We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantic holiday ever...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2009

The special thing about this hotel is its atmosphere. It still has character, unlike most of the homogenous new hotels and the view as you walk through reception has to be one of the most stunning I have yet seen from a hotel. This was our first holiday without children in tow in 18 years and it was our 20th anniversary. The Maritim was everything we could have wished for. Our superior room faced the beach and we could walk directly from the patio to the beachside restaurant. The rooms were spotless and the staff were always friendly but never intrusive. The snorkelling was great. Our only regret was not bringing our own gear so that we were not restricted to the boathouse opening time. Just walking in off the beach we saw more fish than when we took a trip on the glass bottomed boat. The excellent buffets were themed so there was a good variety throughout our stay. I loved being able to waterski, kayak, snorkel and my personal favourite, sail the hobie 14s. The all inclusive deal meant I could have as many 'goes' as I liked. The boats need a little maintenance though. The cocktail list at the bar was great and I loved the view from our favourite table in the main restaurant which looks over the pool, through the palm trees to the setting sun over the lagoon. It was the best holiday I've ever had and i have been ski-ing, whale watching off Frasier island and on safari in Africa. Maybe it was the peace!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wanderer061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,538)
There are newer reviews for Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,391 - 2,397 of 3,538 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2009

We recently came back from a two week holiday to celebrate a special birthday, what a fantastic place, one of the best holidays i have ever had! The location was amazing, we had a prestige room over looking the lagoon, the room was spacious with a amazing walk in shower, the bathroom has a bath and a him and hers sink, bathrobes and slippers, the towels were changed twice and day, we even had a phone in the loo.!
The food was lovely what a selection, we ate in the bell vue in the evening and the quarterdeck bar a lunch time. The stafff were all so friendly and made you so welcome, especially, Dave, Deveren, sandepp, Ashvern, Buck and all the rest, nothing was too much trouble, very sad to come home, but hope to return to this paradise hotel and island one day!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WestCountryMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 10 nights at the beginning of March 2009 for our first real holiday away together. I booked the hotel on the strength of previous Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed as it is by far and away the best 4* all inclusive hotel I have ever stayed at (including ones in the Caribbean, Canaries, Spain and Egypt). The hotel is every bit as good as all the (good) previous reviewers have described it and there is nothing I can add to those reviews.

At this point I feel I should add a note of caution for those people planning to visit the Maritim when it reopens in October. The hotel is not closing for just a revamp, they are actually looking to upgrade it to obtain a 5* rating and as such gutting most of the accommodation blocks to make the rooms larger whilst reducing the overall number. This overhaul and upgrading in itself is not a problem as parts of the hotel are a bit tired and do need some TLC. The main uncertainty for those visiting after the upgrade will be the staff. At present it is the staff who make this hotel what it is, they are fantastic, however with the hotel closing for 6 months a large number of them are being laid off whilst some of the longer serving ones are being employed helping with the upgrading work. In addition some of the management and senior employees are being sent to help set up a new Maritim hotel in Beijing. The end result is that when the hotel reopens in October 2009 it could potentially be considered a new hotel with all the previous reviews irrelevant, I sincerely hope that this is not the case as the hotel, as it is reviewed here, certainly warrants its excellent reviews.

One area that I do feel the need to comment on which will affect future visitors, is the matter of the stray cats and dogs. The cats are not so much of a problem as all they do is wander around looking for food and attention although if the hotel does get 5* status I'm not sure people paying 5* prices will appreciate them in the dining room. For me the main problem were the dogs which seemed to fall into two categories. One group tend to be quite docile individual dogs who wander around with big puppy dog eyes looking for food and attention. These dogs can be quite entertaining such as when you are sitting on the beach watching the sun set and two of them start mating right in front of you or when having a very romantic meal sitting at a candle lit table on the beach and one comes up, sits down in front of you and begins to lick itself in the best possible taste! It's the second group of dogs that concern me and this is a pack of 8-10 fairly large wild dogs that roam the grounds at all times of the day and night. I didn't see them threaten any guests or staff however a group of them viciously attacked another dog on the beach and, had it not been for the intervention of guests throwing things at them, I am certain that they would have killed or seriously injured it. I dread to think what they would do to a small child (or adult) who approached one thinking it was docile or was too close when they started fighting. From what I saw I believe that it will only be a matter of time (if it hasn't happened already) before someone gets attacked by these dogs.

To summarise, a great hotel which I hope will continue to be so and one that I will certainly return to provided the reviews remain as good as they have been once it reopens - just watch out for the wild dogs.

One final word of advice for all those who have got this far, Air Mauritius have the most uncomfortable seats of any scheduled airline that I have ever flown with, it has taken nearly a week and a visit to a back pain clinic to get back to normal! You have been warned.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TerribleTommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Our honeymoon to Mauritius was booked by my husband's parents and when we saw the brochure 5 months before we were due to go, we were astounded by how beautiful it was. The only downside obviously is the 12 hour flight to get there, but believe us when we say it's worth it!
When we drew up to the hotel gates, we were amazed at the size of the grounds - which are wonderful to walk round (don't miss the ruins) - and at the friendliness of everyone (even the guards on the gate waved to us!). Don't worry though, there is no security risk that I know of. We received a cocktail on check-in and our bags were brought to our rooms, which are all sea view and air conditioned. We later learned that the hotel is to be renovated from April to October 2009, but to be honest it really didn't look shabby at all. Every bit of it was wonderful. The housekeeping girls are shy, but they do an amazing job, and they offer a turn down service in the evening where they turn your bed down, pull your curtains and give you fresh towels - real stars. The rooms have plenty of space, and include a room safe, writing desk, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities and a balcony with table and chairs. They even have a plug in mosquito repeller for the night time!
Every aspect of the hotel is clean, the staff were amazingly friendly and the food was fantastic. We were on an all inclusive rate and raved about the food in the main restaurant when we got home; each evening was themed and totally different, and in our 2 week stay we did not eat the same thing twice. The Indian evening sticks in my mind especially, as the staff dressed up, the restaurant was decorated and we were given bindis by the staff as we entered the restaurant - amazing! We also ate once in the a la carte restaurant Mon Desir and the food was absolutely superb. All staff are attentive - trust me, you will not have to lift a finger the whole time you are there!
The pool is lovely; freshwater and the view from the pool overlooking the bay is beautiful. The pool bar staff make sure you have plenty of water and drinks, and the bar staff at the end of each evening made sure we had water to take back to the room with us. The cocktail list is great and we worked our way through it each evening - the staff are persuasive! Their evening entertainment was really good as well, and we enjoyed each evening watching the belly dancers and listening to the music.
As it was our honeymoon we were treated very well, almost spoilt! Overall, we would definately go back as it was an amazing stay with amazing people in an amazing country.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

We stayed in the hotel last year after reading good reviews & also a recommendation from my travel agent. It was disappointing at the start. The reception at the hotel from the staff was very unfriendly. They made us wait for half an hour before giving a room. the receptionist then fumbled with the accommodation. The guy never even spared time to explain the various activities of the resort & only after complaining to the resorts asst. manager some action was taken. She was very helpful & we also complained abt the poor service in the restaurant. the beach was also very dirty as there were storms the previous week. Apart from this, the stay was relaxing & it is a good hotel but not worth the money we spent as we felt the attentiveness from the staff was missing. The view from the room was fabulous & the restaurant on the beach was excellent. Special mention is the extra-ordinary service from the waiter of indian origin at the fine dining restaurant

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chintu229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

We - me and my wife - spent part of our holidays in Maritim from Jan 8th, to Jan 14th 2009. We stayed in DBL Deluxe room No. 370.
Room was pretty big, with huge comfortable bed. Room was equipped with TV-set, minibar, coffee-corner and well-working air-conditioneering system. From balcony we can enjoy sunset into ocean every evening.
Bathroom was little-bit narrow, but clean and with working equipment.
Hotel have huge terriory with tropical garden, 9-hole golf course, tennis fields and off course with long-long beach of white sands. Two-part pool was ok, but need little renovation.
Hotel has 3 restaurants. In main restaurant - Belle Vue - was served rich breakfast, but we don't like bufee-lunches and -dinners, because mauritian curry-tasted meals was horrible by our opinion. But a'la carte menu was OK. We very like meals in La Maree and off course in Mon Desir restaurants.
One of the best places in this hotel - it was huge bar behind pool area. We enjoy drinks and entertainment program there almost every night .
Service at all was excellent - reception, activity desk, room service, restaurants, towel-boys - good staff everywhere - kind and lovely people. The best was bar staff without any doubts.
Hotel have business room with highspeed internet connection. In lobby I used WiFi-connection - it works normally, and rapidly.
PS! Hotel has all means for wedding ceremonies.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We arrived back from our two week holiday at the Maritim last weekend. We had a wonderful relaxing time and were delighted with the hotel. I think it speaks volumes that so many people return year after year. We spoke to one couple who visit the Maritim each October and February. Personally I would give February a miss, we had some pretty awful weather due to a cyclone ‘hanging around’ the island. I am told that September or October are best, I would love to visit again in October after the refurbishments are complete. I thought that the staff really made this hotel, they are always friendly and eager to please. They work so hard to keep all their guests happy and nothing is too much trouble. The all inclusive food and drinks were delicious. We had a regular room and found it large and comfortable, with a pretty view of the gardens.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyGinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,484 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.3 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: £216 - £733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing