We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely disappointed!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The worst hotel I have been to by far, boring, needs an upgrade ASAP and the staff need to learn english!
Considering the prices for the stay, absolutely disappointing.
More entertainment needed, more FUN and a better vibe is needed!
Everything is so far apart from the hotel, si much driving is needed to do anything in the country.
I will visit Mauritius again just not Shandrani.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
10 Thank Sandisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,565
    518
    144
    68
    26
See reviews for
818
1,073
43
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Beautiful hotel with everything you could need. Stayed for 10 nights over xmas and new year and had a brilliant and relaxing time. The short 15 minute commute form the airport after a long flight was welcomed. Due to the short distance from the airport there were 4-5 planes that would fly over the resort daily but after the first couple of times you get used to the sound and this should not put you off from visiting this beautiful reort.

The staff are absolutely wonderful and the service by the bar and in all restaurants is fantastic. Our rooms were in a great position, just a couple of steps away from a small, lovely and quiet beach and the main beach/pool and beach bar just around the corner.
The best part of the stay was undoubtedly the food. With five restaurants and an amazing buffet we were spoilt for choice and each of the menus provided a whole range of amazingly presented dishes. Our favourite was the Thai- Teak elephant which had an 8 course taster meal. The new year firework celebrations on the beach was a brilliant way to welcome in the new year. The all-inclusive package is great as it means you don't have to worry about a thing, and we took advantage of the watersports such as waterskiing and would definitely recommend snorkelling as the tropical fish were breathtaking to see. The package also meant that we all had a 45 minute treatment at the spa. In my opinion this is one of the most beautiful and tranquil parts of the resort. The pool area is beautiful and the outdoor huts where the massages take place made for a completely relaxing experience. The only negative if there is one was that the evening music and entertainment was at times slightly repetitive and boring, however the brilliant range of cocktails at the bar were really tasty and if you're just after a relaxing break this resort is definitely the place to be. A fantastic stay and would definitely return!

Room Tip: go for a beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amyd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Third visit to the hotel. Had an amazing time. They put on special Christmas Eve buffet and entertainment during the entire stay. Spa was great. Food excellent for an all inclusive and not just a choice of rubbish wine, proper wine menu to choose from. We are going back again!

Room Tip: We were a family of 4 with 2 kids aged 11 and 13. We took the family apartment which was right by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenproberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Can't say much more than the title, staff - can't do enough for you, food - best we've had on a holiday, location - it's Mauritius, do i need to say more!. If you are thinking of visiting definitely do.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Personally i was disappointed in Shandrani's entertainment, food and service levels.

I felt like we were in a resort for pensioners. The music they played at night was slow and sedating instead of lively and Mauritian. On one evening we got to see the Mauritian dancers for tow dancers as they danced through the restaurant and away.

There was plenty of food but nothing outstanding about any of it. My husband decided to make his own pizza in desperation of eating a full meal so he placed toppings in a bowl and gave it to the chef. He just emptied the ingredients on the base base and left them as they fell and stuck it in the oven - there was no attempt at all to spread the toppings evenly which would have taken very little effort. They boast they have 5 restaurants but omit to tell you that 3 restaurants have a set menu so even then you don't get to choose what you want. The room bar fridge would be stocked with half of what was asked for.

I needed to use their online facilities which is sold in time not data bundles. As their system was slow i had to buy 45 minutes for something that generally takes me 15 minutes at home. They explained that their system struggled with Java and would credit me the vouchers which they never did.

At the end of our stay my husband rang reception to fetch our bags. Half an hour later i walked up to reception and was told they were unaware we were ready.

It felt like a 3 star resort. All in all i felt if the surroundings were not so exquisite i would have been very unhappy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schwarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We recently spent ten days with our two boys (8 and 10). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The snorkelling is great, especially off the glass bottom boat (you need to book daily but we never really had a problem getting on a boat unlike at other resorts we've stayed at in the past). The snorkelling is close to the hotel which is great. And it's in the lagoon so no waves, and not out past the main reef which can get rough for the kids. The fish love to get fed and it turns into a bit of a frenzy if you're not careful! Good fun. If you go snorkelling off the beach I suggest wearing booties as the coral is really sharp. We took our own snorkels - a good idea as you can then snorkel anytime. Don't worry about fins.

We learnt how to sail - great fun and after an hours lesson we sailed on our own every day. We did need to pay for the lesson but it was worth it. The crew at the boat house are fabulous, always smiling and willing to help. They allow the little ones to ski from age 5 I think. Other resorts are far stricter and in our experience quite surly and not helpful. Quite the opposite here. You have to put your name down on the skiing list and wait or come back. An adult needs to sign in with the kids. Once you've had your turn you can then put your name down again. I think the system is very fair and again better than some other resorts. My youngest hadn't skied before and they were very encouraging and kind to him.
they also have windsurfers and canoes etc available.

We took two trips out on the lagoon. One we booked with Martin off the beach and one through the hotel. Both the same price and for three hours. The snorkelling spots are much better as is the coral and although the visits to the light house, waterfall and ship wreck are interesting it's really the fabulous fast trip on the boat that is the main event! We went parasailing too which was exhilarating!

The food at the resort was excellent. We mainly ate at Grand Port as there was a fabulous variety and generally it was really tasty. My son is gluten intolerant and the chefs were really good about ensuring that he could have wheat free pizza, pasta and pancakes too.
We ate at the other restaurants but we all preferred the buffet. Teak was excellent but just too much! The wine list is superb, you can either order a glass of red, white or rose which is easy but occasionally we ordered from the wine list, they didn't always have the wine we wanted in stock but what they did have was lovely. Takes a while to get to your table tho.

The main pool is huge and even with loads of people swimming there was always space. The little pool at Sirius gets very hot and is smaller but generally is quieter and a good spot especially late afternoon. The bar staff at the main bar are not pleasant, we found them to be surly and often rude. The kids loved having ice creams from the bar, big highlight for them. The ice creams are in cones but they have cups available too (great for my gluten free son) but every day we had to explain why he needed the cup and not the cone, even if the staff was the same they gave us a hard time day after day. Got tiresome. Same for the cocktails, hardly ever a smile or hello from the staff when ordering. Barely even a nod to acknowledge the order. The restaurant staff on the other hand are lovely as are the housekeeping staff. Very pleasant! The bar Staff at the Sirius bar are super tho, greeting and exchanging pleasantries.

We were very disappointed with our room. We had requested a downstairs family room. We had booked 7 months in advance. Sadly we got a first floor room. The room was adequate, one big main bedroom with couch and second bedroom with bunk beds. Big main bathroom (second was tiny) and good walk in cupboard. The aircon was horrendously loud and never really got cold enough. A few times I woke in the night thinking there was a huge storm outside, nope just the aircon! We had to request extra sheets to sleep under as they are not provided, just a flat sheet on the bed and duvet which is far too hot.

Some people have complained about the airport and the planes taking off overhead. We found it fun to watch them and knew that when the SAA flight took off at 5 it was nearly time for a glass of bubbly.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Shandrani but please don't have huge expectations of luxurious rooms, they are basic and if you can get a downstairs room it makes a big difference.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CindsHJozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Louis
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Shandrani hotel is a must for hotel lovers in Mauritius. From arrival till departure we were made to feel very special. We celebrated our 5th wedding annivesary wiz our lil boy. The lil one was treated as a real prince. Food, drinks, snacks, staff, room....everything was just PERFECT!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishta1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Bay
25.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,635 reviews
30.8 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
28.7 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,265 reviews
17.9 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,054 reviews
19.4 mi away
Tamassa
Tamassa
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Property: Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Address: Blue Bay, Blue Bay, Mauritius 50802 (Formerly Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Blue Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXURY HOLIDAYS IN MAURITIUS FOR BEACH AND NATURE LOVERS Located in the unspoilt south region of Mauritius, Shandrani is a welcoming five-star resort with a lively vibe. Set on a private peninsula lapped by the Blue Bay Marine Park rich in sea life, Shandrani has three different beaches to discover. A short boat ride inshore takes you to the famous Ile aux Aigrettes nature reserve. When it comes to sports and leisure, the resort has something for everyone. A range of land and water sports is at hand including water-skiing and golf (the hotel features a 9-hole Par 29, "pitch & putt" golf course). A sailing school and a diving centre affiliated to PADI will delight all sports enthusiasts. Other facilities include a spa and a wellness centre, both associated to the world-renowned Clarins brand. Four restaurants invite you to sample sumptuous dishes served with a choice of fine wines. At Shandrani Resort & Spa, enjoy relaxing holidays in peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shandrani Hotel Blue Bay
Shandrani Hotel Mauritius
Shandrani Blue Bay
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing