We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort and great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed in imperial suite for two nights during the week of Chinese New Year. The suite has a private infinity pool with ocean view as well as a jacuzzi pool on the side. The pool was really a highlight of our stay. The suite also has a steam room which made our stay more enjoyable.
The resort is not massively big if compare to other luxury hotels in Mauritius, but it makes all amenities
more easily accessible. The private beach is equipped with all kinds of water activities. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant offers a la carte fine dining experience and they changed the menu everyday!

我们在春节的时候在Angsana Balaclava住了两晚。酒店是超5星水准。设施都很新,房间很舒适。我们住在有私人泳池的套房,旁边还有按摩泳池,躺在里面看海是难忘的经历。海滩有各种水上运动对酒店客人免费使用。酒店里还有桑拿,蒸气,按摩池,健身房都可以随时使用。餐厅提供的是点餐,不像其它酒店自助台上放着半凉的食物。连早餐都是当时点,炒面是我在毛球11天吃到的最有国内味道的。
唯一不足就是酒店位置,旁边就是一片未开发的甘蔗地。我们是自驾,所以去哪都很方便,离首都就十几分钟车程。酒店占地不大,但至少不用走10分钟去吃饭。我们住的时候没有太多客人,可能是淡季再加上是新酒店的原因,到处都很安静,用免费设施的时候也像是私人专属服务。如果想远离塵嚣,找一片有绝对个人空间的地方度假,这里是个好选择。

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YolandaYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for leaving a Trip Advisor comment following your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

The secluded imperial villa is ideal for a perfect gathering place. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the facilities of the villa such as the personal steam room.

The resort comprises of 52 suites only which gives the guests the privacy and exclusivity they are looking for when on holidays and we are glad that you were able to experience this.

Our team works hard at making sure our guests enjoy every moment of their stay and it is with great pleasure that we read your comment. Rest assured that your kind words have been passed on to the whole team that has made your stay ‘a great experience’.

I trust you had a safe trip back home and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure to see you again at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Yours sincerely,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Angsana Balaclava
Holiday for two
End of Jan – Beginning of February

We arrived early after a long flight from Gatwick to Mauritius, upon arrival staff were extremely friendly offered the two of us a drink and talked us through the hotel.

I would describe my first impression as an Asian spa experience, everywhere smells great! The staff had cute Asian fusion uniforms and bowed when they greeted you, after an informative speedy check in we were escorted to our room, which they opened early for us before the official check in time.

ROOM:
1. Dressing room with enough storage for a lady with lots of shoes, clothes and bags. Dressing table and his and hers sinks. On the side was his and hers vanity bags with all essentials this was replenished daily.
2. A single toilet, cleaned and replenished daily
3. The biggest bathroom I have ever seen with a 6ft stone bath and walk in shower / sauna.
4. A beautifully decorated large bedroom with mini bar, TV, DVD player. Door's the folded to open a large outdoor decking area with L-shape swimming pool and Jacuzzi (Honestly not really a Jacuzzi as it doesn’t bubble at all!)
5. The hotel offered a laundry service, restocked the mini bar daily, cleaned the room twice per day and offered great room service for those lazy mornings.

BEACH:
Turtle bay beach, small and private with sand, shells and rocks. No beach sales people hassling you, great furniture with free towels and water.

SPA:
Beautiful – Free treatments when booking the half board package, great amenities with large Jacuzzi (that bubbles!)
Spa, Hairdresser, Sauna and Gym.

POOL:
Fresh and Sea water communal pools. Did not use as we had a private pool.

BOAT HOUSE:
Great staff, a lot of FREE activities including water skiing, kayak’s etc.

TRIPS:
A Tour operator visited to offer deals for trips, we found that booking with the hotel worked out cheaper and staff were more knowledgeable. We visited Casila to walk with Lions and Quad bike, had a private speedboat for the day to visit waterfall, Private Island, saw dolphins, swam with tropical fish and had a beach front barbeque.

SHOPPING: Grand bay was great for a bit of holiday haggling with gifts and trinkets for all

FOOD:
We were on a half board basis, breakfast and dinner served in the hotel but if required you can request this in your room. I would like to stress that as a picky eater I was unsure how I would find the fusion of Indian / Thai / Chinese but honestly the BEST FOOD I have ever had.

Six course service:
Bread and dips, Entrees, Starter, Sorbet, Main, Dessert

SERVICE:
Bar, Restaurant, Shop, Pool, Reception and Beach staff spoke great English, 5 * Plus service particularly in the main restaurant and bar. Preetum the food and beverage manager went the extra mile and often spent evenings with us talking about Mauritius and the hotel.

WEATHER:
During our stay a cyclone passed through Mauritius, this sounds scary and extreme but felt like a January morning in UK. During our stay temperatures reached 30 degrees plus.

MAINTENANCE:
Maintenance team were always around any issues were resolved instantly.

GOING THE EXTRA MILE:
Tour of Wine Cellar – Preetum too us on a tour around the wine cellar and educated us on the best wines he had
Catching a frog – Kiran from reception and BRUCE (Nicknamed as we didn’t know his Mauritian name but he clearly sounded Australian) overheard my partner and I look for the noise frogs outside the front of the reception. They swiftly put on rubber gloves and grabbed a torch to catch one for us to see which we thought was great!
Chinese New Year pictures – We missed the Chinese new year evening due to sun stroke. Kiran kindly took photos and saved them on a disk so we didn’t miss the experience.
Private dining – We had booked for destination dining but unfortunately due to the Cyclone it was cancelled. However we did see another couple having a private barbeque on the beach a few night before and it look amazing a real shame for us.
Romantic turn down – As we had missed the private barbeque Preetum organised a romantic turn down of our room with rose petals on the bed and in the bath. He had also organised chocolate covered strawberry’s which was a really nice touch.

Final note: TAKE YOUR BUG SPRAY –Staff fumigate the surrounding of the hotel regularly but repellent is a must on this holiday. During the evening be sure to be bit!

Room Tip: Beach front suites are a must. quite, spacious, private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for leaving a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. We greatly appreciate the detailed comments on our resort.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. We are pleased to read that the Beachfront pool suite was to your liking. We must say that it is the most popular suite amongst our guest that are especially fond of the beautiful stone bath tub and the various in suite facilities included.

Our team takes great pride in knowing that you appreciated their hard work and especially their friendliness and professional standards. We make it our duty to provide high service quality to our guests. Your comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

Your kind message has been passed on to Bruce, Kiran and Preetum as well as the rest of the team that has made your stay so special.

We sinerely hope you had a safe trip back home and that we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Best Regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We transferred here from Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel, which is where we spent the first week of our honeymoon. The reason we transferred is because we were offered the chance to move by Paradise Cove managemennt as their hotel was overbooked. To be honest I regret moving as this came nowhere near the experience we had at Paradise Cove. Nevertheless it wasn't bad and some things were pretty awesome.

We stayed in a Spa Suite, which was really impressive as we had our own balcony with a private infinity pool and partial sea view. The suite is enormous and very comfortable. We had in room dining one night, which was lovely as we sat on the balcony by the pool and each course was brought seperately by a waiter.

We asked for a romantic turndown one night, which was very special as it includes a bubblebath with rose petals in. The bath and shower were of course both enormous.

We had a wasp nest just above the pool on our balcony which we reported to management several times and which they tried to eradicate several times with medium success. It wasn't too bad in the end.

The resort itself is very small and we got the distinct feeling that they didn't have a lot of guests as it was eerily quiet and quite a few of the activities were suspended. However, they still made a big deal of lunch and dinner. The only thing was that you didn't have a choice of locations for this - there is just one restaurant for lunch and one for dinner. The food was very good and the cocktails were really fantastic. Staff very friendly and helpful.

The main bar is very impressive and it was great to sit there and have drinks before and after dinner. The bar at the lunchtime restaurant was quite cool as you can swim up to it and there are bar stools in the pool, so you can sit in the pool but at the bar at the same time. I didn't think the main pool was that great though, it's definitely geared more for children.

The resort has its own little beach. This was great as you can just lie there on a sun lounger, look at the perfect view and then dip into the ocean every now and then.

The spa was really utterly fantastic. The massages were to die for and the service was impeccable. The treatments were all very, very expensive though.

The gym was small but it was well equiped with modern equipment.

Overall very lovely but I think maybe a little too small. The private pool made the whole thing!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SA-Girl-Gsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. The Deluxe Pool Suite was definitely a great choice with its private relaxation pool you can immerse yourself in a holiday bliss worry free. We do hope that you enjoyed the spacious bathroom and the range of in-room facilities offered in your enormous and comfortable suite.

It is with great pleasure that I read of the positive comments about our property and your extensive use of our property facilities. We are glad that you enjoyed having your drinks at the pool bar – this facility is widely appreciated by our guests especially during summer.

Chef Suardi and his team are delighted that you found his cuisine ‘very good’ and they look forward to seeing you again for another culinary adventure.

Our team is dedicated and always ready to make each guest stay special. Your gracious comments have been passed to the team who take great pride in what they do. Moreover, your comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

I trust you had a safe trip back home and that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Yours Sincerely,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Hi,
I've been there to stay 2 nights for Chinese New Year 2014.

Very good food
Nice room ( Pool Spa Suite )
Nice guest relationship and
Very good service.

Special thanks to Mr Amrish and Mr Preetum who made our stay an enjoyable & memorable visit and I highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Looking forward for another visit in the future.

Thierry Tang

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Thierry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Thierry,

Thank you for leaving a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

It was a great pleasure to welcome you during the Chinese New Year festivities. I trust you were able to experience the Year of the Horse as it should at our resort.

Chef Suardi and the team worked hard at creating special dishes for this special occasion and your warm comments come and reward their hard work.

Rest assured that your comments have been passed on to Amrish and Preetum as well as the rest of the team that has made your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius enjoyable and memorable. We are definitely looking forward to another visit from you and your family.

Yours Sincerely,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We had a nice weekend at the hotel. Check in was really quick, hotel room very clean and comfortable with relaxation pool within suite. Huge salt water pool and fresh water pool. Staff courteous and service is excellent.Generally the resto doesnt serve buffet but were quite disappointed and on that day we had buffet for breakfast and dinner. A la carte dinner was only served on the next day which was astonishingly good!!!

DY77

Room Tip: Look for SPA site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunayna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Sunayna,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation.

Our team is trained to be authentic, friendly, gracious and they provide a service attitude that is above expectations. It is very encouraging to know that you were able to experience this at the Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

I am even more please to read of your culinary adventure. Chef Suardi and the team are thrilled to know that you found their dishes ‘astonishingly good’. We make it our duty to create new innovating dishes on a weekly basis that will delight our guests taste buds. Your warm comments have been passed on to the whole team.

Sunayna, thank you for your comments as they will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

I trust you had a safe trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you back at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Yours sincerely,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Amazing villa with private pool,meticulous service,perfect food. The staff are overly helpful. I never felt not at ease to ask for a little favour. They always keep their smile & ensure they surpass expectations. The room is very spacious, with magnificent view, amenities & not much to walk

Room Tip: Bring ur smartphone or laptop or tablette, as there is wi-fi available everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank Joelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Joelle,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

It is with great pleasure that I read of your amazing journey with us. Situated on the scenic northwest coast of Mauritius Angsana Balaclava Mauritius offers a melting pot of romance and relaxation. We are glad that you were able to experience the professional service offered by our associates.
Chef Suardi and his team are thrilled that you fully enjoyed the various meals proposed during your stay. They work hard at creating innovative dishes every week and your warm comments comes as a reward for their dedication and passion.

We are even more pleased to know that you were able to stay connected even whilst on a small holiday break. Your kind comments will be passed on to the IT department.

I am proud that the team trained to be authentic, friendly and gracious and provided a service attitude that is above expectations. Rest assured that your comments were passed on to the team which has made your stay excellent.

Joelle it was a real pleasure to welcome you at our property and I sincerely hope to see you again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Being an experienced traveller, let me be fair and give a review that will help other people.
As myself, you are looking for value for your $$, and knowing that features and amenities in a hotel is what give the star-rating. This is why I am spending some time to write about it.

Angsana has an appealing SPA, I love the pool. I hate hotels where you have to walk and walk before you get to the dining room. I go to a resort to rest, enjoy, swim, and eat well (not to forget sunbathing). I hate having to run miles to get to the dining room for a bite. I don't go on vacation to go for a hike. Angsana answers to my choices, it is well architectured and of a perfect-sized resort. Mauritius as an Island says it all: sandy beaches, crystal clear waters and tropical fruit and veggies. This is the main reason I go spend a holiday on an Island.
I am planning of going back there in November this year and will stay as much as my wallet can afford.My hubby goes back , as he has to work, and i stay with the kids.
I have read the reviews (99% great satisfaction). So, Angsana has convinced me again. I normally contact a hotel before I come with my family and make sure everything I want is there for us. And, 10 out of 10 trips, the hotel never missed. This is how I do it and this is why 99.9% of my trips, I am always satisfied.
Angsana, I am pretty sure, you will not miss! Great job by your staff..friendly, warm and make us feel at home.

Room Tip: I go for a great ocean view---which is the beachfront pool suite.. i don't live on an island an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Lina,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

It is with great pleasure that I read of the wonderful stay you and your family had at our resort. Given that you are an experienced traveller we are proud that you found our property matchless and great value for money. For info our Angsana Balaclava Spa has currently been nominated for the 2014 World Luxury Spa Awards. I truly hope you had the chance to experience our Spa facilities and that you fully enjoyed the tender, love and care provided.

Seated on the scenic northwest coast of Mauritius, and nestled in the Baie aux Tortues, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius is a vivid illustration of an idyllic island getaway. We are glad that our resort was a perfect fit for you.

The whole of Angsana Balaclava Mauritius team would like to thank you for you visit. It was a real pleasure to have you and your lovely family stay with us and we look forward to another visit.

Yours sincerely,

Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,536 reviews
29.0 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,959 reviews
4.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,551 reviews
22.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: £265 - £804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing