We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$454
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$370
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$694
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$665
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$327
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Sea View Villas(Balaclava)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$1,043
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$592
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$391
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Ile Maurice(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (3,787)
Filter reviews
3,787 results
Traveller rating
2,639
765
232
92
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,639
765
232
92
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprestige roomhorse ridingquarter deck barbelle vuechateau mon desirla maree restaurantvip beachall inclusive packagequarterdeck barmini golfgiant tortoisesgourmet passdeparture loungebeach restaurantmon desirele banyanbeach service
Filter
Updating list...
1,572 - 1,577 of 3,787 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

First of all this is a lovely hotel. We had a fantastic prestige room which was large and very comfortable. We only had a garden view though with a glimpse of ocean and this is despite emailing the hotel a few weeks before arrival with our request for sea view. However the room bar is included and a fresh bottle of water is delivered every night.
Overall the staff are fantastic although we found some of the reception staff a little disinterested. No sign at all of senior management.
Food is excellent quality although choice is less than we have experienced in other Mauritius hotels. Wine is ok if you can get a new bottle opened. By the glass is a bit hit and miss. I think it depends on how long the bottle has been opened in the extreme heat. On all inclusive the Banyan is buffet style main restaurant and struggles at peak times. They even suggest you eat early! We preferred the La Marree beach restaurant in which we had breakfast every day, part of the room package but extra if in normal room. The only odd thing about this place is that you are in a nature reserve and on the sea and the hotel seems to find it necessary to play recorded bird and sea sounds!! We also ate dinner there most nights and used their voucher dine around scheme which worked out a little cheaper and allowed us the try the Asian restaurant, very good but not my ideal choice, and the Chateau Mon Desir which is normally horrendously expensive. This restaurant whilst serving excellent quality food is very much over the top. However you need to try it and decide for yourself.
There is music mostly live everywhere at night so nowhere that is quiet and peaceful. The noise from the next door hotel was sometimes unbearable.
The grounds are fantastic and well kept and include horse riding, giant tortoises and an abundance of birds. All the usual activities are available at the beach and around the hotel.
Sunbeds are great but they actually employ a sunbed monitor! If you leave your sunbed for more than one hour they put a blue sticker on it noting the time. If this continues they state they will remove your beach gear and take to reception. This never happened while we were there but they seem to allow you to “book” your sunbed at 7am and then wander off and come back at about 9.30 after breakfast. All the best position beds were taken by this time. Why bother? Not really the thing for a five star hotel! The other “rule” that was not enforced is dress code at dinner. Men have to wear long trousers and no short sleeves and women no shorts and no T shirts. They seemed to enforce the men’s rule but not for the women. Some of the sights were not what you expected to see at dinner!! Again why bother?
A special mention the beach guys particularly Dave, who looked after us really well.
The beaches had some coral but overall really nice. Snorkeling just off the beach is good.
Overall a good hotel but this was our fourth trip to Mauritius and we preferred all the other hotels we stayed at to this one. It lacks the certain “Mauritian magic” of other places. Whilst I am no youngster even I found the age of guests staying when we were there to be a high percentage of older clients.
Supposed to be a very wet month but we had almost no rain during the day! Weather was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on trip advisor.
I am glad to read that you have found the hotel ‘lovely’ and our staff and grounds ‘fantastic’. I have the pleasure also to read that you consider the food of excellent quality, your room fantastic and the beach nice.

I have the regret to read on the other hand that your experience at the front at Maritim Hotel Mauritius did not met your expectations and did not reflect fully the level of service that has made our fantastic reputation. I am disappointed to read also that you haven’t appreciated our beach fait play policy and the dress code that have been put in place for the comfort of all our guests.

We have taken good note of all your comments and would like to take this opportunity to receive more feedback on what could be improved in our offering. As such, we would welcome your suggestions where we could improve our guest experience (info.mau@maritim.com).

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius.


Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had our wedding here and it was just perfect, the wedding planners are a credit to the hotel, they made our special day perfect in every way, VIP photographer were first class also quality of photos on beach were breathtaking we chose to have a video done as well and was well worth the extra money. The Mauritian people must be the most friendliest people we have ever met they always had a smile for u whatever time of day. The hotel food was excellent we ate at la Marie, for steak and lobster nights and la banyan Asian but to be honest food was so good in main buffet restaurant we preferred this. Met some lovely couples during our stay and most memorable night was when ourselves and another couple got serenaded by the band. We never once got bothered by the beach salesmen infact struck up wee friendship with christof bogof he was hilarious. We flew with Emirates again a first class service, as was our tour operators white sands there are so many people I would like to thank for making this the best experience of our lives and hopefully we will be lucky enough to visit this beautiful country and hotel again in our lifetime x

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank elaineabb0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius and congratulations again for your wedding!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for the beautifully worded review for us on this forum.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your wedding at the resort and it met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on the Maritim Estate!

Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

After a 12 hour flight and an hours car journey, it was so nice to be welcomed with a fruit cocktail and refreshing face cloth. We were talked through the all inclusive package and then taken to our room. On the way we were told that we had been upgraded and were amazed by the room and the view of the beach we had from it. We never got bored of waking up to this! Our room was on the ground floor and was massive! We had a patio area with 2 sun-loungers and a table and chairs. We used this in the afternoon before going for dinner as the sun would catch there before setting. The room also had a minibar but only certain items were included in the all inclusive package. The resort had given us a complimentary meal at Château Mon Désir and 50% off spa treatments as it was our honeymoon. We dined mostly at Belle Vue which was a buffet restaurant. They served the same sorts of things at each breakfast and lunch but there was enough variety to have something different each day. The evening buffet was themed each day on a different type of cuisine. All the food was being cooked at live cooking stations in the restaurant and was always really tasty! We booked lobster night at La Marée Beach Restaurant which was amazing! We did try to book for steak night but this was fully booked so be quick if you want to eat there for these. The Quarter Deck Bar bar was a favourite of ours and would make several stops there during the day and evening to sample the cocktails and take in the amazing views. The all inclusive options as marked with a star next them so its easy to choose. Trying the Mauritian rum is a must! We loved the variety of activities included such as kayaking, paddleboats, snorkeling, glass bottom boat trips, archery and mini golf. You can see which days and times activities are running by checking the timetables just off reception. Archery was so much fun as the guy running it (can't remember his name) was awesome! We did use the pool daily but only for a quick swim and didn't take up the loungers all day like some people did. It was great that you also get drinks service there (and also at the beach) but the selection is more limited. The property has giant tortoises which you can visit at any time and we enjoyed the walk through the estate to see them as it was nice to get away from the main hotel for a bit. We made use of the spa treatments and then facilities included in the package (steam room, sauna and jacuzzi). When it came to leaving (very early morning check out), there was coffee, juice and croissants in reception to help yourself to before the journey back to the airport. Our overall stay was thoroughly enjoyable and this was thanks to the amazing staff who were always friendly and welcoming. The resort was always being maintained by cleaners and gardeners so was such a pleasant place to be. The only downside of this trip was going home. Thank you Martim, you made our honeymoon very special and we definitely want to go back some day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your warm feedback.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your honeymoon with us and that we have met and exceeded your expectations!

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights in October 2013 for our honeymoon. We booked this hotel through Trailfinders after reading all of the positive reviews and we were so pleased with our choice.

On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who immediately made us feel welcome, helped us with baggage and provided us with a welcome drink. This excellent service continued throughout our entire stay.

Our privilege room had everything we needed with beautiful sea views. The room was always cleaned to the highest of standards.

We were very impressed with both the quality and choice of food in each of the restaurants. We ate at the Belle Vue, La Maree and Chateau Mon Desir. The Chateau (fine dining) experience was not included as part of the 'all inclusive' package but we were provided with a free dining experience here given that we were on our honeymoon. This was a nice touch. I would recommend booking evening meals at the beach restaurant as soon as possible, fab setting and fab food. The only downside to our otherwise perfect trip was the excessive amount of small flies. I am not sure if this was to do with the time of year that we were there, but it did on occasion make some meals less enjoyable.

I would highly recommend a trip to il aux cerfs beach, we booked a full day trip there. The beaches are beautiful and the water is crystal clear. The swimming with wild dolphins experience is also well worth doing despite the early start.

We would definitely go back to this beautiful hotel in the future. A honeymoon to remember!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amesy_B2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon among us and consider it like 'Perfect'.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Firstly the cons ..
Our early morning arrival was " botched". Not their strongest point.We were not offered the Arrival Lounge..tired and hot and unhappy .Told room would be ready 12 noon but got in at 3.45 pm .
But the Prestige room 233 was well worth the wait .Fabulous.Apologies made and accepted.
Last minor moan was housekeeping where fresh towels were only provided on prompt and mini bar not refreshed unless reminded .
But what the ...
The rest was a fabulous experience .We never "go back" but perhaps may make an exception with the Maritim.
Attention to detail by the German owners supported by amazing service from every member of the Staff .
Le Maree a delight ..the service impeccable..the vista amazing.Neelum,Vidya,Ishwaree and Rajesh the nicest of people A credit to to the Hotel and their Island .Food of highest quality .
Belle Vue fine ,Banyan first class as was the Quarter Deck bar.Get the Gourmet Pass.. The Chateau an absolute must ..we were not expecting that quality.!!
Never used the excellent pools ,why would you when you have that marvellous blue sea in front of you ?
Absolutely no problems getting a sun bed .. Service on beach exceptional.. Nothing too much trouble for the excellent Jay and Dave.If you want to purchase a sarong or two ,then the affable Vini Ba Ba is your man .
Spa treatments x 2 for my wife of the highest quality and water sports centre very well run.
Sandrine on Sports Desk made us smile every time we spoke to her and her pals (she sings well too ) ..
Our travel liaison company Coquille Bonheur (Cindy ) totally professional and transfers impeccable .Air Mauritius top class .
Very happy to be there and equally sad to leave.
Thanks Maritim
Chris and Sara Clifford

Room Tip: Go Prestige
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank forestclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Mr. and Mrs Clifford,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay among us!

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius, or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews