We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Nearby Hotels
US$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$353
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
bedfinder
View Deal
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$678
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$600
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Ile Maurice(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunset Reef Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,751)
Filter reviews
3,751 results
Traveller rating
2,608
763
230
92
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,608
763
230
92
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprestige roomla mareehorse ridingquarter deck barbelle vuechateau mon desirvip beachquarterdeck barmini golfgiant tortoisesgourmet passdeparture loungebeach restaurantall inclusive packagemon desirebeach servicele banyan
Filter
Updating list...
1,691 - 1,696 of 3,751 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

After a long trip with our wedding just the previous day, I must say we couldnt have chosen a better hotel as the Maritim. Our honeymoon started with an ice cold cloth and an ice cold drink at the reception upon arrival. We were carefully explained all the aspects of the hotel and what there was on offer. We were upgraded to the Privilege room. Room 472. Far from all the huzzle and buzzle. Nice big bathroom, good linen, tv, fridge and with the all inclusive package I must say this is a must. All the staff is very very very helpful and friendly. We especially want to thank the following staff at the Maritim. Eddy the head Chef...what a surprise on preparing for us an excellent curry without any effort. That was the best curry we had in a long time. Thank you Eddy. Then Chinapiel from house keeping always made me smile and went the extra mile to get us relaxed in a clean hotel room after our late dinners. Ansouya and Visal and the rest of the waiters that getting to know you after the first day at the hotel. They know excactly what you like to drink and where we like to sit. A huge thanks to Moira and Anette and the rest of management who made the effort to introduce themselves personally to us.This was the best honeymoon and I will most definitely visit the Maritim in the near future. Thank you Maritim for the best honeymoon at the best hotel. Andre and Marinda

Room Tip: The Rooms from 460 is on the outer side of the Hotel and very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marinda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a first rate place! I would describe it as a very top of the range 4-4 1/2 star.
We had 12 nights at the Maritim in Turtle Bay. We chose a prestige room and all inclusive and spoiled ourselves with a 6 night dine around. This meant that we had a super variation at dinner time - and avoided any possibility of getting bored with food (though I applaud the variations and themes each day in the main restaurant) and could also have a bit of choice at breakfast time.
Belle Maree and the Chateau Mon Desire - wonderful. Belle Maree on the beach - magic!The Chateau is correctly called a gourmet restaurant - the ambience, service, food - everything was so, so nice and one was made to feel very special whilst eating delicious food!
The extensive grounds, availability of different activities - horse riding, water skiing, snorkelling, walking up to feed the giant tortoises! A great all round holiday.
The staff are very, very special - you really do feel that they want you to have a good time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulineNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

From the moment you arrive at the hotels main gate you realise that this place is so much more than a hotel, it is as they call it "an estate" that happens to have a hotel in its magnificent and well manicured grounds.
The drive to the hotel entrance is impressive and the reception area has a great panoramic view over the bay, the reception staff were efficient and polite, although our room wasn't readily available when we arrived (07.00) we were given the used of the arrival lounge until our room was available, where we could store our luggage and change into something more appropriate for the environment.
The layout and design of the hotel, its grounds are very nice, clean and spacious but what makes the Maritim special are the staff, their demure, their presentation, they are friendly, helpful and are only to willing to go the extra mile.
Our Prestige room was very clean and well proportioned with all the facilities you could wish for, we hade a balcony the overlooked the gardens and the beach, room service was excellent.
Breakfast is taken in the Belle Vue restaurant which is self service, however there is a choice of restaurants for lunch service service (Belle Vue) or serviced restaurant (La Maree) which is located on the beach. Dinner can be taken in any of the five restaurants, some of which have to be pre booked at extra charge, the service, food quality & selection in all is very good.
The beach ranges from fine/course sand to crushed coral, swimming of the beach is safe and the water does not shelve, however there are boulders and a few rocks, that are not always obvious when the water is murky, would suggest that water shoes (Jellies) are worn when swimming.
There are two swimming pools that are inter-connect, they are very clean and well maintained, the maximum depth of both is 1.35 meters.
Cold drinks and snacks are available on the beach and by the pools, the waiting staff are very efficient.
If you are into water sports there is a large variety available (scuba diving, kayaks, pedal boats, sailing, windsurfing, skiing etc.) on dry land there is a golf course, mini golf, archery, gym, spa etc. etc. some of these activities are at additional cost.
If you want something a little bit special there is the equestrian centre where horse riding is available for all grades of riders, for those a little more experienced you can ride along the beach and even ride your horse in the sea; in the same location as the stables there is a children's farm this where the giant tortoises are kept.
All in all this hotel/estate has everything an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We are seasoned travellers whose hobby is holidays, but this hotel is the best we've ever been to. I's the only hotel we know where they have a guest relations team who roam the grounds asking people if everything is OK. If you have even the slightest issue or query, they will sort it out. We were there for a celebration, as were many guests - weddings, anniversaries, birthdays - and it was special. I am not a sun worshipper but there was plenty for me to do - golf, minigolf, gym, waterskiing, glass bottomed boat, snorkelling, visiting the small menagerie and the historical ruins to name a few. All these were part of the all-inclusive package. We were there for 15 days and spent 12 days in the resort to days car hire, a morning's cycle ride from the hotel to the botanic gardens (excellent) and a taxi shuttle to Port Louis. I was never bored. We thought the remoteness of the hotel (no bus route nearby) might be a problem, but our use of car hire and taxis worked well.

Another poster has moaned about AI not meaning AI. I disagree. At the Maritim, AI included most drinks (including Scotch and imported sparkling wine), most sports and spa activities, and a choice of restaurants for lunch and dinner. Surely if you want champagne, malt whisky, private barbecues, special spa treatments and parasailing, you should pay more. If not, the cost for everyone would rocket.

A word of advice about how to get the best dining experience on AI. For lunch, you have the choice of the Belle Vue buffet or table d'hote at La Maree beach restaurant. If you want a quality meal with waiter service, you can't beat La Maree. No need to book, but don't leave it too late. For dinner, you have the same choice, but you have to book - and it's very popular - so book your tables as soon as you arrive. For a special occasion, we recommend the Gourmet Pass. This is not easy to understand and is not well explained by the reception staff. Essentially, you can buy a 3-meal pass which works out at about a £15 supplement. This enables you to visit the speciality restaurants including the a la carte at La Maree. However, I would recommend trying somewhere else for a change. Le Chateau Mon Desir is a fabulous restaurant and a great experience - steak to die for, perfect service. It's a fair walk from the hotel, but you can take the golf buggy shuttle service. There are a few rules about which dishes and drinks you can have with certain deals, but the waiters will explain.

One word of warning. When we went in late September, early October, there were a lot of flies. It may not be a problem for you, but we'd suggest going a little later to avoid them.

Mauritius is a beautiful island populated by friendly, welcoming people. The Maritim is a fantastic hotel. Need I say more?

Room Tip: Go for either ground floor (if you want easy exit to the grounds whilst losing a little privacy) or top floor (to minimise noise from rooms above).
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank foodrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have just returned from a two week holiday at the Maritim, although the main reason for travelling there was a wedding, which was held at Chateau Lourbonnais (originally the Govenor's House). The resort was recommended by Johnathan Gotts of Trailfinders London, and was an excellent recommendation. there are many reviews on this site, which relate to the excellent service and the excellent staff, and all of that is true. For me the size of the site was all important, it would take me almost an hour to walk the circumference of the resort before breakfast. This meant it never felt crowded, there is plenty of space and a golf course too. There seemed to be a wedding at least once a day, and the setting is beautiful.
We took the more expensive rooms, and went fully inclusive, more expensive, yes, but for me I don't like signing bits of paper. The restaurants are excellent, but we did spend a great deal of time eating in the beach restaurant. The manager there was Laxman Randeer, and he looked after our party extremely well, the special evening meals you can have here, need to be booked, and cost an addition amount even if you are fully inclusive, but they made the holiday for us. September was an excellent time to visit, not too hot in the day, and cooler in the evening and at night. A very enjoyable holiday in all respects, and the Maree, the beach restaurant, was excellent, the meals were first class, and deserve recognition. As far as value is concerned, as they say, life is too short to drink poor wine, the same applies to holidays, enjoy them while you can. I really did enjoy this one.

Room Tip: We went for the more expensive rooms, and all inclusive, this worked out fine, I think that all the rooms are good, but we wanted to be near the beach restaurant, and we were very happy with our choice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guernseylink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews