We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, brilliant view.”
Review of Pingouinvillas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pingouinvillas
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place, brilliant view.”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Mr Sarif and his son were great, from answering e-mails before we arrived to picking us up at the airport and making sure we were ok during our 3 week stay. Brilliant views from our apartment on the top floor. The apartments are well set up for self catering and had a wonderful lady come in an clean the apartment for us. Really comfortable, convenient and all round great place to stay.
Hired a car as well which was very reasonable and just what we needed to get to Blue World Explorer dive centre just down the road at Preskil hotel, where we were doing dive training.

Room Tip: The two smaller apartments are on the top of the apartment block with the best views and the biggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belezapura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    77
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
69
102
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Udupi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Mr Sarif was kind enough to pick us up despite last minute change in schedule. He also helped with the groceries on X-mas day when most shops were closed (and stood in the line for me!!). The Apt itself was very clean and had all amenities as listed. The beach is walkable distance and the airport is closeby as well.

Overall, enjoyed the stay and would return.

Room Tip: If you want be in a place in the South East, this would be an excellent base.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SinchMinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week at Pingouinvillas in December. The apartment was clean, spacious and comfortable with a large private terrace for dining and relaxing. The lovely beach was just a short stroll away. The owners and staff were helpful and friendly. The lady who did our cleaning cooked for us on our last two nights and her food was delicious and inexpensive. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Mauritius.

Room Tip: Do ask the lady who cleans to cook for you. her food is delicious and inexpensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myslenice, Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I highly recommend Pingouinvillas!
Very big, comfortable and clean studio with a nice balcony. Close to the beach and Blue Bay lagoon (about 5min walk). Very friendly and helpful staff. Pingouinvillas offers free airport transfer. A fully equipped kitchen and a well furnished living room with TV.

Room Tip: The apartments are located at the top floor with the great view of Blue Bay Lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iziusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We just stayed for one night and paid for a transfer to the airport early the next morning. It is a 10 minute walk to the sea and restaurants (not many to choose from) which is OK for the one day but we would not want to stay here for longer when we can afford to stay elsewhere on the beach. We had a very large apartment on the top floor - it was very hot but at least the bedroom had a/c. There were distant views of the sea and over countryside. The owner/manager does not live on-site so it was not easy to contact him once he left early afternoon. It is cheaper to stay for longer than one night.
There is not a lot locally so you would need a car if you stayed here for a while - we did not see any large shops or supermarkets but may have missed them. It was not easy to find as we had no directions and it is in a residential area with no large name sign visible. There is no pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1plato23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Me and my wife stayed here 4 nights for our holiday. Including very well equipped kitchen, they have everything to settle down - wash machine, wifi, air condition, etc. we really enjoyed our stay with very helpful staffs there.
- a wonderful public beach is about 5 to 10 min. walk.
- a budget rental car available for a driving other side of the island (very reasonable price)
- pick up and drop off at airport

Overall, we would highly recommend this place, and will come back here for sure!

Room Tip: WIFI signal might be weak at ground floor (bigger room), but you can still access it sitting in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yongyeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We have just had a wonderful 3 week holiday in Mauritius. We live in Perth, Australia, and spent the first week at Pingouinvillas. The 3 bedroom ground floor villa was ideal for us as we have 3 children including a 6 month old baby. Sarif, was most helpful and hospitable, and provided a campcot.

The weather was great, not too hot being April, the ceiling fans made it more comfortable. I would say air-conditioning in the middle of Summer would be necessary though. Mosquitoes were a little annoying at times, but there were mosquito devices provided. If you like noise, the dogs across the road had a lot to say and there are the planes taking off overhead. Other than that, incredibly quiet and peaceful surroundings.

The villa is fairly basic but comfortable, everything worked fine and was well equipped on the whole. The gardens off the veranda are very nice and it was a pleasure to sit out and have breakfast there every morning. The villa was nice and clean on arrival. The cleaner offered to cook us a home-made meal during the week for a fair price, she brought in the ingredients, and it was fantastic. Highly recommend it.

Conveniently close to Blue Bay, only about a 5-10 minute walk with kids, maybe 400-500 metres. The Bay is really beautiful, the snorkelling stunning. We also had some nice sundowners and even muffins on the beach for breakfast.

Sarif arranged an excellent car hire deal for us with baby seat, the car was great, I highly recommend this rather than spending double with a main line rental. I think a car is essential as the nearest well stocked supermarket is 5km away. There is so much to see and do though, a car is the only way. The town of Mahebourg 10 mins away has great places to eat, a good market and some good clothes shops, great prices etc...

We also bought some squid off the local fishermen passing by, negotiating price is important, and it tasted great on our friends BBQ who lives around the corner.

Pingouinvillas is great value, very welcoming, and well located near the airport for a couple nights stay over. Easy transfer (provided by Sarif too), best snorkelling in Mauritius in the Blue Bay Marine park, nice island village atmosphere, not as busy as the rest of the island, feels residential as opposed to commercial, no bars or long rows of loud restaurants, amazing beaches, friendly people, not too touristy.

Would have been a 5 star review had there been a swimming pool and aircon, but that is not everyone's cup of tea I guess.

We would highly recommend the place and will happily go back again even if just passing through Mauritius for a few nights.

Room Tip: Ground floor with gardens great, no lift from what I could see (3 or 4 floors).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Bay
0.9 mi away
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Preskil Beach Resort
Preskil Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Mahebourg
2,452 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
#1 of 1 in Plaine Magnien
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes
0.6 mi away
Astroea Beach Hotel
Astroea Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Mahebourg
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harold et Maryse
Harold et Maryse
#3 of 7 in Blue Bay
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pingouinvillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pingouinvillas

Property: Pingouinvillas
Address: 94A, Rue des Daurades, Blue-Bay,Mauritius, Blue Bay, Mauritius 00000
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Blue Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Blue Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pingouinvillas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pingouinvillas located in the residential tourist area in Blue-Bay, the South-East of Mauritius Island. It is set-up in a small tropical garden full of exotic flowers under the shade of coconut trees encircled by cool verandahs bordered by fanciful balustrades. Pingouinvillas enjoys an exceptional peace where only the chirping of birds disturbs the calmness in the morning and the area is harmonious with its tropical flora and fauna.Blue-Bay is 5 kilometres away from Mahebourg: a historical village and one of the main fishing sites on the Island. Pingouinvillas is within 200 metres (3 minutes walk) from the Blue-Bay beach which is the most popular seaside resort in the South of Mauritius with its fine white sand and its peaceful turquoise lagoon surrounded by coral reefs. Pingouinvillas is accessible within 8 minutes drive from the SSR International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Pingouinvillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pingouinvillas Mauritius/Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing