We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab! Fab! Fab!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Daughter married boy from Mauritius in Scotland in June and then19 people went out to have another reception with our new Mauritian family! We all stayed 2 weeks at Maritim and had a ball! Setting wonderful, stunning views,friendly staff.Genuinely felt staff wanted all guests to fall in love with Mauritius and have a great time.
Rooms very clean, beds comfy and all had sea view. Some stayed in prestige room but others had normal rooms which were also fine and all had lovely views. Staff friendly, helpful, nothing was a bother. Can't praise them highly enough! They were fab and we were asked daily as parents of bride if everything was ok or needed anything. We were all inclusive (for 1st time and had been bit apprehensive) and certainly got our moneys worth especially in bar but also with excellent food and water sports. Great choice at buffet restaurant and even ordered in strawberries daily for our 2year old grandson! All knew his name and he loved stable and animal farm! Suggest you ask about food passport which allows you to try the fancier restaurants at reasonable price- all worth a visit.
Great hotel! Safe,clean, friendly, helpful. Excellent! Can't wait to return to Maritim!
Saving for return visit (with grandchildren, please God) to show them the beautiful island that their lovely handsome dad came from!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,611 - 1,617 of 3,647 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have just returned from celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary at the Maritim , we were treated like royalty from the time we arrived .
We travelled with Air Mauritius and had private transfers to the hotel , which was great .
We stayed in a Priveledge room which was lovely had views of the beach , we had a fruit platter and bottle of sparkling wine delivered to the room ,, lovely ... Also had a pretty towel display and his and hers beach shoes
On the date of our anniversary we had a card and another bottle of sparkling wine , when we got back to our room in the night we had a beautiful towel display on our bed .
We had a voucher for 50% off the Spa which we both had a lemon grass full body massage , heaven ....also a voucher for the Chateau which we used and was absolutely worth the visit , what a stunning location .
We spent all our time down on the beach by La Maree the beach boys were so good with the drinks and food .
Met some great people had a few late nights which was amazing , the bar staff are great the drinks are plentiful and the shots curtesy of Bob are lush , taste like after eights but look like a mini Guinness .xx

We were treated to a Magic moment on the beach , Red carpet and a love heart around the table ....stunning , we were made to feel so special it was faultless .
We walked with Lions , which was amazing , would recommend it to anyone , we also went on a catamaran which was nice and relaxing .
Overall we loved it , made our holiday very relaxed and enjoyable , thank you xx

Room Tip: Guys you have to wear long trousers and enclosed shoes every night ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Beautifulo810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were at this hotel for two weeks to celebrate my sister and brother-in-law's 40th Wedding Anniversary and my husband's birthday. The hotel was exceptionally clean, the food was of exceptional standard (and being rather fussy they cooked plain foods for me on request) and the friendliness amazing. This is the first all inclusive hotel that had the watersports included, my husband really took to watersking. The staff especially Yazin and swaji (excuse spelling) on the beach were wonderful and nothing was tooo much trouble, always happy and attentive in their job. The spa is wonderful and really relaxing especially as it's free. The catamaran trip is a must and the beach is wonderful and although there are people selling things they do not hassle you at all. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we are sure you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: We were in rooms 352 and 353 which were just off the main reception, 1st floor and an amazing view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PedrickFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at the Maritim for 2 weeks with our 9 year old, the hotel was stunning, the staff became more like friends, the food was beautiful, the water sports were fantastic and managed to get my little man and husband water skiing, para sailing, scuba diving, horse riding and lots more, we felt totally safe. We have had a similar experience before in Barbados but the hotel was only 30% full when we asked this time it was 75% full clearly the 100%+ commitment is normal! Thank you to everyone who made our stay special, with fantastic memories.

Room Tip: The suites are slightly more expensive, however in couples and certainly with family they are withou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 9Debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have just returned from a great holiday with the Maritim. It was a special holiday for a few reasons (Birthday, Anniversary, Retirement) so it had to be special. The MARITIM did not disappoint. The staff were so friendly, attentive, considerate and professional - this includes all the staff, whether they were concierges, porters, cleaners, maintenance, beach boys or bar staff. The food was amazing - buffets were made up of a good mix of salads, grills, Indian Ocean and African specialities as well as regular food to cater from its International visitors. Never a bad meal had (unlike some All-Inclusive buffets). There are also options to eat at other restaurants, some for an additional fee, but they are worth it.

The beaches, water sports and other activities were wide ranging and superb. Many activities were included in the package - this included Dinghy/Hobie Cat Sailing, Kayaks, Water skiing, snorkel trips and glass bottomed boat trips. Other payable activities included parasailing, scuba diving, tubes - but all reasonable prices and have seen them much dearer in the Med.

We stayed in a Prestige room and were amazed at the luxury. Marble and tiles everywhere, beautiful bathroom, walk in wardrobe, balcony, sea view from the bed!!

I have rated this excellent - but there were a few local things attributed to the tropics that may put some people off - this includes many flies along the beach adjacent to the Le Maree restaurant. The hotel were constantly fighting them off, but it was believed to be a temporary problem caused by the nearby Sugar Cane crops being burned.

SUMMARY - Amazing tropical holiday, with fantastic staff, great facilities, wonderful food. Well done MARITIM.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, most with a sea view. Ground floor rooms allowed access to wondeful gardens, oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roy-Poulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in the Maritim for 11 nights at the end of September 2013 for our honeymoon.
Upon arrival we were up graded to a superior room which was lovely and spacious with great views from the balcony of the beach.
We were also given a voucher for meal in the Chateau which is the fine dining restaurant.
We also received discount on the spa treatments and magic moments that they do.
The main buffet restaurant is very nice but after a few days you do get a bit bored with the same things that are available.
The all inclusive only allows you to eat in the buffet restaurant if you want to eat in any of the others then you need to pay extra, we bought a gourmet pass which allowed us to eat in three of the other restaurants it work out at about £90 for the voucher so £30 per night per couple.
The other restaurants are really worth visiting, the asian fusion restaurant Banyan despite always being really quiete is well worth a visit the food there is lovely.
La Maree restaurant on the beach is probably the best restaurant, steak night and lobster nights are a must.
Staff at the hotel are always friendly and cant do enough for you, Vishnu behind the bar by the La maree restaurant is great and makes some great cocktails.
The water sports are all inclusive and I went water skiing at least twice a day, the staff there are very good and will soon get you up skiing.
The hotel has plenty to do for everyone and is well worth a visit, just be prepared to spend a bit more money when your there on vouchers to visit the other restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My new wife and I have recently returned from our beautiful stay at the Maritim Hotel, and yes, it is a long flight if you are coming from the UK as we did, but it is most definitely worth it.

The hotel is on the north west of the island, which is a longer drive from the airport, but better because (although still a little windy) is much less windy than the south/south west of the island.

The greeting you get on arrival is most warm and welcoming which is lovely after such a long journey, and we were pleasantly surprised to have our room upgraded, I think this would have been only because it was our Honeymoon.

The hotel is set in the most lush grounds and everywhere you go there are palm trees, beautiful plants, dazzling arrays of colourful flowers and it just really feels like a tropical paradise should. As you walk around the extensive grounds, every staff member will always greet you with a warm smile, hello and a gesture from the heart, it really does make the whole experience feel special.

The private beach is lovely and it does get busy, so you need to be on the lookout for a good spot, but we never had too much of a problem. Our favourite bit became the beach area in front of the pool. The beach service is fantastic, and there are always staff in earshot to take your drink order for that cold beer in the sun!

We were on the all inclusive and the food selection really was very good - we left as two fatties, ha-ha, we literally couldn't resist trying everything! and why wouldn't you!. Belle Vue is the main buffet style restaurant and has different 'themed' nights, La Maree is the beach restaurant and they do a bonfire on the beach and a 'steak night' twice a week, and then there is the posh restaurant Chateau du Monsir, which is in the most beautiful old colonial building and we were lucky enough to be given an invitation to a complimentary dinner there.

Unfortunately, on our penultimate night, my wife became very ill with gastroenteritis and it got so bad that we had to spend some time in the local private hospital clinic and change all our flights. It made for quite a stressful situation, but the hotel staff were EXTREMELY helpful in this. The onsite hotel nurse was so nice and helpful to my wife, and I want to thank her again. And especially "Saif" (not sure if I am spelling this right, but you know who you are) - Saif was always on hand to help my wife and I get through this. So thank you Saif once again.

Everyone at the hotel was fantastic, and also the Communications Manager and staff who would always check with you that everything was OK with you stay. You really get the sense that they genuinely want to look after you, and of course, hope that you return.

There is so much to do on the resort also - golf, horse riding, snorkelling, tennis, mini golf, water sports - I can go on and on - we tried some of these and they were great, but didn't have time for it all as we really wanted to relax, and this is also a great place for that.

Mauritian people really are warm, gracious and friendly people and always with a smile. I think service staff in the UK should come out here and learn a thing or two about proper service from the Mauritian people!

There's not much more I can say, other than to wholeheartedly recommend this resort for your dream Mauritian holiday. We definitely hope to return, one day.

P.S. Do the Kayaking trip with Ivan's - its a blast! (and we won our race with the other couple- ha-ha!)

Oh and lastly, the Magic Moments - if you can - do it. We chose to have a 'magic moment' with dinner in the gazebo right on the beach with our on private butler (its the little gazebo where you see people get married literally every day). It was so special and the food was beautiful. It really was, as they say, a magic moment.

Oh and just lastly (really this time) - you have to try the Maritim Spa - its the most peaceful lust tranquil paradise. We had about 3 or 4 treatments each!! Amazing. But beware - the "Signature Special" might not be quite what you think! Try it and find out!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the beach/sea in some way. I would recommend asking for one slightly f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AL-D-Z-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,566 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,633 reviews
4.4 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: £217 - £513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing