We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My husband & I had a wonderfully relaxing holiday, just the sound of the waves & bird song.
Staff were incredibly friendly & helpful.
Apparently the only thing that could be considered a fault was that the tea was not great, but we would go back to Mauritius tomorrow & would be happy to stay here again

Room Tip: we were on the ground floor & were more than happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,435
    696
    216
    88
    49
See reviews for
712
2,183
61
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We had a great stay and were well looked after. We advised the management at the start of our stay that we are vegetarians and we were well catered. After having checked the daily menu, if we did not like the choice, one of the many chefs would prepare extra meals for us which were really tasty and plentiful, from Indian to fab pastas, no complaints, the chefs were very helpful and great.
Deven in the main restaurant made sure we were OK, Owemee in the Bar and Deepak at horse riding, overall all the staff were friendly. There is a great selection of cocktails and the live singers and entertainers were really good

Room Tip: first floor rooms were nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiran721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We are leaving today after 12 nights here on honeymoon. Unfortunately received no upgrade on arrival as seems to be the norm for others so that was disappointing and also had to change privilege rooms from a very musty and dated 104.
An excellent maintenance team, the grounds are very well looked after and the service is good, plenty of staff and wait for drinks not at all bad.
Food gets a little tiring on AI but it is fine. Chateaux Mon Desire gets a mention but only for its ridiculous drinks pricing! We saw the wine list with Spanish table wine favourite Vina Sol Sem Chard for over £40 a bottle, retailing in UK for £4...Also worthy of mention is a Jacobs Creek at around £45..!! Mental. But we bought one anyway, a basic Sauvignon at almost £50. Ah well, on holiday.
All in all, an expensive holiday but we found little to complain about. Very comfortable rooms, good service, brilliant upkeep and we had decent weather to boot.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for eight days. the reception is very lovely and welcoming. we were offered drinks and a wet towel on arrival. when we were taken to our room we could not believe how big and great the rooms were. I have never stayed in a hotel this lovely before it was ultimate luxury. massive bed, free standing bath with sliding doors around, separate toilet and shower room, double sinks. The fridge was stocked up well with beer, wine, soft drinks, juices etc most of which are in the all inclusive package. Rooms are very well spaced and very clean.
Dressing gowns and slippers were provided in the room as well as toiletries.

The dinning room was lovely with different themes every day for food so there was no chance of getting bored of the same food. food is well cooked, and a great selection.

Outside the gardens are beautiful, great if you want a walk, there are ruins and a waterful on sight which take some finding but lovely once found. Also be sure to go and meet the giant tortoises they are great.

Swimming pool is very clean and inviting. pool bar is clean and great escape from the sun if you need it. There is plenty to do on the beach with all types of watersports available, a number free and a few which you pay for.
At night there was always something on and entertaining. Great singers used and were very enjoyable.
We used the spa for the free sauna and steam room great to relax after a long day in the sun.
If you want a great hotel to relax and get great service the maritim is for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules24_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I enjoyed my stay very much. The location next to the pristine beach and the activities would just keep you here. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The spa is just one of the best that I have seen. It is such a fun place and a dream vacation for any one. I would sure hope to be back here again some day.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falsaqri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Lovely hotel, wonderful attentive and friendly staff who speak really good English. We stayed for 13nights on an All Inclusive Basis.
Room- our room was large, clean, with a huge bed and a great bath and separate walk in shower, large tv with a few english speaking channels. Good size toiletries and the towels and mini bar are re-stocked every day, the room was as per the brochure so no disappointments, the only criticism was some noise/music which was coming from the hotel next door which went on until 11pm every night.
Pool area- we were pleasantly surprised that the pool is much larger than it appeared in the brochure and getting a lounger was never a problem although not all loungers have full exposure to the sun, some are in the shade all day. We wandered down at 9.30/10am most days and there were still loads of loungers free, but we were there off peak season. The beach service team will serve you drinks at your lounger but if you're on the periphery be prepared to be overlooked and be prepared as the pool is very cold, but wonderful once you're in there.
Meals- Breakfast, lunch and dinner were very good, they tried really hard to vary the dishes to keep it interesting with themed nights in the main buffet restaurant, there's also the option to eat a la carte in the beach front restaurant (included for AI guests) and a fine dining restaurant (costs extra). A fairly good selection for Vegetarians, always a made to order pasta option for those that may not like the themed cuisine nights, and table service drinks. The only criticism are the birds which are brave enough to fly in to the open plan dining area and peck at the cakes and rolls which i feel should be covered, but aren't. Long trousers (jeans seemed to be fine) for men have to be worn at dinner.
Activities- plenty of free and some pay extra water sports activities plus tennis courts, croquet, football, horse riding, bike riding, boat trips etc and a Spa. All activities discreetly advertised and no-one comes round to try and rope you in to doing them which we found refreshing.
Weather- we had mixed weather, when it rained it rained continuously and we had a fair amount of cloud, out of 14 days we probably had around 9 days of full sunshine and a couple that were cloudy, the remainder were rainy days, on those days we kept ourselves busy with a trip to Port Louis for some shopping and a walk up to the Balaclava ruins which are in the grounds.
Evenings were spent at the Quarter Deck Bar playing chess, backgammon and card games whilst drinking cocktails, very nice indeed.
Weddings- we saw lots! but this never interfered with our stay and it's a really lovely location for people getting married.
Guests- it was mainly couples and honeymooners during our stay, mainly English, French and South Africans, there were hardly any children so it was really peaceful, as soon as half term hit towards the end of our stay there were a few more families.
All in all a great hotel, you won't be wowed by the beach but the grounds and seafront/lagoon area are really pretty so if relaxation, warm hospitality, and a good pool is what you're after then this is a great hotel. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if members of your party are elderly or with mobility problems as the only way to enter the restaurant is via steps.
Tips/Service- they don't encourage tips to individual members of staff, at the end of your stay there is a discreet tip box in which to tip for your entire stay, these get divided amongst all members of staff so be sure not to forget to put something in as the service is really good.

Room Tip: We had room 157 on the ground floor and were perfectly happy with it. Only tip would be if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank GemR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

After looking at many many hotels in Mauritius we chose the Maritim as the venue for our wedding on the 31st May and I really dont think we could have made a better choice. On one of the trips out we got a chance to look at a number of the local hotels, including Le Victoria (which my brother and sister in law were staying at) and The Maritim beat them all hands down in terms of the facilities and the beauty of the hotel itself. None of the brochure pictures I have seen really do the hotel justice.

The only grumble I have at this hotel is the food available to vegetarians.......there basically isn't any! I remember one day asking what the vegetarian options for dinner were and being pointed towards chips and some boiled cauliflower! Certainly not 5 star quality food! The meat and fish eaters get oysters and a wide selection of expensive meat and fish dishes.....and we vegetarians get chips! We went as a group of 15 people with the majority of us being vegetarian, with the added complexity of my in-laws refusing to eat anything apart from Indian vegetarian food. Fortunately we spoke to one of the chefs (Ramjug) and he was more than happy to accomodate our requirements and produced a selection of indian dishes for my in laws every night and European vegetarian dishes for myself and my husband. However, this did mean we had to decide what we wanted in advance and ask the chef to make it. This was a shame as meat and fish eaters had over 20 dishes to choose from every night and we weren't given the same variety yet had to pay the same amount. From what I have heard though, all the hotels are equally poor at catering for vegetarians.

The reason we picked the Maritim is that my husband in Hindu and wanted a Hindu ceremony as well as a wedding. The Maritim was able to organise both for us easily. PLEASE NOTE: We booked our wedding package through Virgin and I cannot recommend more strongly AGAINST anyone using Virgin as they were utterly useless. I ended up liaising directly with the hotel to arrange everything as every single thing we asked of Virgin was too much trouble, even down to the most basic details of booking a vegetarian meal on the plane they failed at completely and couldn't possibly have been any LESS helpful. When I called Virgin to ask if they were able to arrange a Hindu wedding I was told this was something their wedding department could do after we booked with them........but their wedding department does NOT organise weddings.....they merely send you a letter telling you to contact the hotel if you want to arrange anything. They didn't lift a finger towards organising the wedding! Go with Destinology instead if you don't want to stress of having to plan every tiny detail yourself!

Anyway, back to the hotel! the rooms in this hotel have been recently renovated and are of a very high standard. We originally booked a Priviledge room but were upgraded on arrival to a Prestige Room......but when we had a problem with the air conditioning leaking we got moved to a suite which was really lovely, very spacious and overlooking the beautiful beach.

We had our wedding at 12 in the Chateau Mon Desir overlooking the ruins and the waterfall which was really lovely and the Hindu ceremony at sunset in the beach gazebo. The hotel arranged everything we needed from the white horse and sword for the Hindu ceremony to the bouquets and buttonholes for the wedding. the Wedding Co-ordinator Madhvi was excellent and really bent over backwards to meet our needs.

At all times we found the staff to be very attentive and helpful and they always bent over backwards to make sure everyone had a fantastic time. All 17 of us absolutely loved it here, are missing it already, and would love to come back again one day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Good_Taste_Veggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.3 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,321 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,443 reviews
28.9 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
10.3 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Property: Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing