We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weather is still brilliant in August!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here or a week as part if our honeymoon in August 2013- we were slightly concerned that the weather may not have been as warm as we would like as it is the Islands winter, however after much research and conflicting opinions we decided to book and take the chance. We should not have worried as the weather was beautiful. Sunbathed everyday! We went in the pool and the sea with no issue. We had a room with pool which looked amazing, first floor with amazing views if the sunsets, however the pool is not heated and as it's winter is absolutely freezing. We both got in but got quickly out! The rooms are wonderful and staff do their upmost to make everything special. The food at this resort is wonderful, the chef is from Bali and creates beautiful food. Our rep said don't pay for trips to see dolphins as they don't visit this part of the island, however that is rubbish! I wouldn't pay for a trip as the resort as it's own boat that staff take visitors out on. We saw dolphins every time. Fantastic to see them in the wild. Ps - you won't be disappointed with the sun sets- different every night!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joyandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Joy,

Warm Greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius!

First of all thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind comment regarding your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius last year. We are delighted that you still remember your fantastic experience nearly 1 year after your stay.

This blissful paradise of ours is situated on a secluded cove on the northwest coast of Mauritius and nestled in the scenic Baie aux Tortues. I am happy to learn that you were able to enjoy the various facilities we have available to our guests and that you were able to make the most of the pools, sea and sun during the month of August 2013.

Chef Suardi and his team are pleased that you enjoyed their culinary delights and they are looking very much forward to seeing you again very soon for more gastronomic adventures from around the world. Your kind words come and reward the hard work each associate puts in everyday and we would like to sincerely thank you.

Joy and Nick we would like to welcome you back at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius whilst enjoying the wonderful Mauritian sun set and sipping on your favourite cocktail. We look forward to this!

Best regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

From the warm welcome at an early hour to our departure the entire team of staff at Angsana Balaclava could not have been more lovely. The management, reception staff, waiting staff, bar staff, cleaning staff, maintenance staff, etc... were all courteous, efficient and attentive without being intrusive.

The room was wonderful! Very spacious, well equipped, homely and relaxing. And we had an entry level garden suite. We particularly liked the way the sliding doors opened fully onto a large sea/pool view balcony with very comfortable sofa style seating as well as the standard table and chairs.

The grounds are beautiful, well tended and calm. We only left the hotel on two occasions. Once to have a stroll up the beach where we found larger but far less impressive hotels. And secondly to take advantage of the free glass bottom boat. It cruises over the coral and gives a fine view of the many fish and other fascinating critters that live in those waters. There are many other activities available too. Kayaking. Snorkelling. Windsurfing. Sailing. Diving. Or maybe just a pedal on a pedalo.

The facilities are fantastic for a small hotel. 2 large pools. Comfortable poolside and beach lounging. Swim-up bar, cocktail bar and waiter service. Poolside, indoor, terrace and garden dining. And room service (if you really must??)

The food was delicious. From the wide variety served at breakfast (noodles or rice may sound unusual to many an Englishman but I thoroughly recommend them) to the delicious, beautifully prepared and presented evening meals. There was plenty to choose from each night from many continents and over 10 nights I do not recall anything on the menu ever being repeated.

We often say that we would return to a hotel we’ve stayed in but on this occasion we very probably will... We might try a pool or beachfront suite next time.

Highlights of a typical day. A breakfast of virtually anything you could want. Relaxing by the pools or on the beach. Swimming in the pools. A drink at the swim-up bar. Watching an amazing weaver bird make its nest. Paddling in the warm Indian ocean. Stunning sunsets. Enjoying time in the room or on the balcony. Creating your own cocktails. A delicious evening meal followed by a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TeamBabaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. It is with immense pleasure that we read of your heart-warming comments regarding the property and our associates.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your 72 square meter Garden Suite. Surrounded by tropical landscaping and lagoon pool views it definitely exudes a rustic charm and it is with great pleasure that I see you enjoyed it’s cosiness and great style.

Chef Suardi and his whole team are delighted to know that you enjoyed their various dishes perfectly and freshly prepared during your 10 day stay with us. The team works hard at making sure that all guests receive the full culinary experience they deserve. Your warm comments come and reward their hard work all throughout the year and for this, I would like to express our deepest gratitude.

Our team is trained to be authentic and provide a service attitude that is above expectations.
Your warm comments have been passed on to all our associates that made your stay special ‘relaxing and luxurious’.

I trust you had a safe trip back home and that we will soon have the pleasure to welcome you back at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Best regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

It's a special trip to Angsana in Balaclava,everyone and everything here is very nice.My only opinion is the gecko after sunset, but it is the nature signature, don't kill them, haha. Thank Angsana.I am very happy here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank 68,956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment during your stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Surrounded by tropical landscaping and lagoon pool views it definitely exudes a rustic charm and it is with great pleasure that I see you enjoyed the whole duration of your stay with us.

Rest assured that your warm comments have been passed on to our team and we all are looking forward to seeing you at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius again in the future.

Regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

So Apr-May in Mauritius to relax, see the scenery, unwind and recharge the batteries ... the Angsana is perfect for this ... Hotel is spot less, well organised, lovely rooms complete with infinity pool on the balcony, view of the sea, great spa .... we thoroughly enjoyed it all,,,,
Yes as other reviews have mentioned there isn't much entertainment (and yes there are some yellow bees around the pool ) but its a tropical island and these are minor issues and balanced by the mini pizza that they staff bring round when you are lazing by the pool

Beach is nice but not good for snorkelling due to its location close to the estuary.

The service is EXCELLENT ,.... in the restaurant ( Praved (we are not sure of his name as he nick-named himself "Il Principe di Milano 2"..) is the best and couldn't do enough for us even down to organise with the kitchen fresh pureed fruit and veg everyday for our 9 month old daughter ... also Pretty and Rima (hope names are correct!) were great and deserve a mention and the food is superb both breakfasts and dinner ... if yo have time book the lobster menu by the pool ... awesome !

The hotel is in a quiet location so if you want to get around you need taxis or a car (we rented a car and in 2 days we saw north and south of the island..all very nice)... but if the aim is to kick back and relax then this is a great place.

If you want to dive then call Louis at ScubaDoo ... well organised dive team in grand bay and you can even do the scuba doo which is an experience and something unique to mauritius

Room Tip: Room 220 very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_Haslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. It provides a vivid illustration of an idyllic island getaway and creates an ambiance of romance. We are very happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your short vacation in our property.

It is with great pleasure and it is very encouraging to know that our associates went the extra mile during your stay. Our team is dedicated and always ready to make each guest stay special. Your gracious comments have been passed to Preetum, Preety and Renu and all the team who take great pride in what they do. Moreover your comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

I sincerely hope that you had a safe trip back to Dubai and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wonderful family again at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Best Regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was visiting Mauritius last month and decided to go for a night with family in the hotel...THe experience was not so great....Place is not meant with kids..just for couple...Room was very nice but no entertainment at all for a Saturday night...Also on sunday morning,,,lots n lots of yellow bees were there all around the swimming pool area and the restaurant....So I wouldn't recommend as it is said to be a five star...:((

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aanchal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Situated on a secluded Cove on the northwest coast of Mauritius and nestled in the scenic Baie aux Tortues, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius is a vivid illustration of an idyllic island getaway.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on the attention to details and we would like to seize this opportunity to apologize for the disappointing standards you have experienced at our resort. Please note that this is not our usual standards.
Our resort specialises in romance but we do put in place a kids club when requested to entertain the younger crowd.

I am quite surprised that you felt like there was no entertainment on Saturday. Please note that every Saturday at Oryza restaurant we have a trio of well-known local artists that entertain our guests on a weekly basis and it has proven to be very successful with all our guests. In regards to the yellow bees please be informed that we have contracted since opening a well know pesticide company to tackle the issue when requiered.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will help us to monitor, and improve on our Angsana services and facilities.

Regards,

Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A lovely hotel with great service. We had our wedding at the beach and it turned out to be beautiful and very romantic. The staf is very nice and welcoming and the food was good. The beach is nice beach and the hotel is perfect for honeymoons and weddings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Charlotte,
First of all congratulations on your wonderful wedding! We were very pleased to have shared this memorable and special moment with you.
Also thank you, for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation and especially for young wedding couples such as yourself.

It is with great pleasure and it is very encouraging to know that our associates went the extra mile during your stay and that your wedding ceremony went just as you had planned. Our team is dedicated and always ready to make each guest stay special. Rest assured that your gracious comments have been passed on to all associates. Moreover your comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

I sincerely hope that you had a safe trip back to Norway and that we will have the immense pleasure of welcoming you back at the resort very soon.

Best regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel. We were very impressed with the room size, that was the garden rooms. I would recommend this hotel just based on its rooms. This hotel is for couples / romantic getaways. The pool and beach are very convenient, service is good. The evenings are quiet and relaxed. The dinners at the hotel are not too bad, but not great. They have some great dishes and they change the menu every night. The reason I don't give this hotel an excellent rating is because the dinners are pre-made, meaning that the food is warmed up and not freshly prepared. I would rather wait for a freshly made meal. With this pre-made meals I couldn't even finish 2 glasses of wine before we were done with the 3-course meal. If they can improve this aspect of their service it would be an excellent hotel. The hotel is situated "far" from other restaurants, but accessible with a taxi. The service was great and the chilly cocktails they make is amazing. This is not really a hotel for a family, no children activities like they have at other hotels in Mauritius. I would just like to thank all the staff there, we had a great break. The weather in May was awesome, one rainy day and the rest was sunny. FYI - Drinks are expensive at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Charles,

Warm greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius!

We would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at our resort.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. I am glad that you enjoyed your garden suite. Surrounded by tropical landscaping and lagoon pool views it definitely exudes a rustic charm and it is with great pleasure that I see you enjoyed it’s cosiness and great style.

Our team is trained to be authentic, friendly, gracious and provide a service attitude that is above expectations and it is very encouraging to know that you were able to experience the professional service from the Angsana Balaclava Mauritius team while enjoying your delicious cocktails during your stay.

Executive Chef Suardi is surprised by your comment as all dishes are freshly prepared for every of our guests. The chefs and the team work hard at creating innovating menus and dishes that will please each and every guest. Preparing pre-prepared dishes would not have been in line with the norms and standards that we currently have at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. We would like to apologize if you felt that your mixed prawn salad or miso risotto was pre-prepared. Please rest assured that it is not the case. Chef Suardi emphasizes and insists on providing fresh local produce to all our guests for them to experience our resort to the fullest.

Please rest assured that your warm comments have been passed on to everyone that has made your stay awesome. We sincerely hope that you had a safe trip back to South Africa and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Regards,

Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,536 reviews
29.0 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,958 reviews
4.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,550 reviews
22.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Family Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: £266 - £804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing