We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no hot water,no information and no honesty.”
Review of Villa Narmada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Narmada
Ranked #7 of 45 Grand Baie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“no hot water,no information and no honesty.”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I booked for three nights believing the website info.. There was no hot water the first day .I received a vague promise that this essential service would be corrected immediately. On day two,there was still no hot water. On top of this stress I was wasting many,many hours of my time each day with staff who claimed that no hot water was OK "the sun hasn't been out much today".That is a direct quote.Same day..no electricity.none.I was washing in the ocean and was faced with another night of these camping conditions. My request for a refund took another half day of my time and at no point did staff take ANY ownership of the dilemma. While I can understand that Narmada staff and note there is two only and there is zero reception after 6pm.,can't do much about the bedbugs,geckos and barking dogs, they can at least be honest.For example,there is no real breakfast area,only a dusty table with books covered in grime and absolutely no info.re spas,meals or performances.Another crucial detail withheld is the location..Narmada is in an unlit ,high grassed,rocky,dirty wasteland.

Room Tip: don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mauriceMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    49
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
40
37
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Very friendly staff, the highest purity, daily cleaning. Small but clean pool. City center and supermarket nearby. Very good price. I highly recommend for young travelers. Thank you for a pleasant holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonzaSchwarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Was booked in this Hotel with wife for 3 nights in first week of Feb 2012. Chilled Staff and nice location. Great location for tourist as its close to Super market and main Grand Baie Road/Beach. It was 1bhk nice Balcony and was nicely furnished.
Got shock of my life and was pleasantly surprised to hear a staff conversing in Bhojpuri on the day I landed, it being a public holiday!
Would recommend certainly.

Room Tip: Choose GroundFloor as it has wifi connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed here for a week as my sister was getting married, great for kids as it has got a pool, close to the super market 'super u' which is good for self accomedation whilst of holiday.

Room Tip: rooms are bigger than you will expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Near supermarket U, and ca 200m from beach. The road to hotel wasn't very good and in the evenings quite dark, (no lights). Rooms were comfortable, quite clean. Quite new building, I think it's better to stay in apartment than in hotel, that have fridge and all other availabilities to make food and keep drinks. I can suggest this villa, if you want to get reasonable price normal accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monsa111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

I stayed there for more than a week. To get there, there is no way of avoiding dozens of holes in the road. The place is quite new, still with construction details to be finished, like holes in the ceiling, window frames badly painted, etc. Nevertheless, because it’s new, everything still looks pretty neat...I’m not sure it’s going to remain like that. The service, though very nice, wasn’t very professional. They were supposed to change bed linen and kitchen towels twice a week, which they did not do and change bath towels every day: didn’t happen once and the towels given were at times too small. Toilet paper was not provided. Cleaning was sufficient but could be better (but I’m very demanding on this issue). I was never able to use the internet connection (which would be anyway a modem connection) because I would arrive after 6 pm, and by this time the reception would be already closed. There was also no phone in the room. Having said this I should say that overall the Narmada is the perfect place if you are on a low budget but still need a place that is big, clean and comfortable and gives you independence (eg. cooking). The supermarket SuperU, just nearby, was always very useful. I think it would be difficult to find better for the price. However, if you are up to a romantic place in a beautiful setting and wonderful service, this is not the right place.
Concerning the location, Grand Baie is not a thrilling place; the beaches are quite small and not the paradise one imagines when thinking of Mauritius…is also too touristic. And if you think you can walk from beach to beach and go along the coast… forget it, unless you do it through the water…the other option is a road full of traffic and no sidewalks.
If I would go again, next time I would stay in the southwest, next to Le Morne.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CopenhagenSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
138 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

I stayed for two nights at the Villa Narmada in Grand Baie. The property itself is new, clean and nice, very good value as the room price is very modest for a good location in Mauritius. It has walking distance to beach and town center, and is almost next to a supermarket/shopping center. Rooms are large with full kitchen, comfortable bed, decent size balcony facing the pool area, TV and air conditioner. The pool itself is not too impressive but what can you expect from a budget place.
The surroundings are a letdown, I arrived late in the evening so it was dark and when looking out in the morning you would see everything from nice new houses to what looked like garbage dumps - the Narmada is in the middle of a residential (?) area that is being developed so there are construction sites and undeveloped sites very nearby. It may become quite nice in a few years as the finished houses look quite OK. But my main complaint is about Grand Baie itself, it´s not a very interesting place and the beach / waterfront is a big disappointment. So I did not try to extend my stay but instead went to Flic en Flac on the other end of the island due to the town and beach, not due to any problem with the Narmada itself which appeared to be one of the best budget accommodations in Grand Baie and I walked around quite a bit, asked around etc.

  • Liked — The rooms and the price - excellent value for money
  • Disliked — The location - too many construction sites /
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mast01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
1.0 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Casa Florida Hotel
Casa Florida Hotel
#2 of 5 in Pereybere
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
817 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Grand Bay Beach Hotel
#17 of 28 in Grand Baie
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Narmada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Narmada

Property: Villa Narmada
Address: Aquamarine Lane, Grand Baie, Mauritius 2726CB
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Narmada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Narmada is a charming complex situated in the center of Grand bay. Spacious with swimming pool, air-conditioned rooms and all the comforts of a hotel. The hotel, located 200 meters from the beach has a restaurant and a spa/massage center additionally. All rooms have a kitchenette so as to give the clients a choice to prepare the meal themselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Narmada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Narmada Hotel Grand Baie
Villa Narmada Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing