We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Spent 14 nights at this wonderful hotel arriving home last weekend. The setting for the hotel is so beautiful, the gardens are so lovely and we'll looked after. The whole holiday was fantastic. The rooms are great, very clean and the mini bar is well stocked all the time. We upgraded to a prestige room and it was well worth it , breakfast on the beach at La Maree was wonderful. As was previously recommended we bought a gourmet pass and it was well worth the money, the dinning experience at the Chateau was the best.
We would highly recommend this hotel , the staff were so helpful and polite, just ignore any moans about rules and regulations because we found none, the towels on sun beds is very fair.

Room Tip: All rooms are good we prefer upper floor for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to learn that you consider MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like a‘Fantastic Hotel’!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your kind review.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius, or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

3,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,433
    695
    216
    88
    49
See reviews for
711
2,181
61
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Arrived 8th January 2014 after an overnight flight operated by Air France from Manchester via Charles De Gaulle (Paris). Direct change over in Paris, off one aircraft and directly onto another, virtually without wait. Met by Mauritours at the airport, (terrific company) for private car transport to Maritim. Transfer from airport took about 1 hour and our driver pointed out places of interest along the way. On arrival at the hotel a porter unloaded our baggage from the car and labelled it with our room number we were given a fruit drink and a towel to wipe our hands and face (most welcome after a twelve hour flight). After hotel vouchers were exchanged and credit card details taken we were immediately shown to our Prestige room... and the WOW factor that goes with it. I must say that this is the best hotel room I have ever stayed in, and the pictures I have seen do not do it justice. After unpacking and a little rest, it was down to the Belle Vue Buffet restaurant for a light dinner and then to bed as we were still exhausted from our flight. Having a Prestige room entitled us to have breakfast and lunch at La Maree beach bar, which has a wonderful outlook and waiter service, but on the majority of occasions we ate at the Belle Vue buffet restaurant as there was more choice of food on offer and for people travelling with children, there is always a seperate choice just for them i.e chicken nuggets, fish fingers, pizza, and always chips.Personally i would not advise taking children from England to Mauritius. The flight times from UK leave every adult absolutely exhausted when they arrive, and could be even worse on return as everyone flying back to Gatwick had to leave the hotel at 4a.m. anyway back to the hotel, the reception staff are available 24 hours and are more than willing to ensure everyone has a perfect experience whilst at the Maritim. The chambermaids come in twice a day , once to clean the room top up the minibar, and replace towels and shampoo etc, then later to turn down your bed whilst you are at dinner. The beach and pool service waiters are brilliant, no one goes without a drink and usually this is brought to you without even ordering. The Quarterdeck bar is great for during the day, should you not feel like going up for a full lunch, tea, coffee`s, snacks and sandwiches are available to order for on the beach or round the pool. At four o`clock every afternoon, a selection of savouries Kisch etc. are served in the quarterdeck bar, along with pancakes with at least three types of syrups, fresh cake and homemade biscuits. Quarterdeck bar is usually the place to go for a drink pre, or post dinner, and whilst the entertainment is mostly low key, there is always live music being played in the background whilst you chat with you new holiday friends. Apart from the steak night at La Maree I cannot comment on any of the other themed restaurants as I found the food at Belle Vue to be excellent, so why spend more on other restaurants when the choice and quality there, cannot be faulted. Although friends we met told us that the Banyan fusion restaurant was very good. On the day of departure, there is no need to ask or pay for an extension to to room, should you have a late departure from the hotel. The hotel departure lounge has everything in there that you have in your room, showers, the same toiletries, towels flat screen tv, armchairs, footrests, books left by other holidaymakers, and lockers to safely store your belongings. So overall, the hotel, grounds, staff, food and facilities are tremendous.
The atmosphere is so peaceful, truly a Paradise found. Would I return to the Maritim?...Absolutely I would, and one day I will.

Room Tip: Prestige room 430 top floor, good sea and garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your helpful and useful feedback.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met and exceeded your expectations!

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 January 2014

As per previous reviews this hotel is a fantastic holiday destination. This is our 3rd holiday to Mauritius but the first time to this resort and we cannot fault the welcome or level of service provided (a previous review said the staff make this place and we agree)
The whole ambience of this resort is special.
We stayed in a prestige room and dined in the main restaurant, at La Maree, The Chateau Le Banyan and the Beer Garden - the food in all the restaurants was superb.
We purchased a 3 day gourmet pass plus paid supplements for 4 special nights. This worked out at an extra 15 pounds per person per meal if you are AI - well worth it if you want the variety of eating in a different restaurant.
All the Maritim team work really hard to look after you and make sure you have a great holiday, unfortunately we don't have everyone's name but special thanks go to Pratika for looking after our room in the first week, Dave & Jay for looking after us on the beach, Ishmaree & Vidya in La Maree for their smiles and breakfast! Metin (sorry for mis-spelling your name) & Priscilla in La Maree plus Alvin in the Chateau for looking after us so well in the evenings and Nano for his wicked drinks - he always remembered what everyone's usual tipple was! We will certainly book Maritim again for another holiday soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met and exceeded your expectations!

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Great food, great suite, great people, loads to do or not to do if u want, really relaxing, great snorkling, nice walks around the complex too, great place, went on the pamplemousse trip and the trip into Port Louis was really good, and we felt quite safe on our own, we will be back x

Room Tip: uprade to a suite if possible and the left hand side is quieter and nearer the beach area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay among us!

Thank you once again for your review and your great support!

Yours sincerely,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The welcome to this resort was lovely and in spite of some negative reviews on this topic, staff seemed keen to ensure that we were given rooms as soon as possible. Prestige rooms could not be faulted, little things like proper teaspoons rather than wooden sticks for hot drinks in the room might have been better but understand why this doesn't happen.
Staff and grounds/resort were exceptional. We heard some grumbles about service but couldn't really agree with this other than odd lapses.
Food was probably our biggest criticism in terms of taste and temperature. Breakfast lovely selection - one morning opted for a 'birthday breakfast' in the room for my husband's 60th birthday - huge selection, great service but the cooked breakfast was cold. This was sometimes typical of the 'hot breakfast' in the restuarant as well but the selection of cold options was immense.
Tables sometimes needed cleaning from the people before.
Lunch at Belle Vue was buffet and again good selection, and at La Maree lunch was good - just more taste please, although some good meals brought to the 'beach huts' which are 'a must' for the extra special days
Belle Vue in the evening again selection good but taste and temperature not so good and one night at La Maree the poorest of meals, however Asian Fusion Banyan and Chateau Mon Desir were exceptionally good.
The Spa facilites were absolutely brilliant, best experienced anywhere so add much to the holiday
There were plenty of activities including diving which was great fun and very relaxing but lots of other options - snorkelling, para-gliding, boat rides, fishing, horse-riding, croquet, golf - lots so possible to be as lazy or as active as you wish.
Overall an excellent holiday in a stunning resort with helpful and accommodating staff with just a need to work on the food, although judging by the size of some people's portions views may not be shared on that point!
There were some less than thoughtful customers who rolling back to their accommodation having had a good night out determined that we should all hear about it, but that cannot be laid at the door of the resort but can take the edge of things, not least a good nights sleep.
A relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings with the opportunity to do as little or as much as you want to

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations. We have taken good note of your valuable comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Kind regards,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks end July 13. Best holiday ever by far. The staff simply cannot do enough for you. Despite all the confusing reviews you read, the system for what is free if you are all inclusive is so simple it defies belief people get it wrong. There are so many loungers on the beach (3 mins walk from the pool) that the policy of removing towels after a couple of hours simply doesn't matter! There is a beach/pool service for everything but hot coffee. The Belle View and the La Maree restaurants were brilliant and anyone complaining the food isn't varied and great is just not telling you the facts. There is loads to do, including snorkeling, archery, golf, glass bottomed boat, diving, parascending, dolphin trips, volleyball, table tennis, a half decent gym etc etc. The rooms are simply lovely. Even the gardeners are polite and constantly at work to keep the grounds absolutely stunning. There is a small zoo, a turtle farm and a stables where you, even as a beginner, can ride a horse on the beach. There are theme nights (we did steak night and lobster night) which were great. There is entertainment on the beach and at the main bar which is enjoyable and not intrusive. We are saving hard as we are desperate to go back this year! It truly felt like "paradise". There are beach sellers every day on the beach, but don't let this put you off. They are polite and friendly and in fact one called Vinnie became a friend; he was so lovely, not at all intrusive or pushy, just a genuinely nice guy. if you're going to buy anything on the beach at the hotel, we would recommend Vinnie! We are actually looking forward to seeing him again when we return!

Room Tip: we had a ground floor room and it meant you could go out either way which was actually helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to learn that you consider your stay at the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like ‘The best holidays you had so far!'!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your warm feedback.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on the Maritim Estate!


Yours sincerely,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was our second visit to the Maritim and once again it did not disappoint us. We absolutely loved the Maritim hotel with all its facilities and the friendliness of the staff.

A special thank you for the wonderful cocktail evening on the beach. I would also like to recommend Dave and Jay who works on the beach and does a wonderful job to look after the people on the beach. Also a special thank you to you for arranging our brunch at the Chateau - a truly amazing experience. The staff at the Chateau Mon Desir could not do enough for us. The food was good at all the restaurants but our favourite was the Chateau brunch.
We will definitely be back this year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Loyal Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor and your faithfulness to Maritim Hotel Mauritius.

The entire team is glad that you have once again enjoyed your stay among us and met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again a third time on the Maritim Estate!

Yours Truly,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.3 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,310 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,440 reviews
28.9 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
10.3 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Property: Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing