We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holiday but don't go for honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice holiday but don't go for honeymoon”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Went in November expecting to be treated that bit extra special as per brochure as it was our honeymoon, but apart from some flip flops, a meal in the chateau, and fizz which was free anyway, we were just standard guests. For the price, I'd go to Sri Lanka or Caribbean and upgrade your room yourself, airplane seats etc for same cost as going here.

Arwin, our room cleaner was amazing and deserved all the praise we could give him.

Spa is easily London prices and after a relaxing massage, you are then upsold spa products which is annoying.

The chateau was nice, but when we booked for afternoon tea, we were interrupted by corporate guests in coloured bibs on a scavenger hunt asking us about clues. Given that is our daily grind at home, it was an unwelcome interruption to our holiday.

Horse riding on the beach was special, and going to the races was fabulous, walking with lions a once in a lifetime experience, but these were excursions we paid for ourselves so not included with my review of the hotel.

In summary, what you'd expect from a 4 star hotel but not all restaurants all inclusive, not special enough for a honeymoon and slightly corporate.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read that you have had nice holiday among us and that you have enjoyed our room service, the Château Mon Désir and horse riding on the beach.

We have the regret to learn that you have encountered some inconvenience with a corporate group during your stay and that your honeymoon experience did not meet completely your expectations and did not reflect the fantastic reputation of the resort especially as a ‘Honeymoon Destination’

Rest assured that we have taken good note of all your valuable comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further.

We sincerely hope we shall be able to regain your confidence and that we will have the pleasure once again to welcome you at MARITIM Hotel Mauritius.

Yours sincerely,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,415
    688
    215
    88
    49
See reviews for
703
2,163
61
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (806)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Getting the perfect location for a wedding and a family if 8 was always going to be difficult but after choosing the maritim we were not disappointed. The hotel is immaculate and all the staff are so friendly. We were impressed with the food in all restaurants plenty of choice. The steak night at the beach restaurant is well worth a try nicest steak we've ever had!
The wedding was more than we had dreamt of, madhavi the wedding coordinator makes your day for special and unique even though she does it every day. If marrying there I would recommend the live music they were brilliant and an amazing voice. I would also recommend eating at the gazebo in the evening if you have family too makes the evening feel more special. No bad points about this hotel just looking forward to going there again!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martellsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your wedding with us and that we have met your expectations!

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We recently concluded our honeymoon at the Maritim in Mauritius and it was the best vacation I have had. The hotel has excellent amenities, service and beach. We were upgraded to the Privilege room on our arrival which had a ocean facing balcony. The greeting with sparkling wine added to our immense pleasure and the vacation started on an amazing note. The staff of the hotel is excellent. The view of the ocean from the Bella Vue restaurant during the breakfast was breath taking. The water sports offered free at the hotel is enjoyable and I and my wife extensively indulged in archery. The bathing in the ocean was fun and the tan all over the body is quite visible.

The only downside to this hotel was the lack of food options for the vegetarians. There was hardly anything worth eating in vegetarian during all meals. The Christmas eve was celebrated having potatoes and fruits.

Overall, excellent hotel for a relaxing holiday but vegetarians, especially Indians should prefer Le Meridian, where I am told, they offer more variety of Indian cuisine.Otherwise, the place is perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor offer a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prashant6usin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon and it met your expectations. We have taken good note of your comments regarding the vegetarian options as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back on the MARITIM estate for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week in Mauritius where we stayed at the Maritim Hotel, Balaclava. We upgraded to a Prestige room which was well worth the upgrade. We had a ground floor room with patio, the bedroom had a sitting area, the bathroom had a freestanding bath and large shower, with seperate toilet and there was a walk in wardrobe. The air conditioning was very welcoming when you came back to the room after the humidity outside. the plate of fruit as a gift from the hotel was a nice touch also. Although there were a few little problems whilst we were there, i.e. maids taking towels and not replacing them, the mini bar not being replenished after it was checked, and our fruit being taken out of the room even though we had asked them not to remove it, these were sorted out very quickly and the hotel kindly replaced our fruit and gave us a lovely bottle of sparkling wine as an apology. We cannot say enough about the staff, who were exceptionally helpful and very friendly. The weather was fantastic with the average temperature being 30-35 degrees every day. We were all inclusive and were impressed with what was included within the package (although it would not have hurt for the hotel to include the chocolate and nut snacks from the mini bar in the all inclusive package). Although we had credits for a couple of the other restaurants we ate in the Belle Vue restaurant, which is buffet style, all the time as the choices were extremely good. The alcoholic cocktails were lovely too (however it depended upon who made them as some were a lot stronger than others). As we had booked with Virgin we had a complimentary foot and leg massage provided to us with a "Kniepp walk" included. Loved the foot and leg massage but the Kniepp walk was torture. It involved walking over different size round stones, which were placed in water, then walking back along a wooden walkway (which was red hot because of the sun). You had to do this 3 times. Some people may like this but I bruised the bottom of my foot with the stones. It is supposed to help with circulation and water retention in your feet and legs after a long flight. The spa is lovely too. Had a lemongrass massage which was wonderful. However the spa only provides robes and slippers if you have booked a treatment, so if you are using the jacuzzi or just resting in the spa remember to take your robe and slippers from your room. Although we are not sun worshippers, we had a problem getting a sun bed by the pool when we would have liked one and also had problems getting them on the beach. The hotel is supposed to have a fair play policy when it comes to the sun beds, which is a time limit of one and a half hours (to stop people putting towels on sun beds and going off on trips, etc, however we did not see any sign of them taking towels off the beds. We believe their time limit is too long and it should be only an hour which would allow people to go for a meal, get a drink or go for a swim. As they do not have enough sun beds around the pool and the hotel end of the beach they really should be enforcing their own policy rule. We would recommend bringing mosquito spray. The free glass bottom boat trip was well worth it but make sure you go when the sea is not too rough as the waves on the reef churn up the sand and visibility will be poor. The south island tour is well worth the trip, especially the rum distillery as is the Blue Safari submarine. Now let's get onto the airline we flew with - Air France. We paid for an upgrade with them to Premium Economy but quite frankly it wasn't worth it for what you got. We will never fly with Air France again, they were absolutely atrocious. The extra space with the Premium Economy seats was non-existent and the meals on board were diabolical. If we had the choice again we would fly Emirates to Dubai and would rather spent 10 hours in Dubai airport than fly with Air France it was that bad!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Prestige Room if you can afford it. It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to learn that you have had amazing holidays at MARITIM Hotel
We have taken good note of your valuable comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our honeymoon at the Maritim. We stayed 2 weeks all inclusive and had a great time although there were a few little niggles.
Weather was amazing and above 30degrees everyday.

We payed for a prestige room and got allocated to 232 which was on the ground floor, was very peaceful (apart from the maids at 7am) and was one of the rooms which had Been refurbished. Walk in wardrobe, massive walk in shower and double ended bath. No complaints about the room at all. The mini bar was pretty much included in the AI package apart from the odd thing. We were also given a fruit basket and champers as we were honeymooners.
Must say that on 2 days, the maids took our towels and didn't give us any new ones which meant waiting for some to turn up and one of the the days, the room wasn't that clean but apart from that it was fine.

Don't expect to get upgraded just because you are honeymooners. If the hotel is full, like it was when we went, you only get what you have paid for.

AI- so the hotel has 6 restaurants but not all are AI. Tip.....book the restaurants when you get there as we, along with many others had issues getting booked in. The buffet is AI and la Maree is for breakfast and lunch but for dinner you will get and extra charge if you eat here. As we booked a restive room, we received 1500 rupees off our dinner at any of the other restaurants which meant eating at the other restaurants was relatively cheap. The drinks were all included as well.
La Maree is seafood and based right on the beach, beautiful setting! All of our meals here were lovely. We ate here on the lobster night and the steak night (as well as others) and didn't have any complaints at all. The bar here is really relaxing and most nights they had live music and a bonfire on the beach.
The Banyan is the Chinese. Great food- especially the sushi and the extra on the bill totalled about £15 for both of us.
Chateau mon desir- this is the fine dining restaurant. We ate here twice, once for my husbands birthday and we also received a free meal here as we were honeymooners. Now the drink is more expensive here but I didn't think the food was terribly overpriced. I would say its was still cheaper than eating in a fine dining restaurant in London. The food was really nice, beef Wellington is defo worth a go. They also gave us free champers as it was his birthday. When we told them we were coming back, they had given us a table outside and decorated it all for us and again gave us free champers and a dessert wine to end.
We also went to the traditional Mauritian restaurant where you sit with other guests from the hotel. The food was lovely and never seemed too end.
The buffet is hit and miss. We only ate dinner there twice and managed to find something we both liked. The hubby said the curries were lovely. For lunch, the choice is more limited here but we would either go to La Maree or get a sandwich from the pool service.

One thing I would say against the hotel at this point, as we were there before Christmas, the hotel hired out the restaurants for private parties so on both the weekends we were there, all the restaurants bar 2 were closed as they were hired out. Obviously this is to make extra money but did not benefit the paying guests staying at the hotel. We met many repeat guests who were not happy about this as this has never happened in the past and meant the open restaurants were fully booked. Also meant there was only one bar open as well.
I did have an issue with this because on the Saturday, it was my husbands birthday. I wanted to book a private dining experience so we ate on our own on the jetty (I was willing to pay the price for this) but was told that there was not any staff to serve us as they were working in he private parties. So I asked to get booked into the chateau but it was fully booked. I had to speak to the manager to ensure that we could eat somewhere other than the Buffett as I didn't think those as good enough, however, the manager did get me booked into the chateau in the end after a good moan.

The hotel need to think about whether the private parties are worth losing repeat guests as I heard a few saying they wouldn't come back after going for some 5-15 years.

Quarter deck bar- liked this bar. There was entertainment most nights as well, from a dj to singers etc. service always really quick as well and they remembered what we drank.
Now... I have read reviews saying there after rats at this bar. There are not. There is a resident hedgehog without the spines is the only way to describe it who lives here but he is harmless and only comes out late at night. Don't hurt him, he is more scared of us and is actually cute when you look at him.

Pool/sun beds- first few days we were so tired we slept in and didn't get out to the pool until 12pm and managed to get beds, however as we got closer to Xmas and it got busier, there were not any free beds and we found ourselves getting up early to get the towels on the bed! Apparently the hotel are meant to remove towels off the beds if you are not there for an hour, I didn't see this happen at all and one day, the beds next to us had towels on from 9am- 2pm with no one sitting in them and they left them there.
Pool was like a bath, so warm as was the sea.

I must say the pool and beach staff are brilliant. They are so efficient, really friendly and are a credit to the hotel. Unlike the reception staff!

Flys- lots of greenery at the hotel and apparently because it has been so humid, they have had more flies than normal. Didn't really bother us to be honest. Bring the mozzy spray though as they bite hard.

Overall we had a lovely relaxing holiday although we do wished we had booked an adult only hotel as the kids were noisy round the pool but that's our own fault. I wouldn't come back here as there are too many other places in the world to go but I wouldn't not recommend it. You will have a great time if you don't let the little things get to you.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Becks1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations. Thank you once again for your complete review and all of us hope to see you back on the MARITIM estate for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We spent a week and a half of our Honeymoon at the Maritim, Like most we spent hours reading reviews and looking at pictures trying to find the perfect hotel, I am pleased to say all the hours paid off the Maritim was the perfect destination for our Honeymoon everything was perfect from the moment we stepped foot in the reception until the day we left. on arrival we were given ice cold drinks and a cold cloth (perfect after a long flight) as honeymooners we were upgraded to a suite (Which was amazing) All the staff are very polite and could not do enough for us.

The Spa is very relaxing and the treatments were very very good especially the full body massage, My only complaint would be that the Spa pool was cold but this is personal preference.

All the restaurants are very good but a couple of highlights would be La Maree on the beach we had lunch and dinner here both were perfect, Again as honeymooners we were given a voucher for the Chateau (Fine Dinning) by far my favourite meal of the honeymoon the food was fantastic the service was great and restaurant is lovely. I know a lot of the reviews say the food in the main restaurant gets a little boring if you stay more than a week I can understand why they would say that as every Monday is the same and every Tuesday etc but there is plenty of choice and the quality is very good.

If you have time and are feeling romantic the magic moments are worth looking into we had an evening meal with our own private waiter over looking Turtle Bay to mark our one week of marriage, The food was very good and our waiter made the evening just perfect on our return to the room the bed had rose petals on a very nice and personal touch.

There are plenty of activities such as water skiing, Pedalows, snorkelling which are all free to keep you amused and the staff who run them are all really friendly and very helpful.

Our overall experience was fantastic I can't recommend the hotel highly enough we would return again tomorrow if given the option.

Room Tip: Book an upgrade it is totally worth it, Close to the Le Maree if possible for great views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for the beautifully worded review for us on this forum.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon and it met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on the Maritim Estate!


Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Firstly a bit of advice: put a change of clothes & toiletries (under the obligatory 100ml) in your hand luggage so you are not going through your luggage in the middle of the reception area!
We were aware we would be arriving before the "check in" time so requested & paid for (Hayes Jarvis) early check in. We landed at 7.30am, after a 3 hour drive, 3 hour check in, 12 & 1/2 hour flight, 2 1/2 hour immigration/transfer we arrived at the hotel at 10am. We were given a glass of orange juice & a cold wash cloth & seated, 5 minutes later another couple (who we'd never met before) were seated opposite us. A "customer/guest services" very young woman sat with us & told us that our rooms would not be ready until after 3pm!! I immediately told her about the arrangement via Hayes Jarvis & coincidentally the other couple had requested early check in. I may as well have spoken to her in Swahili she just reiterated the same thing I asked her to check but she said "her records were correct" she then asked for my address fir the registration form, I said "I'll complete it" (as I have done in every hotel I've stopped in in the last 30 years) she said she had to do it. I said "I'm not happy with telling my details (phone number, email address, residential address etc..) in front of complete strangers (the couple opposite)the man also said the same (no disrespect but have they heard of the data protection act?). Once again she insisted she had to complete the registration forms!! We relented. She then started on about credits for this restaurant, credits for the others she had turned away to face the man of the other couple at this point, I asked her "to speak a little louder as I'm hard of hearing & I couldn't lip read her as she was turned away from me" she carried on in the same manner.( Consequently we had to enquire the following day about the restaurants from another member of staff. ) She then started on about arrivals/departure room, day pass. All of our luggage had been whisked away into a luggage room whilst we were being ushered into the reception area. I suggest if you've booked here you supervise the removal of your luggage from the transfer mini bus as we later encountered a problem with our luggage.
We then had to take out the necessary items for a 5 hour wait in the middle of the reception area. We were shown the arrival/departure room, it is not what you'd expect, no views of the ocean or beach area, a brick wall with sky lights over seen by the most abrupt, obnoxious member of staff I met here, no smile or greetings, she didn't even respond when the gentleman from the other couple said "good morning" she just left the room. I tried to speak to her, general greetings, hello etc during our stay but after several times I gave up. At 3.30pm we finally were given the key to our room.
The Prestige room was clean & the bed comfortable, the shower was temperamental, the lighting dreadful, very rarely do you find a light above a mirror in the bedroom area but it was very dark. The cleaner was great & we gave her several tips to show our gratitude.
We visited all but 1 of the restaurants.
The Chateau Mon Desir: meant to be a la carte, couldn't get our room number correct after 4 times & the service not up to Michelin standards. We went fir the "lobster & truffle" evening & I said to my Husband I thought the lobster was frozen not fresh as it was chewy & tasteless. A driver who we hired confirmed this.
The Belle Vue: the food is repeated so if you're there a fortnight as we were then you'll get the same menu week 2. There were problems at several times of day with seating as tables are reserved for larger parties therefore reducing the restaurant capacity even if those guests aren't eating there. There was a group of 30 during our stay & at breakfast/lunch/dinner the tables were arranged & on more than one occasion remained vacant throughout our dinning time.We tried visiting at 7.30pm & earlier but were turned away even though we could see tables set for 4 people empty.
The La Maree breakfast for guests in Prestige rooms was a nice relaxing breakfast, no queuing it's from a menu selection. Dinner was ok but we ordered "seafood platters" half the langoustines were missing ie: only the tail part served, the waiter must have reiterated a dozen times it wasn't part of the all inclusive package...yes we're not imbeciles.
The Quarter Deck bar offers standard snack which are good.
We visited the Mauritian restaurant with the couple we'd met on arrival, the food & service was very good.
Staff : mostly very friendly & appreciate a decent tip. Devan in the Belle Vue is a credit to this hotel.
We went "Walking with Lions" an amazing experience, visited the Chamarel waterfall & Hindu temple. We went on the hotels glass bottomed boat but we were appalled at the boat crew feeding the fish bread to encourage them to come closer to the boat!!
We requested a late check out room but were refused "hotel at capacity". So a further 6 & 1/2 hour wait.
Finally, the Summertimes representative for Hayes Jarvis "Pascal". Incompetent, unprofessional & only interested in booking trips. There isn't any reps board or folder so you don't know when he'll be in attendance you have to ring Summertimes. He doesn't pass messages on to head office & it's the only time I've had to ring to find out our transfer time.
We flew Air Mauritius business class & the flight crew were amazing, both ways & couldn't do enough for passengers.
I've noticed that only negative comments get a response from the manage, which is a shame as all guests should be acknowledged.
We were very disappointed by certain aspects of this hotel & it's the attention to detail which is missing.
The beach is spotless, but we encountered a vagrant man begging us for money twice, the hawkers aren't a problem a simple "no thank you" they will pass you by although I think I bought from everyone because I enjoy the bartering :-)
A guest highly recommended the Hilton at Flic en Flac & from experience the Oberoi hotel chain are outstanding.
I cannot understand how this hotel gets repeated 5*'s but we met guests who've been here over 10 times (it's a BIG wide world people) .
Mauritius is a lovely country with beautiful scenery.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Annette10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.

I have the regret to read that your recent experience at MARITIM Hotel Mauritius does not reflect the level of service that has made our fantastic reputation.

I would be happy to discuss the matter with you and would be pleased to hear from you on our telephone number +230 204 1000 or by email on info.mau@maritim.com.

At MARITIM Hotel Mauritius, our main concerns are to exceed guest’s expectations and we are always open to suggestions for continuous improvement in our day-to-day operations.

Again, kindly rest assured that we are taking all necessary measures to address the issues with the view to further improve our services.

Yours Truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.3 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
1,256 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,430 reviews
28.9 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
10.3 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Property: Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing