We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be returning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have just come back from a weeks holiday at this hotel (Not long enough!) and we already look forward to going back (for 2 weeks).
We booked a suite as we have a teenage daughter and it was better than 2 rooms. The suite was fabulous and really spacious with a large bathroom and dressing room, good sized living area (where they made up a bed for my daughter) and a good sized bedroom with super king bed.. It also had a great balcony, with a nice view. With this came the VIP beach and a free horse ride and a grommet pass, meaning we could eat in any of the restaurants at no extra charge. We also got a day and night butler service. Although we didn't really see the day one, the night guy was really sweet and helpful. We tried most of the restaurants and the food was a really high standard in all of them and the service superb. We tried the horse riding and archery some water sports and golf. All the staff were great, friendly and respectful.
The whole complex is spotlessly clean. We also went to the spa and had some treatments too. Wow! That was heaven and the girls are just so nice. My only criticism here would be the Jacuzzi was cold and although it was supposed to be over 18's only there were a lot of kids there, so we only used this once
It's a great place, plenty to do if you want it, but nice and quiet if you don't. What really made it for us was the beach service. Constant drinks and cocktails, snacks and cold flannels. Jay spoilt us rotten and when we could be bothered to actually move for lunch he'd get a table ready for us wherever we wanted to go. He brought us new things to try and fussed round making sure we were happy and relaxed.
Another special mention has to go to Seewooduth. What a sweet and adorable guy. How many people even notice him?? He cleans the beach at dawn every day making sure there are no stones or seaweed. He then rakes up all the leaves, then smoothes out all the sand. He waters the little plants on the beach tables and make sure the river is clear. He keeps his gardens immaculate and he never seems to stop all day. (see picture)
We would certainly recommend the Maritim. The Reception staff could maybe improve a little and there is no facility for teens to meet up with each other and make friends and the Jacuzzi was cold. Wifi in room not great. Very minor niggles that didn't really bother us at all as everything else was absolutely perfect!
Oh! And if you're an animal liver; The Maritim dogs, horses and tortoises are really well cared for and there's a cat cafe with food and water.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Denny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens L, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your helpful and useful feedback.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius, or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Jens Lassen
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,238 - 1,244 of 3,568 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Trust all of the reviews as we did and you will not be disappointed. We had a fabulous holiday after we upgraded to a suite ( The Presige room's small sofa bed was not suitable for an 11 and 9 year old). With the Suite comes space, a fantastic balcony and view, butlers, V.I.P beach area, more choice at all restaurants. This upgrade is really worth doing,
We were treated from start to finish like royalty. Everybody knows your name and wants to know how you are, even the Gardeners. At the V.I.P beach, Jay, the man who never stops, made our holiday with his cocktails, snacks and attention. I only had to ask once for a cup of tea at 4p.m and it was there every day promptly.
When the reviews say the pool is cold, they needed to say, freezing. That was why it was empty. Big shame!
What made our holiday was the PAWS programme on site where a very special man, Jean, looks after the hotels 5 adopted dogs. The hotel now needs to advertise that these gorgeous dogs can be walked by guests as we did not come across them until the second week and then we were with them every day. It would not cost the hotel much to get a few decent leads to help Jean out.
The restaurants were marvellous, especially The Chateaux. Having upgraded we went there frequently, but you just couldn't beat the burgers at The Grill!
The free watersports were excellent and my 11 year old waterskiied and mono skiied every day. As it wasn't busy she was there hours at a time, perfecting her skills. The ex-race horses were beautiful and well worth a canter along the beach.
A huge thanks to the smiling Kavita and caring Antje, the bubbly Tessa and all the staff who made this a wonderful family holiday. And one huge thank you to the most amazing Nolette at kids club who the girls fell in love with. If you go, say hello to my four legged friends!

Room Tip: UPGRADE to a Suite. The Nameste was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LWalton338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens L, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to learn that you consider the service at the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius and location as "Fabulous"!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your warm feedback.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.


Yours sincerely,

Jens Lassen
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our family have just got back from a two week holiday, which included my daughter's Wedding on the beach.

The staff are amazing, very attentive, it is difficult to single anyone out. All made our holiday very special and loved my two Grandsons which made their stay memorable too.

The hotel is situated in manicured grounds of tropical flowers and trees. There is a lake stemming from the 1740 Balaclava ruins, overlooked by the Chateau. The lake stretches to the sea, where water sports are to be found. The galleried Belle Vue, overlooks the pool and sun beds and most tables have a view of both the pool and sea. Simply stunning.

There is something for everyone, my review could go on and on.

All rooms face the sea, we had a Privilege Room, but the view was better than my other two daughter's rooms, however they had other perks in with there Prestige Rooms. We were more than happy with our room.

My husband and I only ate at the Buffet, Belle Vue and La Maree, but you can purchase vouchers to experience the other restaurants. La Maree has a set two option menu included in All Inclusive, otherwise I believe you can use All Inclusive credit towards another menu choice. We did not use this option as we found choices on the All Inclusive menu.

There are sports and water sports to take advantage of. Some are Free, but others you pay for. We played tennis which is Free, but charged £2 for balls, a nominal amount. We ourselves like to play table tennis, but played only once as the table has seen better days which was disappointing for us. I would've liked to see a games room.

We only used the Kids Club for the last few days. We knew it was there, but intended on a family holiday, so the boys were with us. My husband and I took our eldest Grandson who is three and a half, to Kiddy Olympics. Unfortunately not many kids came to do that, but my Grandson enjoyed it so much, he asked to go for the next few days and went Water Ski-ing on two separate days. There is a full itinery for kids.

My daughter's Wedding was simply amazing. The staff again were amazing, from the Spa where my daughter prepared for her Wedding, through transport to the beach, the a Wedding, Photography and La Maree for the meal. The weather held fortunately as it is now Winter in Mauritius, the weather was mixed, but on the whole little rain. The North West where the Maritim is located generally has better weather, so if you are travelling to the Maritim from the airport and see clouds over the mountains, don't despair, we came back with a good tan regardless.

We travelled through holidaysplease as agent, If Only Tour operator and locally White Sands for the airport to hotel transfers. The local agents can arrange a variety of tours to make your stay more interesting. With White Sands, we asked to go to La Vanile Reserve for Tortoises and Crocodiles, this was the only tour I saw on the plane going over and had my heart set on. We were booked into a tour go the South, which we understood included La Vanile Reserve. We did visit several places of interest including Rumerie La Chamelle, but felt disappointed that our tour did not include what we wanted. We did see Tortoises, but those at the Maritim were more impressive. There are tours as said, my daughters' enjoyed the catamaran tour.

The only down side for us was the buffet as the food is good quality, but I think could do with another station of food to give more choice. There were a few ocassions we struggled to put something desirable on our plate, but then again, we are not great fans of spiced or curried food, so only a minor observation and not to put anyone off as it is our opinion.

Room Tip: We had 361, a good view of Turtle Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Littlemisssunshine11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor!

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations. We have taken good note of your valuable comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back on the MARITIM estate for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours faithfully

Jens Lassen
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have just come back from 10 days at the Maritim Hotel and we did not want to come back home! The staff are wonderful and as soon as you arrive at the hotel you are made to feel very special. We highly recommend the Château restaurant. It is expensive but so worth it. We also ate at the Le Banyan and the buffet restaurant Belle Vue. Lunch was heaven as we sat on the beach while being served by great staff in the La Marée Beach Restaurant. The water sports are great there too. We tried the kayaking and our sons tried the water skiing.

Our rooms were great and overlooked the beach where the water sports were, so you could watch what was happening from the balcony.

I hope to be back there soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met and exceeded your expectations!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile


We are a honeymoon couple and booked an all inclusive suite which we would suggest was definitely top value for money.

We enjoyed the friendliness of ALL staff especially Jay and Dave (VIP Beach), Kumar from La Maree and of course our 2 butlers Sanjiv and Harish.

There's plenty to do if you like to keep busy or if you just want to do nothing then the hotel offers a very relaxed atmosphere.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met and exceeded your expectations!

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a fabulous holiday at a wonderful location with very attentive staff. Unforgettable. We also enjoyed a Magic Moment on the beach. We had our personalised menu, our own waiting staff and our own duo musicians. Our family all loved the many watersports on offer. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank DianeBlyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from MARITIM Hotel Mauritius!
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Maritim Estate and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

The entire team is glad that you enjoyed your stay and it met your expectations.

Thank you once again for your review and all of us hope to see you back for a yet another holiday with us in the near future.

Yours truly,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked our holiday in the Maritim with family to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and re new our vows. We could not have been looked after any better: our rooms were fabulous with wonderful views of the beautiful gardens and beach. Food was excellent in all the restaurants and the spa was amazing. What made our holiday exceptional was the wonderful staff: from the housekeeping, the bar and restaurant staff, sports coaches, management and communications staff, everyone made such a genuine effort to make our holiday extra special. The wedding coordinator Madhavi could not have done any more for us, she made sure that we will remember our special day for ever; thank you all.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Drea99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haje T, General Manager at Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your entry on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to learn that you consider MARITIM Hotel Mauritius as "Fantastic’!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen the MARITIM Hotel Mauritius for your recent holidays and also for your helpful and useful feedback.

Your gracious comments have been passed to our personnel, which will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards you have experienced, and which are one of the trademarks of our brand.

We would like to thank you once again for your comments as these will truly help us to monitor and improve our services and facilities even further. I trust you had a pleasant and safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again to MARITIM Hotel Mauritius, or to any of our other resorts worldwide.

Yours sincerely,

Haje Thurau
General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,507 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.3 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: £219 - £760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing