We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel, loads to do!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were bumped for the end of our holiday from our previous hotel which was overbooked. i am thrilled this happened as it worked out to be a decent upgrade though only 4 nights. I'd go back! It helped that we'd already relaxed and were getting a bit bored in the quieter resort. There's a lot of people, families and stuff going on in this resort so for quiet 'couple time' it's not great. However the food, wine list and activities which are included are brilliant. They also have some taxi drivers who do tours for certain prices - we had a day exploring the South of the island with a really great driver who showed us all sorts of places and explained a lot about life on Mauritius.

The room was nice - like a standard 4* or so hotel room.
In the resort we used the gym, played table tennis and golf, swam, snorkelled, walked, and ate terrific food. Even the buffets were marvellous and the 'specialty' restaurants great. The wine list and spirits in all inclusive were good quality and the service efficient if not always massively friendly (fine with me!) Golf clubs and balls are extra but you can lose a lot of balls on the unusal 9 hole course! Spa was good quality. The resort is really big with lots of hidey holes and quieter beaches and differing views. Does mean there's walking between places needed though. The snorkelling near some of them is amazing with reefs close to the surface.

You can of course hear the planes, it's right next to the airport. There aren't hundreds a day and it didn't bother me at all. But I've lived near Heathrow!

It's not a late night / party place - more a family hotel and there are lots of families there. But this wasn't as intrusive as I was expecting from previous experience though it wasn't during school holidays.
We're planning to go back!

Room Tip: If you can afford it the most expensive rooms looked fabulous with 'personal' sunbeds and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3Sanges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

938 - 944 of 2,571 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed there for family celebration, 23 family members, age range 4 to 70. Excellent food in restaurants and buffet: extraordinary selection and quality, no expense spared, every cocktail you could sample, good choice of wines. The facilities were excellent: teenagers to littlies enjoyed water sports, snorkelling, tennis, golf, football, wake- boarding, water-skiing.

Enormous uncrowded beaches, choice of swimming or paddling, snorkelling from beach or boat excellent with plenty to see. More than enough sun loungers and never felt busy even though we were there over Christmas and hotel was full. Staff patient and friendly.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The hotel is located close to the airport. I just stayed one night. It was all inclusive and it was great. The resort looks really nice and clean. The room was beautiful and spacious. The restaurant offers a big variety of food, everything was delicious. Even though I just stayed one night, I had a great time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The worst hotel I have been to by far, boring, needs an upgrade ASAP and the staff need to learn english!
Considering the prices for the stay, absolutely disappointing.
More entertainment needed, more FUN and a better vibe is needed!
Everything is so far apart from the hotel, si much driving is needed to do anything in the country.
I will visit Mauritius again just not Shandrani.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
10  Thank Sandisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Beautiful hotel with everything you could need. Stayed for 10 nights over xmas and new year and had a brilliant and relaxing time. The short 15 minute commute form the airport after a long flight was welcomed. Due to the short distance from the airport there were 4-5 planes that would fly over the resort daily but after the first couple of times you get used to the sound and this should not put you off from visiting this beautiful reort.

The staff are absolutely wonderful and the service by the bar and in all restaurants is fantastic. Our rooms were in a great position, just a couple of steps away from a small, lovely and quiet beach and the main beach/pool and beach bar just around the corner.
The best part of the stay was undoubtedly the food. With five restaurants and an amazing buffet we were spoilt for choice and each of the menus provided a whole range of amazingly presented dishes. Our favourite was the Thai- Teak elephant which had an 8 course taster meal. The new year firework celebrations on the beach was a brilliant way to welcome in the new year. The all-inclusive package is great as it means you don't have to worry about a thing, and we took advantage of the watersports such as waterskiing and would definitely recommend snorkelling as the tropical fish were breathtaking to see. The package also meant that we all had a 45 minute treatment at the spa. In my opinion this is one of the most beautiful and tranquil parts of the resort. The pool area is beautiful and the outdoor huts where the massages take place made for a completely relaxing experience. The only negative if there is one was that the evening music and entertainment was at times slightly repetitive and boring, however the brilliant range of cocktails at the bar were really tasty and if you're just after a relaxing break this resort is definitely the place to be. A fantastic stay and would definitely return!

Room Tip: go for a beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amyd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Third visit to the hotel. Had an amazing time. They put on special Christmas Eve buffet and entertainment during the entire stay. Spa was great. Food excellent for an all inclusive and not just a choice of rubbish wine, proper wine menu to choose from. We are going back again!

Room Tip: We were a family of 4 with 2 kids aged 11 and 13. We took the family apartment which was right by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karenproberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Can't say much more than the title, staff - can't do enough for you, food - best we've had on a holiday, location - it's Mauritius, do i need to say more!. If you are thinking of visiting definitely do.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Bay
30.8 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
25.1 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
25.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,924 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,629 reviews
12.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Address: Blue Bay, Mauritius 51510 (Formerly Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Blue Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Price Range: £278 - £926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXURY HOLIDAYS IN MAURITIUS FOR BEACH AND NATURE LOVERS Located in the unspoilt south region of Mauritius, Shandrani is a welcoming five-star resort with a lively vibe. Set on a private peninsula lapped by the Blue Bay Marine Park rich in sea life, Shandrani has three different beaches to discover. A short boat ride inshore takes you to the famous Ile aux Aigrettes nature reserve. When it comes to sports and leisure, the resort has something for everyone. A range of land and water sports is at hand including water-skiing and golf (the hotel features a 9-hole Par 29, "pitch & putt" golf course). A sailing school and a diving centre affiliated to PADI will delight all sports enthusiasts. Other facilities include a spa and a wellness centre, both associated to the world-renowned Clarins brand. Four restaurants invite you to sample sumptuous dishes served with a choice of fine wines. At Shandrani Resort & Spa, enjoy relaxing holidays in peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shandrani Hotel Blue Bay
Shandrani Hotel Mauritius
Shandrani Blue Bay
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing