We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piña Colada ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Piña Colada ”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Ten of us were taken on a 'significant age' celebration by the matriarch. She swears by the place - has returned 11 times! The long plane flight was made easier by our takeover of business class - quite what the other four people in the plush cabin thought of our large party I'm not sure, but luckily they were carted off to a different hotel.
The Shandrani is a kind of luxury version of an all inclusive resort. It's big, but with only a couple of hundred rooms so it never ever feels crowded. The setting is incredible, it's on a peninsular so is surrounded by water on three sides with three beaches, two on the lagoon side and the other on the rougher sea side but still inside of the reef. Yes you're near the airport so there are planes taking off over the hotel, but there aren't many and it's quite a spectacular sight. The restaurants are fabulous, make sure you book them early though as the restaurant booker at the desk in reception seems to be the most unhelpful and snide member of staff in the hotel. He's the only one though, from everyone else you get a first class service, welcoming and helpful all of the time. Rooms are fabulously appointed - I wouldn't call then five star rooms though - comfortably four star at best. The facilities are incredible - much to the matriarch's shock (who imagined us supping rum & coke on the beach from 10am) we all spent most of our time playing tennis, golf, kayaking, water skiing, windsurfing and mountain biking. All of these are included so you just turn up and book your courts/tee time/boats etc...
You know you're somewhere a bit special when there's an extensive wine list at each restaurant, but they're still part of the all inclusive - in fact the only thing you'll have to shell out for is any spa treatments (apart from the massage that you get anyway).
Drinks are all premium brand like Bombay Sapphire and Grey Goose, but the Piña Coladas are to die for!
We will definitely come back with the children when they are a bit older, when we've won the lottery.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimmy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,599
    527
    148
    68
    26
See reviews for
847
1,088
44
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at Shandrani in July 2014 for a week. Although it was winter in Mauritius we had wonderful weather. The resort is definitely 5 star with the kindest staff that did everything to make our stay so special. We stayed in a superior room, but will recommend the deluxe rooms instead. Food was excellent! We had lunch at the Surius restaurant every day which was our favorite and for dinner the Thai & Seafood restaurants were amazing. Book your dinners in advance. Great snorkeling around the resort with a glass bottom boat that takes you out everyday. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms close to the Surius bar/ Wild beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liezeldj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is in an amazing location, right on the beach. The lunch and dinner buffets have plenty of choice and the food is good. There is plenty to do with the pool, fitness and beach. If you walk around the resort you can get to some quieter spots which are so nice and relaxing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caoimhe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

My new husband and I stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of August. We had an amazing time in South Africa with the BEST of everything.
When we arrived at hotel after travelling for 15hours we were left waiting for 15 mins before check in and not even offered a drink. When we got to our room it was average. We had stayed in such amazing luxurious hotels in South Africa this room wasn't a patch on it. There was absolutely nothing 5star about it. 4 star maybe. We didn't have any champagne or fruit basket which we were told we would. I had to ring and ask for them. It's not the same when you ask for it. The noise level outside room in the morning was ridiculous. Hoover banging on the door, doors banging etc. Not something you'd expect on honeymoon.
The three restaurants we went to were great though, the tek, fish and sirus. Great service and great food. Beaches were lovely, the grounds for hotel were beautiful. We went for spa treatment which again was fabulous.
I guess we would have to say the receptionists, bellboys and our room let the hotel down. Our room was one of the newly renovated ones. Certainly not 5star. More like a 3/4 star beach hotel. Would not recommend this hotel to honeymooners as there was a lot of children and families. Wish our travel agent would have told us before hand.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Julybride2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The food was very good, service excellent. There is a wide choice of restaurants so book before you arrive or on arrival. The Thai restaurant is a must. Relaxing holiday for all. Shell collecting on the seaside of the resort great - cowries to be found.

Room Tip: Ground floor easier to access beach. Upstairs has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Wonderful holiday well maintained rooms and grounds I would recommend trying to get ground floor. The food was amazing in all the restaurants and don't forget to try the spa. Great for Families as well as couples. Service was very good and we were not bothered by the occasional aircraft flying over.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaccat59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were on our honeymoon in Shandrani back in 2012, November. Everything was just right, no distracting noises what so ever. Service was very pleasant all the way. And the food. What can I say when there's five high standard restaurants. Simply amazing! Hope I'll get there again. :)

Room Tip: Almost every room is with seaside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sami-Matti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Bay
25.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,710 reviews
30.8 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
28.7 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,190 reviews
19.8 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Property: Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Address: Blue Bay, Blue Bay, Mauritius 50802 (Formerly Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Blue Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXURY HOLIDAYS IN MAURITIUS FOR BEACH AND NATURE LOVERS Located in the unspoilt south region of Mauritius, Shandrani is a welcoming five-star resort with a lively vibe. Set on a private peninsula lapped by the Blue Bay Marine Park rich in sea life, Shandrani has three different beaches to discover. A short boat ride inshore takes you to the famous Ile aux Aigrettes nature reserve. When it comes to sports and leisure, the resort has something for everyone. A range of land and water sports is at hand including water-skiing and golf (the hotel features a 9-hole Par 29, "pitch & putt" golf course). A sailing school and a diving centre affiliated to PADI will delight all sports enthusiasts. Other facilities include a spa and a wellness centre, both associated to the world-renowned Clarins brand. Four restaurants invite you to sample sumptuous dishes served with a choice of fine wines. At Shandrani Resort & Spa, enjoy relaxing holidays in peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shandrani Hotel Blue Bay
Shandrani Hotel Mauritius
Shandrani Blue Bay
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing