We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$458
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$370
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$699
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$619
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$670
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$327
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Sea View Villas(Balaclava)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$1,063
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$593
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$391
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$331
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Ile Maurice(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (3,788)
Filter reviews
3,788 results
Traveller rating
2,640
765
232
92
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,640
765
232
92
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprestige roomhorse ridingquarter deck barbelle vuechateau mon desirla maree restaurantvip beachall inclusive packagequarterdeck barmini golfgiant tortoisesgourmet passdeparture loungebeach restaurantmon desirele banyanbeach service
Filter
Updating list...
1,574 - 1,579 of 3,788 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

After a 12 hour flight and an hours car journey, it was so nice to be welcomed with a fruit cocktail and refreshing face cloth. We were talked through the all inclusive package and then taken to our room. On the way we were told that we had been upgraded and were amazed by the room and the view of the beach we had from it. We never got bored of waking up to this! Our room was on the ground floor and was massive! We had a patio area with 2 sun-loungers and a table and chairs. We used this in the afternoon before going for dinner as the sun would catch there before setting. The room also had a minibar but only certain items were included in the all inclusive package. The resort had given us a complimentary meal at Château Mon Désir and 50% off spa treatments as it was our honeymoon. We dined mostly at Belle Vue which was a buffet restaurant. They served the same sorts of things at each breakfast and lunch but there was enough variety to have something different each day. The evening buffet was themed each day on a different type of cuisine. All the food was being cooked at live cooking stations in the restaurant and was always really tasty! We booked lobster night at La Marée Beach Restaurant which was amazing! We did try to book for steak night but this was fully booked so be quick if you want to eat there for these. The Quarter Deck Bar bar was a favourite of ours and would make several stops there during the day and evening to sample the cocktails and take in the amazing views. The all inclusive options as marked with a star next them so its easy to choose. Trying the Mauritian rum is a must! We loved the variety of activities included such as kayaking, paddleboats, snorkeling, glass bottom boat trips, archery and mini golf. You can see which days and times activities are running by checking the timetables just off reception. Archery was so much fun as the guy running it (can't remember his name) was awesome! We did use the pool daily but only for a quick swim and didn't take up the loungers all day like some people did. It was great that you also get drinks service there (and also at the beach) but the selection is more limited. The property has giant tortoises which you can visit at any time and we enjoyed the walk through the estate to see them as it was nice to get away from the main hotel for a bit. We made use of the spa treatments and then facilities included in the package (steam room, sauna and jacuzzi). When it came to leaving (very early morning check out), there was coffee, juice and croissants in reception to help yourself to before the journey back to the airport. Our overall stay was thoroughly enjoyable and this was thanks to the amazing staff who were always friendly and welcoming. The resort was always being maintained by cleaners and gardeners so was such a pleasant place to be. The only downside of this trip was going home. Thank you Martim, you made our honeymoon very special and we definitely want to go back some day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your warm feedback.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your honeymoon with us and that we have met and exceeded your expectations!

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights in October 2013 for our honeymoon. We booked this hotel through Trailfinders after reading all of the positive reviews and we were so pleased with our choice.

On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who immediately made us feel welcome, helped us with baggage and provided us with a welcome drink. This excellent service continued throughout our entire stay.

Our privilege room had everything we needed with beautiful sea views. The room was always cleaned to the highest of standards.

We were very impressed with both the quality and choice of food in each of the restaurants. We ate at the Belle Vue, La Maree and Chateau Mon Desir. The Chateau (fine dining) experience was not included as part of the 'all inclusive' package but we were provided with a free dining experience here given that we were on our honeymoon. This was a nice touch. I would recommend booking evening meals at the beach restaurant as soon as possible, fab setting and fab food. The only downside to our otherwise perfect trip was the excessive amount of small flies. I am not sure if this was to do with the time of year that we were there, but it did on occasion make some meals less enjoyable.

I would highly recommend a trip to il aux cerfs beach, we booked a full day trip there. The beaches are beautiful and the water is crystal clear. The swimming with wild dolphins experience is also well worth doing despite the early start.

We would definitely go back to this beautiful hotel in the future. A honeymoon to remember!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amesy_B2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon among us and consider it like 'Perfect'.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Firstly the cons ..
Our early morning arrival was " botched". Not their strongest point.We were not offered the Arrival Lounge..tired and hot and unhappy .Told room would be ready 12 noon but got in at 3.45 pm .
But the Prestige room 233 was well worth the wait .Fabulous.Apologies made and accepted.
Last minor moan was housekeeping where fresh towels were only provided on prompt and mini bar not refreshed unless reminded .
But what the ...
The rest was a fabulous experience .We never "go back" but perhaps may make an exception with the Maritim.
Attention to detail by the German owners supported by amazing service from every member of the Staff .
Le Maree a delight ..the service impeccable..the vista amazing.Neelum,Vidya,Ishwaree and Rajesh the nicest of people A credit to to the Hotel and their Island .Food of highest quality .
Belle Vue fine ,Banyan first class as was the Quarter Deck bar.Get the Gourmet Pass.. The Chateau an absolute must ..we were not expecting that quality.!!
Never used the excellent pools ,why would you when you have that marvellous blue sea in front of you ?
Absolutely no problems getting a sun bed .. Service on beach exceptional.. Nothing too much trouble for the excellent Jay and Dave.If you want to purchase a sarong or two ,then the affable Vini Ba Ba is your man .
Spa treatments x 2 for my wife of the highest quality and water sports centre very well run.
Sandrine on Sports Desk made us smile every time we spoke to her and her pals (she sings well too ) ..
Our travel liaison company Coquille Bonheur (Cindy ) totally professional and transfers impeccable .Air Mauritius top class .
Very happy to be there and equally sad to leave.
Thanks Maritim
Chris and Sara Clifford

Room Tip: Go Prestige
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank forestclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Mr. and Mrs Clifford,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay among us!

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius, or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed with my wife for one week having booked this hotel as part of a British Airways holiday from Johannesburg. Nice greeting at hotel with welcoming drink for personal check-in in lounge area and unlike other reviewers, our room was ready as our flight arrived early afternoon.
We had a Prestige room, all-inclusive. Room was a decent size with excellent, quiet and efficient air-conditioning. Used the mini bar occasionally for a Coke or beer, otherwise drank at the Quarterdeck bar. Service for the room was patchy - no toilet rolls on arrival, occasionally only one towel between us and the fancy cushions for the bed were never put on the bed and were just left on the sofa and the bed covers were never put on. On some days the room was not made up until late afternoon.

Although the hotel has many restaurants, only the main buffet style one is entirely free and sometimes was full for evening meal and we had to wait for a table. Choice of food was good. The La Maree beach restaurant was very nice, but you need to book in advance - excellent service and very friendly for the 3 course table dote menu we had. Indulged in the steaks (extra cost) for our final night which were very good. We also went to La Maree for breakfast which really does make you feel you in are paradise.

Whilst not all drinks were free as part of the all-inc package, we didn't find this a problem as a reasonable selection of wines were available and the cocktail list was long and inviting. However on occasions it was difficult to ascertain just how much alcohol, if any, had been put into the longer cocktails. Lots of activities available - we did the glass bottom boat trip and I had a couple of days of archery where the coach was excellent. One evening they laid on a star-gazing event. Very knowledgable chap with a 6 inch motorised telescope giving fantastic views of the moon, galaxies of various ages including a binary star, Mars and Jupiter and its moons. A great experience.

Overall a good 4 star hotel, but don't expect 5 star. Whilst most staff were always very friendly, especially in La Maree, some struggled to even smile.

Also although there was a British Airways rep who came to the hotel, he never bothered to make contact with us, but that is a criticism of BA not the hotel.

Top tip - if you want to go on a trip to see parts of the island, organise it yourself with a local taxi company. We used TaxiMauritiusTours which were half the price of others offered and took a (free) packed lunch with us from the hotel. We also used them for the airport transfers.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your room, the choice of food and our restaurant La marée and its service, our sports activities and star gazing night.!

I have the regret to read that you have encountered some issues with our housekeeping service and that you had to wait to get your table some evening at our main restaurant.

Each of the incidents has been comprehensively reviewed with all concerned. It is certainly not the standard upon which we have built our reputation, or for which we strive.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments as it is mainly through guest comments that we become aware about improvements that should be made and this constantly drives us to excellence.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius.


Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Just had 2 wonderful relaxing weeks at the Maritim and was so glad we chose this hotel. We had a lovely suite(309) overlooking the golf course and beach. We tried all the restaurants which were excellent especially Le Chateaux and Le Marie the service was exceptional whether it was at breakfast or dining in the evening. Dave and his colleagues on the beach were there for all your needs, all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would recommend a boat trip to swim with the dolphins and do some snorkelling , a memorable experience.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and hopefully will be visiting the Maritim again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank magsandsherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to learn that you consider the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like ‘Wonderful'.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your holidays and also for your warm feedback.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back on the MARITIM estate for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.
Yours faithfully


Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews