We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

What was supposed to be a "second honeymoon” wasn't as romantic or as peaceful as we'd hoped.

Angsana Balaclava advertises itself as "...designed ideally for couples and honeymooners" and this is what attracted us to it.

However, this is not necessarily true.

Whilst we were there, children were running amok in the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner times, as well as around the pool area during the day.

One evening when my husband and I were trying to enjoy a "romantic" dinner, I had to ask the maître d' to talk to a parent whose child was literally bashing cutlery on his/her plate. In the end I talked to the mother and she said there was nothing she could do and advised the child would just pick up another set if she took the other away. Hmmm.

A newlywed couple doesn’t necessarily want to hear the wails of a baby coming from another table, when they're relishing the first stages of their wedded bliss. That is yet to come ☺

On a positive note, Angsana is a beautiful hotel, with great food and attentive staff. They were always there to help (sometimes even to a point where they were “over” attentive) and were most obliging, even changing our second floor room to an upper floor room, for added privacy and quiet (upon request).

I had the luxury of experiencing the Vayu Shanthi 180 minute treatment. It was nothing less than awesome with the therapist knowing exactly what to do and making it a lovely experience. Do know that between 9am – 3pm you can receive a 30% discount, which was a great surprise, as it’s definitely not a cheap treatment.

Whilst one cannot deny the right of entry to people with children, Angsana must make up its mind whether it is going to cater for "couples and honeymooners" or families with children. If it wants to cater for both, no problem, but please let your potential clients know so they can make an informed choice.

All in all, it was a pleasurable experience, but to be frank, if we’d known we would have to listen to the ruckus of children for four days, we would probably have chosen somewhere else, especially when we were paying a significant amount of money for the pleasure of the “exclusivity”

Oh, and if you go wanting to use the beach, note that it is quite small and doesn't cover a great expanse. The pool area is pleasant with one heated pool, the other of normal temperature.

Room Tip: If you've booked a Deluxe Pool Suite and want a fair view of the sea and additional privacy go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clare5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balalcava Mauritius.

It is with great pleasure that I read of your warm comments regarding our ‘beautiful hotel, food and our associates’.

You have certainly pleased Chef Suardi and his team by complimenting his food . They make it their duty to please every guest by providing them with a culinary adventure all through their stay.

I am especially thrilled to know that your Spa treatment was ‘awesome’. Our Spa therapists are dedicated in making sure that our guests receive the relaxing experience they are looking for. It is with great pleasure that I hear that you had an excellent service. Rest assured that your warm comments will be passed on to Geeta and the team.

We have well taken note of your comments and as you so well mentioned we cannot deny access to guests that have children. The rare times we have had children at the resort they haven’t been troublesome to our guests however we would like to apologize for the discomfort during your stay.

We sincerely hope that you had a safe trip back home. There is a saying in French that goes ‘jamais deux sans trois’ which means ‘comes in threes’ so we look forward to seeing you for your 3rd honeymoon at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius in the future.

Best regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Had a very nice time at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius , the food was excellent, staff always ready to help with a smile, top quality service. Nice private pool as balcony, it was just wow.. I highly recommend Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M sandya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sandya,

Warm Greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at our resort.

It is with immense pleasure that I read of your nice comment regarding the property.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. We are glad that you were able to enjoy your nice private pool and all the facilities we offer.

It is very encouraging to know that some of our associates were already ready to help during your stay. Our team is dedicated and always ready to make each guest stay special.

Chef Suardi, Curtis, Laurent and the whole kitchen team are delighted that you enjoyed their various dishes and they look forward to seeing you again for another culinary adventure.

Sandya your gracious comments have been passed to the team who take great pride in what they do. Moreover your comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius very soon for another ‘Wonderful time’.

Best regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Booked 2 nights at Angsana to celebrate our first anniversary. Everything that could go wrong did go wrong. The pools are not heated, therefore useless to pay the premium to get a room with a pool. Used the bath one night and then there was no hot water...Apparently hot water is solar based and therefore had to wait for more that an hour for the solar heater to be refilled before we can get hot water (BTW I am still waiting for hot water while writing this review). I feel sorry for the people who has to work here. To the credit of the trainee duty manager (Kiran) he tried his best to make things better.....
We had to carry our luggage from the car park (which is very small) to the reception. The service at the reception was poor...no sense of customer service at all. We wanted to cancel our stay straight away. We were told that we would be charged one night stay ($400) and would have to speak to the Reservation Manager. We spoke to the Reservation Manager to explain that we wanted to cancel because we booked a room with a swimming pool so that my wife, who is pregnant, can enjoy the swimming pool. The fact that the water is freezing cold and the pool is not heated meaning that my wife could not even use the pool.

The reservation manager told us that the pool at the spa is heated which it is not. Therefore if you coming here and expect that the pool is heated, you will be truly dissapointed.

To his credit, the Reservation Manager kindly offered us an upgrade. We thought things would get better and was told that the room is being cleaned. We went out and came back after two hours....the room was still not ready. All we were told is that....they are doing their best. The duty trainee manager took things in his hand and sorted everything within 15 minutes. He showed us our room which was impressive. However as indicated some of the facilities does not always work.

The food is okay while not spectacular. The restaurant has a set menu and if you fancy ordering from the other menu, you have to give 24 hours advance notice.

The staff are very friendly, you can see that they are trying their best. The room was great, however we could not fully use some of the amenities. The stone bath was nice, however not worth it if you have to wait more that 1 hour for hot water again.

The hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere which is good if you are planning to stay at the hotel and not leave at all during the night. The roads leading to the hotel are not well lit, therefore for an inexperienced driver, getting to the hotel at night will be tricky. Recreational activities is restricted to some water sports and nothing much. Therefore if you planning to stay here for a long stay, be sure to have your own plan to get some entertainment.

There are so many better hotels in Mauritius....This has been the worst stay in a hotel and we have stayed in a lot of hotel. I am not sure how you get it so wrong for a hotel which is small in nature. Definitely not coming back here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Mr Kevin,

Thank you for choosing our resort and for taking the time to share your comments. I would like to seize this opportunity to again present my sincere apologies for the regretful mishaps during your stay.

I am delighted that you found that our suites were great. However please accept our apologies on the service you received during you stay. As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius places an emphasis on the attention to details and we are truly sorry that we were not up to your standards.

Also please be aware that at Oryza Restaurant we have a lobster and Asian Fusion menu and the reason why we ask our guests to let us know 24 hours prior is because it requires special preparation that cannot be done a la minute. Moreover, it requires fresh products. 24 hours of notice gives us the time to deliver the service according to a 5 * resort such as ours.

Mr Kevin we have well taken note of the hot water issue you encountered during your stay. As our duty manager Kiran explained we operate with solar heaters and if the bathtub has been used and completely filled in one go with hot water, the second filling will take approximately 30 minutes for the next load of water to be entirely reheated. I noticed that you waited 1 hour. Please note that this is not our normal standard and that this issue is currently being investigated internally.

It is our greatest goal to make sure that our guests have a most enjoyable stay with us and I am sorry that we did not achieve our goal on this occasion.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor, and improve even further our Angsana services and facilities.

Regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hospitality was d charm of Angsana Balaclava From d time we entered d Hotel we felt at home...Beaches were clean and lovely with d adventurous and thrilling watersports it was amazing experience..sunset was mindblowing pictersque...Ambience of dining Hall was great along wid music...Our room wid our private pool all still vivid in memory. Indian Food arranged on demand for us..Biryani was delicious..Our Special dinner was romantic.. Me and my wife spent our most best moments at Angsana...At d time of leaving she was very sentimental as if leaving a family behind....Thanks Angsana...Oliver..Renu..Pritampyare..Anushka...Keshav...We Miss u all..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
2  Thank Saurabh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Saurahb,

Warm Greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay with us.

Nestled in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius with its 52 suites, offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. We are thrilled that you were able to unwind to a sense of calm and serenity surrounded by our lush garden and rustic architecture.

It is with great pride that we read of your comment. Your kind words comes and reward the hard work of our associates in making sure our guests have the full Angsana experience they fully deserve.

Chef Suardi is thrilled to know that you enjoyed his dishes and especially the biryani.

Our whole team including Olivier, Renu, Preetum, Anushka and Keshav would like to sincerely thank you for visiting us and we definitely look forward to Welcome you back at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius in the future.

Regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Ideal location for beautiful wedding .....good food, good service.
great view of the ocean from the rooms.it was great to have the entire hotel to ourselves !!!!
will love to come back again ..............

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lawrencepereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Lawrence,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. It is an immense pleasure to read your heart warming comment about our property.

Situated in the scenic northwest cost of Mauritius, Angsana Balaclava Mauritius offers a melting pot of romance and relaxation. It provides a vivid illustration of an idyllic island getaway. I sincerely hope that you and your friends had a great relaxing time and that you were able to make full use of our water sports activities and all the various other facilities on offer for our guests.

Lawrence, I sincerely hope that you had a safe trip back home. We are most certainly waiting for your next visit at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius in the future.

Yours sincerely
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

So fortunate to have spent time here, we had a wonderful time and will never forget it.
Staff are helpful and really made the experience. Wonderful views from the room and the stone bath was so impressive!

Private swimming pool was amazing and we really enjoyed our time here - would definetely recommend.

Absolutely perfect - thank you again!

Philip and Marie Claire

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Philip and Marie Claire,

Warm Greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius!

We would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius. We are extremely pleased that you had an ‘excellent stay’.

As an exclusive intimate boutique resort, Angsana Balaclava places an emphasis on making sure that all our guests are receiving the professional service they deserve. I am delighted to learn that you fully enjoyed your Beach Front Pool Suite and especially the stone bath and private swimming pool. You can definitely indulge and immerse yourself in holiday bliss with your loved one in all privacy.

Our team is trained to be authentic, friendly, gracious and to provide a service attitude that is above expectations. We are glad and proud to know that the service provided by our associates was Top Notch. Rest assured that the message has been passed on to everyone that made your stay so special.

I trust you had a safe trip back home and that we will have the great pleasure of welcoming you back at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Once we arrived at the hotel, we were warmly welcomed by the hotel staff and were offered drinks to quench our thirst from our long trip. Everything just kept getting better from there. The room that was presented to us was absolutely stunning! It was luxurious, spacious, and clean. As we walked into the balcony, it overlooked the resort and beach which extended out into the ocean. The view was breathtaking! We were also able to enjoy this view in a pool that was built into the balcony from the 2nd floor. Not only the view was great, the food made by the chef was delicious as well. Top notch! Wherever we were at the hotel, the staff and GM always greeted us and were always so helpful. What an enjoyable and memorable experience with lots to do and see! Without a doubt, Angsana is the best place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angsana Balacla... M, General Manager at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm Greetings from Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor comment following your recent stay at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius.

It is with much pride that I read of your comment regarding the property and our associates.

Situated on the scenic northwest coast of Mauritius and nestled in Baie aux Tortues, Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier 5 star luxury resort with conference facilities. Located only 15 minutes from Port Louis and Grand Baie, it is ideal for your conference and business needs.

Our Deluxe Pool Suites are surrounded by tropical landscaping and lagoon pool views it definitely exudes a rustic charm. I am happy to read that you enjoyed all our services at the resort.

Chef Suardi and his team are delighted to know that you enjoyed their dishes. They all very much look forward to seeing you again for another culinary adventure.

I trust you had a safe trip back home and it is with immense pleasure that we all are looking forward to welcoming you back at Angsana Balaclava Mauritius in the near future.

Best regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,565 reviews
4.2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
29 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
17.8 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,632 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Balaclava Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#1 Family Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: £248 - £729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Balaclava Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Mauritius, in the secluded area of Turtle Bay, Angsana Balaclava offers a hideaway ideal for travellers looking for privacy and relaxation. Angsana Balaclava is the island’s premier boutique resort – the latest 5-star resort on the Mauritian landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Angsana Balaclava Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Balaclava Hotel Balaclava
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing