We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just book !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
oakham united kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just book !!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Firstly the cons ..
Our early morning arrival was " botched". Not their strongest point.We were not offered the Arrival Lounge..tired and hot and unhappy .Told room would be ready 12 noon but got in at 3.45 pm .
But the Prestige room 233 was well worth the wait .Fabulous.Apologies made and accepted.
Last minor moan was housekeeping where fresh towels were only provided on prompt and mini bar not refreshed unless reminded .
But what the ...
The rest was a fabulous experience .We never "go back" but perhaps may make an exception with the Maritim.
Attention to detail by the German owners supported by amazing service from every member of the Staff .
Le Maree a delight ..the service impeccable..the vista amazing.Neelum,Vidya,Ishwaree and Rajesh the nicest of people A credit to to the Hotel and their Island .Food of highest quality .
Belle Vue fine ,Banyan first class as was the Quarter Deck bar.Get the Gourmet Pass.. The Chateau an absolute must ..we were not expecting that quality.!!
Never used the excellent pools ,why would you when you have that marvellous blue sea in front of you ?
Absolutely no problems getting a sun bed .. Service on beach exceptional.. Nothing too much trouble for the excellent Jay and Dave.If you want to purchase a sarong or two ,then the affable Vini Ba Ba is your man .
Spa treatments x 2 for my wife of the highest quality and water sports centre very well run.
Sandrine on Sports Desk made us smile every time we spoke to her and her pals (she sings well too ) ..
Our travel liaison company Coquille Bonheur (Cindy ) totally professional and transfers impeccable .Air Mauritius top class .
Very happy to be there and equally sad to leave.
Thanks Maritim
Chris and Sara Clifford

Room Tip: Go Prestige
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank forestclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs Clifford,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay among us!

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius, or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,445
    702
    216
    88
    51
See reviews for
724
2,188
61
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my wife for one week having booked this hotel as part of a British Airways holiday from Johannesburg. Nice greeting at hotel with welcoming drink for personal check-in in lounge area and unlike other reviewers, our room was ready as our flight arrived early afternoon.
We had a Prestige room, all-inclusive. Room was a decent size with excellent, quiet and efficient air-conditioning. Used the mini bar occasionally for a Coke or beer, otherwise drank at the Quarterdeck bar. Service for the room was patchy - no toilet rolls on arrival, occasionally only one towel between us and the fancy cushions for the bed were never put on the bed and were just left on the sofa and the bed covers were never put on. On some days the room was not made up until late afternoon.

Although the hotel has many restaurants, only the main buffet style one is entirely free and sometimes was full for evening meal and we had to wait for a table. Choice of food was good. The La Maree beach restaurant was very nice, but you need to book in advance - excellent service and very friendly for the 3 course table dote menu we had. Indulged in the steaks (extra cost) for our final night which were very good. We also went to La Maree for breakfast which really does make you feel you in are paradise.

Whilst not all drinks were free as part of the all-inc package, we didn't find this a problem as a reasonable selection of wines were available and the cocktail list was long and inviting. However on occasions it was difficult to ascertain just how much alcohol, if any, had been put into the longer cocktails. Lots of activities available - we did the glass bottom boat trip and I had a couple of days of archery where the coach was excellent. One evening they laid on a star-gazing event. Very knowledgable chap with a 6 inch motorised telescope giving fantastic views of the moon, galaxies of various ages including a binary star, Mars and Jupiter and its moons. A great experience.

Overall a good 4 star hotel, but don't expect 5 star. Whilst most staff were always very friendly, especially in La Maree, some struggled to even smile.

Also although there was a British Airways rep who came to the hotel, he never bothered to make contact with us, but that is a criticism of BA not the hotel.

Top tip - if you want to go on a trip to see parts of the island, organise it yourself with a local taxi company. We used TaxiMauritiusTours which were half the price of others offered and took a (free) packed lunch with us from the hotel. We also used them for the airport transfers.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your room, the choice of food and our restaurant La marée and its service, our sports activities and star gazing night.!

I have the regret to read that you have encountered some issues with our housekeeping service and that you had to wait to get your table some evening at our main restaurant.

Each of the incidents has been comprehensively reviewed with all concerned. It is certainly not the standard upon which we have built our reputation, or for which we strive.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments as it is mainly through guest comments that we become aware about improvements that should be made and this constantly drives us to excellence.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius.


Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Just had 2 wonderful relaxing weeks at the Maritim and was so glad we chose this hotel. We had a lovely suite(309) overlooking the golf course and beach. We tried all the restaurants which were excellent especially Le Chateaux and Le Marie the service was exceptional whether it was at breakfast or dining in the evening. Dave and his colleagues on the beach were there for all your needs, all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would recommend a boat trip to swim with the dolphins and do some snorkelling , a memorable experience.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and hopefully will be visiting the Maritim again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank magsandsherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to learn that you consider the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like ‘Wonderful'.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your holidays and also for your warm feedback.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back on the MARITIM estate for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.
Yours faithfully


Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We came to the Maritm to celebrate my 60th Birthday. In order to make this a truly 'special' celebration we had contacted the hotel from the UK about arrangements for champagne in the room, special breakfast and dinner on the day etc., they could not have been more helpful and attentive. We arrived, via BA, early in the morning and were warmly welcomed to "paradise" which indeed it was. Our room was ready and everything promised was waiting in the room. We had a 'Prestige Room' which had wonderful views of the beach and out to sea. The mini bar is nothing to get over excited about but, it had beer,wine and soft drinks which were all part of the All Inclusive (AI) package, these were replenished daily. On the subject of AI, a better descriptor would be 'Mostly Inclusive' as some drinks and other items cost extra as do some of the dining options and sports activities. Having said that, it is all quite clearly explained. We bought the 'gourmet dining package' and would recommend this. Eat at the Chez Mon Desire early in your stay as you will want to eat there again and possibly again! It is some of the finest food we have eaten in a long time. Breakfast on the beach at La Maree is not to be missed. Without exception, every member of staff was attentive, polite and concerned that our stay was a good one, they work incredibly hard and are also very proud of their island. I could go on about how wonderful we thought this hotel was but so much is covered by the other positive reviewers. On a final note, we are relatively new divers and made 5 dives with the guys at the Maritim Dive Centre. Every one there was superb, great fun and knowledgeable helping us to feel confident and improving our technique. We would recommend them without any hesitation. Overall a fabulous way to celebrate my 60th Birthday!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SandRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met and exceeded your expectations!

Thank you once again for having chosen our resort to celebrate your 60th anniversary and for your warm feedback.

Looking forward to welcome you again on the Maritim Estate!

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have a lot to say here, the vast majority of this hotel is excellent. The food, the service, the staff, the bars, the beach. I won't go on. Suffice it to say that I would recommend a holiday here to anyone, it is the genuine tropical paradise. I have two criticisms. The BA flight arrives early in the morning, as do many here, be prepared for your room not to be ready, reception staff will take you to an "arrivals room" where you can have a shower, get changed, lock you valuables in a locker and go and enjoy your day; Be prepared to do so, but scrabbling through your luggage in a corridor off reception is not 5 star service, I saw people doing this every day we were there. ADVICE, Don't lie, tell people their room won't be ready till at least 4 pm, one couples room was not ready till 6 pm. This is not good. Another criticism. The minibar in our room didn't work, the beer and wine were both warm, the chocolate had melted, we reported it on the second day, by the 5th day it had started to smell. We reported it again, someone came and washed it out but it was still warm. THIS is NOT 5 star service. Putting all that aside, I would still go back here, because once you are installed in your room everything else is too wonderful for words. Overall, excellent but small details need attention and full marks to the staff for their hard work. The restaurants are really amazing, the drinks are excellent and the staff are so helpfull and friendly, I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The view from most of the rooms is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ronpSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Maritim Hotel Mauritius!
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to learn that you consider the Maritim Hotel Mauritius like ‘a Genuine Tropical Paradise & to wonderful for words’ and that you have appreciated the food, the staff, the beach, restaurants and bars!

I have the regret to read that you have encountered some issues with your mini bar. Kindly rest assured that we have taken all the necessary measures to address this issue.

Regarding your arrival at the resort, the check in time is indeed 3pm as per international standards. We do of course the outmost to deliver the room before but it depends on the availability of the hotel. We have also encountered some technical problems at that period with some of our rooms which have delayed a bit the check-in time. We apologies once again for the inconvenience caused.

Should our guests wish to have an improved comfort with an early check in, we offer various options that can be booked in advance through the hotel or your Tour Operator. We also offer a free access to an exclusive arrival and departure lounge a free access with lockers, private showers, changing cabin units, flat screen TV, internet corner and a seating area to directly start their journey on this paradise island.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back on the Maritim Estate for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.
Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Second time at this hotel and it was just as amazing as the first. The grounds are fabulous and the hotel is stunning. We had breakfast on the beach every morning, it was just amazing! Worth a mention was the dive centre. The guys here were all super nice. We did our Padi Open Water certificate and what a place it was to do it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tomsandison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Loyal Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor and your faithfulness to MARITIM
Hotel Mauritius.

The entire team is glad that you have once again enjoyed your stay among us and met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on the Maritim Estate!

Yours Truly,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had a great time nothing was to much trouble, great place, great staff,great food, wonderful setting, 30 deg most of time lots of things included on ai that not in other places ,we did the passport and loved the fine dinning

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsnelson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to learn that you consider the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like ‘Amazing!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your holidays and also for your warm feedback.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.


Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.3 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,454 reviews
28.9 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
10.3 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Property: Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing