We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Nearby Hotels
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
bedfinder
View Deal
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$678
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$597
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Ile Maurice(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunset Reef Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,127)
Filter reviews
1,127 results
Traveller rating
881
154
55
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
881
154
55
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolspa suitevitality poolsea water poolour honeymoonocean frontf bsorbethoney moonspa staffspecial thanksport louisbreakfast and dinnerreception teammemorable stayrestaurant staffsteam room
Filter
Updating list...
538 - 543 of 1,127 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

It was our first time at Angsana Hotel, we spent a weekend there. It was really cosy, nice food and a private pool just for us, we really enjoyed it. And the personnel is very caring and polite. The karaoke was great, a plus to our stay. I would recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to go there again next time :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Linda,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. It is with great pleasure that I read of your warm comments regarding our property.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. I am glad to hear that during your stay you made full use of your private pool. We must say that our Deluxe Pool Suites are very much appreciated by our guests and I am happy that you were able to experience this.

Our Chef and his team are extremely pleased that you relished their various dishes during your stay. The team puts a lot of effort and enthusiasm in preparing the culinary dishes and it is with immense pleasure that they read your comment.

Our team is trained to be authentic, friendly, and gracious and to provide a service attitude that is above expectations. Your warm comments come and reward their hard work all throughout the year and for this, I would like to express my deepest gratitude.

Linda, I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius for another ‘Exciting weekend’.

Yours sincerely,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed in imperial suite for two nights during the week of Chinese New Year. The suite has a private infinity pool with ocean view as well as a jacuzzi pool on the side. The pool was really a highlight of our stay. The suite also has a steam room which made our stay more enjoyable.
The resort is not massively big if compare to other luxury hotels in Mauritius, but it makes all amenities
more easily accessible. The private beach is equipped with all kinds of water activities. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant offers a la carte fine dining experience and they changed the menu everyday!

我们在春节的时候在Angsana Balaclava住了两晚。酒店是超5星水准。设施都很新,房间很舒适。我们住在有私人泳池的套房,旁边还有按摩泳池,躺在里面看海是难忘的经历。海滩有各种水上运动对酒店客人免费使用。酒店里还有桑拿,蒸气,按摩池,健身房都可以随时使用。餐厅提供的是点餐,不像其它酒店自助台上放着半凉的食物。连早餐都是当时点,炒面是我在毛球11天吃到的最有国内味道的。
唯一不足就是酒店位置,旁边就是一片未开发的甘蔗地。我们是自驾,所以去哪都很方便,离首都就十几分钟车程。酒店占地不大,但至少不用走10分钟去吃饭。我们住的时候没有太多客人,可能是淡季再加上是新酒店的原因,到处都很安静,用免费设施的时候也像是私人专属服务。如果想远离塵嚣,找一片有绝对个人空间的地方度假,这里是个好选择。

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YolandaYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for leaving a Trip Advisor comment following your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

The secluded imperial villa is ideal for a perfect gathering place. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the facilities of the villa such as the personal steam room.

The resort comprises of 52 suites only which gives the guests the privacy and exclusivity they are looking for when on holidays and we are glad that you were able to experience this.

Our team works hard at making sure our guests enjoy every moment of their stay and it is with great pleasure that we read your comment. Rest assured that your kind words have been passed on to the whole team that has made your stay ‘a great experience’.

I trust you had a safe trip back home and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure to see you again at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Yours sincerely,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Angsana Balaclava
Holiday for two
End of Jan – Beginning of February

We arrived early after a long flight from Gatwick to Mauritius, upon arrival staff were extremely friendly offered the two of us a drink and talked us through the hotel.

I would describe my first impression as an Asian spa experience, everywhere smells great! The staff had cute Asian fusion uniforms and bowed when they greeted you, after an informative speedy check in we were escorted to our room, which they opened early for us before the official check in time.

ROOM:
1. Dressing room with enough storage for a lady with lots of shoes, clothes and bags. Dressing table and his and hers sinks. On the side was his and hers vanity bags with all essentials this was replenished daily.
2. A single toilet, cleaned and replenished daily
3. The biggest bathroom I have ever seen with a 6ft stone bath and walk in shower / sauna.
4. A beautifully decorated large bedroom with mini bar, TV, DVD player. Door's the folded to open a large outdoor decking area with L-shape swimming pool and Jacuzzi (Honestly not really a Jacuzzi as it doesn’t bubble at all!)
5. The hotel offered a laundry service, restocked the mini bar daily, cleaned the room twice per day and offered great room service for those lazy mornings.

BEACH:
Turtle bay beach, small and private with sand, shells and rocks. No beach sales people hassling you, great furniture with free towels and water.

SPA:
Beautiful – Free treatments when booking the half board package, great amenities with large Jacuzzi (that bubbles!)
Spa, Hairdresser, Sauna and Gym.

POOL:
Fresh and Sea water communal pools. Did not use as we had a private pool.

BOAT HOUSE:
Great staff, a lot of FREE activities including water skiing, kayak’s etc.

TRIPS:
A Tour operator visited to offer deals for trips, we found that booking with the hotel worked out cheaper and staff were more knowledgeable. We visited Casila to walk with Lions and Quad bike, had a private speedboat for the day to visit waterfall, Private Island, saw dolphins, swam with tropical fish and had a beach front barbeque.

SHOPPING: Grand bay was great for a bit of holiday haggling with gifts and trinkets for all

FOOD:
We were on a half board basis, breakfast and dinner served in the hotel but if required you can request this in your room. I would like to stress that as a picky eater I was unsure how I would find the fusion of Indian / Thai / Chinese but honestly the BEST FOOD I have ever had.

Six course service:
Bread and dips, Entrees, Starter, Sorbet, Main, Dessert

SERVICE:
Bar, Restaurant, Shop, Pool, Reception and Beach staff spoke great English, 5 * Plus service particularly in the main restaurant and bar. Preetum the food and beverage manager went the extra mile and often spent evenings with us talking about Mauritius and the hotel.

WEATHER:
During our stay a cyclone passed through Mauritius, this sounds scary and extreme but felt like a January morning in UK. During our stay temperatures reached 30 degrees plus.

MAINTENANCE:
Maintenance team were always around any issues were resolved instantly.

GOING THE EXTRA MILE:
Tour of Wine Cellar – Preetum too us on a tour around the wine cellar and educated us on the best wines he had
Catching a frog – Kiran from reception and BRUCE (Nicknamed as we didn’t know his Mauritian name but he clearly sounded Australian) overheard my partner and I look for the noise frogs outside the front of the reception. They swiftly put on rubber gloves and grabbed a torch to catch one for us to see which we thought was great!
Chinese New Year pictures – We missed the Chinese new year evening due to sun stroke. Kiran kindly took photos and saved them on a disk so we didn’t miss the experience.
Private dining – We had booked for destination dining but unfortunately due to the Cyclone it was cancelled. However we did see another couple having a private barbeque on the beach a few night before and it look amazing a real shame for us.
Romantic turn down – As we had missed the private barbeque Preetum organised a romantic turn down of our room with rose petals on the bed and in the bath. He had also organised chocolate covered strawberry’s which was a really nice touch.

Final note: TAKE YOUR BUG SPRAY –Staff fumigate the surrounding of the hotel regularly but repellent is a must on this holiday. During the evening be sure to be bit!

Room Tip: Beach front suites are a must. quite, spacious, private!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for leaving a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. We greatly appreciate the detailed comments on our resort.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. We are pleased to read that the Beachfront pool suite was to your liking. We must say that it is the most popular suite amongst our guest that are especially fond of the beautiful stone bath tub and the various in suite facilities included.

Our team takes great pride in knowing that you appreciated their hard work and especially their friendliness and professional standards. We make it our duty to provide high service quality to our guests. Your comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

Your kind message has been passed on to Bruce, Kiran and Preetum as well as the rest of the team that has made your stay so special.

We sinerely hope you had a safe trip back home and that we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Best Regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We transferred here from Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel, which is where we spent the first week of our honeymoon. The reason we transferred is because we were offered the chance to move by Paradise Cove managemennt as their hotel was overbooked. To be honest I regret moving as this came nowhere near the experience we had at Paradise Cove. Nevertheless it wasn't bad and some things were pretty awesome.

We stayed in a Spa Suite, which was really impressive as we had our own balcony with a private infinity pool and partial sea view. The suite is enormous and very comfortable. We had in room dining one night, which was lovely as we sat on the balcony by the pool and each course was brought seperately by a waiter.

We asked for a romantic turndown one night, which was very special as it includes a bubblebath with rose petals in. The bath and shower were of course both enormous.

We had a wasp nest just above the pool on our balcony which we reported to management several times and which they tried to eradicate several times with medium success. It wasn't too bad in the end.

The resort itself is very small and we got the distinct feeling that they didn't have a lot of guests as it was eerily quiet and quite a few of the activities were suspended. However, they still made a big deal of lunch and dinner. The only thing was that you didn't have a choice of locations for this - there is just one restaurant for lunch and one for dinner. The food was very good and the cocktails were really fantastic. Staff very friendly and helpful.

The main bar is very impressive and it was great to sit there and have drinks before and after dinner. The bar at the lunchtime restaurant was quite cool as you can swim up to it and there are bar stools in the pool, so you can sit in the pool but at the bar at the same time. I didn't think the main pool was that great though, it's definitely geared more for children.

The resort has its own little beach. This was great as you can just lie there on a sun lounger, look at the perfect view and then dip into the ocean every now and then.

The spa was really utterly fantastic. The massages were to die for and the service was impeccable. The treatments were all very, very expensive though.

The gym was small but it was well equiped with modern equipment.

Overall very lovely but I think maybe a little too small. The private pool made the whole thing!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SA-Girl-Gsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. The Deluxe Pool Suite was definitely a great choice with its private relaxation pool you can immerse yourself in a holiday bliss worry free. We do hope that you enjoyed the spacious bathroom and the range of in-room facilities offered in your enormous and comfortable suite.

It is with great pleasure that I read of the positive comments about our property and your extensive use of our property facilities. We are glad that you enjoyed having your drinks at the pool bar – this facility is widely appreciated by our guests especially during summer.

Chef Suardi and his team are delighted that you found his cuisine ‘very good’ and they look forward to seeing you again for another culinary adventure.

Our team is dedicated and always ready to make each guest stay special. Your gracious comments have been passed to the team who take great pride in what they do. Moreover, your comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

I trust you had a safe trip back home and that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Yours Sincerely,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Hi,
I've been there to stay 2 nights for Chinese New Year 2014.

Very good food
Nice room ( Pool Spa Suite )
Nice guest relationship and
Very good service.

Special thanks to Mr Amrish and Mr Preetum who made our stay an enjoyable & memorable visit and I highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Looking forward for another visit in the future.

Thierry Tang

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Thierry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Thierry,

Thank you for leaving a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

It was a great pleasure to welcome you during the Chinese New Year festivities. I trust you were able to experience the Year of the Horse as it should at our resort.

Chef Suardi and the team worked hard at creating special dishes for this special occasion and your warm comments come and reward their hard work.

Rest assured that your comments have been passed on to Amrish and Preetum as well as the rest of the team that has made your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius enjoyable and memorable. We are definitely looking forward to another visit from you and your family.

Yours Sincerely,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews