We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best time of our lives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

After a long trip with our wedding just the previous day, I must say we couldnt have chosen a better hotel as the Maritim. Our honeymoon started with an ice cold cloth and an ice cold drink at the reception upon arrival. We were carefully explained all the aspects of the hotel and what there was on offer. We were upgraded to the Privilege room. Room 472. Far from all the huzzle and buzzle. Nice big bathroom, good linen, tv, fridge and with the all inclusive package I must say this is a must. All the staff is very very very helpful and friendly. We especially want to thank the following staff at the Maritim. Eddy the head Chef...what a surprise on preparing for us an excellent curry without any effort. That was the best curry we had in a long time. Thank you Eddy. Then Chinapiel from house keeping always made me smile and went the extra mile to get us relaxed in a clean hotel room after our late dinners. Ansouya and Visal and the rest of the waiters that getting to know you after the first day at the hotel. They know excactly what you like to drink and where we like to sit. A huge thanks to Moira and Anette and the rest of management who made the effort to introduce themselves personally to us.This was the best honeymoon and I will most definitely visit the Maritim in the near future. Thank you Maritim for the best honeymoon at the best hotel. Andre and Marinda

Room Tip: The Rooms from 460 is on the outer side of the Hotel and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marinda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,643 - 1,649 of 3,675 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a first rate place! I would describe it as a very top of the range 4-4 1/2 star.
We had 12 nights at the Maritim in Turtle Bay. We chose a prestige room and all inclusive and spoiled ourselves with a 6 night dine around. This meant that we had a super variation at dinner time - and avoided any possibility of getting bored with food (though I applaud the variations and themes each day in the main restaurant) and could also have a bit of choice at breakfast time.
Belle Maree and the Chateau Mon Desire - wonderful. Belle Maree on the beach - magic!The Chateau is correctly called a gourmet restaurant - the ambience, service, food - everything was so, so nice and one was made to feel very special whilst eating delicious food!
The extensive grounds, availability of different activities - horse riding, water skiing, snorkelling, walking up to feed the giant tortoises! A great all round holiday.
The staff are very, very special - you really do feel that they want you to have a good time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulineNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

From the moment you arrive at the hotels main gate you realise that this place is so much more than a hotel, it is as they call it "an estate" that happens to have a hotel in its magnificent and well manicured grounds.
The drive to the hotel entrance is impressive and the reception area has a great panoramic view over the bay, the reception staff were efficient and polite, although our room wasn't readily available when we arrived (07.00) we were given the used of the arrival lounge until our room was available, where we could store our luggage and change into something more appropriate for the environment.
The layout and design of the hotel, its grounds are very nice, clean and spacious but what makes the Maritim special are the staff, their demure, their presentation, they are friendly, helpful and are only to willing to go the extra mile.
Our Prestige room was very clean and well proportioned with all the facilities you could wish for, we hade a balcony the overlooked the gardens and the beach, room service was excellent.
Breakfast is taken in the Belle Vue restaurant which is self service, however there is a choice of restaurants for lunch service service (Belle Vue) or serviced restaurant (La Maree) which is located on the beach. Dinner can be taken in any of the five restaurants, some of which have to be pre booked at extra charge, the service, food quality & selection in all is very good.
The beach ranges from fine/course sand to crushed coral, swimming of the beach is safe and the water does not shelve, however there are boulders and a few rocks, that are not always obvious when the water is murky, would suggest that water shoes (Jellies) are worn when swimming.
There are two swimming pools that are inter-connect, they are very clean and well maintained, the maximum depth of both is 1.35 meters.
Cold drinks and snacks are available on the beach and by the pools, the waiting staff are very efficient.
If you are into water sports there is a large variety available (scuba diving, kayaks, pedal boats, sailing, windsurfing, skiing etc.) on dry land there is a golf course, mini golf, archery, gym, spa etc. etc. some of these activities are at additional cost.
If you want something a little bit special there is the equestrian centre where horse riding is available for all grades of riders, for those a little more experienced you can ride along the beach and even ride your horse in the sea; in the same location as the stables there is a children's farm this where the giant tortoises are kept.
All in all this hotel/estate has everything an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We are seasoned travellers whose hobby is holidays, but this hotel is the best we've ever been to. I's the only hotel we know where they have a guest relations team who roam the grounds asking people if everything is OK. If you have even the slightest issue or query, they will sort it out. We were there for a celebration, as were many guests - weddings, anniversaries, birthdays - and it was special. I am not a sun worshipper but there was plenty for me to do - golf, minigolf, gym, waterskiing, glass bottomed boat, snorkelling, visiting the small menagerie and the historical ruins to name a few. All these were part of the all-inclusive package. We were there for 15 days and spent 12 days in the resort to days car hire, a morning's cycle ride from the hotel to the botanic gardens (excellent) and a taxi shuttle to Port Louis. I was never bored. We thought the remoteness of the hotel (no bus route nearby) might be a problem, but our use of car hire and taxis worked well.

Another poster has moaned about AI not meaning AI. I disagree. At the Maritim, AI included most drinks (including Scotch and imported sparkling wine), most sports and spa activities, and a choice of restaurants for lunch and dinner. Surely if you want champagne, malt whisky, private barbecues, special spa treatments and parasailing, you should pay more. If not, the cost for everyone would rocket.

A word of advice about how to get the best dining experience on AI. For lunch, you have the choice of the Belle Vue buffet or table d'hote at La Maree beach restaurant. If you want a quality meal with waiter service, you can't beat La Maree. No need to book, but don't leave it too late. For dinner, you have the same choice, but you have to book - and it's very popular - so book your tables as soon as you arrive. For a special occasion, we recommend the Gourmet Pass. This is not easy to understand and is not well explained by the reception staff. Essentially, you can buy a 3-meal pass which works out at about a £15 supplement. This enables you to visit the speciality restaurants including the a la carte at La Maree. However, I would recommend trying somewhere else for a change. Le Chateau Mon Desir is a fabulous restaurant and a great experience - steak to die for, perfect service. It's a fair walk from the hotel, but you can take the golf buggy shuttle service. There are a few rules about which dishes and drinks you can have with certain deals, but the waiters will explain.

One word of warning. When we went in late September, early October, there were a lot of flies. It may not be a problem for you, but we'd suggest going a little later to avoid them.

Mauritius is a beautiful island populated by friendly, welcoming people. The Maritim is a fantastic hotel. Need I say more?

Room Tip: Go for either ground floor (if you want easy exit to the grounds whilst losing a little privacy) or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank foodrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have just returned from a two week holiday at the Maritim, although the main reason for travelling there was a wedding, which was held at Chateau Lourbonnais (originally the Govenor's House). The resort was recommended by Johnathan Gotts of Trailfinders London, and was an excellent recommendation. there are many reviews on this site, which relate to the excellent service and the excellent staff, and all of that is true. For me the size of the site was all important, it would take me almost an hour to walk the circumference of the resort before breakfast. This meant it never felt crowded, there is plenty of space and a golf course too. There seemed to be a wedding at least once a day, and the setting is beautiful.
We took the more expensive rooms, and went fully inclusive, more expensive, yes, but for me I don't like signing bits of paper. The restaurants are excellent, but we did spend a great deal of time eating in the beach restaurant. The manager there was Laxman Randeer, and he looked after our party extremely well, the special evening meals you can have here, need to be booked, and cost an addition amount even if you are fully inclusive, but they made the holiday for us. September was an excellent time to visit, not too hot in the day, and cooler in the evening and at night. A very enjoyable holiday in all respects, and the Maree, the beach restaurant, was excellent, the meals were first class, and deserve recognition. As far as value is concerned, as they say, life is too short to drink poor wine, the same applies to holidays, enjoy them while you can. I really did enjoy this one.

Room Tip: We went for the more expensive rooms, and all inclusive, this worked out fine, I think that all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guernseylink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

went early April 13, friendly, totally efficient staff, very clean, nice spa, for such volumes of people being catered for the food was always of a good variety and high standard, we booked half board, but upgraded to all inclusive on Day 1 which was very good value.

Nice waiting room, for showers etc in case you arrive ahead of strict check in time. High number of decent watersports included in price including instruction for new to water skiing, parasailing etc.

The onsite small animal farm with horses, giant tortoises etc very good for children and avoids leaving the site if dont want to.

Really good 2 bar areas with entertainment, if required.

Excellent, well organized resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dina256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at the Maritim celebrating my wife's birthday. Like most people I always look at reviews before booking our holiday, take it from me this is just about as good as it can get. There are hundreds of staff, they are all so pleasant, polite and helpful. They cannot do enough for you. We chose the Maritim because the food reviews were better than some of the others, they were right, the food is excellent. You do need to book the none AI restaurants quite a bit in advance but that's because they are so good. You must go to the Lobster menu night at the La Maree.
With regards to the beach the sun loungers are very comfortable the views across and along the bay beautiful and the sea lovely and calm (warmish! but refreshing). We had Dave to look after us on the beach and he was an absolute star (Thanks Dave). Remember this is All Inclusive yet everything is brought to you on the beach and in the bars, no queuing at the bar.
I could go on and on about our experience, however, just go there and have the most wonderful holiday, you will never regret it

Room Tip: We were lucky to be upgraded to a Prestige room (number 435). Didn't here one complaint about an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,585 reviews
0.8 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,989 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
4.4 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: £253 - £508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius is ideally situated on the sunniest and sheltered northwest of the island along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay. It covers an estate of 25 hectares and offers an exclusive array of experiences. The hotel, framed by a tropical garden, features 215 luxurious ocean facing rooms, suites and a Villa, free WiFi, 3 bars, 1 international buffet restaurant and 5 ‘à la carte’ restaurants, including one ‘feet in the sand’, an Asian fusion, a BBQ beach beer, Lakaz Kreol for an authentic Mauritian feel and the fine dining restaurant Château Mon Désir an exceptional colonial style mansion house overlooking historical vestiges of the 18th century. Well-being is taken care of by its multi-awarded Maritim Tropical Flower Spa offering exclusive treatments and stunning wellness facilities on 3,500 sqm. An infinite range of land and water sports are available free of charge including a 9-hole and an equestrian centre. Special care is taken of the little ones wit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing