We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,849)
Filter reviews
3,849 results
Traveller rating
2,670
782
241
92
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,670
782
241
92
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprestige roomhorse ridingquarter deck barbelle vuechateau mon desirla maree restaurantvip beachquarterdeck barmini golfgiant tortoisesgourmet passdeparture loungebeach restaurantall inclusive packagemon desireour honeymoonle banyan
Filter
Updating list...
1,621 - 1,626 of 3,849 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We came to the Maritm to celebrate my 60th Birthday. In order to make this a truly 'special' celebration we had contacted the hotel from the UK about arrangements for champagne in the room, special breakfast and dinner on the day etc., they could not have been more helpful and attentive. We arrived, via BA, early in the morning and were warmly welcomed to "paradise" which indeed it was. Our room was ready and everything promised was waiting in the room. We had a 'Prestige Room' which had wonderful views of the beach and out to sea. The mini bar is nothing to get over excited about but, it had beer,wine and soft drinks which were all part of the All Inclusive (AI) package, these were replenished daily. On the subject of AI, a better descriptor would be 'Mostly Inclusive' as some drinks and other items cost extra as do some of the dining options and sports activities. Having said that, it is all quite clearly explained. We bought the 'gourmet dining package' and would recommend this. Eat at the Chez Mon Desire early in your stay as you will want to eat there again and possibly again! It is some of the finest food we have eaten in a long time. Breakfast on the beach at La Maree is not to be missed. Without exception, every member of staff was attentive, polite and concerned that our stay was a good one, they work incredibly hard and are also very proud of their island. I could go on about how wonderful we thought this hotel was but so much is covered by the other positive reviewers. On a final note, we are relatively new divers and made 5 dives with the guys at the Maritim Dive Centre. Every one there was superb, great fun and knowledgeable helping us to feel confident and improving our technique. We would recommend them without any hesitation. Overall a fabulous way to celebrate my 60th Birthday!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SandRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met and exceeded your expectations!

Thank you once again for having chosen our resort to celebrate your 60th anniversary and for your warm feedback.

Looking forward to welcome you again on the Maritim Estate!

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have a lot to say here, the vast majority of this hotel is excellent. The food, the service, the staff, the bars, the beach. I won't go on. Suffice it to say that I would recommend a holiday here to anyone, it is the genuine tropical paradise. I have two criticisms. The BA flight arrives early in the morning, as do many here, be prepared for your room not to be ready, reception staff will take you to an "arrivals room" where you can have a shower, get changed, lock you valuables in a locker and go and enjoy your day; Be prepared to do so, but scrabbling through your luggage in a corridor off reception is not 5 star service, I saw people doing this every day we were there. ADVICE, Don't lie, tell people their room won't be ready till at least 4 pm, one couples room was not ready till 6 pm. This is not good. Another criticism. The minibar in our room didn't work, the beer and wine were both warm, the chocolate had melted, we reported it on the second day, by the 5th day it had started to smell. We reported it again, someone came and washed it out but it was still warm. THIS is NOT 5 star service. Putting all that aside, I would still go back here, because once you are installed in your room everything else is too wonderful for words. Overall, excellent but small details need attention and full marks to the staff for their hard work. The restaurants are really amazing, the drinks are excellent and the staff are so helpfull and friendly, I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The view from most of the rooms is breathtaking.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ronpSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Maritim Hotel Mauritius!
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to learn that you consider the Maritim Hotel Mauritius like ‘a Genuine Tropical Paradise & to wonderful for words’ and that you have appreciated the food, the staff, the beach, restaurants and bars!

I have the regret to read that you have encountered some issues with your mini bar. Kindly rest assured that we have taken all the necessary measures to address this issue.

Regarding your arrival at the resort, the check in time is indeed 3pm as per international standards. We do of course the outmost to deliver the room before but it depends on the availability of the hotel. We have also encountered some technical problems at that period with some of our rooms which have delayed a bit the check-in time. We apologies once again for the inconvenience caused.

Should our guests wish to have an improved comfort with an early check in, we offer various options that can be booked in advance through the hotel or your Tour Operator. We also offer a free access to an exclusive arrival and departure lounge a free access with lockers, private showers, changing cabin units, flat screen TV, internet corner and a seating area to directly start their journey on this paradise island.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back on the Maritim Estate for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.
Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Second time at this hotel and it was just as amazing as the first. The grounds are fabulous and the hotel is stunning. We had breakfast on the beach every morning, it was just amazing! Worth a mention was the dive centre. The guys here were all super nice. We did our Padi Open Water certificate and what a place it was to do it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tomsandison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Loyal Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor and your faithfulness to MARITIM
Hotel Mauritius.

The entire team is glad that you have once again enjoyed your stay among us and met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on the Maritim Estate!

Yours Truly,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had a great time nothing was to much trouble, great place, great staff,great food, wonderful setting, 30 deg most of time lots of things included on ai that not in other places ,we did the passport and loved the fine dinning

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsnelson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to learn that you consider the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like ‘Amazing!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your holidays and also for your warm feedback.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.


Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed on b&b for a week and chose the resort mainly due to reviews here on TA. We prefer b&b as we like the freedom to eat what we want when we want. This backfired on us a couple of times as the restaurants book up days in advance. The BBQ night didn't even happen one night so we had either room service or the buffet. Room service won and it was ok but a little limited.
Fortunately we did manage to get a table at La Maree on our last night and it was superb from start to finish. Highly recommended.
Our room was excellent. Very comfy bed and we liked the open plan aspect of the bathroom. We used the spa and gym which were both good.
The staff were a little inconsistent with their service but this didn't distract us from enjoying the beautiful resort and surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations. We have taken good note of your valuable comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back on the MARITIM estate for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.
Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews