We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GR8 * GR8 * GR8 * GR8 * GR8”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GR8 * GR8 * GR8 * GR8 * GR8”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

5 Greats - now that's quite a feat !!!
Just had one of the most wonderful hotel stays in MRU and had to share it on TA.
Being regularly visitors to MRU/RUN, over the years we have had the pleasure of staying at different hotels - Ambre, Anahita, le Canonnier, Coco Beach, LUX, Le Meridien, Plantation, Les Pavilions, PLM Azur, Palm to name a few.
Normally they are all in the category 'You get exactly what it says on the packet' - but Angsana Balaclava has just upped the standard so much that I am impelled to write this review.
We were made to feel truly special during our whole stay - nothing was too much for the staff to accomplish during a wonderful few days.
The standards of the 'kitchen' (if I can use this simple connotation) was simply out of this world. All the dishes we had during our stay were gastronomically delicious and the presentation was similar to the TV 'MasterChef' programmes - Well done to all those invisibles behind the stoves !
Some of our group were also hearty eaters and provision was made for their appetites too - A BIG thank you to the F+B team headed by Nicolas & Pridam along with the waiters/tresses. They really took care of the guests and were so courteous at all times (a special mention for David here, even if his team MU lost on the night, he kept smiling....)
SPA, Front Desk/ Reception, Room cleanliness - I could go on and on about all the positives we felt in Angsana Balaclava ....

During our stay we had a few visitors and they were highly impressed with the luxury aspects of the resort, the suites with personal pools on the top floor overlooking the amenities could have come out of a glossy magazine.

I am not a regular contibutor the TA, but when I've had either a bad experience (see resto ULPIA by CYGGIE) or a great one, I will gladly compose a few lines in order that others are aware of the establishment. In this instance it is to PRAISE the hotel and staff for the exceptional service we had.

Sure, the beach isn't the best, the activities not as abundant as other hotels. And although the hotel is more geared to newly-weds, & couples, our mixed group of 8 appreciated being pampered and spoilt throughout our stay.In the end we felt as though we were leaving some good friends and we've felt remotely like that at any of the other 'corporate' hotels aforementioned.

And to cap it all, when the GM saw we were taking photos outside on our day of departure. He volunteered to take the photos for the whole group so that we could all be in it.
Gr8 service and Thanks again Mr Ilias V. for this personal touch - much appreciated ....

We will certainly be returning in the future and that's not something we say too often .....

Keep up the good work and see you soon.

Cyggie

Room Tip: Top Room with individual pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hob56nob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Cyggie,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Reading your comment was definitely heart-warming and it comes and congratulates the hard work that the Angsana Balaclava team puts in everyday to make sure our guests have the full Angsana experience they deserve.

Our Executive Chef Suardi is over the moon knowing that you found that the dishes were ‘gastronomically delicious’. Perhaps we will consider sending Chef Suardi to MasterChef to represent Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. He definitely has quite a few fans around the world and especially in Mauritius. We would also like to thank you for recognizing the hard work of those that are not visible to our guests. Although invisible they are always making sure the service and delivery is top notch.

Our team is trained to be authentic and provide a service attitude that is above expectations. Rest assured that your kind words have been passed on to Nicolas, Preetum and the rest of the team that has made your stay ‘GR8’.

I trust you had a safe trip back home and we look forward to seeing you again very soon at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Best regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    122
    40
    18
    11
See reviews for
175
559
15
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I've got the chance to stay in different hotel but Angsana been the best till now. The rooms were neat and spacious and seriously well worth the price..up to the standard. Food were excellent.. The staff were nice, friendly and very helpful!! The cherry on the cake is the vitality pool..we've enjoyed it^^

Special note of appreciation for Mr Amrish, Preetam , Narain - got a warm welcome and very helpful and also Mr Illias who is very concerned about his client!
Would strongly recommend this hotel!:)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Nitisha,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. It is with great pride that I read the heart-warming comments.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. We are happy to read you decided to choose Angsana Balaclava and that you found it to be the ‘best till now’.

Our team takes great pride in knowing that you appreciated their hard work and especially their friendliness and professional standards. We make it our duty to provide high service quality to all our guests. Your comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

Nitisha, rest assured that your very kind words have been passed on to Amrish, Preetum, Visham and the rest of the team that has made your stay ‘simply amazing’.

We very much look forward to seeing you again at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Yours sincerely,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Baie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I live in Mauritius and had booked to stay in another highly rated hotel for the weekend, but for some reason that hotel made a mess of our booking and were quite rude, so we left.

Not wanting to have our weekend spoiled, we decided to call the Angsana. We had really no notice and were already driving, and also by this point we wanted lunch, so we proceeded straight there, about 25 minutes drive from where we live.

As soon as we arrived, we informed the check in staff that we'd like to have some lunch asap. I left my ID and credit card at reception and we were promptly shown to the restaurant, and when we were finished we were shown to our room, all formalities taken care of while we ate, enjoyed the view, laughed about the other hotel and sipped through a bottle of Jose Cuervo Gold (worth noting this is the only place we've found on the island which has this wonderful beverage in stock).

Anyway, we had one of the Ocean view rooms directly on the beach with its own pool and jacuzzi, very nice, and we had a mix of room service and restaurant, various wines and thoroughly enjoyed all of it.

From the initial phone call to moment we arrived, it was exactly what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre and we received fantastic treatment.

We would recommend the Angsana to anyone who wants a 5 star experience with enough space to have anonymity and privacy when you want it.

Hats off to the management, we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 981an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Mr Nicolas,

Warm Greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius!

We would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. We are extremely pleased that you had a ‘fantastic experience’.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on making sure that all our guests are receiving the professional service they deserve. I am delighted to learn that the check-in was efficient and dealt with at your convenience and that you were able to enjoy your favourite beverage at our resort. We promise to keep a good stock of Jose Cuervo Gold for your next visit.

Our team is trained to be authentic, friendly, gracious and provide a service attitude that is above expectations and we are glad and proud that they were up to your standards. Rest assured that the message has been passed on to everyone that made your stay so special.

I trust you had a safe trip back and that we will have the great pleasure of welcoming you back at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I have hopped from one resort to another during our last visit to Mauritius, wanting to see and experience as much as possible. The only resort, which we felt sad to leave was this one. We stayed there for only a few days, but it was just perfect - in every sense of the word. We stayed in a suite on the beach, which was the most beautiful room we have ever seen - and we've traveled lots! The suite was stylishly furnished with wooden floors. It came with a pool and a jacuzzi on the terrace, and a huge bathroom with an impressive stone tub from which we could see the sea. The food was amazing. Sit-down dinner with a different menu each day. Had a hard time deciding what to get since all seemed really mouth-watering (note: we've had one of the best steaks ever there). Service was personalised *thumbs up*. The facilities were fantastic. There is a stunning seawater pool surrounded by sand in the middle of the resort, also a lap pool. The spa was also beautiful. It has a large pool with water jets - a divine experience... My only regret is that I was not able to fit in a spa treatment during my stay. Will definitely do so next time.

One other thing, we found the hotel to be very conveniently located; it is in a quiet area yet it is only within 15 mins of the capital city (Port Louis). We found this to be a major plus compared to other hotels which are really secluded since we enjoy going out there and learning about the local culture/life.

Overall, amazing resort. Definitely recommend to anybody travelling to Mauritius.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the suite on the beach, if you can afford it. It is out of this world. Truly stunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley_Mcmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Kimberly,

Thank you for leaving a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.
It is an immense pleasure to read your heart warming comment about our property.

Situated in the scenic northwest cost of Mauritius Angsana Balaclava Mauritius offers a melting pot of romance and relaxation. It provides a vivid illustration of an idyllic island getaway and creates an ambiance of romance. I note that your stay although was short and sweet and I am glad that you were able to experience most of our facilities.

You definitely made the right choice of suite as it is very popular amongst our guests as it offers an idyllic sea-view without having to leave your stone bath tub.

Chef Suardi is extremely pleased to learn that you enjoyed his various dishes and that you had ‘one of the best steaks’ at our resort. We make it our duty to please every guest needs and culinary desires.
It is unfortunate that you were not able to experience the relaxing and revitalizing treatments that our spa has to offer however, our spa therapists will be waiting for your next visit for a nice pampering session.

Kimberly, I sincerely hope that you and your husband had a safe trip back to the UK. We are most certainly waiting for your next visit at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Yours sincerely
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Should have written about this as soon as we left a couple of weeks ago. What a gorgeous place this is from the lovely welcome we were given to our beautiful beachside room. The place is not without faults but they were faults that were ironed out quickly. Yes, some days the room didn't seem to get done too swiftly but a phone call had someone there in minutes and when the power decided to trip on many occasions that equally was fixed instantly.
What made up for these minor irritations was the locations of our lovely room on the beach with our own pool - heaven! Also the level of staff kindness. politeness and interest was second to none.
Food was lovely and interesting too with just enough choices to make it easy but different. Our lovely waitress Reenu has to be complimented - she should be promoted ! If you are looking for the fast life and lots of noise and things happening this is not the place for you but if you want to find yourself so relaxed in a place of utter calm where nothing is too much trouble then get there fast! On saying that there was live music several times a week and of a good standard. We will be back no question - let's just hope they don't change it too much - just enough to iron out the wrinkles. Oh yes do be warned wine at dinner is VERY pricey!

Room Tip: Go for a beachfront room with pool if you can - bliss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V_McC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

I am glad to read that you took the time to discover the secluded and intimate surroundings of Balaclava. We are proud to be located in this pristine area as it offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation.

It is with great pleasure and it is very encouraging to know that our associates went the extra mile during your stay. Our team is dedicated and always ready to make each guest stay very special. Your gracious comments have been passed on to Reenu and all the team members who take great pride in what they do. Moreover your comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

I sincerely hope that you had a safe trip back to the UK and that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Yours sincerely,
Ilias Vamvakas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This boutique luxury hotel is located in the turtle bay. It is quiet. Service is good. Especially the Chinese guide, Simin,she is very helpful and kind. Food is good, comparing with other dinning place in the island. SPA cannot be missed, My therapist Geeta, she is very professional.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank LonelySeraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation and I am pleased to learn that you had a ‘warm and nice’ stay with us.
You have certainly pleased Chef and his team by complimenting his various dishes to the ones on the whole island. The team takes pride to please every guest by providing them with a culinary adventure all through their stay.

I am especially thrilled to know that your Spa Suite was to your convenience and that you enjoyed the massages. Our Spa therapists are dedicated in making sure that our guests receive the relaxing experience they are looking for. It is with great pleasure that I hear that you experienced excellent service from our outstanding associates. Rest assured that your warm comments will be passed on to Simin, Geeta and the team.

I sincerely hope that you had a safe trip back to Shanghai and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius again.

Yours sincerely,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived early after a long and hiatus flight, from India. The welcome we got there was absolutely fantastic especially the "welcome drink "
Within no time Mr Vinay koomar helped us with our room which was ,the spa suite and it was just out of the world, our special thanks to him. After looking at the room half of our tiredness went off, and the rest half went off when we saw that there was a private pool attached to our room. The room was huge and spacious too.
We even had a great time having our food there , since I'm a vegetarian, they made sure i ate comfortably, as in whatever i ordered was surely delivered with great taste .
We even tried their spa, and the experience was wonderful.
We even had a great time on their private beach, it was great fun...
Last but not the least they they made Our last night very special , with a special beach facing dinner and a specially decorated room.
Our honeymoon stay was made very special by all the staff members especially ( MR VINAY KOOMAR), he helped us throughout the stay :)



Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nishant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Nishant,

Warm Greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay. It is with great pride and pleasure that I read your comments and your experience from the very start of your stay with us.

Being an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and we strive to create a memorable stay for our guests. Your kind comments have been passed on to the whole team especially to Vinay that made your stay an ‘amazing experience’.

Chef Suardi is extremely pleased to learn that you enjoyed the various dishes proposed. We make it our duty to please all our guests by creating new innovating dishes that will delight their taste buds.

Nishant, we look very much forward to seeing you again at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,440 reviews
29.0 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,630 reviews
15.7 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
23.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Property: Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing