We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pool was extremely dirty and there was no Internet access!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Les Villas Oasis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I do not know about the main hotel or other villas, so maybe my review cannot represent the overall quality of this hotel group in Mauritius. But the villa we stayed at did not meet our expectation. First, we arrived the villa after 13 hours of flight and realized that there was no bottled water in the fridge, and later on found out that the villa is not equipped with Internet access. The TV was extremely small, only 20 inches and we could not bear the hygiene of our private pool, it was covered with a layer of dead bugs and dust. We asked our maid to clean it and she did not do it, but even if she has cleaned it we still would not dare to jump into the pool knowing how dirty it was before, so at the end we did not use the pool at all. Towels quality was bad and there was no TV in our bedroom.

The only good things I can say about this villa were its size and the full equipment in the kitchen. The deco of the villa and the private garden was also acceptable.

I really cannot help to write such bad review, but maybe I am spoiled by the really really good villa hotels such as the Banyan Trees, Anatara, Alila in Phuket and Bali.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bigpadpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHR E, Responsable commercial at Residence Les Villas Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for your comment.
We welcome all our clients with a fruit cocktail, a basket of fruits and we offer a continental breakfast every morning. When the clients check-in, we propose to them a shopping service at a minor fee (as all items are claimed at supermarket price). We offer this service at the time of booking as well with a shopping list.
All our Oasis villas have internet access either through adsl or a 3G key that we willingly put at your disposal.
We also have a few villas where you can access internet through Wi-Fi.
The swimming pools are cleaned three times per week. Still, and specially when it is windy, it is possible that some dust and small insects get into the pool, as the they are surrounded by a beautiful garden. After it has been cleaned, the pool can be used normally.
A hostess that welcomes our clients at arrival and provide her mobile number is really there 24/7 to attend any query, problem or discomfort and to solve same.
We are deeply sorry that your expectations were not met during your stay, as it is very difficult to please a client after his/her departure.
On a final note, Oasis Villas are part of a luxury rental concept (luxury self-catering) , pretty different from an hotel or a villa hotel , and this also perhaps explain the disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

The villa and its private beach looks pretty much how it appears in its professional pictures! I found it lovely to stay in - it was also very quiet and private. A few things to note:


- Definitely hire a car - grand bay is about a 15 to 20 minute walk with no paths on the road.
- Wifi is not included (it needs to be included!)
- The pool cannot be heated (most of the time the pool was in the shade although it might be different for the other ones)
- The villa has air conditioning however for the room to be cool, it needs to be kept on throughout the day due to the size and power of the machine
- If you get frightened by insects, you might want to keep your doors closed, we had a few lizards crawling around the villa (but I personally didnt mind).
- The restaurant for the private beach has just been established and so the food is ok


Definitely arrange a trip to flat island!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvacoHolidays, Manager at Residence Les Villas Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Dear Paolo,

Thank you for choosing Oasis Villas for your stay and for taking the time to write a review about it.
Since you came a lot has changed: wifi is included now, the Air conditioning has been changed. "La Plage" by Evaco runs smoothly and we have about 4 free shuttles per day. Mauritius being a tropical island, we can have some lizard from time to time but have a pest control.
We hope to see you soon again,
The Evaco Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom villa, very tastefully decorated and spacious. The staff are very good and friendly they maintain the property well. Although the maid comes and sets your breakfast out and their are menus so they will come and bring food for you, if you don't want to stay in your villa you will require a car, it's about a 15min walk to the restaurants which is ok but the roads don't have paths to walk on so I found it to be a little dangerous. They have a good range of activities that they can set up for you all reasonably priced. We took a trip to the private beach which is offered with the accommodation, very nice beach clean with a small plunge pool and restaurant which doesn't have a license so take your own wine!!!.
Only downside to the Villa was the a/c, one small unit in the bedroom which struggled to keep the one room cool, could do with a bigger unit in the living area.
Great holiday you could not wish for more privacy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvacoHolidays, Manager at Residence Les Villas Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Dear Lindsey,

Thank you for choosing Oasis Villas for your stay and for taking the time to write a review about it.
We are very happy that you liked your experience with us.
We hope to see you soon again,
The Evaco Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The villas are very beautiful - elegantly decorated and spacious with all modern facilities. Very quiet and private, a little further outside of Grand Baie (you will definitely need transport) but this does make it feel secluded. Definitely great for families and couples.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamhunter1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHR E, Director of Sales at Residence Les Villas Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for your kind message, we will be pleased to welcome you back in a near futur in this paradise of Mauritius !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

an awesome place for honeymooners ..your own pool and overall very tastefully done interiors and excellent equipment like barbecue etc.
Plus points --
serviced villa with washing machine , utensils to cook , excellent location ..a 10 min drive to the supermarket and some fast food like pizza hut /fishaways etc..their daily refill of milk/butter/juice a rare refill seen at other places ...but downside they do not refill drinking water
good internet connection .
Cons-
it took us 45min to locate the villas not enough signboards...
if u need to enjoy the beach ..good beaches are at a little distance including their private beach was 10km away (grand baie beaches are average anyways)..
.u will need your vehicle to step out..we had hired a car so that made it easy i am not sure how easy is the public transport
they only provide breads for breakfast ..no eggs/meat or even options...they claim the maids will cook for you but the cooks are below average.....seen better butler services at villas in bali.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DocKhushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvacoHolidays, Manager at Residence Les Villas Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Dear DocKushi,

Thank you for choosing Oasis Villas for your stay and for taking the time to write a review about it.
We are very happy that you liked your experience with us.
We hope to see you soon again,
The Evaco Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I was here during my Honeymoon and Trust me its the best place to be with your newly wed. Amazing Villa with private Pool, Kitchen with Utensils, Washing Machine etc. Awesome location just a 10 mnts walk from Popular Beaches of North Mauritius. One advise is to buy all the stuff like Water, Alcohol, Bakery stuff from the super market as there are no shops around.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiyushSengar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvacoHolidays, Manager at Residence Les Villas Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Dear PiyushSengar,

Thank you for choosing Oasis Villas for your stay and for taking the time to write a review about it.
We are very happy that you liked your experience with us.
We hope to see you soon again,
The Evaco Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

At first, I did not hear much of Villa Oasis and was unsure of what to expect. I took a risk and booked it. It was the best decision that I made!

The pictures are exactly what you get - a very modern house, open-plan designed, remote controlled roller doors, designer kitchen, deep spa bath built into the ground, huge bedrooms all overlooking beautiful gardens...and of course your own swimming pool with outdoor patio area and barbeque. It was truly unbelievable - our jaws dropped to the ground when we entered.

We were assigned maids to do our washing for us and prepare breakfast. Staff were happy to go out of their way to do more for you as needed. E.g. they went and got us coconuts fresh from the trees for free.

The accommodation is located in Pereybere / Grand Baie, a short drive from the beach. However Villa Oasis provides an access card to their own private beach, about a 5 minute drive away. It is a great location, with lots of restaurants, night clubs and shopping in the area or a short drive away in the heart of Grand Baie. It is also a very secure/safe premise.

I would love to come back here for my honeymoon! Or for a group/family getaway - sometimes I think that it may be a shame not to share the experience with others!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuidedUpfront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvacoHolidays, Manager at Residence Les Villas Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Thank you for choosing Oasis Villas for your stay and for taking the time to write a review about it.
We are very happy that you liked your experience with us as well as our villa, facilities and standard.
We hope to see you soon again,
The Evaco Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.3 mi away
Domaine des Alizees Club & Spa by Evaco Holiday Resorts
1.0 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#6 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,456 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baystone Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
25.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Les Villas Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Les Villas Oasis

Address: Chemin du Vieux Moulin, Grand Baie, Mauritius (Formerly Pierre&Vacances Premium Résidence Les Villas Oasis)
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Grand Baie
Price Range: £199 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Residence Les Villas Oasis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasis Villas are the epitome of luxury and the perfect place for a romantic getaway. Found in lush tropical garden, Oasis villas are designed and finished in cool, contemporary interpretations of Mauritian style. These luxury villas will surpass your expectation of five star luxury in Mauritius. Free Wifi Free parking Private garden and private pool Maid service 7 times a week Fully equipped kitchen Free daily continental breakfast Free shuttle to our private Beach Club Access to our restaurant and spa which are 5 minutes away from the villa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Residence Les Villas Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Les Villas Oasis Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing