We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Just returned from the Shandrani it was one of our best holidays. We stayed in one of the superior rooms and the view from our balcony was amazing.
On our arrival we were advised to book the restaurants we wish to eat in during our stay. It was our 25th wedding anniversary the following day so we wanted to eat in one of them but they were all fully booked. We told them it was our anniversary and they said they would see what they could do. Later a member of staff came to see us and told us we had a reservation at the Teak Elephant. We had a wonderful day, later in the afternoon a cake was sent to our room wishing us a Happy Wedding Anniversary. The meal was a five course set menu and the food was excellent. Wine was served by the bottle and they had a very good wine list, and not to forget the glasses of champagne, A perfect day! The food in all the other restaurants was just as good.
The beaches were great, not over crowded and a guy with a drink trolley would come around with drinks and snacks.
There was alot of water sports and various activities to do, but we were rather lazy and only went on the glassbottom boat.
We did leave the resort for a day and visited the Casela park and walked with the Lions which was amazing, We had a taxi there, its about an hours drive from the Shandrani, the taxi driver stays and waits for you. He was great, telling us all about Mauritius.The hotel gave us a pack lunch which was very nice. (not to be eaten in the park)
Our holiday was fantastic, the staff the food the entertainment the gardens the beaches, and not to forget my back and neck massage. It was all amazing, we did not want to leave.
You are very near to the airport but don't let that put you off.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonJetsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,603
    529
    148
    68
    26
See reviews for
852
1,089
44
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We went to the Shandrani last October and we had a fabulous time. We had always been away with friends in recent years so our children were happy playing with other kids but this time we went alone as a family. We did lots of activities as a family and we all loved it, there was so much to do. All the staff were so accommodating and friendly and curteous. The guys at the boat house were brilliant. They were so patient and helpful to one of our children who did not pick up the skill of water skiing straight away. They had him up and skiing by the end of the week which made his holiday truly special. All the restaurants and bars were fabulous.

Originally I was sceptical about all-inclusive hotels and the quality of the facilities and food and beverages they provide but the Shandrani was exceptional on all counts.

My only slight criticism is that the rooms and bathrooms were looking a little tired but it has not discouraged us as we have booked to return this October.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Basically its all been said before how great this Hotel is. You really cant complain about anything... if you want to nit pick the pillows and beds could be a tad softer but that a personal thing, and probably would be a good idea if there were a few more sunloungers but that could be improved by stopping people monopolising with towels from 6am and not using them till midday!
Excellent hotel/resort though, the staff are incredibly helpful and always smiling, nothing is too much for them. The restaurants are superb, make sure you book them if like me you get a bit fed up with buffet food - not that there's anything wrong with the buffet but I like a plated meal served..... part of the holiday!
There is so much included in this fully inclusive hotel, premium drinks, such as four types of gin including Bombay Saphire and then Champagne as well so they have stinted and used local drinks. When eating at the restaurants (not the buffet) the wine is by the bottle too, not by the glass so you get to choose your type of wine.
Don't miss hiring a speedboat for a half a day, one of the few things you have to pay for but well worth it - also horseriding excursions are great and a half day tour of the south of the island is well worthwhile. If you book through White Sands tours at the hotel you get a personal driver and guide so you do what you want and every driver that we had took us exploring and gave great information about the island.
Truly a well worth trip. By the way 12 hour flight from UK so if going BA then if you can book at least Premium Economy... the extra leg room is well worth it for such a long flight.

Room Tip: Ask for a low number, they are nearer the centre of the resort.... the hotel rooms are in small bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Nothing was too much trouble for the superb staff at the Shandrani. We have been all-inclusive at other resorts around the world but usually there are niggling extras. Here there is even a free massage at their Wellness Spa, and after dinner brandy was always good quality and pre dinner drinks arrived with free canapes. I believe that the water skiing was free and certainly the daily snorkelling trips or glass-bottom boat trips were free. I personally would have liked rather longer snorkelling and an afternoon trip as well as the morning one. However the guys at the boathouse are very keen to see that guests enjoy themselves and I was offered an extra free trip to a better part of the reef on our last day which gave our stay a wonderful finish. Blue Bay is a Marine Reserve so the snorkelling here is almost certainly the best on the island. I ticked off 63 varieties of fish but there were many more that I could not recognise.
Speed boat trips were extra but these are not too expensive through the Hotel team or any of the private operators on the beach..
We stayed only for one week but made use of every moment. The superior room which we were allocated on arrival was 1.5 floors up and the sea view was not as good as some other rooms. We requested a change and were able to move almost immediately to a lovely ground floor room about 100 yards away with a lovely view. The room was comfortable and very spacious as was the bathroom. We had a 3 minute walk to the main hotel bars and pool and possibly a 6 miniute walk to the other pool by the Sirius restaurant. The weather was quite windy for most of our stay - unlucky - but the shape of the resort resulted in both the main beaches and pools being sheltered by the buildings behind and in fact you hardly realised that it was windy.
Jayshee was very helpful for moving rooms. Ashvin was very friendly and helpful at the boathouse.
Food - excellent. The main buffet restaurant served excellent food with a very varied choice. In additiion there are 4 restaurants where you have to book in advance and these are all excellent - Italian, Thai, Fish and International. These tend to get very booked up so you need to reserve when you arrive. The house wines are also excellent and free although you can move onto the select wine list and pay extra. We liked the South African white but there are excellent Chilean and French wines.
Altogether a very memorable stay and we wished we had stayed longer for more pampering.

Room Tip: ours was 211. if it ends in 1 or 2 it is on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schlimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I stayed here for business in January 2011. When I was shown my room, the phone did not work. When I called the front desk they sent a repair man, who said that he had tried to fix it earlier, and could not. So I was a little annoyed that they put me in a room where they knew the phone did not work. But I was moved to another room as soon as I asked.
The rooms are clean and overall are well-maintained. The decor is a little on the dated side. The rest of the resort is very nice. The pools are beautiful and well-maintained. The bartenders are friendly and make great drinks. One afternoon the bar by the pool was serving fresh coconuts filled with local rum and fresh-squeezed sugar cane juice--delicious!
The beach is gorgeous and the snorkeling was fun (but sign up early-it fills up!) The food was terrific and plentiful in all the restaurants we tried. I especially enjoyed the homemade yogurt at breakfast, and the homemade mango and passionfruit sorbet.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggiedoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My family enjoyed a summer holiday here, and stayed in one of the family villas which are huge! We had are own garden and reserved sunbeds on the beach with a cool box full of drinks each day.Two big bedrooms and bathrooms both with great round baths,a balcony,and a small lounging area outside the downstairs bathroom.There was a lounge and dinning area with a variety of soft / alcholic drinks, a coffee machine, fruit and snacks.
The beaches are great, my daughters and I particularly enjoyed the 'wild' beach which was desserted and stunning in the mornings we have some excellent photos from there.
The retaurants were good the thai was excellent but had the same menu each evening. The
buffet was the same each night (no themed evenings), and some dishes did run out.
There was not much entertainment for our daughters (age 10 & 12), they usually make friends
playing waterpolo which was advertised but we never saw in action.They are too old for kids club and too young for teens so something else for the inbetweeners would have been good. We did however enjoy the snorkelling,and boats.The evening entertainment was not great I can vaguely remember some singing in the background nothing memorable.
The proximity to the airport was a plus for us as previously we had stayed in the North, meaning a very early morning on the last day. I quite enjoyed watching the planes and there are not that many anyway.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rolomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We arrived at Shandrani September 1 at 7:45am and immediately got our room, no waiting till 15:00 for the room to be available, perfect.
We had a deluxe-room which was very nice, clean and at a perfect location, close to beach and Sirius bar / restaurant.
Grand Port Restaurant (Buffet), variety excellent, fish, meat, cold, warm, there's something for everybody and the deserts are amazing. There are over 40 wines and the Kir-Royal was super. The four a-la-carte restaurants you need to book and most of them you have to wait one maybe two days, my advice book everything once you arrive. Have a lunch at the Porto Vecchio! Overall the food is just amazing and high quality.
The bars Blue-bar and Sirius-bar are fantastic, very nice place to sit, relax and enjoy whatever you want to drink, try the B52 not on the menu but that doesn't really matter, the guys behind the bars love to make something special.
Pools lovely and not too cold, a shower near the Sirius would be nice. Beaches spacious, plenty of comfortable beds and there's a service at the beach bringing nice cold drinks and fresh sandwiches and salads.
The snorkeling is nice, get into the water near the senior suites and find your self a way through the sometimes shallow lagoon but you will see some nice fish, unfortunately a lot of the coral is dead, my opinion they should not allow the boats in that part of the lagoon, which brings me to one point of attention, when you go out snorkeling look up to check on the boats.
Although the Spa is not my thing we had one back-and-neck massage included and I have the say it was very nice, the Spa itself looks fantastic.
We have not seen much of the island but what we did do was Casela Park, the walk with the lions and tigers was amazing, an unbelievable experience to be so close to these animals, wow, and buy the dvd for some great pictures and film.
We left on September 15, pickup at 7:30pm and for a small extra of €50 we could stay in our room till 6pm which was just perfect.
Let me end with saying that the Service at Shandrani is Excellent, wherever you go there're always members of the staff to ask if everything is okay and if you need something, ask how they are doing as well, have a nice chat and give a little tip since these people don't earn a lot.
We would love to come back someday!

Room Tip: We stayed in Deluxe room near Sirius, very quit plus we stayed on top floor which is nice since you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Bay
25.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,714 reviews
30.8 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
28.7 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,192 reviews
19.8 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Property: Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Address: Blue Bay, Blue Bay, Mauritius 50802 (Formerly Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Blue Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXURY HOLIDAYS IN MAURITIUS FOR BEACH AND NATURE LOVERS Located in the unspoilt south region of Mauritius, Shandrani is a welcoming five-star resort with a lively vibe. Set on a private peninsula lapped by the Blue Bay Marine Park rich in sea life, Shandrani has three different beaches to discover. A short boat ride inshore takes you to the famous Ile aux Aigrettes nature reserve. When it comes to sports and leisure, the resort has something for everyone. A range of land and water sports is at hand including water-skiing and golf (the hotel features a 9-hole Par 29, "pitch & putt" golf course). A sailing school and a diving centre affiliated to PADI will delight all sports enthusiasts. Other facilities include a spa and a wellness centre, both associated to the world-renowned Clarins brand. Four restaurants invite you to sample sumptuous dishes served with a choice of fine wines. At Shandrani Resort & Spa, enjoy relaxing holidays in peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shandrani Hotel Blue Bay
Shandrani Hotel Mauritius
Shandrani Blue Bay
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing