We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Amazing staff, service is exceptional, as was the welcome upon arrival. The all inclusive option is really worth it, as all food and drinks are included.
Beach is very good, the sea had an area of rocks near the shore, but was a good place to see small fish.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Faru L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met your expectations!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,414
    685
    215
    88
    49
See reviews for
703
2,160
61
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (806)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a lovely hotel, like many other hotels in Mauritius, with stunning pools, beaches, service and food. It offers the all-inclusive and half inclusive packages. Just think very carefully which will serve your purposes better before booking. If you like to stay in the resort for the full duration of your holiday, the all inclusive is much better. If however, like us, you enjoy exploring and will not spend so much time in the hotel, the all inclusive package may be a bit of a waste. The hotel is well located, but could've been just a tad closer to Grande Bay, where most of the islands holiday life is. If you would like to get around on the island, rather use a taxi outside the hotel as the hotel-arranged taxis are very expensive. I really enjoyed Mauritius and this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very far away from the reception and require a long walk. Try for one closer to the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views and recommendations with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations.

I regret that you did not liked our the hotel location which is generally praised by our guest as ideally situated between Grand Bay and the capital Port Louis, respectively both at 10 and 15 min drive from the resort.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back on the Maritim Estate for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,007 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 101; the quietest room and probably the nearest to the beach. Being in a Privilege Room we were able to have our breakfast in La Maree as opposed to the buffet, which was nice and more peaceful. Two disappointments with the room - no mirror to do hair in and only one lounge chair.

We dined in La Maree, Banyan, and Chateau Mon Desir - all of which were far better (as you'd expect than the buffet). However we did have to go to the buffet for the New Year gala dinner and were surprised to find giant freshly cooked king prawn, as much lobster as you could eat, and other very nicely prepared dishes. They really did do themselves proud that night.

The Garden Bar was never open; not that I think we missed much.

We had no problems booking into the other restaurants even though we were there at their busiest time. We also didn't have to purchase any gourmet upgrade vouchers; can't quite understand why others did. With the exception of Chateau, we just dined, ate and drank whatever we wanted.

All the staff are very polite and friendly particularly the beach service guys who kept us adequately supplied in much needed beverages throughout the hot days.

Being on honeymoon our room was nicely decorated for the first night with rose petals etc along with a complimentary bottle of bubbly which we saved for New Year's Eve. We also received a discount voucher to the spa, and a couple of other discounts which were a nice touch.

Beach and water are lovely with the sea being so warm. There were a few arguments over sunbeds with other guests (not us doing the arguing, we just had ringside seats - which was quite funny to watch) but in general there are plenty.

The only negative I could say is, it's cleanliness lets it down for me. Some days they dint come & you have to ring and 'remind' them, and when they do they forget to leave towels! Don't get me wrong it's not filthy or anything just little attentions to detail missed on the daily clean (light switches, tide marks on milk jugs at breakfast, door frames never cleaned. etc.

And the wifi is terrible in the room.

All that said, we were well looked after and thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius and congratulations again for your wedding.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon among us and found it relaxing. We have taken good note of all your valuable comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This was our fourth visit it the maritim to renew our wedding vows 10 years after we were married in the gardens if the hotel. Returning again was just like putting on an old pair of slippers. From the impressive driveway from the road to the old French colonial entrance Hall the special memories quickly come flooding back. The hotel grounds are beautiful are the staff and the facilities. The staff are especially attentive from Jay, Dave and Jaffar on the beach to Iswaree, Vidija and Kumar in the restaurants. They looked after us like we were royalty and are so very attentive, friendly and determined to make your holiday enjoyable. We would return every year if we could as it is so special to us. However, nothing is perfect and the newer/younger staff still have some way to go to maintain the same level of attentiveness and service provided by the likes of Jay ans Iswaree but with their support and guidance I am sure that they will achieve the same levels. Also the real bug bare for me this visit was the introduction of the sun be monitor (or Sticker Man as we named him) who's presence continually monitoring the amount of time you left your sun bed at any time was quite intrusive. This said it won't stop us going back again in March this year,

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Petitebolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Loyal Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor and your faithfulness to MARITIM
Hotel Mauritius.

The entire team is glad that you have once again enjoyed your stay among us and met your expectations.We have well noted your comments regarding the younger staff and beach fair play policy which will help us to improve our service and facilities even further.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in March on the Maritim Estate!

Yours Truly,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Returned from 2 weeks at the Maritim on the 23 December. This was the most relaxing, chilled out holiday I have ever had. I started off with good intentions by going to the gym and cycle tours but I was overwhelmed by the totally relaxed atmosphere, lay on the beach went swimming in the sea and put on over 14 lbs in weight.

Overall I think it is one of the best holidays i have had, the staff were excellent, very friendly, very focussed on making our stay enjoyable and I will make particular mention of the beach boys Vincent and Yasine and Mrs Ishwaree and Vidja who worked at the La Maree Restuarant. (Apologies if the spelling of your names is not correct but I lost my note with your names on.) They were absolutely superb. We ate in the buffet restaurant most evenings and really enjoyed the food and the different flavours. There was a different theme for each night of the week and we found on the second week the menu changed within the the theme. We had two evening meals at the La Maree were you had the choice of the a la carte at an extra charge or the fixed menu at no extra charge for AI guests. Again the food was absolutely excellent and we had no problems getting booked in.

Because we had a Prestige room we were able to have breakfast in the La Maree which we did most mornings. That was an amazing experience and to be honest made the holiday the little bit special.

We did two trips through Mauri-tours - one to the Southwest of the island and the second a catamaran trip on the east coast that included a stop at the beautiful île aux Cerfs. They were both excellent trips and provided great value for money.

Although I found it to be an excellent resort there were a couple of areas that frustrated me and they are:

1. Sitting with an empty wine glass and having to wait to get the glass refreshed. This did not happen with the more aware staff and the following comment from a young waitress was brilliant. "An empty glass is not a beautiful glass" as she proceeded to give me more wine.
2. The resort has a dress code which I fully support. Regrettably this was not enforced and I frequently saw individuals in Tee Shirts, jeans and flip flops. On the last evening and individual was allowed access wearing beach shorts and flip flops. This is simply not good enough and the restaurant management should display a copy of the dress code at the entrance to the buffet restaurant and provide their staff with the training to enforce the dress code in a professional manner.

However, it was still a brilliant holiday and I would definitely go back again.

Regards

Bryan

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bryan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to learn that you consider your holiday at MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like the ‘most relaxing, chilled out holiday you have ever had’

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your helpful and useful feedback.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius, or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We returned for our second visit to Maritim and it was even better than the first ! It is definately worth buying the gourmet passes so make sure you find out about these straight away and book your restaurants as soon as possible. The steak night is very popular and worth it so book early to avoid disappointment. Ishawree and Vidya at the beach bar made our holiday very special, they were always so friendly, helpful, attentive and went out of their way to accommodate us. The pool guys are excellent and are always smiling and we go out of their way to assist you. Honesty can not find fault with this hotel and will definately return again. Well done

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Loyal Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor and your faithfulness to MARITIM
Hotel Mauritius.

The entire team is glad that you have once again enjoyed your stay among us and met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on the Maritim Estate!

Yours Truly,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Went in November expecting to be treated that bit extra special as per brochure as it was our honeymoon, but apart from some flip flops, a meal in the chateau, and fizz which was free anyway, we were just standard guests. For the price, I'd go to Sri Lanka or Caribbean and upgrade your room yourself, airplane seats etc for same cost as going here.

Arwin, our room cleaner was amazing and deserved all the praise we could give him.

Spa is easily London prices and after a relaxing massage, you are then upsold spa products which is annoying.

The chateau was nice, but when we booked for afternoon tea, we were interrupted by corporate guests in coloured bibs on a scavenger hunt asking us about clues. Given that is our daily grind at home, it was an unwelcome interruption to our holiday.

Horse riding on the beach was special, and going to the races was fabulous, walking with lions a once in a lifetime experience, but these were excursions we paid for ourselves so not included with my review of the hotel.

In summary, what you'd expect from a 4 star hotel but not all restaurants all inclusive, not special enough for a honeymoon and slightly corporate.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read that you have had nice holiday among us and that you have enjoyed our room service, the Château Mon Désir and horse riding on the beach.

We have the regret to learn that you have encountered some inconvenience with a corporate group during your stay and that your honeymoon experience did not meet completely your expectations and did not reflect the fantastic reputation of the resort especially as a ‘Honeymoon Destination’

Rest assured that we have taken good note of all your valuable comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further.

We sincerely hope we shall be able to regain your confidence and that we will have the pleasure once again to welcome you at MARITIM Hotel Mauritius.

Yours sincerely,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.3 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
1,252 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,430 reviews
28.9 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
10.3 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Property: Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelbag, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing