We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Angsana - The Perfect Honeymoon Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Angsana - The Perfect Honeymoon Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked Angsana for our honeymoon largely based on other trip advisor reviews. We are writing this review at the resort as it's our last day here. 

Our stay from beginning to end has been an absolute delight! All the staff were the friendliest we have ever come across and were genuinely eager to ensure all of our needs were catered for. We originally booked the Spa Suite (which was exceptional) but unfortunately there was an issue with the air conditioning. We were swiftly offered an upgraded room (beachfront villa) and our luggage was promptly moved for us. The suite was even more luxurious than the Spa Suite and they ensured we had our privacy as we requested a top floor room. 

We stayed a total of nine nights and spent a fair few of the days simply using the facilities at the resort. Both the room and the communal areas were well kept and extremely clean. The restaurant and Passion Grill offered an excellent variety of meals and the service was the best we've ever encountered (we've just been given complimentary drinks as we write this by the pool!)

My wife is an extremely fussy vegetarian who does not eat fish, cheese, coriander or ginger! The staff took this very seriously. Preetum (The Food and Beverage Manager) came to see us on a daily basis to design  a special menu for her. They were creative in their suggestions and they didn't make us feel as if this was any trouble. Curtis, the chef, is amazing! His cooking was delicious and he always took extra care in meeting my wife's culinary requirements. Curtis and Preetum would come over to our table to ensure we were happy with the food. We always looked forward to dinner and my wife, who is not easily impressed, was delighted with the variety of vegetarian food that was suggested. As a meat eater and lover of seafood, I found the food amazing and really recommend trying all the different local specialities. You will never get bored of the menu as it changes everyday. 

We also had some spa treatments which were fantastic. The Spa staff are very welcoming and can tailor treatments to your needs.The jacuzzi is phenomenal. The pool is brilliant and great for relaxation. 

The resort felt as if it was our own private paradise as you rarely see people in communal areas such as the pool or lunch areas. Privacy is a major plus point and perfect for honeymooners and couples who want to enjoy each others company. 

The Reception staff, particularly Vinay, Kiran, Jessica and Oliver, were honest and helpful in arranging daily outings/sightseeing trips. They were always welcoming and very attentive to our needs and would go above and beyond to ensure our happiness. For example, I had a fair few mosquito bites (I failed to use repellant one night whilst having dinner outside) and Kiran made sure ice was sent to our room every night to help cool the itching. Mosquito coils were also provided for our extra protection, even though we failed to see any Mosquitos in our room. 

We are sad to be leaving Angsana but as Kiran says, "all good things must come to an end".  We want to thank all the staff from Reception, Waiting Staff, Pool Attendants, Chefs, Room Service and Spa Staff. Particular thanks to Kiran, Vinay, Oliver, Preetum, Lekraj, Suciana, Alisha, Roobesh, Kovilen, Sharon, Mayuree, Ashvin, Dorasan, Curtis, Sharvin, Nikhil, Prateek and Renu. We wish we could name them all but unfortunately we could not get everyone's names. 

We cannot recommend this place highly enough! Book now, you will not be disappointed! 

Room Tip: For extra privacy, request a top floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vishal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Vishal,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. It is with great pleasure that we read your ‘perfect honeymoon’ experience.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. We are thrilled to know that we were able to make of your honeymoon experience an unforgettable moment.

Being an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and we strive to create a remarkable stay for our guests. We take all requirements very seriously and we were glad that your wife was able to enjoy her meals at the resort with having any constraints. Chef Curtis and his team find it interestingly challenging to create diverse dietary menus. It gives them the opportunity to innovate and create unique stimulating meals for our guests.

I am even more delighted that you were able to use our Spa facilities. The Jacuzzi is definitely worth the experience and it is with pleasure that I read your comments on this service and facility. Our spa therapists are trained to be authentic and friendly and provide tailor made treatments to soothe and relax your body, mind and soul. It is very encouraging to know that you found the spa treatments ‘Fantastic’.


Once again I would like to thank you for your kind comments to the team. Rest assured that they have been passed on to all those that have made your stay truly unique and memorable.

We trust you had a safe trip back to London and that the weather is treating you well. We look forward to your next stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    116
    39
    18
    10
See reviews for
170
537
15
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

the suite with private swimming pool are great !

the SPA is exceptionnal for the services it offers and the therapists know their jobs.

the choice for the dishes during the dinner is quile large and always very good.
I stayed 5 days and had never had the sames dishes proposed.



  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Valued guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor comment. We are immensely pleased to hear that you had ‘an exceptional moment’ following your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Being an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and we strive to create a memorable stay for our guests. Your kind comments have been passed on to the spa department and the therapists that made your stay ‘exceptional’.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed Chef Suardi’s cuisine and was able to taste various culinary dishes during you stay. The team would like to thank you for your warm comments and will definitely make sure you explore several other dishes upon your next stay with us.

We trust you had a safe flight back home and look forward to welcoming you once again at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius or any of our resorts around the world.

Yours Sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very nice small to medium size hotel with quality suites in a secluded area with good food and friendly people. We really enjoyed our honeymoon here. If I have to nitpick the improvement items are in delivering consistent high quality five star service: the room service can be more consistent in their work (resupply of used cups, add coffee for the Nespresso machine etc.) and the kitchen and waiters are extremely fast (too fast) when serving courses. We had to ask them a number of times to give us some time before serving the next course as our diners would have been very short if we did not. Don't get me wrong though the Angsana staff was always very helpful and nice to us and we had a great time in Mauritius!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Erik_Drost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Valued guest,


We would like to thank you for taking time to write and Trip Advisor comment. We are pleased to know that you had a great time in Mauritius following your stay at our resort.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. We are thrilled to find that you found our suites very nice and of quality standard.

We trust you were able to taste chef Suardi’s innovating cuisine and various menus. The team works hard on creating new ideas and dishes each day to awaken our guests’ taste buds. It is very encouraging to know that you found that our staffs were friendly.

Our team is trained to be authentic and provide service attitude that is above expectations.
Your warm comments have been passed on to all the personnel that made your stay special.

I hope you had a safe trip back and we look forward to welcome you back at our resort.


Yours Sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

An absolutely stunning place the brightest gem amongst the others , breathless views from our bed accompanied with Mauritian wine ( not the best) we did actually swop for something more descent. The restaurants offers you only good quality food ( a bit expensive though). Our suite , with ocean view , hammam spa and private pool designed very tastefully . now for even more relaxation offer yourself a massage or more by the angels at the spa! Awesome ! Never had better. The staff very helpful at all times. The bar tender " call him doc" has all the right stuff to get away with your fever or name it. And you will arrive in a fantastic shape back in your suite for a rock n roll night. I highly recommend this place . Only one thing to mention; the bar, music, music,music ! Let it rock and the ambiance will be perfect . A very satisfied client(s)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank styleandclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Valued guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. It warms our heart to read such a kind and positive account about our resort.

It is with great pleasure to learn that you had a heavenly experience with us. Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers as you mentioned an ‘absolutely stunning’ hideaway ideal for couples such as you that are looking for privacy and relaxation. It also great to hear that you were able to experience the various facilities we offer at the resort.

Chef Suardi and his team are even so pleased to know that they were able to satisfy your good taste in fusion cuisine and he cannot wait to have you back for another culinary experience. Rest assured that your warm comments have been passed on to the team.

As for our Spa facilities I am glad to see that you were able to find time for a pampering session with our Spa therapists.

Once again we would like to thank you for your encouraging comments. They will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

I trust you had a safe flight back to the Netherlands and that we will soon be welcoming you back at the resort.

Yours Sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

What I loved about this hotel is that it is just the right size - not too big. Food was nice and spa treatments beautiful. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking somewhere not too flashy but intimate and friendly

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Sabrina,

Greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius! We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. As you noticed the resort is small yet you perfectly pointed out that ‘it is just the right size’ for a private an intimate moment.

It is with great pleasure to hear that you were able to enjoy the spa facilities and the various treatments we offer. Our spa therapists are dedicated in making sure our guests receive the full essential pampering session they fully deserve. Rest assured that your warm comments have been passed on to the team.

Our executive chef is thrilled that you enjoyed his cuisine. Chef Suardi and his team work hard at creating creative and innovating dishes to satisfy our guests. Once again we would like to thank you for your earnest comments.

I truly hope that you had a safe trip back to Perth and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at the resort.

Yours Sincerely,
Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at the hotel for only a night before taking on a long flight and it was absolutely the best thing I did. The staff was awesome and the food was absolutely delicious! had a great peaceful night's rest and waking up to the beautiful warm sunshine of mauritius. In terms of facilities, probably best spa facilities I have been to in Mauritius

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Denleparain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Valued guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Although your stay with us was quite short we appreciate the warm and positive comments about the resort. Our chef Suardi is delighted to know that during your short stay you were able to taste his fusion cuisine and that you found it ‘absolutely delicious’.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and it is rewarding to know that your one night stay was ‘absolutely peaceful’.

Once again we would like to thank you for your encouraging comments as they will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We look forward to welcome you back amongst us and the ‘beautiful warm sunshine of Mauritius’.

Yours sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Hi,
Angsana indeed is very beautiful hotel, spacious room BUT the service quality does not follow.

As a Mauritian, my family and I felt that Mauritians and tourists are served differently.

Some of our family had to wait 50 min before "a la carte" breakfast was served. Also, a member of my family precise that NO PORK should be serve BUT pork beacon was on the plate. When mentioning the latter to the waiter, they took the plate and was about to only remove the pork (behind the counter) and serve back the same plate.

Not to mention that the day before at dinner time, problem arise where food were served different for us and the tourist. Managers responsible at that time were not able to handle the problem and were arrogant.

I do not understand how such hotel is a 5 star hotel and were given the TripAdvisor’ Choice 2013 award and I STRONGLY do not recommend Mauritians to go to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tonks T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Valued guest,

We would like to thank you for taking some time to write a TripAdvisor review following your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

I am delighted that you found that the resort was very beautiful. However please accept our apologies on the service you received during you stay. I would like to seize this opportunity to present my excuses for the disappointing standards.

I would like to mention that we absolutely do not give any preferences nor do we discriminate when serving locals or tourists. Our clients are our biggest pride and we are truly sorry that you felt we were serving you and your guests differently.

We have taken note of your comments and rest assured that we are doing an internal investigation to find out more about it. Please rest assured that this is not our usual standard and that your comments have been passed on to the team so we can further improve and monitor our Angsana standards.

We appreciate the constructive comments as these will truly help us monitor and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

Yours Sincerely,

Pascal Prigent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
29.0 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
15.7 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Property: Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Family Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Destinology, Southall Travel, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing