We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to be spoilt stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We have been back to this hotel 6 times, the hotels and grounds are beautiful, there are 3 different beaches all idyllic
The staff are excellent, they cannot do enough for you. We felt like royalty there is aircraft noise but it didn't bother us. We came back from holiday on Friday and booked it again for next year so that says it all. Thanks again Shandrani look forward to seeing you all next year
Barry and Dee

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bardeepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,121 - 1,127 of 2,470 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

The Shandrani is in a gorgeous setting however the amount of children there spoiled it for us. I would not describe the hotel as being for couples. We had our wedding here which was amazing, despite the poor weather we had in the 3 weeks we were there. The food was excellent in all the restaurants, however again children ruined the intimate setting as the Bouccanier restaurant is adults only (over 12) however is situated so you can hear all the noise from the buffet which most nights consisted of screaming kids. One night in the Bouccanier 16 russians who apparantly couldn't speak English walked straight past the Manager and sat down, there were 8 kids in the party, one in a pushchair with a tv on the whole time. Completely ruined the evening. The Tek Elephant food was fantastic, however we were booked in there one night but when we arrived were told it was closed for a corporate function. Not ideal but the staff there were excellent and sat us in the Sirius restaurant with the Tek menu. I think without the staff at this hotel over the Sirius end the hotel would not be the same. We didnt go to the bar with the entertainment as we tried it once and it was like a kids playground. Overall fantastic food and drink choice, beaches lovely however sand very stoney and sea urchins all over, weather was rainy the whole time with not a lot of sun! Would recommend Casela Park (get a taxi) and a boat trip on Big Bamboo (8000 rupees for the day). I enjoyed my time here but as a couple would not return as its very much family orientated.

Any questions feel free to contact me.

Room Tip: The top floor deluxe rooms had more a palm view than sea, ground floor rooms had a better view. Supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Shird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just great. This place, all inclusive, is the perfect getaway for a family. Interconnecting rooms, great, great service, loads of space, superb food and a great wine list - something you don't often get in all inclusive. Have already booked to go back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Overall impression
We were a family of four with two boys aged 12 and 10 and spent 10 days at Shandrani at the end of April 2012. We went with our friends who had four children of similar ages and slightly younger. We thought it was a great resort which catered for most of our needs. The all inclusive option works really well when you have a group who enjoyed their drinks and food on a regular basis. It also takes away any unpleasant bill surprises at the end of the holiday. The quality of the food and drink is superb. The aeroplane noise is not an ideal feature on an island holiday but the noise of an aeroplane is very short. They are currently working on extending the one runway and it does spoil your view when looking out from the beach and pool area. I hope Shandrani arranges for bushes to be planted shortly to block the view of the extended runway.

Activities and excursions
We did two two awesome boat excursions
First trip included stops at Illes aux Augrette(a beautiful nature reserve island), the lighthouse, waterfall, a crayfish barbeque on the quiet side of Ille de Cerf island and then snorkelling at a coral reef on the way back to Shandrani. 
Second trip was to go parasailing, then collecting shells and a picnic at Vlammend(a small sand island near the edge of the reef) and then some snorkelling at Raj's special "blue water coral" spot - a truly magnificent spot with beautiful tropical fish and amazing variety of coral.
Speak to Raj, an independent boat operator who sells the boat trips at the Shandrani Beach hotel. He has a great selection of speed boats at his disposal and the boat drivers are all good guys. If you don't find him on the beach his contact details are: +2304915456 boobunraj@yahoo.com
I highly recommend doing a boat excursion as it really adds a nice dimension to your holiday.

Cycle to the Pointe Naturale(the natural bridge) - which is a beautiful rock arch along the coastline. The ride from the hotel takes you through the sugarcane fields, forests and along the coast and is about 18km and not to strenous. The cycle is organized by the hotel sports department

The waterskiing caters for beginners to experts with a good selection of skis, training skis for kids and wakeboards. The queues for skiing can get long but they then run two boats to alleviate the pressure, which is great. The sports crew were really helpful. 
The snorkelling, which is very close to the hotel is very good. Many guests from other hotels come to this coral reef because of how good it is. 

Weather - the weather was generally pretty good - sunny and hot 25 to 28. It was pretty windy on many days but the way the resort is configured means there are a number of places that are well sheltered from the wind. The three beaches which Shandrani has makes for a great variety of where and how to spend your days. The wave beach was really enjoyed by the kids.

Restaurants - the five restaurants are all fantastic and the quality of the food in the a la carte restaurants is very good. It is great to have four a la carte options as we did get tired of the buffet option. I would recommend having lunch at Sirius and  Porto Vechio as a change from the buffet and do the a la carte restaurants more often than the buffet.

Service - I can't say enough about the friendly and consistently high levels of service from all the staff - the restaurant waiters, the pool bar waiters. Many of them got to know us and remembered   our preferred drinks. We highly recommend the French Sauvignon Blanc - Entre deux Mer and Shandrani Surprise as a sundowner cocktail.

Rooms - the family room worked really well for our family of four. As a first time family visitor it was good to be positioned close to the main pool and reception area as the kids are close to the pool and the area where the skiing and sailing happens and the kids tend to go back and forward to the room a couple of times a day. The rooms  are due for a revamp in Sept  which I'm sure will improve the overall experience - although we did not spend much time in our rooms.

Entertainment - There were various bands and singers who sang most evenings but other than one or two these groups weren't very good. There is a lack of evening entertainment for teenage kids. The resort could do with a teenage room where the 12 plus crowd could socialize.  Our kids didn't use the Kids Club at all so I can't really comment.

Overall Shandrani was a fantastic experience for our family and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BryanJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We just returned form our weddingmoon at Shandrani,what can i say amazing it was more than perfect.We would recommened everyone to get married there,staff just couldnt do enough for you,felt like royality.
Big thank you to Jean-Paul our wedding planner you did such a wonderful job,you helped make our wedding perfect we cant thank you enough.Also go for the BBQ on the beach its out of this world food and serive more than 5star.Thanks to the guys and chef who serviced us at our BBQ.
All of the staff are wonderful who help you in anyway they can,always happy and chatty.Paul who was our room keeper was amazing,kept our room so clean and always having chat with us about different things to do in Mauritius.
If you get chance go to the Wellness Spa,as staff are great in there very relaxing massages.
We would recommend you book up resturants when you get there,especailly the Bucconears fish resturant food out of this world and staff amazing.Finish it off with cocktails at the blue bar very nice!!!!
The beaches are just perfect always loads of sunbeds to get on andthe drinks man keeps you topped up,if you want go on day out on speedboat you should ask for Raj and Zulu they are normally on the beach.They take you all over the place,snorkling ect we had such a blast with them boobunraj@yahoo.com get hold of them wicked time tell them danielle sent you.
The rooms are also perfect very clean,cool and great size bathroom massive in beach front room,wish was back there.
Also with the wedding side you should upgrade photographer to Daniel Decottor he did our pics and dvd they are perfect i have tears of joy everytime i look at them,what a talent Daniel has.
Also massive thank you to the lady who did my hair,make up and nails it was all flawless i felt amazing.
All thats left to say is stay at Shandrani its heaven on earth.
We will be going back asap.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are great quiet and very easy acess to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank danielle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from our daughters wedding at the Shandrani Hotel in Mauritius and cant find the words to say how fantastic the hotel and staff were. We were pampered from day one until we left yesterday 21st April 2012. We were welcomed to the Hotel with a refreshing drink we were then asked if we would like to book our restaurant evening meals for the whole stay,which we did with no problems. Our daughters wedding co-ordinator and photographer had every thing at hand and what ever we required made sure that it was done. We had a private BBQ on the beach after the wedding which was out of this world, the staff were very attentive and professional. We would like to thank Paul our driver who took us to Port Louis and who went out of his way to look after us all. The food was excellent 100%

Room Tip: We were on the first floor with a balcony looking out towards the Mountain View and it was so quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We have just today returned from the Shandrani hotel in Mauritius and would thoroughly recommend it. We are a family of 5 with children aged 8, 6 and 4 and the kids had a ball. If the kids are happy then we have a great holiday and the kids were very, very happy.

The kids club is good. It has plenty of different activities clearly listed out so that you can dip in and out as you wish. Activities such as t-shirt painting, making photo frames, fun in the pool or taking them off water skiing and banana boating. They also offer a great service whereby you can drop your children off at 6.30 and they will take them to dinner so you can enjoy a romantic dinner in peace with your other half until 10pm. One night after dinner the kids watched a show, another they played bingo.

The two pools both have kiddy pools but the pools themself are not particularly deep anyway. Our 6 year old was never out of his depth in either pool and our 4 year old could touch the bottom in much of the main pool except the very centre - this also makes for a more relaxing time. The beaches are lovely. The hotel is set in a large bay so two of the beaches are almost like lakes, clean, very calm and you can walk out 50 metres and still be only up to your waist in water. For those who like some waves there is a more wild beach on the other side of the bay. Everything is nicely spread out so you are not on top of other guests but all within easy walking distance. The pools are next to the beach so you can set yourself up in one place but just swap between the two locations easily.

If you are not near a bar or a waiter then there is a handy little golf cart that circulates constantly and will stop off with drinks, sandwiches and salads. At lunchtime you could eat in the main buffet restaurant or at the Sirius restaurant, there was always a good choice of food. We did get a little tired of the buffet restaurant and I would recommend reserving tables at the other restaurants on arrival so you can avoid the repitition of the buffet. As a family we prefer waiter service so that we can all eat together. There is a reasonable choice of food for the kids although our fussy boys tended to live on pizza, pasta, fish fingers and croque monsieurs. There was plenty of other bits though. We would thoroughly recommend the adult only Teak Elephant restaurant which offers a lovely 5 course set Thai menu, the food was fantastic.

The all inclusive option works really well from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave. We left the hotel at 7.15pm last night and had dinner before leaving. The kids can go up for drinks or ice creams whenever they like and they also serve cakes at one pool and pancakes at another between 3 and 5pm daily.

The watersports offered are great. Our 8 and 6 year old water-skied every day and they also had a sailing lesson, went out on an inflatable banana boat and, of course, there was also kayaks and the obligatory pedalos. The waterskiing is held at certain times of the day and they are brilliant with the kids with especially adapted skis. Everything else you just do as and when you feel like it. We also went out on a lovely speedboat ride which we booked through the hotel - remember to ask for a coolbox of drinks before you leave. Also, make sure you take up your complimentary massage in the spa - it's well worth it and the spa is lovely.

We stayed in a family suite - two bed/two bathroom and a nice large lounge area of the main bedroom. My only negative would be that the rooms, in particular the bathrooms were a little tired. However, the hotel is advertising that all family rooms are to be refurbished in September of this year so anyone booking after that time will have lovely accommodation. The rooms were not noisy and we were never bothered by noise from other guests.

Talking of noise, yes you do definitely hear the planes - the runway is just the other side of the bay. Having travelled to Mauritius before and barely survived the journey across the island we chose the Shandrani due to its proximity to the airport - it is less than a 10 minute journey to the hotel - handy at the start and the end of your stay. The planes do NOT ruin the holiday though. We counted a maximum of 12 flights one day (normally I'd say it was more like 10) and the noise lasts for 20 seconds. That's a total of just 4 minutes noise a day!

All in all we had a great 12 days and will definitely be returning to the Shandrani.

Room Tip: All rooms look out over the sea. There are no lifts so we were pleased to be on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JAtters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Bay
25.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,865 reviews
30.8 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
28.7 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,450 reviews
19.8 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Address: Blue Bay, Blue Bay, Mauritius 50802 (Formerly Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Blue Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Price Range: £295 - £813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXURY HOLIDAYS IN MAURITIUS FOR BEACH AND NATURE LOVERS Located in the unspoilt south region of Mauritius, Shandrani is a welcoming five-star resort with a lively vibe. Set on a private peninsula lapped by the Blue Bay Marine Park rich in sea life, Shandrani has three different beaches to discover. A short boat ride inshore takes you to the famous Ile aux Aigrettes nature reserve. When it comes to sports and leisure, the resort has something for everyone. A range of land and water sports is at hand including water-skiing and golf (the hotel features a 9-hole Par 29, "pitch & putt" golf course). A sailing school and a diving centre affiliated to PADI will delight all sports enthusiasts. Other facilities include a spa and a wellness centre, both associated to the world-renowned Clarins brand. Four restaurants invite you to sample sumptuous dishes served with a choice of fine wines. At Shandrani Resort & Spa, enjoy relaxing holidays in peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shandrani Hotel Blue Bay
Shandrani Hotel Mauritius
Shandrani Blue Bay
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing