We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We travelled to this hotel last August and it was the best holiday we have ever had. From the moment you walk in you are treated like Kings and Queens, fresh cocktail and cold towels in the reception as they go through the hotel with you.

The grounds are stunning and its so big! So much to see and do, the ruins by the Chateux are fantastic. The beach is beautiful, it is not the Caribbean so don't expect white sands but it is amazing all the same, with lots of free water sports.

There are lots of restaurants to choose from, the buffet is where people tend to be most nights, there is so much choice, they cater for vegetarians and there even are gluten free options. Most nights are themed and there is always fresh salad and bread. Breakfast was always lovely with fresh eggs, pancakes, waffles, fruit, anything you wanted even processco! Ii would recommend visiting the beach restaurant for breakfast during your stay if its not in package, its only £6 and the food and views are incredible. We got a gourmet pass for our visit which was well worth it, just book up restaurants as soon as you get there, the Chauteux restaurant is amazing.

The rooms are beautiful, we had a prestige room that had a sea view and we loved it. Turn down service every night, free mini bar (apart from the worlds most expensive twix!!)

We did the walking with lions experience which is incredible! We also visited the town for a bit of shopping and did the bbq boat tour which was great.

Dont hesitate in booking, you will have the most amazing time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nikita_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay among us!

Thank you once again for your review and your kind support!

Yours sincerely,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,538)
There are newer reviews for Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,392 - 1,398 of 3,538 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

People say that going to Mauritius is a holiday of a lifetime and staying at the Maritim did not disappoint. From the moment you step off the plane to the point you get on the plane back again you are treated like royalty.
The food is very very varied despite being 'restricted' to 2 of the 6 restaurants in the inclusive package. You can opt for all 6 restaurants but you will need to pay extra. However, this is something worth considering.
There is plenty of activities for you though we did very little and the staff are continuously and consistently helpful, polite and so kind. This made the holiday just as special.
If there was any slight issue it would be the consistency in the inclusive package. Ensure you know what is inclusive and what isn't. This is only a very minor detail but Jet Skiing was part of the inclusive package but we found out that this needed to be paid for. This is a very very minor grumble.
Let me reassure everyone, this is one holiday and resort I will go to again and again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
6  Thank alantang75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations.

Thank you once again for your great support. We hope to see you back on the MARITIM estate for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.
Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

First of all this is a lovely hotel. We had a fantastic prestige room which was large and very comfortable. We only had a garden view though with a glimpse of ocean and this is despite emailing the hotel a few weeks before arrival with our request for sea view. However the room bar is included and a fresh bottle of water is delivered every night.
Overall the staff are fantastic although we found some of the reception staff a little disinterested. No sign at all of senior management.
Food is excellent quality although choice is less than we have experienced in other Mauritius hotels. Wine is ok if you can get a new bottle opened. By the glass is a bit hit and miss. I think it depends on how long the bottle has been opened in the extreme heat. On all inclusive the Banyan is buffet style main restaurant and struggles at peak times. They even suggest you eat early! We preferred the La Marree beach restaurant in which we had breakfast every day, part of the room package but extra if in normal room. The only odd thing about this place is that you are in a nature reserve and on the sea and the hotel seems to find it necessary to play recorded bird and sea sounds!! We also ate dinner there most nights and used their voucher dine around scheme which worked out a little cheaper and allowed us the try the Asian restaurant, very good but not my ideal choice, and the Chateau Mon Desir which is normally horrendously expensive. This restaurant whilst serving excellent quality food is very much over the top. However you need to try it and decide for yourself.
There is music mostly live everywhere at night so nowhere that is quiet and peaceful. The noise from the next door hotel was sometimes unbearable.
The grounds are fantastic and well kept and include horse riding, giant tortoises and an abundance of birds. All the usual activities are available at the beach and around the hotel.
Sunbeds are great but they actually employ a sunbed monitor! If you leave your sunbed for more than one hour they put a blue sticker on it noting the time. If this continues they state they will remove your beach gear and take to reception. This never happened while we were there but they seem to allow you to “book” your sunbed at 7am and then wander off and come back at about 9.30 after breakfast. All the best position beds were taken by this time. Why bother? Not really the thing for a five star hotel! The other “rule” that was not enforced is dress code at dinner. Men have to wear long trousers and no short sleeves and women no shorts and no T shirts. They seemed to enforce the men’s rule but not for the women. Some of the sights were not what you expected to see at dinner!! Again why bother?
A special mention the beach guys particularly Dave, who looked after us really well.
The beaches had some coral but overall really nice. Snorkeling just off the beach is good.
Overall a good hotel but this was our fourth trip to Mauritius and we preferred all the other hotels we stayed at to this one. It lacks the certain “Mauritian magic” of other places. Whilst I am no youngster even I found the age of guests staying when we were there to be a high percentage of older clients.
Supposed to be a very wet month but we had almost no rain during the day! Weather was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on trip advisor.
I am glad to read that you have found the hotel ‘lovely’ and our staff and grounds ‘fantastic’. I have the pleasure also to read that you consider the food of excellent quality, your room fantastic and the beach nice.

I have the regret to read on the other hand that your experience at the front at Maritim Hotel Mauritius did not met your expectations and did not reflect fully the level of service that has made our fantastic reputation. I am disappointed to read also that you haven’t appreciated our beach fait play policy and the dress code that have been put in place for the comfort of all our guests.

We have taken good note of all your comments and would like to take this opportunity to receive more feedback on what could be improved in our offering. As such, we would welcome your suggestions where we could improve our guest experience (info.mau@maritim.com).

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius.


Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had our wedding here and it was just perfect, the wedding planners are a credit to the hotel, they made our special day perfect in every way, VIP photographer were first class also quality of photos on beach were breathtaking we chose to have a video done as well and was well worth the extra money. The Mauritian people must be the most friendliest people we have ever met they always had a smile for u whatever time of day. The hotel food was excellent we ate at la Marie, for steak and lobster nights and la banyan Asian but to be honest food was so good in main buffet restaurant we preferred this. Met some lovely couples during our stay and most memorable night was when ourselves and another couple got serenaded by the band. We never once got bothered by the beach salesmen infact struck up wee friendship with christof bogof he was hilarious. We flew with Emirates again a first class service, as was our tour operators white sands there are so many people I would like to thank for making this the best experience of our lives and hopefully we will be lucky enough to visit this beautiful country and hotel again in our lifetime x

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank elaineabb0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius and congratulations again for your wedding!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for the beautifully worded review for us on this forum.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your wedding at the resort and it met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on the Maritim Estate!

Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

After a 12 hour flight and an hours car journey, it was so nice to be welcomed with a fruit cocktail and refreshing face cloth. We were talked through the all inclusive package and then taken to our room. On the way we were told that we had been upgraded and were amazed by the room and the view of the beach we had from it. We never got bored of waking up to this! Our room was on the ground floor and was massive! We had a patio area with 2 sun-loungers and a table and chairs. We used this in the afternoon before going for dinner as the sun would catch there before setting. The room also had a minibar but only certain items were included in the all inclusive package. The resort had given us a complimentary meal at Château Mon Désir and 50% off spa treatments as it was our honeymoon. We dined mostly at Belle Vue which was a buffet restaurant. They served the same sorts of things at each breakfast and lunch but there was enough variety to have something different each day. The evening buffet was themed each day on a different type of cuisine. All the food was being cooked at live cooking stations in the restaurant and was always really tasty! We booked lobster night at La Marée Beach Restaurant which was amazing! We did try to book for steak night but this was fully booked so be quick if you want to eat there for these. The Quarter Deck Bar bar was a favourite of ours and would make several stops there during the day and evening to sample the cocktails and take in the amazing views. The all inclusive options as marked with a star next them so its easy to choose. Trying the Mauritian rum is a must! We loved the variety of activities included such as kayaking, paddleboats, snorkeling, glass bottom boat trips, archery and mini golf. You can see which days and times activities are running by checking the timetables just off reception. Archery was so much fun as the guy running it (can't remember his name) was awesome! We did use the pool daily but only for a quick swim and didn't take up the loungers all day like some people did. It was great that you also get drinks service there (and also at the beach) but the selection is more limited. The property has giant tortoises which you can visit at any time and we enjoyed the walk through the estate to see them as it was nice to get away from the main hotel for a bit. We made use of the spa treatments and then facilities included in the package (steam room, sauna and jacuzzi). When it came to leaving (very early morning check out), there was coffee, juice and croissants in reception to help yourself to before the journey back to the airport. Our overall stay was thoroughly enjoyable and this was thanks to the amazing staff who were always friendly and welcoming. The resort was always being maintained by cleaners and gardeners so was such a pleasant place to be. The only downside of this trip was going home. Thank you Martim, you made our honeymoon very special and we definitely want to go back some day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your warm feedback.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your honeymoon with us and that we have met and exceeded your expectations!

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights in October 2013 for our honeymoon. We booked this hotel through Trailfinders after reading all of the positive reviews and we were so pleased with our choice.

On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who immediately made us feel welcome, helped us with baggage and provided us with a welcome drink. This excellent service continued throughout our entire stay.

Our privilege room had everything we needed with beautiful sea views. The room was always cleaned to the highest of standards.

We were very impressed with both the quality and choice of food in each of the restaurants. We ate at the Belle Vue, La Maree and Chateau Mon Desir. The Chateau (fine dining) experience was not included as part of the 'all inclusive' package but we were provided with a free dining experience here given that we were on our honeymoon. This was a nice touch. I would recommend booking evening meals at the beach restaurant as soon as possible, fab setting and fab food. The only downside to our otherwise perfect trip was the excessive amount of small flies. I am not sure if this was to do with the time of year that we were there, but it did on occasion make some meals less enjoyable.

I would highly recommend a trip to il aux cerfs beach, we booked a full day trip there. The beaches are beautiful and the water is crystal clear. The swimming with wild dolphins experience is also well worth doing despite the early start.

We would definitely go back to this beautiful hotel in the future. A honeymoon to remember!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amesy_B2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon among us and consider it like 'Perfect'.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Firstly the cons ..
Our early morning arrival was " botched". Not their strongest point.We were not offered the Arrival Lounge..tired and hot and unhappy .Told room would be ready 12 noon but got in at 3.45 pm .
But the Prestige room 233 was well worth the wait .Fabulous.Apologies made and accepted.
Last minor moan was housekeeping where fresh towels were only provided on prompt and mini bar not refreshed unless reminded .
But what the ...
The rest was a fabulous experience .We never "go back" but perhaps may make an exception with the Maritim.
Attention to detail by the German owners supported by amazing service from every member of the Staff .
Le Maree a delight ..the service impeccable..the vista amazing.Neelum,Vidya,Ishwaree and Rajesh the nicest of people A credit to to the Hotel and their Island .Food of highest quality .
Belle Vue fine ,Banyan first class as was the Quarter Deck bar.Get the Gourmet Pass.. The Chateau an absolute must ..we were not expecting that quality.!!
Never used the excellent pools ,why would you when you have that marvellous blue sea in front of you ?
Absolutely no problems getting a sun bed .. Service on beach exceptional.. Nothing too much trouble for the excellent Jay and Dave.If you want to purchase a sarong or two ,then the affable Vini Ba Ba is your man .
Spa treatments x 2 for my wife of the highest quality and water sports centre very well run.
Sandrine on Sports Desk made us smile every time we spoke to her and her pals (she sings well too ) ..
Our travel liaison company Coquille Bonheur (Cindy ) totally professional and transfers impeccable .Air Mauritius top class .
Very happy to be there and equally sad to leave.
Thanks Maritim
Chris and Sara Clifford

Room Tip: Go Prestige
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank forestclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Mr. and Mrs Clifford,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay among us!

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius, or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,484 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.3 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: £216 - £733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Booking.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing