is very well equipped in every aspect of its kind. Extending 5 star facilities,leisure, entertainment and comfort living with the best of staff service including the top management service.
The food out there was really very exotic,couldn't resist all sorts of delicacies offered.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acecreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We stayed at Balclava resort for 10 days. It was certainly the best holiday experiences ever. We were very sad to have to go home again. The atmosphere was tranquil and restful and was accentuated by the many birds that visit the hotel. A very relaxing and destressing experience.
We Experienced wonderful service from the segala Resturant and its Manager Sandrev. He catered for our every need and made our stay most pleasurable.
The main resturant provided a variety of dishes but seemed to cater more for the Indian residents. Having more traditional and spicey dishes than not.
The staff were always friendly and respectful and helpful.

If I had to complain i would say that Requests were not always seen to immediatly and needed a few phone calls to correct e.g when we reported the television not in order it took 4 calls to get the technition out. Our room was equiped for 3 and not four people and it took a day to sort that out too. We experienced being Locked out of our room a couple of times as the card was deactivated somehow? This took a couple of trips to the reception to correct.
I experienced some of the Indian guests as being very loud and rude. They would awaken early in the morning and start talking loudly and banging doors shut as they visted their families. In the resturant they would push in front of a queue or loudly demand their order whilst we were waiting in line. when we were talking to a consultant/tour guide they would interrupt with their request. Showing little respect for others. During the evening entertainment we would be seated, they would arrive late for the show and just stand in front of us blocking the view and ignoring our plea to move to the side or the back. Very Rude and selfish. I also found it unacceptable that they would swim in their underware and come to breakfast in pjamas? Surley if you visit a 5* hotel you can afford the correct attire? However the hotel cannot be blammed for the lack of manners some guests displayed.
But on the whole the stay was marvelous and i would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

this is hotel is a big black spot on the intercontinental group and i would recommend intercon to give away this property and do not spoil their brand of chain hotels and resorts. the rooms were ok but not cleaned properly,staff attitude is a serious issue over here, all of the staff members in the hotel we have encountered or dealt with were rude, careless,lazy ,and simply did not want to do their job. i remember at some occasions they argued with us. that was a first for us being argued from staff members at a five star intercontinental resort. all those of you who think you have booked yourself to stay in a luxurious five star hotel, you would have to think again becasue this is not a 5 star property.. i would give max 3 stars. the food is terrible and expensive.. you have some nice restaurants outside the hotel--15 mins drive to grand baie. this was our first trip to mauritius and ended up being our last trip as well.. this experience has left me wondering and now i have my doubts about intercontinental. anyways if your looking to spend some great time with your friends and family and looking for relaxation.. do not come over here .spend you hard earned money some where else.may be maldives, bali or phuket.. you would love it ..

one more tip guys if you dont want to live in a jungle, than this is not the place for you: there were snakes , lizards, mosquitoes,flies,cockroaches in and out of the rooms.. so beware.

intercontinental mauritius : stop calling yourself a 5 star property....

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellerin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

it s a beautifull place......with a long stretch of the beach.......the food is good,little expensive,the rooms are spacious and nicely maintained,d nightly entertainment is also good.......the bathrooms are nice and big with good fittings........d staff is also very good.....they also have watersports in the hotel with tuitions...n dey r very safe.......dey also give u a free glass bottom boat ride.......all in all a very good place to go......its worth the money u have spent.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drrohananand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2010

The check-in was a bit irritating. Even after handing over the passports, we were told to fill the form. After a long journey, the last thing you would want to be is getting irritated; what kind of a "5 star" hotel would force their guests to fill a form that even they could fill.
Then we entered our room. It was properly made and the interiors were just fine. So no problems with the room.
The property is built on a nice location and average infrastructure. The internet service would be the worst you would have ever experienced, with no wi-fi connection outside the room. The download speed was a mere 9 kbps.
There is one specialized Indian restaurant: Veda. The food was ok but the service was really bad. The one thing I can say for sure is that more than half of their staff are lazy. They just want to avoid work. There have been many instances which I don't want to go in detail right now.
All I want to say is that if you are expecting a "5 star" service in Intercon, then forget it. You would be at the wrong place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJain89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We booked to stay at the Intercontinental as a second part of our Honeymoon. To be honest I was sold with the offer of a free upgrade to a deluxe ocean view room with private jacuzzi. To be fair we got all of the above but having envisioned us sitting in our jacuzzi looking out at the ocean we were disappointed to find that the ocean view was from one balcony while the jacuzzi was situated on another surround by a high wall, the benefits of which are of course the privacy but limited sunshine for sun bathing and no romantic view from the jacuzzi. The room was lovely with great decor (the deluxe part of the room seemed to be pretty standard with any other rooms that we saw (we did discover a cockroach in our bathroom one day - but guess this is just typical of being abroad)). The hotel is officially an 5* and parts of it are however I would more realistically rate it as a good 4*. The pushing and shoving of others round the buffet was not what I expect from a 5* hotel. The food was of good quality although very geared towards Indian food. We upgraded to All Inclusive following the general advice on previous reviews. It cost us £500 to upgrade from HB to AI for a week and it is possible that had we gone HB and paid the extra it wouldn't have cost us that much however it was worth it for the peace of mind of being able to have whatever we wanted whenever we wanted. Some good points to note is that when we advised the reception of special dietry requirements a note was made on our file so that when we visited the a la carte restaurants they were already aware. Noble Restaurant was a lovely meal and lunch at Segla was good too, Veda - the Indian restaurant which we saved for our last night was dissapointing though with limited choices and not the best cuts of meat. We didn't have an issue with service at any point, occasionally you had a bit of a wait for your drinks. I absoulutely second the comment from the previous reviewer that said they sometimes think that in hotels the guests can treat the staff like servants, I was left open mouthed a few times at the rudeness of some of the other guests. Another point is that I was surprised by the amount of children staying at the hotel, we tended to stay clear of the pool and head off to the 'island' to sunbath as it was quieter, don't get me wrong I have nothing against kids but being on Honeymoon I was expecting a bit more peace and quiet. In addition we did not meet any other English people for the whole week we were there. We went out one day and having checked out the prices for a taxi or hiring a car with driver, both for half a day - £62 for option 1 and £69 for option 2 we took option 3 hiring a car and driving ourselves for a whole day at £59. This perhaps wasn't the best decision, the roads aren't particularly well signposted and the tourist map supplied is totally insufficient, we abandoned two of the places we wre trying to visit as we just couldn't find them. We did eventually find the waterfall and the coloured sands which was nice we then went to Casela Park to walk with the lions. I am so angry with myself for getting sucked into the idea of such a thing, I am not sure what I was expecting but have to remember that they are very dangerous animals and was led to believe that these lions had been rescued and couldn't be released back into the wild as they were too tame. The truth is we walked with two lions one 15 months old, the other 18 months old, both I suspect born at the park. When one of the lions ran off our attention was maintained by the performances of the other lion being made to climb trees and pose for photos etc, we still however heard the the shouting at and smacking of the other lion when it returned. My advice to you is don't go, it isn't somewhere for rescued animals it is a purpose built park bordering on a zoo. All in all we had a good trip but won't be making any plans to return to Mauritius.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onthemove7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
0.8 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Property: InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms and 140 Deluxe rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools ( all heated in winter ), 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing