We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Nearby Hotels
US$323
US$295
Trip.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$590
US$575
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$436
US$408
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oberoi, Mauritius(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$713
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Ile Maurice(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$253
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villas Mon Plaisir(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Recif Attitude(Pointe Aux Piments)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa(Pointe Aux Piments)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,723)
Filter reviews
3,723 results
Traveller rating
2,589
757
227
92
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,589
757
227
92
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprestige roomla mareehorse ridingquarter deck barbelle vuechateau mon desirvip beachquarterdeck barmini golfgiant tortoisesgourmet passdeparture loungebeach restaurantall inclusive packagemon desirebeach servicele banyan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,486 - 2,491 of 3,723 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2010

A large group (11 for 2 weeks and 20 for a week) went for a family/friends wedding. On arrival a warm and friendly greeting the only thing was as it was an early arrival (0930) we had to wait till 1500 till we could get our room and 1400 till the AI started. The hotel kept most of us in one location, we were on the ground floor the room was fantastic a lovely view waking up in the morning looking at the sea what more could you ask for. The room was cleaned every day, we had our towels changed daily, there was plenty of room in them too. The food was great on the evening the food was quite fancy and sometimes it is nice to have normal food! BUT i will say that if there is anything you do not like or fancy to eat the staff will have what you would like cooked for you, you dont get that in may places. The staff at all meal times were very polite we could not get over how they meet you at the bottom of the steps and carry you plate to the table, you could never go hungry here. The Quarter Deck Bar was great they catered for the big group as did the restautant, they we all friendly and once you ahd finished one drink they came to clear away and ask if you would like more, they even catered for us when we watched the football keeping a big table so we could all be together. The staff around the pool were great always cleaning and making sure we had drinks. The facilities were good golf, water sports, the gym was okay. The hotel has refurbished the spa, the treatments OMG they were excellent i had 2 myself but i know some of the group had more and they were not disappointed. You could use the sauna jacuzzi, steam room for free all of the time you were not limited. Some of us went on trips they were a bit expensive if you went on the organised ones but if you booked a taxk rs3000 for a whole day and they took you where you wanted. People went on South West tour, shopping and to walk with lions (this was amazing you will find it hard to do in other places). The highlight of the holiday was a weeding (the biggest one they have had). Lovely right on the beach (a fewe tears were shed by some), then a sunset cruise (out of this world) and what a thing to do after you have just been married then up to Chateau Mon Desier for evening meal, the whole day was well organised and i have never seen a bride and groom relaxed (not too sure at the end for those speeches though). Even thouhg it is there winter at the minute the weather was excellent a few mornings that had some showers and clouds but they cleared the only afternoon was late on the 18 it rained and it certainly came donw. I certainly have never been to far away locations and i know poeple have said they are many like this but i certainly would like to go back i did not want the holiday to end but had to come back to reality!!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazydayzHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Stayed at the Maritim following a last minute booking. Was disappointed when we first arrived, but this was probably due to the long flight and over-cast weather. Once the sun came out, and we started to use the hotel, the place really grew on us. The food was great and did not get repetitive. The drink was always available (but what was included within the all-inclusive package, did become slightly confusing). The hotel grounds were beautiful and perfectly maintained. I can understand why people return year after year, as our stay was hard to fault on any level. The staff were friendly and attentive.
We did some diving, just out of the bay and all the sites we visited were great and the visibility was great. The golf course was fun; very short in distance, and the grass is very stiff. One shame was we did not get a horse ride in ... maybe next time.
And ever day without fail, the sunset was absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ando11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Whilst we were at the Maritim, we promised we'd write a review on our return as we had such a wonderful holiday and we wanted to make sure other people benefitted from our review. The hotel is smaller than we're used to and was much quieter than we thought as it was the beginning of their Winter season, however, both of these things helped to make our holiday even more enjoyable. The rooms were lovely, the quality of the food was fantastic, always a good choice and always cooked to perfection. The staff couldn't do enough for us and if we were bored with breakfast or lunch, they offered to cook us something different!!! The staff in the restaurant & bars (both by the pool and loungers) were brilliant. As soon as they got to know your tipple, they'd appear with a refill without you even having to ask. Everyone was just so friendly and helpful and small things like the quality of the towels and loungers just felt so luxurious. They even come round with cold towels when it was really hot, You also got someone come round with a selection of ice-cream in the afternoon. They have an amazing spa which has a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna which is free if you're a resident. We didn't have any treatments but they did sound wonderful.
The grounds are quite extensive and has a beautiful waterfall. They also have a small stable and a group of giant turtles which were amazing.
Our only one small gripe is the mini bar has to be paid for even if you're all inclusive. However, if we could back again next year, we definitely would.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShobandLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Due to the volcano ashes we were seriously started to panic as we have to fly out on time in order to be in Maurititus 4 days before the wedding. however we flew out without a hitch, apart from Virgin check in has lost us on their system! due to the ashes palavar! waited an hour and half before we got the tickets! we head straight to the virgin clubhouse... it a MUST go place as had a fanstastic lounge and was a real class! worth paying extra to be in there as gorgerous foods and drinks.

the plane was half empty and was only 6 people on the premium economy section.

arrived at the hotel with warm greetings, we were a bit puzzled at 1st when the member of staff explained how the two part of resturants were part AL, and give us rs1000 for the Chateau mon Desir. our room was on the ground floor, the rooms were stunning but didnt like being on the ground floor and requested to change rooms, which were all full but gave us choice if wanted to upgrade the room and pay for the privilege and they offered to upgrade to the prestige room as a wedding gift, well cant say no to that and was more than happy as we were moved to the 1st floor at the end of the hotel where it was dead quiet.
the weather was wonderful, rained early hours in the morning and late at the evening , so we were lucky to have the glorious sunshine.
the pool side was provided with lovely sunbeds with soft materess.
the wedding went wonderful did not want to end the day, and we were the only couple getting married in the whole fortnight we were there, best time to go is April... as I beleive July to Nov is hetic with having the weddings everyday.
the night entertainment.. i find it the same wherever we go in these exclusive hotels that they are very dull/ flat and needed a of a lively group with real music...( sorry!)
the foods well,, I didnt put any weight on ( surprisingly) was absoulte superb and 1st class rate. the Chateau where we had our wedding meal, was top notch as the serivce was very exclusive... I was shocked with the price of their drinks... as only had 1 G&T and my partner had a jug of water, came to RS600 ( £16.00) for one drink.. so beware!
but didnt stop us going for the 2nd time as celebrated my 50th and again that was fantastic and provide me with a birthday cake and was to die for, their sponge somehow tasted lighter and better than UK!
we were invited by the hotel management for the 3rd time at the Chateau Mon Desir... we been there 3 times and love their serivce ....very friendly and spot on with the quality service.
also a large delegation of Russian Tourist Industry visitors arrived while we were there and thought this would be very crowded in the resturant, but nevertheless they organsied this to be kept seperated from us and carefully hoisted by the management and I give them credit for thier hard work doing this.
we shopped in Gran Brie shopping center and found everything they were selling was very over priced and dead expensive! was really surprised as did not buy anything...
we booked business class with Air Mauritius coming home as did not fancy sleeping sitting up for 12 hrs! as was a night flight journey. the duty free there was a real dissapointment! cannot beat the good Healthrow duty free!! only had one big shop and few small tacky shops..their business lounge wasnt what we were expected either.... the flight and the seats were superb, plenty of leg room and streched out to lay down and give us a blanket and was a comfortable ride home.. the foods were highest quality combines them with elegant attentive serivce.
I deffo recommend anyone getting married to be attended at this exclusive hotel, as their wedding breakfast was out of this world, nothing was too much trouble for them.. I like to Thank all the staff at the Maritim for giving us an enjoyable pleasure moment of our stay.
x

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly50080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Pros; Warm welcome, beautiful location, food is plentiful & high quality, dining room dress code in place and enforced, plenty of well trained mature staff, pleasingly cosmopolitan clientele, well equpped spacious gymnasium, wide range of activities available if desired.
Cons; Younger male staff displayed an unwelcome interest in our female companions. Hotel management made aware of our concerns, and accepted a problem exists. Ludicrously high pricing of well known spirits in Hotel Bar.
AC / dampness and subsequent odour issues in various rooms for several of our party not resolved.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HS63Kuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews