We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff attitude is excellent, great sports and activities, enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Balaclava
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2009

The Maritim is part of a German Hotel Chain and has just reopened after refurbishment. Building works were ongoing when we arrived and in the previous two weeks guests had been offered alternative accommodation. The residual building works were room refurbishments and landscaping. The spa was not completely open. If we had been there for a wedding it would have been a disappointment. However things were gradually getting fixed, more guests were arriving and the main restaurant, pool and bar areas opened. There were a few power cuts and some floods.
Rooms at the Maritim are all sea facing with either a terrace or a balcony, in three story blocks in a ribbon development along the bay. It has a lot of stairs and walkways to the rooms so may be difficult for guests with disabilities. There are basic 'comfort' rooms which seemed to be in less desirable locations, 'privilege' rooms which are a bit bigger with seating area, 'prestige' rooms which are not much bigger but entitle the guests to eat at the Maree restaurant on the beach for lunch and breakfast (recommended), and various junior suites and honeymoon suites. The refurbishments were of a high standard. However we had issues with our ground floor room, the new bathtub drain overflowed and there was problems with electrics and flooding outside the room.
The management were very understanding and offered us a move to another hotel or an upgraded room on the first floor.
It is the attitude of the staff which meant that although there were ongoing building works we have rated this excellent. The staff are obviously all well trained to ensure that guests have an enjoyable stay, and did their best to make it so. When the hotel is fully open and functioning again I am sure that it will continue to get 5 star ratings from other reviewers. We met people on the beach who had been placed in other hotels and they all said the same about their accommodation - lovely facilities but poorly trained staff and food not so good as the Maritim. The room cleaning and turndown service at nights was also excellent.
We flew to Mauritius with BA from Heathrow overnight. Try for premium economy if using BA (unless you can afford business class). Economy BA is pretty bad. Flight on way out did not have new entertainment system, seats are uncomfortable - no foot rests; my partner's headrest came off the seat and had to be thumped back in place by the steward; and why does BA insist on only one piece of hand luggage in their ticketing rules and then let people on with huge wheelies and hundreds of bags? Finally babies and toddlers ... memo to parents, if your toddler is screaming then it needs attention - nappy change or a drink, or something to comfort it. Don't ignore it and help yourself to another vodka and coke off the trolley. Mind you Air Mauritius economy sounded much worse from what we were told by people on the beach.
The Maritim is in the North West coast of the Island, we were transferred with Mauritours on a bus / minibus which was all very efficient. It takes about one hour. We were welcomed at the Maritim with hot towels and drinks and checked in. We had to wait for our room to be ready but were given breakfast at the beachside restaurant Le Maree and our keys were delivered to us as we relaxed looking at the beach.
The Maritim has it's own beach area on Turtle bay with plentful sunloungers and a beach towel service (you are given a credit 'card' to exchange for a beach towel). We were all inclusive which entitles you to breakfast, lunch and dinner at the main buffet restaurant and allows 400 rupees (about £9) towards either lunch or dinner at the two a la carte restaurants. You are given a credit card which you use to sign for everything. If it's covered by the all inclusive there is no charge, if it's extra then that will be on the bill. In the bar the drinks and cocktail menu is worth reading as you can see what drinks are included in the all inclusive and which ones aren't. The cocktails are very good and you shouldn't need to run up a large bar bill if you are on AI. The local wine is perfectly OK with dinner.
The buffet restaurant is very good, has themed evenings, and some evenings a table d'hote menu served at your table. There is different local entertainment each night - singers, dancers etc. The Maree restaurant on the beach is just superb, lovely location and excellent a la carte food. The new restaurant Chateau Marais is in the grounds in a new building next to the Balaclava ruins and waterfall. We didn't dine there but the menu looks wonderful and they do afternoon tea and Sunday Brunch. The bar area does snacks but they come from the main restaurant and take ages to be served - quicker to go to the buffet !
The two swimming pool areas are quite small and I imagine could get quite crowded.
The sports and entertainment team are based around the pool area and there is a full programme of activities and sports for those who can manage to get up off their sunlonger. Everything from jogging, bicycle rides, volleyball, football etc etc. There is a fitness centre / gym which looked good but was flooded at the start of our stay!
The boat deck is the base for watersports. AI includes free waterskiing, monoskiing, wakeboarding, catamarans, pedalo's, canoes, windsurfers, glass bottom boat, snorkelling etc etc. The watersports staff are all really friendly, helpful and make your holiday enjoyable. There is a diving team, payable locally, and they run taster sessions in the pool for free before taking you out for dives on the reef. Cost for a dive about £45.
The golf course is interesting - positioned at the back of the accommodation block it makes the best use of a limited space. It is nine holes but many of the holes cross over each other or you have to hit tee shots over rows of palm trees. It's OK when the course is quiet but I imagine it can get very busy with lots of shouts of 'fore' when in full swing. Club hire is 1,000 rupees (about £20). We were allowed to share a set of clubs. Take plenty of golf balls with you as you will lose some using unfamiliar clubs. Take your own tee's as these aren't provided.
There are riding stables at the far end of the grounds, next to the giant tortoise enclosure (they are lovely) and three tennis courts (not open when we were there). The spa looks fabulous but is very expensive. They have wedding packages which are basically a hairdo and manicure / pedicure and cost about £200. They have about two weddings a day when fully open.
There is plenty to do in the resort, but Port Louis the capital is a £20 taxi ride away.( We heard that the taxi's outside the gates were much cheaper). We hired a car and driver through Maritours for £70 for the day and had a tour of Grand Baie and the Northwest coast plus a visit to the botanic gardens at Pamplemousse (highly recommended) and shopping at the Caudan waterfront at Port Louis.
The Maritim was of course not fully occupied when we were there and we did hear that in high season it can be very busy with long waits to be served cocktails, and difficulties getting sun loungers. There is meant to be free internet access in the rooms (not working when we were there) but it was working in the reception area. There is meant to be a movie channel (not working) but there are satellite sports channels. Staff did not expect to be tipped each transaction, there was supposed to be a general tip box in reception but we gave tips at the end of our stay to the staff we most interacted with. There are some shops / boutiques in the main reception although they were not fully open during our stay and contained mainly luxury goods.
Weather in October was mid 20's, mostly sunny but we did have two rainy days although this did not detract too much from the holiday (did sightseeing trips). It's usually quite windy - very similar climate to Hawaii.
Overall I am sure that there are more exclusive hotels with more luxurious accommodation available in Mauritius, but for a holiday with plenty of activities available, good location on the beachfront, good food and great service plus reasonable value for money (AI) I recommend the Maritim.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Frequenttraveller046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,473 - 2,479 of 3,654 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2009

Stayed in Maritim beginning of October 2008 as a present for my 60th Birthday from my husband.

Excellent choice - best holiday yet. Welcoming staff- spacious clean accommodation. Excellent food. Hotel for all ages. Good range of water sports-golf course-grounds to walk. Wedding venue. Transport freely available to nightlife in North & Port Louis capital approx. 15/20 mins drive away otherwise mainly restricted to hotel.
The island is a vast contrast from North to South and Ile Cerfe off East Coast is paradise. Stayed 10 nights & wanted more - first time thats been said! Definitely returning in future.

S - Kent

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mojoKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

This hotel was fantastic. We went to get married there and had a wedding co-ordinator from the start. She was brilliant. Well dressed, friendly, helpful and kind. She helped us before the wedding to decide how we were going to do things, what my dress was like, did i need help, did we want honeymoon suite (of course.. it was beautiful), did we want musicians, flowers, cake, evening meal, did we have witnesses or should she supply (we met a nice couple out there who became our witnesses), what food we wanted, photographer or videographer needed, which venue (the beach or gardens for ceremony), were we going to come down together or just me with the musicians etc.

The whole day was fantastic and we would recommend it to anyone.

The hotel was lovely and the staff excellent. they carried our plates to the table at dinner, we felt rude saying no, they were polite and helpful all the time. The bar staff were great and loved to make us some fabulous cocktails (every one was different). No-one could fault their efforts.

The pool needed re-surfacing but it was not awful and it was only the bottom that had some broken bits. This was being done with the refurb currently being done. The view from the infinity pook was lovely, especially at sunset. It was great being served drinks whilst in the pool bar too!

The free watersports were well worth it. We did kayaking, canoeing & pedelo boating. There was a river up into a lake which was lovely, we kayaked up there and there was no-one there but us and the flying fish which jumped over us whilst we moved... fantastic.

Whatever you do... go to this hotel... we will return in a few years with the family for a renewal of our vows... AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zoemartinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

I cannot explain how thrilled I was when I arrived at the Maritim. It is beautiful...by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in and I have stayed in some amazing hotels. Just read all of those 5* ratings that people have written about the hotel and you will see what kind of a stay you are going to get.

With regards to the hotel star rating, the hotel will not be upgraded to a 5* as the whole chain of Maritim hotels is 4* Deluxe. They do not want to go up to 5*.

The sunset just made my holiday! I could not fault this place once. I am very excited about returning again once the refurb is done. I can imagine it is going to be fantastic!!!

The wedding I saw when I was out there was perfect and the photos must look absolutely amazing!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnyshiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We stayed at the Maritim in 2004 on our honeymoon. We opted for an all inclusive option which only makes sense if you drink alcohol. On arrival, we were greeted with a lovely fruit juice and although the weather was a little cloudy, the service certainly wasn't.

The resort is excellent, the rooms were very nice, but full of gekkos! The beach, pool all lovely. Location is not the greatest as it cost us abour £15 to get to Port Louis every day. We had to use the hotel taxis.

Would definitely stay again, on our last night, the chef made us a special dinner which was great.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aladdin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We stayed at the Maritim in September/October 2007 for 10 nights on an all inclusive basis for our honeymoon and we booked it with Thomas Cook.

The reception area and the view from the reception is spectacular. It looks right onto the pool, pool bar and out into the ocean. No words can explain it and no photo we took really did it any justice - just go see it for yourself!

We were not given the room upgrade we had been told we may get as we were on our honeymoon. We were told it was subject to availability and upon arrival told they had no availability, however, it was early on in the season and during the day was not all that busy so not sure how full they really were. However, we did not let this spoil our time as the room was adequate and large enough. The only thing I could complain about it was the view from the balcony as we looked out onto roof of the restaurant and kitchens - not the most romantic, however, if you looked past that to the gardens and sea beyond, it was easy forgotten.

Upon arrival we were given a welcome cocktail and checked in relatively quickly. The meeting with the thomas cook rep the next day was not all that helpful and she tried to sell us more trips and tours than tell us about the hotel and its facilities but after speaking with the friendly and helpful staff found out all we needed to know.

Due to a delay in our flight we arrived about 2 or 3 hours later than planned and were outwith the meal times - we had to make do with the nuts handed out with drinks at the bar until dinner! (Although we were all inclusive the breakfast, lunch and dinner were served at specific times with no snacks available in between - so other than drinks being included it was really more a full board basis). Breakfast, lunch and dinner was served in the main restaurant each day. Snacks were served in the bar at lunchtime but you could only eat here if you hadn't eaten any lunch in the restaurant. If you had already had your lunch in the restaurant, you were unable to grab a snack later in the day with your cheeky 4.30 cocktail!!) There were 2 other restaurants you could eat in at an extra cost. We didn't eat in the beach restaurant (not sure why now but may be due to the fact we liked the buffet meals served in the main restaurant each night so never made it there!) We did get to eat in the A La Carte restaurant (entrance beside the main restaurant) and cannot fault it in the least. The 5 course meal was delicious, the setting romantic and the staff, were extremely attentive and of course the company was the best with my new husband (x).

Infact, all the staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful and attentive. We went to the beach most days and after the first day there they remembered our name, would greet us each morning with a smile and a friendly word and would have towels laid out on our preferred sunebds each morning! They also were on hand to get drinks for you when you required. The staff in the restaurant were also very friendly and helpful and on buffet evenings would often carry your plate back to your table for you! The same has to be said for the bar staff (especially Trevor (can't remember his real name but he was a trevor mcdonald look a like!!). Your drink was never left to go empty for long, if at all, before you found another in front of you.

It was very quiet and not much in the way of entertainment and not really sure where everyone went to after dinner - we did met a lovely couple though who were there to get married/on honeymoon (yes, that's you Tony & Fran!) and had a great time with them most days (we liked to meet for a 4.00 cocktail!) and every evening at the bar so we really made our own entertainment - although we probably had too good a time and the bar staff could never get rid of us although they never complained!! We were sad when we had to come home as we missed their wedding day by 1 day!

The hotel was about 1 hour away from the airport and about half an hour from the main city of Port Louis but once in the hotel grounds didn't cross the door again until our departure day - due to our laziness, the fact we were relaxing after a great wedding and how spoilt we were by the staff was probably the reason why. We do wish we had made it out at least once to have a look around the island but the fact we didn't did not detract from the great time we had. Next time we get there we'll see more of the island!

One thing to mention was how cold the pool was - the sea was much warmer! It took me about 15 minutes to try and pluck up the courage to get into it one day but think this was probably because of the time of year we were there - it may heat up the warmer it gets and the more into the season it gets - I can only hope so anyway!

All in all I can't fault our time spent at the Maritim - we would definitely return here again and can't wait until we can do so. Although, reading the more recent reviews about the refurb and attempt to upgrade it from a 4*to a 5*, hope it doesn't change the heart of what is essentially a great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsT74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

The special thing about this hotel is its atmosphere. It still has character, unlike most of the homogenous new hotels and the view as you walk through reception has to be one of the most stunning I have yet seen from a hotel. This was our first holiday without children in tow in 18 years and it was our 20th anniversary. The Maritim was everything we could have wished for. Our superior room faced the beach and we could walk directly from the patio to the beachside restaurant. The rooms were spotless and the staff were always friendly but never intrusive. The snorkelling was great. Our only regret was not bringing our own gear so that we were not restricted to the boathouse opening time. Just walking in off the beach we saw more fish than when we took a trip on the glass bottomed boat. The excellent buffets were themed so there was a good variety throughout our stay. I loved being able to waterski, kayak, snorkel and my personal favourite, sail the hobie 14s. The all inclusive deal meant I could have as many 'goes' as I liked. The boats need a little maintenance though. The cocktail list at the bar was great and I loved the view from our favourite table in the main restaurant which looks over the pool, through the palm trees to the setting sun over the lagoon. It was the best holiday I've ever had and i have been ski-ing, whale watching off Frasier island and on safari in Africa. Maybe it was the peace!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wanderer061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,566 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
0.2 mi away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,934 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#2 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
Price Range: £219 - £518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling sandy beach, tropical gardens and the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean... Live the essence of a great island escape!Immerse yourself in this luxurious five-star beach and spa resort gently nestled within a picturesque private estate along the protected marine park of Turtle Bay.Enjoy a prime location on the sunniest and sheltered Northwest coast of the island between the capital Port - Louis and the lively village of Grand Bay and indulge in the pure nature of the historical estate of 25 hectares awarded 'Most Beautiful Garden of Mauritius'. Be spoilt by world-class accommodation with 215 luxurious rooms and suites as well as an exclusive villa, all sea facing and elegantly designed ...ideal to embrace the tropical ambiance of the island. Savour endless culinary delights during your journey with an exceptional selection of five exquisite restaurants and three bars ranging from 'feet in the sand' beach restaurants to Asian fusion and the exclusive fine dining restaurant 'Chateau Mon Desir'.Pamper yourself in its 'Maritim Tropical Flower Spa', an oasis of wellbeing offering exclusive treatments and stunning facilities to relax and unwind.Those seeking for active holidays will benefit from an infinite range of land and water sports offered such as horse riding, golf, archery, water ski, diving and many more!Whenever you are looking for relaxing or active holidays, this 5-star luxury hotel, part of Maritim Hotels, will offer you an exceptional array of facilities and experiences combined with the highest standards of service delivered with genuine Mauritian hospitality. Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius ...your holidays... beyond paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Maritim Mauritius
Maritim Hotel Mauritius
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Balaclava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing