We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is our second visit to the Maritim and the greeting we received was so warm and friendly and they “welcomed us home” which we thought was a lovely touch. We actually met friends of ours there at the hotel and Aurelie arranged my husband’s special birthday with a dinner at La Maree for the four of us on the beach and a cake, very well received and much appreciated. The staff are all so friendly and are a credit to the hotel. The food was exceptional and a great choice to suit everyone’s tastes, mostly freshly cooked. We were regularly greeted by Vimla at the Bell Vue Restaurant who was absolutely charming and always had a smile.

Horse riding on the beach was really good and the horses, who were ex race horses, were really well cared for and in lovely condition. You can either ride around the grounds and the beach, or you can actually ride the horses into the sea and they seemed to love it.

We can recommend the stargazing which takes place on a Wednesday evening near to the wedding gazebo. The gentleman was very knowledgeable and interesting and you actually get to see the planets through his telescope.

Thank you to Yvans for his patience in teaching us archery. We got thoroughly hooked on it and he made it fun.

We used the services of Taxi Mauritius Tours (Ali and Yasin) whilst staying at the Maritim, they are excellent, punctual and very competitively priced and took us on three tours around the island, two to the south and one to the north. We emailed Willy at the office and he replied promptly asking us for our room number and turned up at the designated time. They can be contacted at booking@taximauritiustours.com or tel. no. 230 5777-0256 or 230 5478-3933.

All in all another great holiday at the Maritim and we will definitely be returning in the future and can highly recommend it to anyone. You won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had room 464 and our friends had room 454, both with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SusiejaneRomsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met and exceeded your expectations!

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,407 - 1,413 of 3,566 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Got back yesterday from Mauritius , went out as a group of 10 (ages 40-60) , 2 of our group were getting married at the Maritim.
I booked with TC Signature online and flew direct with BA.
We arrived at the hotel at 7-00 am and were met with cocktails and a towel . 4 of our group had booked an extra night and were given their rooms straight away , the other 6 of us choose to wait as there is an arrival / departure lounge , where you could also have a shower , we had also put swimwear/suncream at the top of our luggage and as soon as you arrive , your all inclusive starts. All 5 couples had booked privilege rooms , but the 3 couples who waited were upgraded to prestige rooms , although we did not get them till 4-30pm , so do you gamble ?
The hotel is huge and grounds and rooms are excellent , the staff are brilliant , could not to do enough for you. The free activities include archery , sailing, mini golf , tennis and many more.
There is a 9 hole golf course , holes are 100m to 250m long, your green fees are included, but you have to pay for club hire 650MR , what we were not told was that we had to buy balls and tees , so if you are going , make sure you bring some with you.
Our friends who got married said the hotel staff were excellent, they were given a tour of the hotel to find a place to get married, they choose to have the ceremony at the ruins , by the water wheel , it was fantastic. There is a wedding everyday at 4-00pm and most couples seem to pick the beach , however you do get a lot of spectators and a couple of days , it was windy.
Your all inclusive food is eaten at the Belle Vue restaurant and yes food is repeated , but we always found something and we had 1 fussy eater , but he was happy as well. If you go to the others , there is a supplement . We went to the garden pub on the monday and had the BBQ ribs and salad (550MR sup) , it was so nice, we went again. We had high tea at the Château Mon Désir on the sunday (500MR) , very nice.
There is a gourmet pass (2800MR) which allows you to go to 3 restaurants of your choice , I think you would have to go to the Chateau 3 times to get the full value. The 5 course meal costs about 4500MR each plus wine , if you decide to get a gourmet pass , there is a set menu and you get your all inclusive drinks.
If I return to Mauritius , it will be the MARITIM.

Transfers - As I booked online , I got an itemised bill and found transfers would be £40 each for me and my wife , a quick internet search found Taxis Mauritius and I mentioned to our group , 6 of us used the service - 4800 MR return for us all ( 50MR = £1 app)
We used Taxis Mauritius for all our trips out and can very highly recommend them , it was a bonus as well because of the size of our group.

We went to :-
Horse Racing , Ladies are free , Men 175MR , racecard 40MR
Rum Factory 350MR
Sugar Museum 350MR
Botanic Gardens 200 MR - Guide 50MR per person for 1 hour tour
Port Louis shops and market - watch your wallets !!
Grand Baie - very nice

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ian2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for the beautifully worded review for us on this forum.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on the Maritim Estate!


Yours faithfully

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just got back to the UK from the Maritim. Overall a great hotel but there are some slight issues.
Firstly, if arriving early morning (BA flight especially) ensure that you have a change of clothes, swimwear in your hand luggage as well as sun cream. The arrivals lounge that the hotel provides is a fantastic idea but you cannot take your main suitcases there. We were also told upon arrival that we could not get anything out of our main suitcases. This meant that we were stuck in the heat all day and got burnt even though we were in the shade as we hadn't done this.
Also be aware that you are highly unlikely to get your room before the 3pm check in unless you are prepared to pay extra.
We did see several guests going through their cases to find a change of clothes, not ideal to have your smalls on show to other guests in the hotel reception area!
Food is good, buffet can be a bit repetitive but this is no different to other hotels. Recommend the gourmet pass as the Chateau, La Maree and the oriental type restaurant were really good.The Chateau was particularly amazing, best food we have ever eaten, service fantastic. We will use the gourmet pass to eat in the Chateau every time when we go back as they truly made you feel really special.
Rules regarding alcohol around the pool area were strange, you could go the quarter deck bar itself and have any drink from the all inclusive selection but if you went to the swim up bar, you could only have a choice of about four drinks, two of which were piña coladas (alcoholic and non). Beer was the only alcoholic drink allowed to be served to your sun bed by the waiters but you could not have a beer at the swim up bar?
Warning, be aware that they have just started to try out a set menu night in the buffet restaurant, avoid this if you can as it clearly does not work. Guests were waiting over 45mins to get the main course. The soup and starters were luke warm. Some guests never did get the main course! It was chaotic, we saw the wrong meals being delivered to tables. The choice on the set menu was very limited as well. Tip, find out if they are doing it at any point during your stay and book to eat in one of the other restaurants.
All staff were amazing, friendly, courteous and helpful.
The cleanliness of the hotel was faultless.
The spa was one of the best we have been too but can work out expensive so look out for the staff with the discount board when going to breakfast. They can offer up to 30 per cent off of treatments that are taken that day -Cannot recommend the spa highly enough.
The issues we have noted were very minor and we look forward to booking another holiday at this amazing hotel.
Thank you to the staff at the Hotel Maritim for making us feel welcome and relaxed.a special thank you to the two guest relations staff Kaveeta and Johanna (hopefully we have got their names right!) can't believe they remembered our names from day one. Also two bar staff at the Quarter Deck bar stood out to us for their great service and they are Khevhin and Ashwan, thank you to both of them.


Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank teejay62682016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your helpful and useful feedback.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay among us. We have taken good note of your valuable comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Will keep the review short and to the point. I chose Mauritius as my honeymoon destination and Maritim hotel as my temporary adobe while in Mauritius. It is a 5 star hotel and so naturally our expectations were high. But when we actually visited the place we were blown away and it was far beyond our expectations. In short we were lucky to have stayed in this place. It made our honeymoon memorable. They even sent a surprise cake to our room on my birthday.

There are so many things to do at this hotel, like many sea sports or cycling etc. that we felt we should not have booked a travel package and instead enjoyed our time at that hotel itself.

We had a chance to interact with other Indian travellers staying at other hotels and we felt the Maritim stood apart. I am not going to name the other hotels though.

I will try outlining some of the best points about the hotel:

1. The rooms are fantastic - with a amazing view (the rooms are lined up along a beach, so every room has a amazing view) and spacious too. You can just sit out on the balcony and laze all day long.

2. The hotel is so well spread out that you will never ever find yourself among a clutter of people. In fact we were tricked into believing that we had hired a private villa for ourselves. Absolutely calm place.

3. BEACH!!. A very neat beach right in front of our rooms. You can go out anytime and drip yourselves to your heart's content.

4. STAFF!!! So professional and friendly. Right from the moment you check in. They will make sure you are treated like kings.

5. FOOOOD .. A very nice spread with varying cuisines each night. I absolutely loved their breakfast. (mmmmmmm bacon)

6. SEA SPORTS : There are tons of activities / sea sports organised daily by the hotel management. Alas we could not attend them, since we ignorantly booked a holiday package from Thomson cook and ended up with very less time on our hands.

7. The place has its own charm at nights. And i almost forgot to mention this place has its own golf course.

8. Also every room has all different types of power sockets, so you dont have to carry on with you. Just try to scan around to find the one suited to your country specifications.

Note to tourists visiting Mauritius:

DO NOT take a complete tour package in your home country like we did. Best is to get down to Mauritius and then customize a package from the hotel itself.

We made the mistake of committing to a itinerary by taking a holiday package from Thomson cook and it had so much of unwanted things for us to do each day. We felt we could not spend much time in the hotel.


Note to Indian tourists:

If you are expecting Indian food, then this is not the hotel for you. If you are a food junkie like me itching to try each and every cuisine there is in the world, then every dinner here will hold a surprise.

Note to people considering this hotel:

They have a strict casual dress policy for their dinner buffets :
Men should wear full length trousers with shoes. So be prepared.

Room Tip: We chose standard sea facing room and were quite satisfied with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rahul_k_ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to learn that you consider MARITIM Hotel Mauritius like ‘Incredibly Amazing’!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your warm feedback.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met and exceeded your expectations!

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed in Maritim for one week in March. I had been to Sands Resort previously and was very sceptical about booking this hotel. I was wrong. What a delight. On arrival, we were offered cold drinks and towels. The receptionist explained the different restaurants and how All Inclusive works. I chose to upgrade from Privilege to Prestige and cost an extra 90Euros, which was well worth it. My room was on the ground floor, with direct access to the beach.
If your room is Prestige and above(suites), you have the option to have breakfast served every morning at La Maree Beach restaurant. It is a great restaurant with very friendly staff who were very attentive. My only criticism of that restaurant is on one occasion, it took 1.45 hours to have lunch. I know it's holiday, i'm there to relax, but seriously, 1.45 hours! 30 minutes before the starter came, another 30 minutes the main dish. It only happened once.
The grounds are huge, with the horse stables and turtles in the farm which I would recommend paying a visit. I also visited the spa, prices are similar to UK spas.
There are daily activities which are advertised on the television. I also attended the Star Gazing which I would highly recommend. I hope he returns to the resort again, it was his first session.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel. I had a relaxing wonderful time. On the last day of departure, we used the departure lounge which has great amenities and storage(u can store a cabin trolley in the secure cupboard). Flew with Emirates .

Room Tip: Upgrade room on Arrival(assuming they have availability), so much cheaper compared to rate quoted by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nangvil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met and exceeded your expectations!

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed in March as an older couple, all inclusive. I E Mailed the hotel requesting high room,which was granted. Room 454. Super View. Clean towels everyday. Belle View restaurant had small amounts of food cooked on the spot.Everything fresh,big variety. As special treat had Sunday Buffet at Chateau,which we would recommend. Staff & management couldn't do enough for us. We had a small niggle, which the management dealt with in the manner you would expect from a top class hotel.
My husband used Departure lounge, with all you need to shower & freshen up ,if you have a late flight.
Variety of activities included in the cost. We tried the pedalo & kyaking. We canoed up River Citron and in the Ocean. Also archery & mini golf.
We met friends there & arranged our own trips.
We would like to return one day. Gruelling journey ,but lovely hotel more than made up for long flights.

Room Tip: We had 454, our friends 464. Both lovely views, if you don't mind a couple of flights of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 899Sunrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We travelled to this hotel last August and it was the best holiday we have ever had. From the moment you walk in you are treated like Kings and Queens, fresh cocktail and cold towels in the reception as they go through the hotel with you.

The grounds are stunning and its so big! So much to see and do, the ruins by the Chateux are fantastic. The beach is beautiful, it is not the Caribbean so don't expect white sands but it is amazing all the same, with lots of free water sports.

There are lots of restaurants to choose from, the buffet is where people tend to be most nights, there is so much choice, they cater for vegetarians and there even are gluten free options. Most nights are themed and there is always fresh salad and bread. Breakfast was always lovely with fresh eggs, pancakes, waffles, fruit, anything you wanted even processco! Ii would recommend visiting the beach restaurant for breakfast during your stay if its not in package, its only £6 and the food and views are incredible. We got a gourmet pass for our visit which was well worth it, just book up restaurants as soon as you get there, the Chauteux restaurant is amazing.

The rooms are beautiful, we had a prestige room that had a sea view and we loved it. Turn down service every night, free mini bar (apart from the worlds most expensive twix!!)

We did the walking with lions experience which is incredible! We also visited the town for a bit of shopping and did the bbq boat tour which was great.

Dont hesitate in booking, you will have the most amazing time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nikita_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay among us!

Thank you once again for your review and your kind support!

Yours sincerely,
Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,505 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.3 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: £219 - £763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing