We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Excellent Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Most Excellent Holiday”
Reviewed 24 September 2007

We stayed at the Shandrani on the serenity all inclusive package for 2 weeks - with 3 children (14,12,10) and had a truly fantastic time. The weather was just about perfect, with plenty of sun but at just right temperature - i.e. about 25 degrees C. There is absolutely loads to do with all of the activities - swimming, snorkelling ( fantastic - dont bother with the scuba), water skiing, sailing, tennis, golf, gym etc etc.
The food at all of the restaurants and bars was great, the kids loved the pancakes in the afternoon, the drinks all day was great for us grown ups. We had 2 adjoining rooms which we were delightful, and worked perfectly for us.
We did an all day boat trip with one of the guys who sells trips on the beach (Ronaldhinio and Captain Nemo) and had an absolute blast, we saw dolphins (unheard of apparently), did the falls jumping with the crazy indian guys, did parasailing - which was absolutely incredible.
Check out my flickr page for some of my holiday photos.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/9052564@N07/

Could not recommend this more highly for a family holiday, and ignore the comments about plane noise, you could hear planes for about 15 secs several times a day, no issue - and what's better than a 5 min drive to the hotel from the airport after a 11 hr flight!! My kids want me to book for next year already.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank AndyCGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,526
    503
    140
    68
    26
See reviews for
790
1,049
42
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We stayed at the Shandrani for the final leg of our Honeymoon in July and we had the Serenity Honeymoon Package. Before we got to the Shandrani we stayed at hotels in South Africa and Zambia and we were really excited about getting to the last leg of our honeymoon and relaxing on the beach and by the pool after a week and a half of Safari and activities in Africa.

On the way to the hotel my wife and i were talking about the fact it was a honeymoon package and how much we were looking forward to special treatment etc etc, nothing could be further from that when we arrived. If you do go to the Shandrani on a honeymoon package, please be aware that the only special teeatment you may get is a free t shirt and a miniature bottle of spakling wine on arrival.

We were placed in a room 10 feet away from the bar, restaurants/reception where there was loud live music every night until the early hours of the morning, which is good some nights but not every night!! The hotel is also directly underneath the take off flight path for the airport so from about 7am every morning you have jumbo jets flying over, this is very very loud and the room shakes when they fly across.

When you get the info for this hotel is states that guests must dress smartly for dinner. My wifew and i took a wide range of smart clothes only to find alot of people going to dinner in the a la carte restaurants in shorts and t shirts, which i don't mind but when you're told you MUST dress smartly on arrival we were a bit miffed.

On a good note the food was very good, beach was lovely and the majority of staff friendly. I however would not go there if you are looking for a romantic honeymoon destination.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlie0349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

Booked with Travel Counsellors, Sharon, She was great with sorting all my family with varous different flights and dates.

We got married at the Shandrani, and the whole place was just lovely.

A lovely relaxing place, but there are plenty of things to do if you want to. The service was excellent and weather great.

We organised our wedding the day before, choosing flowers where to have the service, meal etc. we got married looking out to sea and then had meal on beach with BBQ, bonfire and torces, and had a mauritian band that we all danced in the sand to. The service was amazing, for example the weather looked dodgy a couple of times (it did rain occasionally when we were there but it doesnt last long so dont worry about weather reports) and the staff had laid another table inside with covered chairs etc just in case!!

Dont worry about the planes, you can hear them but it only for a couple of seconds and you only hear 3-4 a day if that, and never at night. The worst day is Saturday when there were about 6, but nothing bad to report of.


The birds in the restaurants are also not a problem, yes a few, only really in main eating hall there are a few waiting to eat your crossant if you leave it unattended, but it is again no problem.

I would definatly recommend hiring one of the boat trips, we had a great day out with Captain Zulu!!, private boat that went to the waterfalls, that you can swim and dive in, followed by visit to Le touserrok beach for water spots then a BBQ on remote beach, it was great and well worth doing, you get to see lots of the island!

its worthwhile tipping your room maid, and a bar person when you arrive, then you get even better service your entire stay!!.

The bar at the end of the hotel furthest away form reception is the best for food, drinks and everything really.

I really would not have any hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Liked — Relaxed place, Impeccable service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KAT529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

We were completely blown away by the Shandrani, it was fantastic. To be honest we didn't know what to expect as were only booked in for 1 night, by our travel agent, as a stopover en route to Madagascar.

From the moment we arrived the service was flawless, with real attention to detail. We were lucky enough to have a senior suite which was bigger than our flat! As a honeymoon couple there really were some delightful touches laid on for us, including fresh orchids and chocolates on arrival and, later, a complimentary bottle of champagne.

There were two lovely beaches and several pools (although we couldn't get round them all in 1 day!).

The food was very good and the bar had a really nice atmosphere with live jazz.

More good news was that the hotel was very close to the airport, ideal for a stopover. The bad news was that the hotel was very close to the airport! This meant the planes were only a few hundred feet above you on take-off & landing. That said, there were only about 4/5 all day when we were there.

In truth this was a fantastic stopover hotel, but we might have grown wearisome of the planes over a longer stay.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Plane noise
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2007

Having recently returned from a wonderful stay at the Shandrani I was dissappointed to read some of tghe previous reviews especially the one that said you could hear the planes revving their engines, all I can say is that they must have supersonic hearing! The minimimal noise you do hear from the airport does in no way spoil your stay. The food and service at this hotel is fantastic as are the staff.

Their wedding service is excellent and they really do ensure that its your dream day.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LMDKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2007

We spent two weeks at this beautiful location and enjoyed it very much. Even though it was our honeymoon we had plenty to do with the activities organized by the hotel.

First thing we did was a bicycle trip around the neighbouring area and sugar cane fields. It offered us beautiful scenery with steep rocky shores made up of lava. They also do bicycle trips to nearby mahebourg market every monday, which is also a must to see. Not that much you can buy there but it nice to see where locals do their shopping.

We also played a lot of tennis, went to the gym (wife to aerobics), did some sailing, wind surfing and got a certificate for diving (PADI). "The national geographic" -dive center located within the hotel premises can take you to three different dive sites in or near blue bay. The first one is basicly for training (8meters) where you can see beatiful coral and a lot of fish! Second one is similar but located outside blue bay (15meters) and the third one is a ship wreck (25meters). We also did a catamaran cruise to Ile aux Cerfs. It's an beautiful island, but not much to see there except if you play golf.

The service at the hotel was excellent, despite of two or three exceptions. Food is very good, especially fish. We counted that we had eaten 14 different fish foods during our stay and none of them were left uneaten. Lamb and chicken foods are also good (spicy) but the meat isn't always very good (especially lamb stews have a lot of gristle in the meat). We have always liked eating indian dishes and now we have a new favourite: creole cooking =)

There are four restaurants serving dinner, two serving lunch and breakfast. For dinner you have to make a reservation beforehand except for the buffet. There are also two snack bars serving drinks and snacks if you get hungry between the meals (I doubt it though). We had the all-inclusive which is pretty convinient considering the hotel location; there is no place to eat outside the hotel area. At least you have to take a taxi and drive to Mahebourg to find a nearist restaurant.

Speaking of taxis and taxi drivers, they can be pretty insisting on going to places where they propably have agreed on commission on all the thing the tourists buy from the destinations. This becomes pretty clear when you tell the driver where to go and he starts pressuring to go somewhere else instead. It might be a cultural thing, but we found it pretty annoying after twenty minutes of arguing on the destination. One of the drivers actually took us to his home on the way to Port Louis because his wife had a flourishing vanilla business and wanted us to buy half a kilo for 100euros..

We truly recommend this hotel to couples of families who enjoy doing sports and beach life combined. For singles the place is not ideal but surely nice place to relax and enjoy the sun. The location under the flite path doesnt bother that much, we thought that the ocean made more noise than the planes (our room was on the side of the ocean).

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank samiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2007

We stayed at The Shandrani for a week earlier in June and it was lovely. Apparently the hotel was 70% full and the only reason for this was because the other 30% of rooms were undergoing refurbishment.
We really enjoyed our time there – the rooms were very clean and we had the same roomboy all week who left us flowers one day. Every night the towels were changed both beach and bath towels and the minibar was always well stocked.
Going on the all inclusive serenity package was a really good idea as the meals would have been quite expensive otherwise by looking at the prices on the menus and there isn’t really anywhere to go outside the hotel. The restaurants were good though – and the food in the actual restaurants other than the buffets was top quality.
The variety of beaches is great although the wild beach was very windy.
Positives - the food, the rooms (the bathrooms were lovely and a little different – almost open plan), the catamaran excursion was fantastic (and good for the tan) and the people were so friendly.
Negatives – the fact that you can’t go to the bar and take a beer back to your room on all inclusive, you have to pay if you have it in your room which I find bizarre.
And also the entertainment in the evening leaves a lot to be desired.
All in all I thought the Shandrani was lovely but a little remote. We hired a car to get to see the rest of the island but otherwise, there are no restaurants or bars nearby – you have to go to the Northern part of the island for that which is a shame.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lib874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Bay
25.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,466 reviews
31.0 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
30.7 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
20.8 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
25.1 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Property: Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Address: Blue Bay, Blue Bay, Mauritius 50802 (Formerly Beachcomber Shandrani Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Blue Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXURY HOLIDAYS IN MAURITIUS FOR BEACH AND NATURE LOVERS Located in the unspoilt south region of Mauritius, Shandrani is a welcoming five-star resort with a lively vibe. Set on a private peninsula lapped by the Blue Bay Marine Park rich in sea life, Shandrani has three different beaches to discover. A short boat ride inshore takes you to the famous Ile aux Aigrettes nature reserve. When it comes to sports and leisure, the resort has something for everyone. A range of land and water sports is at hand including water-skiing and golf (the hotel features a 9-hole Par 29, "pitch & putt" golf course). A sailing school and a diving centre affiliated to PADI will delight all sports enthusiasts. Other facilities include a spa and a wellness centre, both associated to the world-renowned Clarins brand. Four restaurants invite you to sample sumptuous dishes served with a choice of fine wines. At Shandrani Resort & Spa, enjoy relaxing holidays in peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shandrani Hotel Blue Bay
Shandrani Hotel Mauritius
Shandrani Blue Bay
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing