We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to visit at least once.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2007

We booked a wedding package and to be honest it was pot luck what we would find. All I can say is thank you to the resort for ensuing we had a memorable and relaxed holiday, with just the right amount of attention to allow us to really enjoy our special day. If you are getting married by yourselves or with a small group, seriously consider this place.
Food - one restaurant was closed but who cares - just wonderful.
Beaches - nice choice.
Aircraft - yes you see and hear them, but not a problem.
Watersports - lots on offer and v.friendly staff.
Weather - actually it was pretty medicore, and we love the sun. The fact that we loved the holiday says how much we loved the resort.
Service - you have to experience this at least once. They are at your side sometimes before you sit down. If you are on the serinity package you will just love all those bills you sign with a zero on them!
Get married and I think they brief everyone as on 'your' day they all seem to know and make even more effort.
Mautitius is fairly unexciting outside of the resorts but they don't take tourism for granted. We even got flowers at the airport as we left.
The hotel deserves me taking the time to congratulate them.

Stayed: August 2007
6  Thank SanddollarSouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,456 - 1,462 of 2,466 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2007

We have just (20th) come back from a 12-night holiday to Mauritius, Lovely Island, lovely people and fantastic food. I booked what should have been a holiday of a lifetime but turned out to be just a nice holiday. Not the fault of Mauritius but Expedia who we booked the hotel through, I booked the Royal Palm in the north of the island, with a booking error ended up in the Shandrani in the south of the island.

The Shandrani is a very nice 5* hotel, it is a huge complex with a nine hole golf course, six tennis courts, two very nice pools and three well kept beaches. The gardens are fantastic. We stayed in a deluxe room with a lovely view, the room was spacious and spotlessly clean, the bed wasn’t very comfortable, two beds pushed together which caused a hard ridge in the middle, The room was in need of a little updating (I understand this is under way and all rooms will be modernised in the near future) but a nice room.

We booked on a half board basis, but on arrival decided to upgrade to all inclusive (or as they call it Serenity at an extra 52 Euros per day per person) as the hotel is out in the middle of nowhere the nearest shops being a good 15 min taxi drive away, also drinks and snacks charged at 5* prices, typical price for lunch of two coffee’s, two cocktails, one burger, one salad just under £40, on half board the menu available in the restaurants is limited unless you use the buffet. But the food is fantastic in the restaurants, (only used the buffet once, it was okay) the presentation the service and the quality could not be faulted, My partner not being a seafood fan found the menu limited but enjoyed what he could eat.

A very nice hotel… But!!!

The hotel in located just a short taxi drive from the airport, in fact at the end of the runway, the aircraft take off directly over the hotel, so if it’s piece and quiet you are after, this isn’t the place for you. Also being so close to the airport a lot of cabin crew stay there between flights. The hotel also caters for corporate groups, team building days, meetings and that sort of thing, they book restaurants en mass and are treated like gods but at the expense of the poor old holiday maker.

To summarise… the Shandrani is a very nice hotel, but an airport hotel, good for a few days stop over, not for a holiday as the noise of the aircraft, the air crew, corporate guests and very noisy children running round all day and night, I should mention the extensive building work that is going on all over the hotel grounds as well, all this could drive you mad as it did us after 12 nights.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank tandyCrawleyW_sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2007

We went to the Shandrani from 14th July 2007 and left there on the 20th July 2007. Everybody was soo friendly and helpful. We were on an all inclusive which helped as we had 3 children with us and they could have unlimited ice creams, food and cooldrinks etc.

The kiddi club was excellent, my 5 year old daughter refused to do anything else but go to the kiddi club which took her on the banana boat, crab hunting and even painted beautiful henna designs on her hands and feet.

My oldest boys thoroughly enjoyed the sking and snorkeling in the clear water.

The guys on the boats are brilliant, we especially remember Captain Jack Sparrow. We had such a ball. The restaurants were excellent and the apartments were imaculate.

Thanks to all the team

The Oldham Family

1  Thank Cathy050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2007

We stayed at the Shandrani on the serenity all inclusive package for 2 weeks - with 3 children (14,12,10) and had a truly fantastic time. The weather was just about perfect, with plenty of sun but at just right temperature - i.e. about 25 degrees C. There is absolutely loads to do with all of the activities - swimming, snorkelling ( fantastic - dont bother with the scuba), water skiing, sailing, tennis, golf, gym etc etc.
The food at all of the restaurants and bars was great, the kids loved the pancakes in the afternoon, the drinks all day was great for us grown ups. We had 2 adjoining rooms which we were delightful, and worked perfectly for us.
We did an all day boat trip with one of the guys who sells trips on the beach (Ronaldhinio and Captain Nemo) and had an absolute blast, we saw dolphins (unheard of apparently), did the falls jumping with the crazy indian guys, did parasailing - which was absolutely incredible.
Check out my flickr page for some of my holiday photos.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/9052564@N07/

Could not recommend this more highly for a family holiday, and ignore the comments about plane noise, you could hear planes for about 15 secs several times a day, no issue - and what's better than a 5 min drive to the hotel from the airport after a 11 hr flight!! My kids want me to book for next year already.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank AndyCGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We stayed at the Shandrani for the final leg of our Honeymoon in July and we had the Serenity Honeymoon Package. Before we got to the Shandrani we stayed at hotels in South Africa and Zambia and we were really excited about getting to the last leg of our honeymoon and relaxing on the beach and by the pool after a week and a half of Safari and activities in Africa.

On the way to the hotel my wife and i were talking about the fact it was a honeymoon package and how much we were looking forward to special treatment etc etc, nothing could be further from that when we arrived. If you do go to the Shandrani on a honeymoon package, please be aware that the only special teeatment you may get is a free t shirt and a miniature bottle of spakling wine on arrival.

We were placed in a room 10 feet away from the bar, restaurants/reception where there was loud live music every night until the early hours of the morning, which is good some nights but not every night!! The hotel is also directly underneath the take off flight path for the airport so from about 7am every morning you have jumbo jets flying over, this is very very loud and the room shakes when they fly across.

When you get the info for this hotel is states that guests must dress smartly for dinner. My wifew and i took a wide range of smart clothes only to find alot of people going to dinner in the a la carte restaurants in shorts and t shirts, which i don't mind but when you're told you MUST dress smartly on arrival we were a bit miffed.

On a good note the food was very good, beach was lovely and the majority of staff friendly. I however would not go there if you are looking for a romantic honeymoon destination.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charlie0349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

Booked with Travel Counsellors, Sharon, She was great with sorting all my family with varous different flights and dates.

We got married at the Shandrani, and the whole place was just lovely.

A lovely relaxing place, but there are plenty of things to do if you want to. The service was excellent and weather great.

We organised our wedding the day before, choosing flowers where to have the service, meal etc. we got married looking out to sea and then had meal on beach with BBQ, bonfire and torces, and had a mauritian band that we all danced in the sand to. The service was amazing, for example the weather looked dodgy a couple of times (it did rain occasionally when we were there but it doesnt last long so dont worry about weather reports) and the staff had laid another table inside with covered chairs etc just in case!!

Dont worry about the planes, you can hear them but it only for a couple of seconds and you only hear 3-4 a day if that, and never at night. The worst day is Saturday when there were about 6, but nothing bad to report of.


The birds in the restaurants are also not a problem, yes a few, only really in main eating hall there are a few waiting to eat your crossant if you leave it unattended, but it is again no problem.

I would definatly recommend hiring one of the boat trips, we had a great day out with Captain Zulu!!, private boat that went to the waterfalls, that you can swim and dive in, followed by visit to Le touserrok beach for water spots then a BBQ on remote beach, it was great and well worth doing, you get to see lots of the island!

its worthwhile tipping your room maid, and a bar person when you arrive, then you get even better service your entire stay!!.

The bar at the end of the hotel furthest away form reception is the best for food, drinks and everything really.

I really would not have any hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KAT529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2007

We were completely blown away by the Shandrani, it was fantastic. To be honest we didn't know what to expect as were only booked in for 1 night, by our travel agent, as a stopover en route to Madagascar.

From the moment we arrived the service was flawless, with real attention to detail. We were lucky enough to have a senior suite which was bigger than our flat! As a honeymoon couple there really were some delightful touches laid on for us, including fresh orchids and chocolates on arrival and, later, a complimentary bottle of champagne.

There were two lovely beaches and several pools (although we couldn't get round them all in 1 day!).

The food was very good and the bar had a really nice atmosphere with live jazz.

More good news was that the hotel was very close to the airport, ideal for a stopover. The bad news was that the hotel was very close to the airport! This meant the planes were only a few hundred feet above you on take-off & landing. That said, there were only about 4/5 all day when we were there.

In truth this was a fantastic stopover hotel, but we might have grown wearisome of the planes over a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Bay
25.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,862 reviews
30.8 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
28.7 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,434 reviews
19.8 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Address: Blue Bay, Blue Bay, Mauritius 50802 (Formerly Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Blue Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Price Range: £294 - £810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXURY HOLIDAYS IN MAURITIUS FOR BEACH AND NATURE LOVERS Located in the unspoilt south region of Mauritius, Shandrani is a welcoming five-star resort with a lively vibe. Set on a private peninsula lapped by the Blue Bay Marine Park rich in sea life, Shandrani has three different beaches to discover. A short boat ride inshore takes you to the famous Ile aux Aigrettes nature reserve. When it comes to sports and leisure, the resort has something for everyone. A range of land and water sports is at hand including water-skiing and golf (the hotel features a 9-hole Par 29, "pitch & putt" golf course). A sailing school and a diving centre affiliated to PADI will delight all sports enthusiasts. Other facilities include a spa and a wellness centre, both associated to the world-renowned Clarins brand. Four restaurants invite you to sample sumptuous dishes served with a choice of fine wines. At Shandrani Resort & Spa, enjoy relaxing holidays in peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shandrani Hotel Blue Bay
Shandrani Hotel Mauritius
Shandrani Blue Bay
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing