We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
Review of Chez Ram

Chez Ram
Ranked #20 of 159 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Pune
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great meal”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This small Restaraunt on the main road to grand baie is really cosy and nice, you can expect service with a smile.
We had a combination of creole and Indian food, the fish in banana leaf was the star of the show a must try. The prawns creole curry was good as was the Indian fare. As one of us was vegetarian we tried a few Indian veg dishes with chappatis (Indian home style breads ) which he really liked. I would strongly recommend this place based on our experience,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InderrajAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    85
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarin
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Mauritian Food”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Chez Ram is one of the best address in the North of the Island to get tasty and typical Mauritian food at a reasonnable price. Service is good, location is not the best (near the road), but it is still worth a visit !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Romain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joburg
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Local delight”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

A simple setting and a quick meal in the true Mauritian style. A enjoyable meal , including fish in coconut , lamb curry and chicken in tomato and herbs , all at a very reasonable price.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank EONJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
1 review
“Chez ram”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Have been to this restaurant 3 times in the last 2 weeks
And can definitely say that it's the best around. You must try the giant prawns in creole sauce. Mr ram and his sons do a great job.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Watch out for mothers chilli paste.”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stopped here after my wife completed her tandem skydive for a bite to eat. Looks like an old local pub which would serve you good food and on arriving we were greeted by a son and father combo. After making a decision on what to have within seconds I had changed my mind due to the recommendations of the waiter.

Bread and butter was delivered to the table along with a greenish chilli paste, being caught out before a microscopic amount was placed on to the bread. WOW what a great decision although hot it was a great taste only made better with the knowledge that the mother of the establishment had made it.

The rest of the food followed suit as this was fantastic as well. If you want good European food stay in your hotel, if you want great Mauritian food this is the place to go in Grand Baie.

3 beers, 1 cola, starters and mains for 2 people Rs1250.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Murph6631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Ram also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Chez Ram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing